$140 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2015 Check-out: Aug 6, 2015

Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

4 stars
View map of San Marco, 1107, Venice, 30124

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.3

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
unhappy dw
Business
florida
Jul 9, 2012

poor accomodation, unfriendly staff

upon arrival, a bucket was present in the room to catch water leaking from ceiling from airconditioner, on 2nd day, another leak developed, and when we told staff, they didn't seem to care, and said that they can't change our room, which means that we're gonna have to bear with this discomfort, by the 3rd day, another leak developed and thankfully, we were leaving the next morning, staff were very unaccomodating and unfriendly, aside from good location, would not even dare to come back to this hotel, let alone recommend this to friends & family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

very close to hard rock cafe

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kizito
Business
Crawley
Apr 22, 2013

Great Central Location

Multi-lingual staff very courteous and helpful. Location perfect for walking, tours, etc. Single room overlooked gondolas and Hard Rock Cafe - impossible to sleep until late at night. Noisy, drunken people passing by all the time. Gondoliers noisey in morning and during day. Hotel needs to put instructions on wall against wall switches, advising on usage. TV too small, out of date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy three day water bus ticket - takes you everywhere for 35 Euros.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nocturnaleagle
Business
Turkey
May 29, 2014

Couple

Perfect Location. Smallest room ever. Amenities old. Need to be refurbished. No recommendation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 11, 2011

It has location, but.....

We spent a weekend in Venice. The hotel has PRIME location. It is located perfectly at San Marco. We had one of only two with an outside deck overlooking the canal. However, the room was right next to the elevator. We did not get any sleep. Every time someone used the elevator, it woke us up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Clueless Traveler
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Nov 1, 2010

NOT A 4 STAR HOTEL

THIS IS NOT A 4 STAR HOTEL. It's a Best Western!! It's got a great location but don't expect anything from this hotel except a place to lay your head at night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not use the gondola station outside the hotel it is over crowded with tourists and the gondoliers are not very good. You are better off taking a walk to a less crowded area.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
First trip to Italy
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 20, 2009

Not all that great.

It was okay. The location was great. The room that we stayed in was small. Only one drawer to put clothes in, had to have mine in the luggage the whole time. Bathroom shower was really small.. I barely fit and Im petite compared to my husband. Staff in the lobby was sometimes friendly. Breakfast could have been better or had some variety to it. Bed was hard and stiff. Do not open windows.. people are loud outside. If you only care about sleep and showering, then get this hotel, if you want to something more comfortable then get a better hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rosieQ
Business
New York, NY, USA
Apr 5, 2012

would go here again

The value and location of main hotel was fine but there is a new additon to the hotel that is actually behind the main hotel and across the road. Since it is detached from the main bldg, you must go outside to access the lobby or restaurant. The rooms in new section are nicer than main building and staff is very nice and was very accommodating and helpful. Base of new building is a little musty, kind of like a basement feeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you handle your own luggage in Venice it is very, very difficult to navigate the footbridges with luggage. Check if your hotel offers a water taxi directly to your hotel's door. Well worth the cost of direct taxi to not have to drag your bags up and down the many, many footbridges.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Auntdianet
Business
New York, NY
May 24, 2013

Convenient Hotel

Location off the Piazza San Marco was great. Room itself was dumpy and in need of an update. Bathroom very outdated; smallest shower stall possible! Only one of 5 Italian hotels we stayed in that did not include breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Drivingmsvaction
Business
Denver, CO
Oct 24, 2013

Great. location

If you don't like being lost in Venice this is an easy hotel to find after wandering the streets and drinking wine. My room was the size of a closet even tho it fit a double bed. When my suitcase was open, then I couldn't open the door. However, I had a fantastic view of the gondola in que. Staff looked bored and tired of tourists. I thought breakfast was included but it wasn't, so read the fine print. So yes you can embark right from the hotel but only by water taxi or gondola, either way, $100€ or more. Room was very clean, but amenities were Best Western plastic cups.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newport, AR
Oct 4, 2009

Fair deal for the price

A barely average facility with "so so" staff and no amenity but a good daily full breakfast buffet with a good variety of items and its great location made it a good deal for the price. It's right by Piazza San Marco, 10 minudte walk to the water bus terminal and easy access to everywhere. Recommendable if you are looking for a practical and economic trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top