$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

4 stars
View map of San Marco, 1107, Venice, 30124

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.2

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 26, 2009

Dishonest Front Desk Clerks

The hotel does not have its complete name on the building making it a little difficult to find. I am unsure how the mistake was made (either by me or them) but I had 2 rooms reserved for 4 people for 2 nights at this hotel. The rooms reserved were Single rooms, which can only be used for 1 person. When I arrived to the front desk I asked to pay for an upgrade to larger rooms. The front desk clerks informed me it would be impossible, because they were 100% full for the night. During the check in process The clerks realized that our group of four would not fit in the rooms we reserved and the only way to correct the situation was to sell us another room. The hotel provided a double room for a PREMIUM price. I asked how this room became available now, when just five minutes ago they were 100% full. The clerk said they had a last minute cancellation. I have a hard time believing this story. The night was not terrific. The windows and walls are very very thin. We did not get much rest at all. The guests in other rooms, people walking down the hall and street noise was enough to wake us up on a frequent basis. The morning was not much better. When I say the walls are thin I mean they are paper thin. When the person next door was in the shower it sounded like they were in my shower. Everyone in our group had similiar complaints about the noise. Again we asked the front desk to pay for a larger second room and drop the 2 single rooms, they declined telling us they could only provide the same 3 rooms for our second night. I ended up going to a internet cafe to check for available rooms at other hotels so, we could drop our PREMIUM price double room and found this hotel online with available double rooms. When I presented this information to the front desk they told me they are unsure why they were showing availability. We ended up cancelling the third room that night and found a better deal somewhere else. I feel like the front desk clerks were not helpful or respectful of our situation. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. On a positive note the rooms were neat and mostly clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If traveling by train, stay close to the train station. Taxi rides are very expensive and the waterbus is the best choice but slow.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thomas the thinker
Business
Danbury, CT
Oct 22, 2009

Nice small room in the new annex.

We were put into the new annex which is very quiet indeed, but you have to ask the desk clerk to buzz you through the main door which was an annoyance, your magnetic key will work for the back door. It was a pink tiled room,nicely appointed but small by American standards, they give you one little piece of soap that you must transport into the shower with you and two pillows for 2 people period, no room clock and in room wi fi is outrageously priced,the staff were professional but not really friendly. Free Wi Fi in the loby,the location of this hotel can not be beat,I walked out and to the left and there was the cathedral and square and orchestra music playing at two of the square resteraunts, It blew me away, their breakfast buffet is absolutely fabulous served in a beautiful room probably the best part of staying at this hotel. We had no view what so ever which I didn't care about anyway, why pay a hundred or 2 hundred extra. You will have your fill of Gondolas which are priced at 80 Euros or about 120 dollars for a 40 minute ride. I said no thanks, and around San Marco it is like a train of gondolas, try up by the Rialto bridge if that is what floats your boat, no pun intended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The best resteraunts require reservations but if you show up at 7 pm when they open they will take you usually, Italians eat late at 8 or 9 PM, we had a great meal up by the Rialto Bridge outside on the Grand Canal, the rest. was Tratoria Tre Spiedi the food at most Resteraunts will nock your socks off. It is good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Italian at heart
Business
San Diego
Oct 18, 2009

Charming hotel on St Mark's Square

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. Staff was friendly and attentive. Breakfast was great, with fresh bread, croissants, pastries, eggs, cheese, and meat items. Can request for cappuccino. Room is clean. Room by the street can be noisy if window is open. Many gondolas in the back of the hotel. Can have water taxi take you directly to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to St. Mark's Square, Doge's Palace, and the Basilica. Short walk to/from vaporetto. Walking distance to Rialto, Accademia.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newport, AR
Oct 4, 2009

Fair deal for the price

A barely average facility with "so so" staff and no amenity but a good daily full breakfast buffet with a good variety of items and its great location made it a good deal for the price. It's right by Piazza San Marco, 10 minudte walk to the water bus terminal and easy access to everywhere. Recommendable if you are looking for a practical and economic trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Oct 2, 2009

Great Location

Good value within walking distance of many attractions. Clean and neat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We sat down for a beer and soda in San Marco Square and it cost us about $32 US dollars. Have a drink right around the corner at a stand for a reasonable amount.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans, LA
Sep 29, 2009

Phenomenal location

We stayed here on the second night of our honeymoon - our room overlooked the lagoon, filled with gondoliers. Incredibly romantic and historic hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I love Vencie..........
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 30, 2009

Great Staff

It has a great location just a few feet from the famous San Marco Plaza. The hotel staff are very friendly and very helpful, answering my questions with a smile. I stayed in this hotel for 7 days and do not regret one mintue of it. Would be happy to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

I found that it is best to change your currency at the hotel. The forgein exchange locations charge you a service fee.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Idaho
Jul 21, 2009

San Marco Hotel Cavalletto

Very close to St Marks Square. Gondola pick up at the door of the Hotel. Very clean rooms which were nicely furnished.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

St. Marks square is a 2 min walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Connecticut
Jul 21, 2009

Great Location on Piazza San Marco!

The hotel is next to Piazza San Marco. Great location. We had 2 rooms located in the new annex. The room were recently renovated, tey were very clean. The A/C was very good. We had 3 day vaporetto (boat Bus) passes, which we got when we took the vaparetto near the train station. The vaporetto line stops are alog Piazza San Marco. We used the vaporetto to go: up & down Grand Canal, Murano, Burano, Rialto bridge, and anytime we got lost we found Gran Canal and took the boat back to piazza San Marco. We visted, Sam Marco Basilica % museum, The Dodge palace & museum, went up San Marco Bell tower. Rialto bridge, Santa Maria Gloriasa dei Frari Church. We took many walks and visited many other churches. In Murano se visited, the glass museum, the church nearby,glass blowing exebition, shopped and had a great seafood luch at a local trattoria.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Food & wine is expensive in Venice when compared to Florence. To remain on budget we had dinner away from San Marco square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
First trip to Italy
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 20, 2009

Not all that great.

It was okay. The location was great. The room that we stayed in was small. Only one drawer to put clothes in, had to have mine in the luggage the whole time. Bathroom shower was really small.. I barely fit and Im petite compared to my husband. Staff in the lobby was sometimes friendly. Breakfast could have been better or had some variety to it. Bed was hard and stiff. Do not open windows.. people are loud outside. If you only care about sleep and showering, then get this hotel, if you want to something more comfortable then get a better hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top