$231 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 9, 2015 Check-out: Sep 10, 2015

Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

4 stars
View map of San Marco, 1107, Venice, 30124

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.2

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
east tennessee
Jul 6, 2009

great place for a night or two in venice

room was very nice. an older motel, but motels are old there. Very nicely decorated, very comfortable bed, and spotless bathroom. i was very happy with the motel and thrilled with the location. i have traveled quite a bit and would recommend this to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

this motel is easy to find and the location cannot be beat. gondolas right outside the door, the st. marks square with the basilica and palace within seconds of room. nice to be able to come back to room for restroom, since they are hard to find in europe

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
san antonio, tx
Jun 13, 2009

great loaction for the price

though the hotel is by the canal, water taxi are reluctant to take you there from the station. travel light. getting water taxi to pick you up from hotel is no problem

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

relax at st marks square listening to the dueling 3 orchestras.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
enrique f.
Couples
houston
Jun 24, 2015

good selection

enough our trip was with many troubles because not water taxi was available for a competition so we need to walk all the way to get the hotel a 1 hour walk with bagage was terrible i know it wast´n hotel problem but to far from station

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
spyder w
Couples
San Francisco, CA, USA
Jan 17, 2012

great location

Just steps from St Marks Square this old and stately hotel has great bones. Beautiful rooms, restaurant, and bar overlooking a small canal that is heavily used by gondolas. The staff are English speakers and an attractive bunch as well. Wifi worked in common areas but not in my room which was not a problem but an inconvenience since the common areas are so pleasant to be in. Easy to find is not a minor issue as Venice is a labyrinth and is easy to be lost in which is great if you are not exhausted at the end of the day and just need to be laying down in your hotel's bed. All in all this is a fine hotel and a bargain (I was there in the off season) find. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Italian at heart
Friends
San Diego
Oct 18, 2009

Charming hotel on St Mark's Square

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. Staff was friendly and attentive. Breakfast was great, with fresh bread, croissants, pastries, eggs, cheese, and meat items. Can request for cappuccino. Room is clean. Room by the street can be noisy if window is open. Many gondolas in the back of the hotel. Can have water taxi take you directly to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to St. Mark's Square, Doge's Palace, and the Basilica. Short walk to/from vaporetto. Walking distance to Rialto, Accademia.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Watsonville CA>
Nov 17, 2009

LIfes Dream

Enjoyed all things

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring alot of money

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Connecticut
Jul 21, 2009

Great Location on Piazza San Marco!

The hotel is next to Piazza San Marco. Great location. We had 2 rooms located in the new annex. The room were recently renovated, tey were very clean. The A/C was very good. We had 3 day vaporetto (boat Bus) passes, which we got when we took the vaparetto near the train station. The vaporetto line stops are alog Piazza San Marco. We used the vaporetto to go: up & down Grand Canal, Murano, Burano, Rialto bridge, and anytime we got lost we found Gran Canal and took the boat back to piazza San Marco. We visted, Sam Marco Basilica % museum, The Dodge palace & museum, went up San Marco Bell tower. Rialto bridge, Santa Maria Gloriasa dei Frari Church. We took many walks and visited many other churches. In Murano se visited, the glass museum, the church nearby,glass blowing exebition, shopped and had a great seafood luch at a local trattoria.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Food & wine is expensive in Venice when compared to Florence. To remain on budget we had dinner away from San Marco square.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jan and Bernie
Couples
Newport Pagnell
Nov 15, 2014

Fantastic

Got to Venice early and walked to hotel from bus depot, as we had 5 hours to kill before we could get into the room. Thought we would ask if we could leave our cases and go for a walk, but the room was ready and they let us in. Fantastic room, double comfortable beds, overlooking the side of the hotel, bath with moveable shower, non smoking, ample room and storage, internet worked perfectly in room,everything we wanted. Breakfast was included, continental with omelettes and bacon, rolls, croissants, ham, cheese, fruit, yoghurt, biscuits. Hot and cold drinks and the room overlooking the Orseolo basin, where the gondolas moored. Staff were pleasant from chambermaids, porters, restaurant and reception staff and bent over backwards to help. Had a few problems with the rain when it heavily rained, staff sorted it within 2 minutes of asking, nothing was a problem for them. The hotel is obviously an Old Venetian building, I cant believe people can moan, its OLD, thats Venice !! Locality absolutely perfect, one minute from San Mark Square, everywhere was within walking distance, and my partner had a hip replacement last year. If I am going to nit pick, perhaps grip handles on the bath, probably wouldn't need them if we were 30 years younger and check the timetable for the return buses !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Browse before you buy, obviously cheaper out of the immediate area.

Back to menu Return to top