$231 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 9, 2015 Check-out: Sep 10, 2015

Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

4 stars
View map of San Marco, 1107, Venice, 30124

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.2

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nocturnaleagle
Couples
Turkey
May 9, 2014

Couple Holiday

The location is perfect, just next to San Marco Square. However, the hotel does not have anything special. The room was the smallest room that I have ever seen. They only fit a double bed and a minibar. There is no space to move inside the room. The hotel was noisy, especially in the mornings. I think it is a average quality hotel at most, and It certainly does not deserve 4 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Florida Restaurant at Rialto. It has a very nice view of the Grand Canal and Rialto Bridge. The food is good enough and it is not expensive.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JMo 31
Single
Wash DC
Jun 29, 2011

Small rooms, clean, prime location

The rooms in this hotel are quite small but I was impressed with how clean they were. The staff was helpful. The breakfast provided substantial options compared to other hotels in the area. I like to do yoga while traveling but the room didn't have any floor space. The hotel has air-conditioning which was a real bonus. There is no room service or hotel restaurant. There's a mini-bar in the room. The hotel is right off Piazza San Marco but can be hard to find. Be prepared to get lost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NPG
Family
New York, NY
Jun 4, 2009

San Marco Hotel Cavalletto review

The hotel was okay, rooms were a bit small, but well appointed. The staff was pretty mixed. Some were really good - the bartender / night guard was excellent; however, when I arrived there was an extremely surly young guy with a chin-strap beard there to (un)welcome us to the hotel. There was an issue with my room at first, but the hotel was very accomodating to quickly move me into a room that was satisfactory. The overall experience was in-line with the mid-range price we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crazylegs McGee
Couples
Honolulu, HI
Feb 18, 2010

Best Location Imaginable

Arrived for Carnavale and were located right next to the Piazza San Marco which was excellent. Vaporetto line that goes along the grand canal was nearby. Gondola ride was available from right in front of the hotel and was amazing. Room we were in was small, but spent very little time there anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Archipirata
Couples
Athens, OH 45701, USA
Mar 15, 2012

Below Expectations

I travel frequently and have stayed in Venice several times, so I understand the differences in expectations for European accommodations but this hotel still fell short. The location was excellent being adjacent to St. Mark's square and a few minutes from the vaporetto. The room and promised amenities were another matter. The hotel brand's website claimed that breakfast was included but after we sat down and began to eat on our first morning, we were presented with a bill for 15 euros each! When we complained and showed the desk a printout of the web page they said it was an error and they would not honor it. So no free breakfast and we had to pay the 30 euro. The website also said free in room wireless internet. This was not the case. You had to take your laptop to the lobby to get a connection. The stated amenities said in room coffee maker, but there was none. There was also no other coffee available other than the 15 euro breakfast. The room was basic and clean, but the shower was by far the smallest I have ever seen. No matter which way I turned, both shoulders were pressed against the walls of the tiny shower stall. You couldn't wash your hair without banging the control knobs and the shower head. As I said, wonderful location and decent price if you receive what was promised, unfortunately that is not what we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get away from St. Mark's square and the prices fall.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mrs. Dawn
Couples
San Diego
Apr 16, 2012

The 1st two rooms they tried to put me in were as appealing as a 1920 hospital ward.

If you have the will to keep changing rooms, you could end up okay. We ended up in a decent room, 3rd time a charm. The 1st room had avocado green patched up bathroom tiles, mold on the ceiling & stunk like mold. 2nd room well, I dont even have words to describe how depressing and old everything in it was. IF YOU NEED TO HAVE INTERNET FORGET THIS HOTEL. Had 2 work a few nights so, ended up in the hotel lobby working. I was not allowed to eat or drink anything I brought in myself because I did not buy it there. The fact that 2 people were so inconvenienced & had to sit in the lobby was of no concern to them, they even suggested that I pay extra for the internet?! Some of the staff were very helpful and a few were awful. I would not stay there again, even though the location was very good. I would pay more and stay in a proper hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Most hotels offer a free round trip boat ride to the Murano Glass factory. It was interesting and the taxi ride was very nice and FREE. Check it out but don't buy anything there!! Everything is 4 times the regular price than on the island and the Salesman are very high pressure. I checked everything out, then bought the piece I wanted and saved 790 Euros at a certified Murano shop.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
unhappy dw
Family
florida
Jul 9, 2012

poor accomodation, unfriendly staff

upon arrival, a bucket was present in the room to catch water leaking from ceiling from airconditioner, on 2nd day, another leak developed, and when we told staff, they didn't seem to care, and said that they can't change our room, which means that we're gonna have to bear with this discomfort, by the 3rd day, another leak developed and thankfully, we were leaving the next morning, staff were very unaccomodating and unfriendly, aside from good location, would not even dare to come back to this hotel, let alone recommend this to friends & family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

very close to hard rock cafe

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kizito
Single
Crawley
Apr 22, 2013

Great Central Location

Multi-lingual staff very courteous and helpful. Location perfect for walking, tours, etc. Single room overlooked gondolas and Hard Rock Cafe - impossible to sleep until late at night. Noisy, drunken people passing by all the time. Gondoliers noisey in morning and during day. Hotel needs to put instructions on wall against wall switches, advising on usage. TV too small, out of date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy three day water bus ticket - takes you everywhere for 35 Euros.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nocturnaleagle
Couples
Turkey
May 29, 2014

Couple

Perfect Location. Smallest room ever. Amenities old. Need to be refurbished. No recommendation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Boston, MA
Jul 11, 2011

It has location, but.....

We spent a weekend in Venice. The hotel has PRIME location. It is located perfectly at San Marco. We had one of only two with an outside deck overlooking the canal. However, the room was right next to the elevator. We did not get any sleep. Every time someone used the elevator, it woke us up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top