$181 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

4 stars
View map of San Marco, 1107, Venice, 30124

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
48 reviews
Fantastic

Got to Venice early and walked to hotel from bus depot, as we had 5 hours to kill before we could... See full review

  • Jan and Bernie
  • Nov 15, 2014
good selection

enough our trip was with many troubles because not water taxi was available for a competition so we... See full review

  • enrique f.
  • Jun 24, 2015
Join a guest list that has included Richard Strauss, Winston Churchill, and the Duke of Aosta at the Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice. About 50 meters from St. Mark's Square -- Venice's center for culture, shopping and dining -- the hotel has its own water landing, allowing guests to arrive right at the building's entrance via gondola or water taxi. One of Venice's oldest and most famous hotels, modern conveniences allow guests to stay in comfort in the cultural center of historic Venice.

Location
The Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice is just meters off the northwest corner of St. Mark's Square, right on the Bacino Orselo and a short walk from the docks of the Riva degli Schiavoni. Many of Venice's most famous attractions are nearby, including St. Mark's Basilica, the Ducal Palace and the Fenice Theater. The hotel is a short walk from the designer boutiques along the Calle Larga 22 Marzo.
Rooms
The Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice's 107 rooms are decorated in Venetian style. Rooms are air conditioned and include private bathrooms, satellite TV, Internet access and safes. Non-smoking rooms are available. Many rooms look over the Bacino Orselo.
Property features
Start the day at the historic Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice with a buffet breakfast in the hotel's sunny Venetian restaurant. Room service also is available and in some rooms, guests watch gondolas float by as they dine. The hotel also has a bar, concierge service, Wi-Fi and on-call doctor service.
Highlights
  • 14th century hotel is one of Venice's oldest and most famous
  • About 50 meters from St. Mark's Square and has its own water landing
  • On the Bacino Orselo, the gathering place for many of Venice's gondoliers
Nearby attractions
  • St. Mark's Square (0.1 m/0.1 km)
  • Correr Museum (0.1 m/0.2 km)
  • Ducal Palace (0.2 m/0.3 km)
  • Fenice Theater (0.2 m/0.4 km)
  • Calle Larga 22 Marzo (0.2 m/0.4 km)
  • Palazzo Grassi (0.6 m/0.9 km)
Transportation
  • Marco Polo Airport (12.6 m/20.3 km)
  • Water taxi (at private water landing)
  • Riva degli Schiavoni vaporetto (waterbus) docks (0.4 m/0.6 km)
  • Venice Santa Lucia railway station (1.3 m/2.1 km)

Policies
  • The hotel charges a tax fee that ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$126
3.8 / 5 56 reviews
★★★★
$110
4.7 / 5 6 reviews
★★★★
$158
3.7 / 5 10 reviews
★★★
$151
3.5 / 5 6 reviews
★★★★
$218
4.1 / 5 17 reviews
★★★★
$226
4.4 / 5 35 reviews
★★★★
$155
3.6 / 5 10 reviews
★★★★
$170
3.6 / 5 8 reviews
★★★
$103
4.0 / 5 14 reviews

Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice Rooms

Single Room
The bedding option for the room is one single bed. Room offers Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable /Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, iron/ironing board, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Double Room
The bedding option for the room is one single bed Or two double beds. Room offers Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, iron/ironing board, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Triple Room
The bedding option for the room is one single bed and one double bed. Room offers Air conditioning,Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, iron/ironing board, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Correr: 0.1 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.1 mi
  • Biennale Gardens: 0.1 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • San Moise: 0.1 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.1 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.1 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.2 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.1 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.1 mi
  • Biennale Gardens: 0.1 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • San Moise: 0.1 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.1 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.1 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.2 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.3 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.3 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.4 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.5 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.5 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.5 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.5 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.5 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.6 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 0.6 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.7 mi
  • Arsenale: 0.8 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.9 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.9 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1.1 mi
  • Burano: 5.2 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.3 mi

Dining

Restaurant
La Colomba.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.2

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
spyder w
Couples
San Francisco, CA, USA
Jan 17, 2012

great location

Just steps from St Marks Square this old and stately hotel has great bones. Beautiful rooms, restaurant, and bar overlooking a small canal that is heavily used by gondolas. The staff are English speakers and an attractive bunch as well. Wifi worked in common areas but not in my room which was not a problem but an inconvenience since the common areas are so pleasant to be in. Easy to find is not a minor issue as Venice is a labyrinth and is easy to be lost in which is great if you are not exhausted at the end of the day and just need to be laying down in your hotel's bed. All in all this is a fine hotel and a bargain (I was there in the off season) find. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Boleador
Couples
Ankara Province/Ankara, Turkey
Nov 14, 2011

HORRIBLE: ZERO PEACE AND QUIET AT THIS HOTEL.

This hotel was a horrible experience, I would not stay here again. The Good: The location is right next to St. Mark's Square The Bad: -Room smelled strongly of cigarettes when we arrived -The nightclub/hotel bar kept us awake until 2 am with LOUD dance music which was very loud in our bedroom. We got absolutely no sleep. When I called the front desk to complain they told me that they could not stop the music and made it sound like I was crazy for not wanting to party all night long. Let me be clear: the walls were paper thin, and the music was deafening in my room. I put in earplugs, but was still not able to block out the music from downstairs. -The hotel is right next door to the Hard Rock Cafe and a very busy Gondola stop which makes the rooms even NOISIER. YOU WILL GET ZERO PEACE AND QUIET AT THIS HOTEL. -After a sleepless night, I woke up to NO HOT WATER in the bathroom. At this point I was livid. If I wanted to be kept awake all night by loud music and not shower in the morning, I might as well sleep in the street. -The rooms are small, old, and dirty. -Even though I had prepaid for two nights, my wife and I checked out after our first night and had a wonderful stay at the Westin. This hotel is not worth the price...for the same amount you can get a MUCH nicer hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Joe and Mary
Couples
Dade County FL
May 4, 2010

NOT four star

Located at a gondola "taxi stand," whose occupants spend most of their time shouting at the top of their lungs to one another. Air conditioned when the management says so..otherwise, no. Restaurant and bar prices are a joke. Upgraded room, at more than US$320 per night, had creaky wood floors, damaged woodwork and one TV station in English. The door locks and keys are from the 1930's. The shower floods the bathroom. The front desk staff wears frock coats, so I guess that's their claim to four stars. And, like many other hotels in Italy, they have no washcloths, so if you decide you want to get clean, bring your own. My personal opinion would be to stay on some other island entirely, and take the vaporetto to San Marco to see the sights. Lido (in May) was not overrun with hordes of tourists, and actually has trees and grass. We arrived at the hotel from a cruise at ten in the morning but no room was ready until 2 pm, and we were really tired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Not Applicable

If you are a wine drinker, try the house red or white at any ristorante or trattoria....we tried about ten different ones in Rome and Venice and were never disappointed.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 26, 2009

Dishonest Front Desk Clerks

The hotel does not have its complete name on the building making it a little difficult to find. I am unsure how the mistake was made (either by me or them) but I had 2 rooms reserved for 4 people for 2 nights at this hotel. The rooms reserved were Single rooms, which can only be used for 1 person. When I arrived to the front desk I asked to pay for an upgrade to larger rooms. The front desk clerks informed me it would be impossible, because they were 100% full for the night. During the check in process The clerks realized that our group of four would not fit in the rooms we reserved and the only way to correct the situation was to sell us another room. The hotel provided a double room for a PREMIUM price. I asked how this room became available now, when just five minutes ago they were 100% full. The clerk said they had a last minute cancellation. I have a hard time believing this story. The night was not terrific. The windows and walls are very very thin. We did not get much rest at all. The guests in other rooms, people walking down the hall and street noise was enough to wake us up on a frequent basis. The morning was not much better. When I say the walls are thin I mean they are paper thin. When the person next door was in the shower it sounded like they were in my shower. Everyone in our group had similiar complaints about the noise. Again we asked the front desk to pay for a larger second room and drop the 2 single rooms, they declined telling us they could only provide the same 3 rooms for our second night. I ended up going to a internet cafe to check for available rooms at other hotels so, we could drop our PREMIUM price double room and found this hotel online with available double rooms. When I presented this information to the front desk they told me they are unsure why they were showing availability. We ended up cancelling the third room that night and found a better deal somewhere else. I feel like the front desk clerks were not helpful or respectful of our situation. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. On a positive note the rooms were neat and mostly clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If traveling by train, stay close to the train station. Taxi rides are very expensive and the waterbus is the best choice but slow.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
San Juan, PR
Jun 24, 2009

Dont be fooled by the picture

I do not recommend this hotel to anyone. The staff is extremely uncooperative - they act like they are doing you a favor... The elevator dates back to 1950's and it doesnt stop in any specific floor. We were 11 and we had to carry our bags up and down the stairs since the elevator stops in the 1/2's floor (complicated) I was sooo excited because of the pictures and I had seen it in the background of a TV show on cruises from Royal Caribbean (a couple getting a Gondola in front) The only positive thing is the location, but there are plenty of other choices around St. Marks Piazza. Our group had 5 rooms and ages ranged from 14 to 70 yrs and we all agreed, no way we will recommend this to anyone, even our worst enemy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Photonadia
Couples
San Diego, CA
Jan 13, 2010

Inflexible cancellation policy

Our flight from the U.S. to London was delayed by 6 hours due to bad weather. Which would have caused us to miss our connection to Venice. No flights available to re-book us the following 2 days so we cancelled the trip to Venice all together. The hotel was very inflexible and would not refund any part of our money or consider a credit towards future travel. I realize that was their policy but our trip was cancelled because we couldn't get there due to delayed flights and bad weather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DR. RON
Couples
LIVERMORE CA.
Apr 22, 2009

NEVER STAY HERE

OUR FIRST ROOM OPTION HAD NO VIEW. I ACCEPTED AN UP GRADE OF $75.00 EURO PER NIGHT AND OUR BED HAD THE HEAD LOWER THAN THE FOOT SO THAT BLOOD WOULD RUSH TO YOUR HEAD. WHEN I TOLD THE STAFF THEY JUST LAUGHED AT ME AND WOULD NOT EVEN MOVE US BACK TO OUR FIRST ROOM. WE SLEPT SIDEWAYS AND I WILL NEVER STAY AT A BEST WESTERN. I HAD NO CLUE IT WAS A BEST WESTERN WHEN I BOOKED THE ROOM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dutchindogrl
Friends
San Jose, Ca
Apr 26, 2011

Not worth the price

We stayed in Venice for 1 night and this Hotel is in a perfect location if you want to be in the hustle and bustle of St. Markus Square. The hotel itself is NOT a 4 star hotel as stated, the staff was rude, the decor is old, the beds hard, pillows smelled and the room did not have any AC. We were told that the AC will not be turned on until summer and they told us we should open the window. We opened the windows and didn't know that the Gondoliers started cleaning and yelling outside of our window at 6am. Needless to say we didn't get any sleep. This hotel during our entire stay in Italy was the most expensive and worst hotel experience by far, and is not worth the $360.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Archipirata
Couples
Athens, OH 45701, USA
Mar 15, 2012

Below Expectations

I travel frequently and have stayed in Venice several times, so I understand the differences in expectations for European accommodations but this hotel still fell short. The location was excellent being adjacent to St. Mark's square and a few minutes from the vaporetto. The room and promised amenities were another matter. The hotel brand's website claimed that breakfast was included but after we sat down and began to eat on our first morning, we were presented with a bill for 15 euros each! When we complained and showed the desk a printout of the web page they said it was an error and they would not honor it. So no free breakfast and we had to pay the 30 euro. The website also said free in room wireless internet. This was not the case. You had to take your laptop to the lobby to get a connection. The stated amenities said in room coffee maker, but there was none. There was also no other coffee available other than the 15 euro breakfast. The room was basic and clean, but the shower was by far the smallest I have ever seen. No matter which way I turned, both shoulders were pressed against the walls of the tiny shower stall. You couldn't wash your hair without banging the control knobs and the shower head. As I said, wonderful location and decent price if you receive what was promised, unfortunately that is not what we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get away from St. Mark's square and the prices fall.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mrs. Dawn
Couples
San Diego
Apr 16, 2012

The 1st two rooms they tried to put me in were as appealing as a 1920 hospital ward.

If you have the will to keep changing rooms, you could end up okay. We ended up in a decent room, 3rd time a charm. The 1st room had avocado green patched up bathroom tiles, mold on the ceiling & stunk like mold. 2nd room well, I dont even have words to describe how depressing and old everything in it was. IF YOU NEED TO HAVE INTERNET FORGET THIS HOTEL. Had 2 work a few nights so, ended up in the hotel lobby working. I was not allowed to eat or drink anything I brought in myself because I did not buy it there. The fact that 2 people were so inconvenienced & had to sit in the lobby was of no concern to them, they even suggested that I pay extra for the internet?! Some of the staff were very helpful and a few were awful. I would not stay there again, even though the location was very good. I would pay more and stay in a proper hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Most hotels offer a free round trip boat ride to the Murano Glass factory. It was interesting and the taxi ride was very nice and FREE. Check it out but don't buy anything there!! Everything is 4 times the regular price than on the island and the Salesman are very high pressure. I checked everything out, then bought the piece I wanted and saved 790 Euros at a certified Murano shop.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
unhappy dw
Family
florida
Jul 9, 2012

poor accomodation, unfriendly staff

upon arrival, a bucket was present in the room to catch water leaking from ceiling from airconditioner, on 2nd day, another leak developed, and when we told staff, they didn't seem to care, and said that they can't change our room, which means that we're gonna have to bear with this discomfort, by the 3rd day, another leak developed and thankfully, we were leaving the next morning, staff were very unaccomodating and unfriendly, aside from good location, would not even dare to come back to this hotel, let alone recommend this to friends & family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

very close to hard rock cafe

Back to menu Return to top