$237 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

Dona Palace Hotel Venice

4 stars
San Marco 391, Venice, 30124
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
21 reviews
Nice hotel close to San Marcus

Nice hotel close to San Marcus Sq See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 1, 2010
Dona Palace Hotel, Venice

ocation of the hotel was good, just a few blocks from St Marks square. The breakfast was good, ... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Nov 8, 2010
Venice hotel with a quiet atmosphere, overlooking the Rio

The Dona Palace Hotel Venice has been transformed from a 14th century palace into a modern hotel, while staying true to the look and feel of the original building. The hotel sports a unique, Impero style décor, which graces each of its 27 rooms. It is in an ideal location for tourists, being close to a number of the city's most popular landmarks, including the famous Bridge of Sighs; the Dona Palace Hotel Venice also overlooks the Rio of the Doge's Palace.

3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Situated close to many of Venice's tourist sights and landmarks

  • Restaurant All'Angelo, located at the front of the hotel, serves exquisite cuisine

  • High-speed and Wi-Fi Internet access

Dona Palace Hotel Rooms

All the rooms at the Dona Palace Hotel Venice have direct dial telephone, Internet access with ADSL and Wi-Fi, mini-bar, satellite TV, room safe, hairdryer and air-conditioning as standard. A number of suite options are available, from luxury and junior, to the Royal Suite, which features a regal décor. This opulent suite also retains many of the features of the woodwork and marble from the original building. It consists of two rooms, a lounge and bedroom and provides a stunning view of the Bridge of Sighs; there is even an original fireplace. The en-suite bathroom has both a shower and whirlpool tub.

Things to Do:
  • Bell Tower at San Marco Bascilica (0.1 mi/0.2 km

  • Piazzetta San Marco (0.3 mi/0.5 km)

  • Museo Correr (0.3 mi/0.5 km)

  • Grand Canal (0.3 mi/0.5 km)

  • Rialto Bridge (0.4 mi/0.6 km)

  • Arsenale (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • Galleria dell' Accademia (0.8 mi/1.3 km)

  • Peggy Guggenheim Museum (1 mi/1.6 km)

  • Murano (2.3 mi/3.7 km)

Policies and fees
  • Some amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance and additional charges may apply for their use
  • A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

45.4357 12.34
Area served
Venice Island
Nearby airports
Marco Polo International Airport Venice
Area description
The Hotel Dona Palace is an elegant boutique Hotel facing the "Rio" of the Doge's Palace, the canal of famous Bridge of Sighs, situated just a few steps from the magnificent Saint Mark's Square.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dona Palace Hotel Venice also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Dona Palace Hotel Venice Rooms

SINGLE ROOM
The single rooms of the Hotel are adequately spacious with a French bed in order to make clients' stay as much comfortable as we can. Bathrooms are equipped with shower or bathtub.
DOUBLE ROOM
Double rooms are simply elegant and comfortable, ideally created to spend a memorable stay in quietness. They offer a nice view on the street or on our secret garden and bathrooms, furnished in Italian marbles are equipped either with shower or bathtub.
DELUXE ROOM
Deluxe double rooms are much more spacious and bright and are equipped with bathrooms with either American shower or bathtub. Some rooms are overlooking the canal and some others the Venetian rooves... a typical fascinating prospect of the city.
JUNIOR SUITE
Junior suites differ from other kind of rooms for their huge space, all the modern comforts and the luxury of particulars. Some of them offer a magnificent view on the canal (subject to availability and not guaranteed)others on our secret Garden or even the Bridge of Sighs . A relaxing area equipped with a comfortable sofa bed gives to all our guests the opportunity to spend some pleasant moments. Bathrooms are provided with hydromassage bathtub
SUITE
Suites represent luxury and comforts. They are all composed by the main double room, in certain cases with kingsize bed, and a separate sitting room where guests can spend some relaxing moments o just use it as small office. Bathrooms are refined with Italian marbles and have bathtub hydromassage. All our Suites offer a wonderful view on the canal
EXECUTIVE SUITE
For those who love privacy and tranquillity, is served by a private elevator and has a living room bedroom with sloping ceiling. The peculiarity and exclusivity of the Suite is the private "altana", a typical Venetian roof terrace, where to enjoy beautiful sunsets over the roofs of Venice among which stand out the impressive Basilica of San Marco and the Clock Tower. On the roof terrace you will find a whirlpool tub for two, where the most romantic can enjoy a moment of relaxation, sipping a glass of champagne. The Utilisation of the Jacuzzi in Winter is subject to weather conditions
ROYAL SUITE
Luxury Royal Suite Welcomes its guests in a regal environment characterized by an original coffered ceiling of the XVI century, under which reigns the elegance of two rooms, lounge and bedroom decorated with refined cherry wood furniture. The romantic atmosphere of the Royal Suite is enchanted by warm tones of Italian marble floors, by the splendid fireplace age of the palace.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • San Zulian: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.1 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.1 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.1 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.3 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.3 mi
  • San Moise: 0.3 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.1 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.1 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.1 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.3 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.3 mi
  • San Moise: 0.3 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.4 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 0.4 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.5 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.5 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 0.6 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.6 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.6 mi
  • Arsenale: 0.6 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.6 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.7 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.7 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.9 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.9 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 1 mi
  • Burano: 5 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.1 mi

Dining

Wine Bar HK
A refined cosy place offering a wide choise of high quality wines accompained by tipical food specialities prepared by our chef. The Wine Bar is located in front of the Hotel

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (21)

Ratings and reviews for Dona Palace Hotel Venice

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 21
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
5
Value:
4.1

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dona Palace Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
little rock, AR
Nov 8, 2010

Dona Palace Hotel, Venice

ocation of the hotel was good, just a few blocks from St Marks square. The breakfast was good, good service and food. We had upgraded to a Jr Suite, it was a nice size room with hardwood floor and good furnishings. Internet service was poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

f you want to do excursions by train, a hotel near the train station would work better, but if you plan to spend most/all of you time in Venice proper, this hotel is located great.

Review of Dona Palace Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC, NY
Oct 1, 2010

Unbeatable location

everything is perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Dona Palace Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Latin Pilgrim
Guadalajara, Mexico
Nov 3, 2009

We loved the Dona Palace in Venice

The Dona Palace is not a luxurious place, but it has probably been our best experience in a four-starred hotel in Italy. Our bedroom and bathroom were confortable, clean, and large enough. Breakfast was quite acceptable, served in a beautiful lounge. Courteous and discrete service. Splendid location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Our best dining was in Frascheteria Toscana, near the Rialto, though it was rather overpriced. Stick to local produce (fresh fish, pasta, vegetables).

Review of Dona Palace Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MartyGMD
South Orange, NJ
Jul 12, 2009

+ location, good breakfast, small room

One of the best things about Venice was the fact we could start off each day just steps from St. Marco Piazza. The city was magical. We walked around 5 miles per day and enjoyed the tangle of streets, especially away from the "touristy" spots. We learned some Italian so it was easy to get around. Almost everyone spoke english until you went out of the touristy spots. We always had good communication though. We bought tickets when we first got to the train station for the Vappareto (water bus) for 4 days. That was a good find. It got us around the city and to Murano. Go to Murano on your own. The glass factories are many. We recommend #7 Schivon. The Maestro Director, [...] is a great guy and does incredible work. You will be amazed. We bought our second piece from him and named her Sophia. It is part of his Wow collection. Incredible.We also brought home 4 masks to decorate our home and our kids. We went away from the main Piazza's and found the best deals and some incredible mask makers. Mike and I recommend Venice. Have imaginatin and you will have a great time. Go past the Academie to the edge of the water at the Zarette stop. Great food and they even provided a full moon. OK it was a present for my 50th.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk away from Per San Marco and go down some side alleys to a few great osterias. Look for the locals eating inside. Good indication. We went across the Rialto bridge into the area for fish. We went to an osteria that Massimiliano Schiavon recommended. His Father In Law is the cook. It was the most authentic place and incredible meal and about 1/2 the price of the tourista restos. Be adventurous. Ask your hotelier where they would eat if they were to go our to dinner with their partner, spouse, family. They will be honest enough and send you on an adventure.

Review of Dona Palace Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tocos
Marseille
May 22, 2014

Vous pouvez y allez!!

Super accueil personnel très aimable et efficace si je dois retourner a venise c'est la que j'irai sans aucune hésitation Pierre

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Correct mais il faut trier. Je recommande particulièrement le trattoria pizzeria Artisti excellente nourriture fraîche. Poisson. Charcuterie. Pâte Prix pour deux de 70 a 100 €

Review of Dona Palace Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nounousse95
Paris
Apr 22, 2014

Au coeur de Venise

Bien placé, hôtel propre, personnel agréable, super buffet. Parfait pour découvrir Venise, situé à 2 pas de la place St Marc, proche des vaporetti et du Rialto.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Dona Palace Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FLLU
Zürich, Schweiz
Apr 8, 2014

Sehr gutes hotel fuer wochenendtrip

Wir waren von donnerstag bis sonntag im hotel und hatten eine deluxe-suite gebucht. Sehr grosses zimmer, sehr angenehmes bett, super lage gleich in einer seitengasse des markusplatzes. Besonders gefallen hat uns auch die bar des rossopomodoro gleich nebenan mit den anperohäppchen. Waren super tage!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Osteria bancogiro an der rialtobruecke

Review of Dona Palace Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gomoli
Marthalen, Schweiz
Mar 19, 2014

Gut gelegenes Hotel mit freundlichem Personal

Das Dona Palace Hotel ist sehr gut gelegen und zu Fuss von der Anlegestelle der "Ali Laguna" am Markusplatz in 5 Minuten zu erreichen. Die Zimmer sind sauber und gemütlich, das Frühstück ist einwandfrei! Wir würden das Hotel jederzeit wieder buchen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Dona Palace Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Olivier R
Vénissieux, France
Mar 6, 2014

Parfait

Idéalement situé dans le centre même pour des sorties régulières dans les rues (San Marco toujours indiqué dans les rues), cadre ancien, spacieuse, petit déjeuner copieux et dans une belle salle à colonne d'où on peut voir le pont des Soupirs. Je recommande vivement cet hotel pour un prix très raisonnable compte tenu de sa quaité.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Dona Palace Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Inèsb
Paris France
Aug 28, 2013

Hotel agréable et bien situé

Hotel tout juste a 5 min de la place San Marc. Personnel très serviable et petit déjeuner correct. Chambre spacieuse et propre! Tout a fait satisfaite!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search