$145 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 22, 2014

Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

4 stars
San Marco, 1107, Venice, 30124
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
81 reviews
So cool!

50 feet off St. Mark's Plaza, window view over the canal, antique furnishings in an extra large... See full review

  • Harried Dad
  • Sep 28, 2012
great location

Just steps from St Marks Square this old and stately hotel has great bones. Beautiful rooms,... See full review

  • spyder w
  • Jan 17, 2012
The Venice hotel for VIPs since the 14th century, on St. Mark’s Square
Join a guest list that has included Richard Strauss, Winston Churchill, and the Duke of Aosta at the Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice. About 50 meters from St. Mark's Square -- Venice's center for culture, shopping and dining -- the hotel has its own water landing, allowing guests to arrive right at the building's entrance via gondola or water taxi. One of Venice's oldest and most famous hotels, modern conveniences allow guests to stay in comfort in the cultural center of historic Venice.

Highlights
  • 14th century hotel is one of Venice’s oldest and most famous
  • About 50 meters from St. Mark’s Square and has its own water landing
  • On the Bacino Orselo, the gathering place for many of Venice’s gondoliers
Location
The Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice is just meters off the northwest corner of St. Mark’s Square, right on the Bacino Orselo and a short walk from the docks of the Riva degli Schiavoni. Many of Venice’s most famous attractions are nearby, including St. Mark’s Basilica, the Ducal Palace and the Fenice Theater. The hotel is a short walk from the designer boutiques along the Calle Larga 22 Marzo.
Rooms
The Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice’s 107 rooms are decorated in Venetian style. Rooms are air conditioned and include private bathrooms, satellite TV, Internet access and safes. Non-smoking rooms are available. Many rooms look over the Bacino Orselo.
Features
Start the day at the historic Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice with a buffet breakfast in the hotel’s sunny Venetian restaurant. Room service also is available and in some rooms, guests watch gondolas float by as they dine. The hotel also has a bar, concierge service, Wi-Fi and on-call doctor service.
Transportation
  • Marco Polo Airport (12.6 m/20.3 km)
  • Water taxi (at private water landing)
  • Riva degli Schiavoni vaporetto (waterbus) docks (0.4 m/0.6 km)
  • Venice Santa Lucia railway station (1.3 m/2.1 km)

Attractions
  • St. Mark’s Square (0.1 m/0.1 km)
  • Correr Museum (0.1 m/0.2 km)
  • Ducal Palace (0.2 m/0.3 km)
  • Fenice Theater (0.2 m/0.4 km)
  • Calle Larga 22 Marzo (0.2 m/0.4 km)
  • Palazzo Grassi (0.6 m/0.9 km)
Policies and fees
A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

45.4344 12.3371
Area served
Venice.
Nearby airports
Venice International Airport.
Area description
Right in the city centre, alongside St.Mark's Square and all the major attractions of the city, museums, shops, monuments, exhibitions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice Rooms

Single Room
The bedding option for the room is one single bed. Room offers Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable /Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, iron/ironing board, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Double Room
The bedding option for the room is one single bed Or two double beds. Room offers Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, iron/ironing board, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Triple Room
The bedding option for the room is one single bed and one double bed. Room offers Air conditioning,Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, iron/ironing board, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Correr: 0.1 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.1 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.1 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • San Moise: 0.1 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.1 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.1 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.2 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.1 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.1 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.1 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • San Moise: 0.1 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.1 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.1 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.2 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.3 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.3 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.4 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.5 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.5 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.5 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.5 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.5 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.6 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 0.6 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.7 mi
  • Arsenale: 0.8 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.9 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.9 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1.1 mi
  • Burano: 5.2 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.3 mi

Dining

Restaurant
La Colomba.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (81)

Ratings and reviews for Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.2

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Drivingmsvaction
Denver, CO
Oct 24, 2013

Great. location

If you don't like being lost in Venice this is an easy hotel to find after wandering the streets and drinking wine. My room was the size of a closet even tho it fit a double bed. When my suitcase was open, then I couldn't open the door. However, I had a fantastic view of the gondola in que. Staff looked bored and tired of tourists. I thought breakfast was included but it wasn't, so read the fine print. So yes you can embark right from the hotel but only by water taxi or gondola, either way, $100€ or more. Room was very clean, but amenities were Best Western plastic cups.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NPG
New York, NY
Jun 4, 2009

San Marco Hotel Cavalletto review

The hotel was okay, rooms were a bit small, but well appointed. The staff was pretty mixed. Some were really good - the bartender / night guard was excellent; however, when I arrived there was an extremely surly young guy with a chin-strap beard there to (un)welcome us to the hotel. There was an issue with my room at first, but the hotel was very accomodating to quickly move me into a room that was satisfactory. The overall experience was in-line with the mid-range price we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crazylegs McGee
Honolulu, HI
Feb 18, 2010

Best Location Imaginable

Arrived for Carnavale and were located right next to the Piazza San Marco which was excellent. Vaporetto line that goes along the grand canal was nearby. Gondola ride was available from right in front of the hotel and was amazing. Room we were in was small, but spent very little time there anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newport, AR
Oct 4, 2009

Fair deal for the price

A barely average facility with "so so" staff and no amenity but a good daily full breakfast buffet with a good variety of items and its great location made it a good deal for the price. It's right by Piazza San Marco, 10 minudte walk to the water bus terminal and easy access to everywhere. Recommendable if you are looking for a practical and economic trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JMo 31
Wash DC
Jun 29, 2011

Small rooms, clean, prime location

The rooms in this hotel are quite small but I was impressed with how clean they were. The staff was helpful. The breakfast provided substantial options compared to other hotels in the area. I like to do yoga while traveling but the room didn't have any floor space. The hotel has air-conditioning which was a real bonus. There is no room service or hotel restaurant. There's a mini-bar in the room. The hotel is right off Piazza San Marco but can be hard to find. Be prepared to get lost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thomas the thinker
Danbury, CT
Oct 22, 2009

Nice small room in the new annex.

We were put into the new annex which is very quiet indeed, but you have to ask the desk clerk to buzz you through the main door which was an annoyance, your magnetic key will work for the back door. It was a pink tiled room,nicely appointed but small by American standards, they give you one little piece of soap that you must transport into the shower with you and two pillows for 2 people period, no room clock and in room wi fi is outrageously priced,the staff were professional but not really friendly. Free Wi Fi in the loby,the location of this hotel can not be beat,I walked out and to the left and there was the cathedral and square and orchestra music playing at two of the square resteraunts, It blew me away, their breakfast buffet is absolutely fabulous served in a beautiful room probably the best part of staying at this hotel. We had no view what so ever which I didn't care about anyway, why pay a hundred or 2 hundred extra. You will have your fill of Gondolas which are priced at 80 Euros or about 120 dollars for a 40 minute ride. I said no thanks, and around San Marco it is like a train of gondolas, try up by the Rialto bridge if that is what floats your boat, no pun intended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The best resteraunts require reservations but if you show up at 7 pm when they open they will take you usually, Italians eat late at 8 or 9 PM, we had a great meal up by the Rialto Bridge outside on the Grand Canal, the rest. was Tratoria Tre Spiedi the food at most Resteraunts will nock your socks off. It is good.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 2, 2011

Great Location

If you want to be close to St Mark's Square, this is the hotel for you - maybe 20 yards from the hotel entrance to the square. We were there for New Years Eve so on that particular night, maybe a little too close - we got back to our room around 1:00 am; the band and celebrating stopped at 2:30. all was quiet after that. But the night before, even though our room overlooked a busy canal bridge, there was no issue with too much noise. The front desk staff were warm and friendly and after the first time requesting our key, they knew us by sight. The rooms were clean and well appointed. The single room our friend had was a bit small but had all the convinces of our much larger double room (with a crystal chandelier). The only issue we experienced was not being able to log into the hotel's WIFI system with my iPad - a minor inconvenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
xxy
Walnut Creek , Ca
Mar 3, 2009

excellent, phantastic location

My husband and I were in Venice before but never at Carneval. This time we took the chance and the hotel was the perfect place located right at the Marcus Palace. We had breakfast and we saw the gondolas passing by. Excellent service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask Venecians for advices.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hartford, CT
Sep 22, 2010

Enjoy one or two days in Venice

We were a group of six and only spent one night at this hotel. Staff was helpful in seting up water taxi transportation. Breakfast was extra and only OK at 7.50 Euro. Location was perfect if you only have a day or two to spend in Venice. Gondolas are parked right outside hotel with a little balcony to watch the goings on. nicht staff gave us a great recommendation for a family style restaurant with homade pastas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the public water bus to and from the airport if you are one or two people and don't mind pulling your luggage. For a larger group(we were six) it pays to take a private water taxi(make sure it will take you directly to hotel or you will have to walk from San Marco water station thru St Marks square and then have to negotiate steps over a canal). There is one charge that can be divided by everyone.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milwaukee, WI
Oct 2, 2009

Great Location

Good value within walking distance of many attractions. Clean and neat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We sat down for a beer and soda in San Marco Square and it cost us about $32 US dollars. Have a drink right around the corner at a stand for a reasonable amount.

Back to menu Return to top