Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

4 stars
San Marco, 1107, Venice, 30124
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
81 reviews
So cool!

50 feet off St. Mark's Plaza, window view over the canal, antique furnishings in an extra large... See full review

  • Harried Dad
  • Sep 28, 2012
great location

Just steps from St Marks Square this old and stately hotel has great bones. Beautiful rooms,... See full review

  • spyder w
  • Jan 17, 2012
The Venice hotel for VIPs since the 14th century, on St. Mark’s Square
Join a guest list that has included Richard Strauss, Winston Churchill, and the Duke of Aosta at the Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice. About 50 meters from St. Mark's Square -- Venice's center for culture, shopping and dining -- the hotel has its own water landing, allowing guests to arrive right at the building's entrance via gondola or water taxi. One of Venice's oldest and most famous hotels, modern conveniences allow guests to stay in comfort in the cultural center of historic Venice.

Highlights
  • 14th century hotel is one of Venice’s oldest and most famous
  • About 50 meters from St. Mark’s Square and has its own water landing
  • On the Bacino Orselo, the gathering place for many of Venice’s gondoliers
Location
The Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice is just meters off the northwest corner of St. Mark’s Square, right on the Bacino Orselo and a short walk from the docks of the Riva degli Schiavoni. Many of Venice’s most famous attractions are nearby, including St. Mark’s Basilica, the Ducal Palace and the Fenice Theater. The hotel is a short walk from the designer boutiques along the Calle Larga 22 Marzo.
Rooms
The Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice’s 107 rooms are decorated in Venetian style. Rooms are air conditioned and include private bathrooms, satellite TV, Internet access and safes. Non-smoking rooms are available. Many rooms look over the Bacino Orselo.
Features
Start the day at the historic Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice with a buffet breakfast in the hotel’s sunny Venetian restaurant. Room service also is available and in some rooms, guests watch gondolas float by as they dine. The hotel also has a bar, concierge service, Wi-Fi and on-call doctor service.
Transportation
  • Marco Polo Airport (12.6 m/20.3 km)
  • Water taxi (at private water landing)
  • Riva degli Schiavoni vaporetto (waterbus) docks (0.4 m/0.6 km)
  • Venice Santa Lucia railway station (1.3 m/2.1 km)

Attractions
  • St. Mark’s Square (0.1 m/0.1 km)
  • Correr Museum (0.1 m/0.2 km)
  • Ducal Palace (0.2 m/0.3 km)
  • Fenice Theater (0.2 m/0.4 km)
  • Calle Larga 22 Marzo (0.2 m/0.4 km)
  • Palazzo Grassi (0.6 m/0.9 km)
Policies and fees
A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice Rooms

Single Room
The bedding option for the room is one single bed. Room offers Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable /Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, iron/ironing board, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Double Room
The bedding option for the room is one single bed Or two double beds. Room offers Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, iron/ironing board, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Triple Room
The bedding option for the room is one single bed and one double bed. Room offers Air conditioning,Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, iron/ironing board, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Map

45.4344 12.3371
Area served
Venice.
Nearby airports
Venice International Airport.
Area description
Right in the city centre, alongside St.Mark's Square and all the major attractions of the city, museums, shops, monuments, exhibitions.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Correr: 0.1 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.1 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.1 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • San Moise: 0.1 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.1 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.1 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.2 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.1 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.1 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.1 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • San Moise: 0.1 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.1 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.1 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.2 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.3 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.3 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.4 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.5 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.5 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.5 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.5 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.5 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.6 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 0.6 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.7 mi
  • Arsenale: 0.8 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.9 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.9 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1.1 mi
  • Burano: 5.2 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.3 mi

Dining

Restaurant
La Colomba.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (81)

Ratings and reviews for Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.2

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Orleans, LA
Sep 29, 2009

Phenomenal location

We stayed here on the second night of our honeymoon - our room overlooked the lagoon, filled with gondoliers. Incredibly romantic and historic hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Orleans, LA
Sep 29, 2009

Phenomenal location

We stayed here on the second night of our honeymoon - our room overlooked the lagoon, filled with gondoliers. Incredibly romantic and historic hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I love Vencie..........
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 30, 2009

Great Staff

It has a great location just a few feet from the famous San Marco Plaza. The hotel staff are very friendly and very helpful, answering my questions with a smile. I stayed in this hotel for 7 days and do not regret one mintue of it. Would be happy to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

I found that it is best to change your currency at the hotel. The forgein exchange locations charge you a service fee.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I love Vencie..........
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 30, 2009

Great Staff

It has a great location just a few feet from the famous San Marco Plaza. The hotel staff are very friendly and very helpful, answering my questions with a smile. I stayed in this hotel for 7 days and do not regret one mintue of it. Would be happy to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

I found that it is best to change your currency at the hotel. The forgein exchange locations charge you a service fee.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Connecticut
Jul 21, 2009

Great Location on Piazza San Marco!

The hotel is next to Piazza San Marco. Great location. We had 2 rooms located in the new annex. The room were recently renovated, tey were very clean. The A/C was very good. We had 3 day vaporetto (boat Bus) passes, which we got when we took the vaparetto near the train station. The vaporetto line stops are alog Piazza San Marco. We used the vaporetto to go: up & down Grand Canal, Murano, Burano, Rialto bridge, and anytime we got lost we found Gran Canal and took the boat back to piazza San Marco. We visted, Sam Marco Basilica % museum, The Dodge palace & museum, went up San Marco Bell tower. Rialto bridge, Santa Maria Gloriasa dei Frari Church. We took many walks and visited many other churches. In Murano se visited, the glass museum, the church nearby,glass blowing exebition, shopped and had a great seafood luch at a local trattoria.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Food & wine is expensive in Venice when compared to Florence. To remain on budget we had dinner away from San Marco square.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Idaho
Jul 21, 2009

San Marco Hotel Cavalletto

Very close to St Marks Square. Gondola pick up at the door of the Hotel. Very clean rooms which were nicely furnished.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

St. Marks square is a 2 min walk.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Idaho
Jul 21, 2009

San Marco Hotel Cavalletto

Very close to St Marks Square. Gondola pick up at the door of the Hotel. Very clean rooms which were nicely furnished.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

St. Marks square is a 2 min walk.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Connecticut
Jul 21, 2009

Great Location on Piazza San Marco!

The hotel is next to Piazza San Marco. Great location. We had 2 rooms located in the new annex. The room were recently renovated, tey were very clean. The A/C was very good. We had 3 day vaporetto (boat Bus) passes, which we got when we took the vaparetto near the train station. The vaporetto line stops are alog Piazza San Marco. We used the vaporetto to go: up & down Grand Canal, Murano, Burano, Rialto bridge, and anytime we got lost we found Gran Canal and took the boat back to piazza San Marco. We visted, Sam Marco Basilica % museum, The Dodge palace & museum, went up San Marco Bell tower. Rialto bridge, Santa Maria Gloriasa dei Frari Church. We took many walks and visited many other churches. In Murano se visited, the glass museum, the church nearby,glass blowing exebition, shopped and had a great seafood luch at a local trattoria.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Food & wine is expensive in Venice when compared to Florence. To remain on budget we had dinner away from San Marco square.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
First trip to Italy
Chicago, IL
Jul 20, 2009

Not all that great.

It was okay. The location was great. The room that we stayed in was small. Only one drawer to put clothes in, had to have mine in the luggage the whole time. Bathroom shower was really small.. I barely fit and Im petite compared to my husband. Staff in the lobby was sometimes friendly. Breakfast could have been better or had some variety to it. Bed was hard and stiff. Do not open windows.. people are loud outside. If you only care about sleep and showering, then get this hotel, if you want to something more comfortable then get a better hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nurse prof
Martinsville, IN
Jul 13, 2009

Venice Hotel

It was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top