$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2015 Check-out: Jul 30, 2015

Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

4 stars
View map of San Marco, 1107, Venice, 30124

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.2

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
spyder w
San Francisco, CA, USA
Jan 17, 2012

great location

Just steps from St Marks Square this old and stately hotel has great bones. Beautiful rooms, restaurant, and bar overlooking a small canal that is heavily used by gondolas. The staff are English speakers and an attractive bunch as well. Wifi worked in common areas but not in my room which was not a problem but an inconvenience since the common areas are so pleasant to be in. Easy to find is not a minor issue as Venice is a labyrinth and is easy to be lost in which is great if you are not exhausted at the end of the day and just need to be laying down in your hotel's bed. All in all this is a fine hotel and a bargain (I was there in the off season) find. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Italian at heart
Business
San Diego
Oct 18, 2009

Charming hotel on St Mark's Square

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. Staff was friendly and attentive. Breakfast was great, with fresh bread, croissants, pastries, eggs, cheese, and meat items. Can request for cappuccino. Room is clean. Room by the street can be noisy if window is open. Many gondolas in the back of the hotel. Can have water taxi take you directly to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to St. Mark's Square, Doge's Palace, and the Basilica. Short walk to/from vaporetto. Walking distance to Rialto, Accademia.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newport, AR
Oct 4, 2009

Fair deal for the price

A barely average facility with "so so" staff and no amenity but a good daily full breakfast buffet with a good variety of items and its great location made it a good deal for the price. It's right by Piazza San Marco, 10 minudte walk to the water bus terminal and easy access to everywhere. Recommendable if you are looking for a practical and economic trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Oct 2, 2009

Great Location

Good value within walking distance of many attractions. Clean and neat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We sat down for a beer and soda in San Marco Square and it cost us about $32 US dollars. Have a drink right around the corner at a stand for a reasonable amount.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans, LA
Sep 29, 2009

Phenomenal location

We stayed here on the second night of our honeymoon - our room overlooked the lagoon, filled with gondoliers. Incredibly romantic and historic hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I love Vencie..........
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 30, 2009

Great Staff

It has a great location just a few feet from the famous San Marco Plaza. The hotel staff are very friendly and very helpful, answering my questions with a smile. I stayed in this hotel for 7 days and do not regret one mintue of it. Would be happy to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

I found that it is best to change your currency at the hotel. The forgein exchange locations charge you a service fee.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Idaho
Jul 21, 2009

San Marco Hotel Cavalletto

Very close to St Marks Square. Gondola pick up at the door of the Hotel. Very clean rooms which were nicely furnished.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

St. Marks square is a 2 min walk.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Connecticut
Jul 21, 2009

Great Location on Piazza San Marco!

The hotel is next to Piazza San Marco. Great location. We had 2 rooms located in the new annex. The room were recently renovated, tey were very clean. The A/C was very good. We had 3 day vaporetto (boat Bus) passes, which we got when we took the vaparetto near the train station. The vaporetto line stops are alog Piazza San Marco. We used the vaporetto to go: up & down Grand Canal, Murano, Burano, Rialto bridge, and anytime we got lost we found Gran Canal and took the boat back to piazza San Marco. We visted, Sam Marco Basilica % museum, The Dodge palace & museum, went up San Marco Bell tower. Rialto bridge, Santa Maria Gloriasa dei Frari Church. We took many walks and visited many other churches. In Murano se visited, the glass museum, the church nearby,glass blowing exebition, shopped and had a great seafood luch at a local trattoria.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Food & wine is expensive in Venice when compared to Florence. To remain on budget we had dinner away from San Marco square.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nurse prof
Business
Martinsville, IN
Jul 13, 2009

Venice Hotel

It was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
east tennessee
Jul 6, 2009

great place for a night or two in venice

room was very nice. an older motel, but motels are old there. Very nicely decorated, very comfortable bed, and spotless bathroom. i was very happy with the motel and thrilled with the location. i have traveled quite a bit and would recommend this to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

this motel is easy to find and the location cannot be beat. gondolas right outside the door, the st. marks square with the basilica and palace within seconds of room. nice to be able to come back to room for restroom, since they are hard to find in europe

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Juan, PR
Jun 24, 2009

Dont be fooled by the picture

I do not recommend this hotel to anyone. The staff is extremely uncooperative - they act like they are doing you a favor... The elevator dates back to 1950's and it doesnt stop in any specific floor. We were 11 and we had to carry our bags up and down the stairs since the elevator stops in the 1/2's floor (complicated) I was sooo excited because of the pictures and I had seen it in the background of a TV show on cruises from Royal Caribbean (a couple getting a Gondola in front) The only positive thing is the location, but there are plenty of other choices around St. Marks Piazza. Our group had 5 rooms and ages ranged from 14 to 70 yrs and we all agreed, no way we will recommend this to anyone, even our worst enemy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top