$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

4 stars
San Marco, 1107, Venice, 30124
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
81 reviews
So cool!

50 feet off St. Mark's Plaza, window view over the canal, antique furnishings in an extra large... See full review

  • Harried Dad
  • Sep 28, 2012
great location

Just steps from St Marks Square this old and stately hotel has great bones. Beautiful rooms,... See full review

  • spyder w
  • Jan 17, 2012
The Venice hotel for VIPs since the 14th century, on St. Mark’s Square
Join a guest list that has included Richard Strauss, Winston Churchill, and the Duke of Aosta at the Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice. About 50 meters from St. Mark's Square -- Venice's center for culture, shopping and dining -- the hotel has its own water landing, allowing guests to arrive right at the building's entrance via gondola or water taxi. One of Venice's oldest and most famous hotels, modern conveniences allow guests to stay in comfort in the cultural center of historic Venice.

Highlights
  • 14th century hotel is one of Venice’s oldest and most famous
  • About 50 meters from St. Mark’s Square and has its own water landing
  • On the Bacino Orselo, the gathering place for many of Venice’s gondoliers
Location
The Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice is just meters off the northwest corner of St. Mark’s Square, right on the Bacino Orselo and a short walk from the docks of the Riva degli Schiavoni. Many of Venice’s most famous attractions are nearby, including St. Mark’s Basilica, the Ducal Palace and the Fenice Theater. The hotel is a short walk from the designer boutiques along the Calle Larga 22 Marzo.
Rooms
The Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice’s 107 rooms are decorated in Venetian style. Rooms are air conditioned and include private bathrooms, satellite TV, Internet access and safes. Non-smoking rooms are available. Many rooms look over the Bacino Orselo.
Features
Start the day at the historic Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice with a buffet breakfast in the hotel’s sunny Venetian restaurant. Room service also is available and in some rooms, guests watch gondolas float by as they dine. The hotel also has a bar, concierge service, Wi-Fi and on-call doctor service.
Transportation
  • Marco Polo Airport (12.6 m/20.3 km)
  • Water taxi (at private water landing)
  • Riva degli Schiavoni vaporetto (waterbus) docks (0.4 m/0.6 km)
  • Venice Santa Lucia railway station (1.3 m/2.1 km)

Attractions
  • St. Mark’s Square (0.1 m/0.1 km)
  • Correr Museum (0.1 m/0.2 km)
  • Ducal Palace (0.2 m/0.3 km)
  • Fenice Theater (0.2 m/0.4 km)
  • Calle Larga 22 Marzo (0.2 m/0.4 km)
  • Palazzo Grassi (0.6 m/0.9 km)
Policies and fees
A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

45.4344 12.3371
Area served
Venice.
Nearby airports
Venice International Airport.
Area description
Right in the city centre, alongside St.Mark's Square and all the major attractions of the city, museums, shops, monuments, exhibitions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice Rooms

Single Room
The bedding option for the room is one single bed. Room offers Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable /Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, iron/ironing board, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Double Room
The bedding option for the room is one single bed Or two double beds. Room offers Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, iron/ironing board, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Triple Room
The bedding option for the room is one single bed and one double bed. Room offers Air conditioning,Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, iron/ironing board, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Correr: 0.1 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.1 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.1 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • San Moise: 0.1 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.1 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.1 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.2 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.1 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.1 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.1 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • San Moise: 0.1 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.1 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.1 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.2 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.3 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.3 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.4 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.5 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.5 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.5 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.5 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.5 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.6 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 0.6 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.7 mi
  • Arsenale: 0.8 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.9 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.9 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1.1 mi
  • Burano: 5.2 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.3 mi

Dining

Restaurant
La Colomba.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (81)

Ratings and reviews for Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.2

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 2, 2011

Great Location

If you want to be close to St Mark's Square, this is the hotel for you - maybe 20 yards from the hotel entrance to the square. We were there for New Years Eve so on that particular night, maybe a little too close - we got back to our room around 1:00 am; the band and celebrating stopped at 2:30. all was quiet after that. But the night before, even though our room overlooked a busy canal bridge, there was no issue with too much noise. The front desk staff were warm and friendly and after the first time requesting our key, they knew us by sight. The rooms were clean and well appointed. The single room our friend had was a bit small but had all the convinces of our much larger double room (with a crystal chandelier). The only issue we experienced was not being able to log into the hotel's WIFI system with my iPad - a minor inconvenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
xxy
Walnut Creek , Ca
Mar 3, 2009

excellent, phantastic location

My husband and I were in Venice before but never at Carneval. This time we took the chance and the hotel was the perfect place located right at the Marcus Palace. We had breakfast and we saw the gondolas passing by. Excellent service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask Venecians for advices.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hartford, CT
Sep 22, 2010

Enjoy one or two days in Venice

We were a group of six and only spent one night at this hotel. Staff was helpful in seting up water taxi transportation. Breakfast was extra and only OK at 7.50 Euro. Location was perfect if you only have a day or two to spend in Venice. Gondolas are parked right outside hotel with a little balcony to watch the goings on. nicht staff gave us a great recommendation for a family style restaurant with homade pastas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the public water bus to and from the airport if you are one or two people and don't mind pulling your luggage. For a larger group(we were six) it pays to take a private water taxi(make sure it will take you directly to hotel or you will have to walk from San Marco water station thru St Marks square and then have to negotiate steps over a canal). There is one charge that can be divided by everyone.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milwaukee, WI
Oct 2, 2009

Great Location

Good value within walking distance of many attractions. Clean and neat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We sat down for a beer and soda in San Marco Square and it cost us about $32 US dollars. Have a drink right around the corner at a stand for a reasonable amount.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
germany
Dec 23, 2009

Venice Trip

The staff was VERY helpful and friendly! The hotel very clean and we loved our stay there. Venice is amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
east tennessee
Jul 6, 2009

great place for a night or two in venice

room was very nice. an older motel, but motels are old there. Very nicely decorated, very comfortable bed, and spotless bathroom. i was very happy with the motel and thrilled with the location. i have traveled quite a bit and would recommend this to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

this motel is easy to find and the location cannot be beat. gondolas right outside the door, the st. marks square with the basilica and palace within seconds of room. nice to be able to come back to room for restroom, since they are hard to find in europe

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 2, 2011

Great Location

If you want to be close to St Mark's Square, this is the hotel for you - maybe 20 yards from the hotel entrance to the square. We were there for New Years Eve so on that particular night, maybe a little too close - we got back to our room around 1:00 am; the band and celebrating stopped at 2:30. all was quiet after that. But the night before, even though our room overlooked a busy canal bridge, there was no issue with too much noise. The front desk staff were warm and friendly and after the first time requesting our key, they knew us by sight. The rooms were clean and well appointed. The single room our friend had was a bit small but had all the convinces of our much larger double room (with a crystal chandelier). The only issue we experienced was not being able to log into the hotel's WIFI system with my iPad - a minor inconvenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hartford, CT
Sep 22, 2010

Enjoy one or two days in Venice

We were a group of six and only spent one night at this hotel. Staff was helpful in seting up water taxi transportation. Breakfast was extra and only OK at 7.50 Euro. Location was perfect if you only have a day or two to spend in Venice. Gondolas are parked right outside hotel with a little balcony to watch the goings on. nicht staff gave us a great recommendation for a family style restaurant with homade pastas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the public water bus to and from the airport if you are one or two people and don't mind pulling your luggage. For a larger group(we were six) it pays to take a private water taxi(make sure it will take you directly to hotel or you will have to walk from San Marco water station thru St Marks square and then have to negotiate steps over a canal). There is one charge that can be divided by everyone.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I love Vencie..........
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 30, 2009

Great Staff

It has a great location just a few feet from the famous San Marco Plaza. The hotel staff are very friendly and very helpful, answering my questions with a smile. I stayed in this hotel for 7 days and do not regret one mintue of it. Would be happy to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

I found that it is best to change your currency at the hotel. The forgein exchange locations charge you a service fee.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike Card
Kelowna, BC, Canada
Feb 29, 2012

In the heart of Venice

The hotel is in one of the best areas of Venice, next to the Hard Rock Cafe and St. Marks Square. 5 minute walk to the Rialto bridge. Water taxi nearby. Large room and beds. Friendly desk service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top