$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 3, 2014

Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

4 stars
San Marco, 1107, Venice, 30124
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
50 reviews
Fantastic

Got to Venice early and walked to hotel from bus depot, as we had 5 hours to kill before we could... See full review

  • Jan and Bernie
  • Nov 15, 2014
So cool!

50 feet off St. Mark's Plaza, window view over the canal, antique furnishings in an extra large... See full review

  • Harried Dad
  • Sep 28, 2012
The Venice hotel for VIPs since the 14th century, on St. Mark’s Square
Join a guest list that has included Richard Strauss, Winston Churchill, and the Duke of Aosta at the Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice. About 50 meters from St. Mark's Square -- Venice's center for culture, shopping and dining -- the hotel has its own water landing, allowing guests to arrive right at the building's entrance via gondola or water taxi. One of Venice's oldest and most famous hotels, modern conveniences allow guests to stay in comfort in the cultural center of historic Venice.

Highlights
  • 14th century hotel is one of Venice’s oldest and most famous
  • About 50 meters from St. Mark’s Square and has its own water landing
  • On the Bacino Orselo, the gathering place for many of Venice’s gondoliers
Location
The Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice is just meters off the northwest corner of St. Mark’s Square, right on the Bacino Orselo and a short walk from the docks of the Riva degli Schiavoni. Many of Venice’s most famous attractions are nearby, including St. Mark’s Basilica, the Ducal Palace and the Fenice Theater. The hotel is a short walk from the designer boutiques along the Calle Larga 22 Marzo.
Rooms
The Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice’s 107 rooms are decorated in Venetian style. Rooms are air conditioned and include private bathrooms, satellite TV, Internet access and safes. Non-smoking rooms are available. Many rooms look over the Bacino Orselo.
Features
Start the day at the historic Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice with a buffet breakfast in the hotel’s sunny Venetian restaurant. Room service also is available and in some rooms, guests watch gondolas float by as they dine. The hotel also has a bar, concierge service, Wi-Fi and on-call doctor service.
Transportation
  • Marco Polo Airport (12.6 m/20.3 km)
  • Water taxi (at private water landing)
  • Riva degli Schiavoni vaporetto (waterbus) docks (0.4 m/0.6 km)
  • Venice Santa Lucia railway station (1.3 m/2.1 km)

Attractions
  • St. Mark’s Square (0.1 m/0.1 km)
  • Correr Museum (0.1 m/0.2 km)
  • Ducal Palace (0.2 m/0.3 km)
  • Fenice Theater (0.2 m/0.4 km)
  • Calle Larga 22 Marzo (0.2 m/0.4 km)
  • Palazzo Grassi (0.6 m/0.9 km)
Policies and fees
A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

45.4344 12.3371
Area served
Venice.
Nearby airports
Venice International Airport.
Area description
Right in the city centre, alongside St.Mark's Square and all the major attractions of the city, museums, shops, monuments, exhibitions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice Rooms

Single Room
The bedding option for the room is one single bed. Room offers Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable /Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, iron/ironing board, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Double Room
The bedding option for the room is one single bed Or two double beds. Room offers Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, iron/ironing board, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Triple Room
The bedding option for the room is one single bed and one double bed. Room offers Air conditioning,Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, iron/ironing board, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Correr: 0.1 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.1 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.1 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • San Moise: 0.1 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.1 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.1 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.2 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.1 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.1 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.1 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • San Moise: 0.1 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.1 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.1 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.2 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.3 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.3 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.4 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.5 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.5 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.5 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.5 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.5 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.6 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 0.6 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.7 mi
  • Arsenale: 0.8 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.9 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.9 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1.1 mi
  • Burano: 5.2 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.3 mi

Dining

Restaurant
La Colomba.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.2

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newport, AR
Oct 4, 2009

Fair deal for the price

A barely average facility with "so so" staff and no amenity but a good daily full breakfast buffet with a good variety of items and its great location made it a good deal for the price. It's right by Piazza San Marco, 10 minudte walk to the water bus terminal and easy access to everywhere. Recommendable if you are looking for a practical and economic trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nocturnaleagle
Business
Turkey
May 9, 2014

Couple Holiday

The location is perfect, just next to San Marco Square. However, the hotel does not have anything special. The room was the smallest room that I have ever seen. They only fit a double bed and a minibar. There is no space to move inside the room. The hotel was noisy, especially in the mornings. I think it is a average quality hotel at most, and It certainly does not deserve 4 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Florida Restaurant at Rialto. It has a very nice view of the Grand Canal and Rialto Bridge. The food is good enough and it is not expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JMo 31
Business
Wash DC
Jun 29, 2011

Small rooms, clean, prime location

The rooms in this hotel are quite small but I was impressed with how clean they were. The staff was helpful. The breakfast provided substantial options compared to other hotels in the area. I like to do yoga while traveling but the room didn't have any floor space. The hotel has air-conditioning which was a real bonus. There is no room service or hotel restaurant. There's a mini-bar in the room. The hotel is right off Piazza San Marco but can be hard to find. Be prepared to get lost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NPG
Business
New York, NY
Jun 4, 2009

San Marco Hotel Cavalletto review

The hotel was okay, rooms were a bit small, but well appointed. The staff was pretty mixed. Some were really good - the bartender / night guard was excellent; however, when I arrived there was an extremely surly young guy with a chin-strap beard there to (un)welcome us to the hotel. There was an issue with my room at first, but the hotel was very accomodating to quickly move me into a room that was satisfactory. The overall experience was in-line with the mid-range price we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crazylegs McGee
Business
Honolulu, HI
Feb 18, 2010

Best Location Imaginable

Arrived for Carnavale and were located right next to the Piazza San Marco which was excellent. Vaporetto line that goes along the grand canal was nearby. Gondola ride was available from right in front of the hotel and was amazing. Room we were in was small, but spent very little time there anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
First trip to Italy
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 20, 2009

Not all that great.

It was okay. The location was great. The room that we stayed in was small. Only one drawer to put clothes in, had to have mine in the luggage the whole time. Bathroom shower was really small.. I barely fit and Im petite compared to my husband. Staff in the lobby was sometimes friendly. Breakfast could have been better or had some variety to it. Bed was hard and stiff. Do not open windows.. people are loud outside. If you only care about sleep and showering, then get this hotel, if you want to something more comfortable then get a better hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Archipirata
Business
Athens, OH 45701, USA
Mar 15, 2012

Below Expectations

I travel frequently and have stayed in Venice several times, so I understand the differences in expectations for European accommodations but this hotel still fell short. The location was excellent being adjacent to St. Mark's square and a few minutes from the vaporetto. The room and promised amenities were another matter. The hotel brand's website claimed that breakfast was included but after we sat down and began to eat on our first morning, we were presented with a bill for 15 euros each! When we complained and showed the desk a printout of the web page they said it was an error and they would not honor it. So no free breakfast and we had to pay the 30 euro. The website also said free in room wireless internet. This was not the case. You had to take your laptop to the lobby to get a connection. The stated amenities said in room coffee maker, but there was none. There was also no other coffee available other than the 15 euro breakfast. The room was basic and clean, but the shower was by far the smallest I have ever seen. No matter which way I turned, both shoulders were pressed against the walls of the tiny shower stall. You couldn't wash your hair without banging the control knobs and the shower head. As I said, wonderful location and decent price if you receive what was promised, unfortunately that is not what we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get away from St. Mark's square and the prices fall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mrs. Dawn
Business
San Diego
Apr 16, 2012

The 1st two rooms they tried to put me in were as appealing as a 1920 hospital ward.

If you have the will to keep changing rooms, you could end up okay. We ended up in a decent room, 3rd time a charm. The 1st room had avocado green patched up bathroom tiles, mold on the ceiling & stunk like mold. 2nd room well, I dont even have words to describe how depressing and old everything in it was. IF YOU NEED TO HAVE INTERNET FORGET THIS HOTEL. Had 2 work a few nights so, ended up in the hotel lobby working. I was not allowed to eat or drink anything I brought in myself because I did not buy it there. The fact that 2 people were so inconvenienced & had to sit in the lobby was of no concern to them, they even suggested that I pay extra for the internet?! Some of the staff were very helpful and a few were awful. I would not stay there again, even though the location was very good. I would pay more and stay in a proper hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Most hotels offer a free round trip boat ride to the Murano Glass factory. It was interesting and the taxi ride was very nice and FREE. Check it out but don't buy anything there!! Everything is 4 times the regular price than on the island and the Salesman are very high pressure. I checked everything out, then bought the piece I wanted and saved 790 Euros at a certified Murano shop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
unhappy dw
Business
florida
Jul 9, 2012

poor accomodation, unfriendly staff

upon arrival, a bucket was present in the room to catch water leaking from ceiling from airconditioner, on 2nd day, another leak developed, and when we told staff, they didn't seem to care, and said that they can't change our room, which means that we're gonna have to bear with this discomfort, by the 3rd day, another leak developed and thankfully, we were leaving the next morning, staff were very unaccomodating and unfriendly, aside from good location, would not even dare to come back to this hotel, let alone recommend this to friends & family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

very close to hard rock cafe

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kizito
Business
Crawley
Apr 22, 2013

Great Central Location

Multi-lingual staff very courteous and helpful. Location perfect for walking, tours, etc. Single room overlooked gondolas and Hard Rock Cafe - impossible to sleep until late at night. Noisy, drunken people passing by all the time. Gondoliers noisey in morning and during day. Hotel needs to put instructions on wall against wall switches, advising on usage. TV too small, out of date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy three day water bus ticket - takes you everywhere for 35 Euros.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top