$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 2, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

4 stars
View map of San Marco, 1107, Venice, 30124

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
52 reviews
Fantastic

Got to Venice early and walked to hotel from bus depot, as we had 5 hours to kill before we could... See full review

  • Jan and Bernie
  • Nov 15, 2014
So cool!

50 feet off St. Mark's Plaza, window view over the canal, antique furnishings in an extra large... See full review

  • Harried Dad
  • Sep 28, 2012
The Venice hotel for VIPs since the 14th century, on St. Mark's Square
Join a guest list that has included Richard Strauss, Winston Churchill, and the Duke of Aosta at the Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice. About 50 meters from St. Mark's Square -- Venice's center for culture, shopping and dining -- the hotel has its own water landing, allowing guests to arrive right at the building's entrance via gondola or water taxi. One of Venice's oldest and most famous hotels, modern conveniences allow guests to stay in comfort in the cultural center of historic Venice.

Highlights
  • 14th century hotel is one of Venice's oldest and most famous
  • About 50 meters from St. Mark's Square and has its own water landing
  • On the Bacino Orselo, the gathering place for many of Venice's gondoliers
Location
The Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice is just meters off the northwest corner of St. Mark's Square, right on the Bacino Orselo and a short walk from the docks of the Riva degli Schiavoni. Many of Venice's most famous attractions are nearby, including St. Mark's Basilica, the Ducal Palace and the Fenice Theater. The hotel is a short walk from the designer boutiques along the Calle Larga 22 Marzo.
Rooms
The Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice's 107 rooms are decorated in Venetian style. Rooms are air conditioned and include private bathrooms, satellite TV, Internet access and safes. Non-smoking rooms are available. Many rooms look over the Bacino Orselo.
Features
Start the day at the historic Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice with a buffet breakfast in the hotel's sunny Venetian restaurant. Room service also is available and in some rooms, guests watch gondolas float by as they dine. The hotel also has a bar, concierge service, Wi-Fi and on-call doctor service.
Transportation
  • Marco Polo Airport (12.6 m/20.3 km)
  • Water taxi (at private water landing)
  • Riva degli Schiavoni vaporetto (waterbus) docks (0.4 m/0.6 km)
  • Venice Santa Lucia railway station (1.3 m/2.1 km)

Attractions
  • St. Mark's Square (0.1 m/0.1 km)
  • Correr Museum (0.1 m/0.2 km)
  • Ducal Palace (0.2 m/0.3 km)
  • Fenice Theater (0.2 m/0.4 km)
  • Calle Larga 22 Marzo (0.2 m/0.4 km)
  • Palazzo Grassi (0.6 m/0.9 km)
Policies and Fees
  • The hotel charges a tax fee that ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice Rooms

Single Room
The bedding option for the room is one single bed. Room offers Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable /Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, iron/ironing board, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Double Room
The bedding option for the room is one single bed Or two double beds. Room offers Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, iron/ironing board, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Triple Room
The bedding option for the room is one single bed and one double bed. Room offers Air conditioning,Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, iron/ironing board, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Correr: 0.1 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.1 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.1 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • San Moise: 0.1 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.1 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.1 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.2 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.1 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.1 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.1 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • San Moise: 0.1 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.1 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.1 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.2 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.3 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.3 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.4 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.5 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.5 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.5 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.5 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.5 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.6 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 0.6 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.7 mi
  • Arsenale: 0.8 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.9 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.9 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1.1 mi
  • Burano: 5.2 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.3 mi

Dining

Restaurant
La Colomba.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 52
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.1

53% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jan and Bernie
Business
Newport Pagnell
Nov 15, 2014

Fantastic

Got to Venice early and walked to hotel from bus depot, as we had 5 hours to kill before we could get into the room. Thought we would ask if we could leave our cases and go for a walk, but the room was ready and they let us in. Fantastic room, double comfortable beds, overlooking the side of the hotel, bath with moveable shower, non smoking, ample room and storage, internet worked perfectly in room,everything we wanted. Breakfast was included, continental with omelettes and bacon, rolls, croissants, ham, cheese, fruit, yoghurt, biscuits. Hot and cold drinks and the room overlooking the Orseolo basin, where the gondolas moored. Staff were pleasant from chambermaids, porters, restaurant and reception staff and bent over backwards to help. Had a few problems with the rain when it heavily rained, staff sorted it within 2 minutes of asking, nothing was a problem for them. The hotel is obviously an Old Venetian building, I cant believe people can moan, its OLD, thats Venice !! Locality absolutely perfect, one minute from San Mark Square, everywhere was within walking distance, and my partner had a hip replacement last year. If I am going to nit pick, perhaps grip handles on the bath, probably wouldn't need them if we were 30 years younger and check the timetable for the return buses !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Browse before you buy, obviously cheaper out of the immediate area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nocturnaleagle
Business
Turkey
May 29, 2014

Couple

Perfect Location. Smallest room ever. Amenities old. Need to be refurbished. No recommendation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nocturnaleagle
Business
Turkey
May 9, 2014

Couple Holiday

The location is perfect, just next to San Marco Square. However, the hotel does not have anything special. The room was the smallest room that I have ever seen. They only fit a double bed and a minibar. There is no space to move inside the room. The hotel was noisy, especially in the mornings. I think it is a average quality hotel at most, and It certainly does not deserve 4 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Florida Restaurant at Rialto. It has a very nice view of the Grand Canal and Rialto Bridge. The food is good enough and it is not expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Auntdianet
Business
New York, NY
May 24, 2013

Convenient Hotel

Location off the Piazza San Marco was great. Room itself was dumpy and in need of an update. Bathroom very outdated; smallest shower stall possible! Only one of 5 Italian hotels we stayed in that did not include breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mrs. Dawn
Business
San Diego
Apr 16, 2012

The 1st two rooms they tried to put me in were as appealing as a 1920 hospital ward.

If you have the will to keep changing rooms, you could end up okay. We ended up in a decent room, 3rd time a charm. The 1st room had avocado green patched up bathroom tiles, mold on the ceiling & stunk like mold. 2nd room well, I dont even have words to describe how depressing and old everything in it was. IF YOU NEED TO HAVE INTERNET FORGET THIS HOTEL. Had 2 work a few nights so, ended up in the hotel lobby working. I was not allowed to eat or drink anything I brought in myself because I did not buy it there. The fact that 2 people were so inconvenienced & had to sit in the lobby was of no concern to them, they even suggested that I pay extra for the internet?! Some of the staff were very helpful and a few were awful. I would not stay there again, even though the location was very good. I would pay more and stay in a proper hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Most hotels offer a free round trip boat ride to the Murano Glass factory. It was interesting and the taxi ride was very nice and FREE. Check it out but don't buy anything there!! Everything is 4 times the regular price than on the island and the Salesman are very high pressure. I checked everything out, then bought the piece I wanted and saved 790 Euros at a certified Murano shop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Archipirata
Business
Athens, OH 45701, USA
Mar 15, 2012

Below Expectations

I travel frequently and have stayed in Venice several times, so I understand the differences in expectations for European accommodations but this hotel still fell short. The location was excellent being adjacent to St. Mark's square and a few minutes from the vaporetto. The room and promised amenities were another matter. The hotel brand's website claimed that breakfast was included but after we sat down and began to eat on our first morning, we were presented with a bill for 15 euros each! When we complained and showed the desk a printout of the web page they said it was an error and they would not honor it. So no free breakfast and we had to pay the 30 euro. The website also said free in room wireless internet. This was not the case. You had to take your laptop to the lobby to get a connection. The stated amenities said in room coffee maker, but there was none. There was also no other coffee available other than the 15 euro breakfast. The room was basic and clean, but the shower was by far the smallest I have ever seen. No matter which way I turned, both shoulders were pressed against the walls of the tiny shower stall. You couldn't wash your hair without banging the control knobs and the shower head. As I said, wonderful location and decent price if you receive what was promised, unfortunately that is not what we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get away from St. Mark's square and the prices fall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
spyder w
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Jan 17, 2012

great location

Just steps from St Marks Square this old and stately hotel has great bones. Beautiful rooms, restaurant, and bar overlooking a small canal that is heavily used by gondolas. The staff are English speakers and an attractive bunch as well. Wifi worked in common areas but not in my room which was not a problem but an inconvenience since the common areas are so pleasant to be in. Easy to find is not a minor issue as Venice is a labyrinth and is easy to be lost in which is great if you are not exhausted at the end of the day and just need to be laying down in your hotel's bed. All in all this is a fine hotel and a bargain (I was there in the off season) find. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lima
Business
Tucson, Arizona, Stati Uniti
Nov 29, 2011

Nice, very clean and a very good location.

Very close to San Marco Plaza, 4 minute walk. No need to take a taxi to the Terminal station, just take public transportation, a boat-bus. Excellent esperience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not buy the very first thing you see, there are plenty of places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Boleador
Business
Ankara Province/Ankara, Turkey
Nov 14, 2011

HORRIBLE: ZERO PEACE AND QUIET AT THIS HOTEL.

This hotel was a horrible experience, I would not stay here again. The Good: The location is right next to St. Mark's Square The Bad: -Room smelled strongly of cigarettes when we arrived -The nightclub/hotel bar kept us awake until 2 am with LOUD dance music which was very loud in our bedroom. We got absolutely no sleep. When I called the front desk to complain they told me that they could not stop the music and made it sound like I was crazy for not wanting to party all night long. Let me be clear: the walls were paper thin, and the music was deafening in my room. I put in earplugs, but was still not able to block out the music from downstairs. -The hotel is right next door to the Hard Rock Cafe and a very busy Gondola stop which makes the rooms even NOISIER. YOU WILL GET ZERO PEACE AND QUIET AT THIS HOTEL. -After a sleepless night, I woke up to NO HOT WATER in the bathroom. At this point I was livid. If I wanted to be kept awake all night by loud music and not shower in the morning, I might as well sleep in the street. -The rooms are small, old, and dirty. -Even though I had prepaid for two nights, my wife and I checked out after our first night and had a wonderful stay at the Westin. This hotel is not worth the price...for the same amount you can get a MUCH nicer hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 11, 2011

It has location, but.....

We spent a weekend in Venice. The hotel has PRIME location. It is located perfectly at San Marco. We had one of only two with an outside deck overlooking the canal. However, the room was right next to the elevator. We did not get any sleep. Every time someone used the elevator, it woke us up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top