$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

4 stars
View map of San Marco, 1107, Venice, 30124

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.2

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Harried Dad
Yuba City, California
Sep 28, 2012

So cool!

50 feet off St. Mark's Plaza, window view over the canal, antique furnishings in an extra large room, free internet, wonderful service...what more do you want? loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Doge Palace self guided audio tour was REALLY great, and we enjoyed the upper parts of St. Mark's Basicilica. (But get on internet so you don't wait in lines).

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 2, 2011

Great Location

If you want to be close to St Mark's Square, this is the hotel for you - maybe 20 yards from the hotel entrance to the square. We were there for New Years Eve so on that particular night, maybe a little too close - we got back to our room around 1:00 am; the band and celebrating stopped at 2:30. all was quiet after that. But the night before, even though our room overlooked a busy canal bridge, there was no issue with too much noise. The front desk staff were warm and friendly and after the first time requesting our key, they knew us by sight. The rooms were clean and well appointed. The single room our friend had was a bit small but had all the convinces of our much larger double room (with a crystal chandelier). The only issue we experienced was not being able to log into the hotel's WIFI system with my iPad - a minor inconvenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Clueless Traveler
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Nov 1, 2010

NOT A 4 STAR HOTEL

THIS IS NOT A 4 STAR HOTEL. It's a Best Western!! It's got a great location but don't expect anything from this hotel except a place to lay your head at night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not use the gondola station outside the hotel it is over crowded with tourists and the gondoliers are not very good. You are better off taking a walk to a less crowded area.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hartford, CT
Sep 22, 2010

Enjoy one or two days in Venice

We were a group of six and only spent one night at this hotel. Staff was helpful in seting up water taxi transportation. Breakfast was extra and only OK at 7.50 Euro. Location was perfect if you only have a day or two to spend in Venice. Gondolas are parked right outside hotel with a little balcony to watch the goings on. nicht staff gave us a great recommendation for a family style restaurant with homade pastas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the public water bus to and from the airport if you are one or two people and don't mind pulling your luggage. For a larger group(we were six) it pays to take a private water taxi(make sure it will take you directly to hotel or you will have to walk from San Marco water station thru St Marks square and then have to negotiate steps over a canal). There is one charge that can be divided by everyone.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Joe and Mary
Business
Dade County FL
May 4, 2010

NOT four star

Located at a gondola "taxi stand," whose occupants spend most of their time shouting at the top of their lungs to one another. Air conditioned when the management says so..otherwise, no. Restaurant and bar prices are a joke. Upgraded room, at more than US$320 per night, had creaky wood floors, damaged woodwork and one TV station in English. The door locks and keys are from the 1930's. The shower floods the bathroom. The front desk staff wears frock coats, so I guess that's their claim to four stars. And, like many other hotels in Italy, they have no washcloths, so if you decide you want to get clean, bring your own. My personal opinion would be to stay on some other island entirely, and take the vaporetto to San Marco to see the sights. Lido (in May) was not overrun with hordes of tourists, and actually has trees and grass. We arrived at the hotel from a cruise at ten in the morning but no room was ready until 2 pm, and we were really tired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

If you are a wine drinker, try the house red or white at any ristorante or trattoria....we tried about ten different ones in Rome and Venice and were never disappointed.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crazylegs McGee
Business
Honolulu, HI
Feb 18, 2010

Best Location Imaginable

Arrived for Carnavale and were located right next to the Piazza San Marco which was excellent. Vaporetto line that goes along the grand canal was nearby. Gondola ride was available from right in front of the hotel and was amazing. Room we were in was small, but spent very little time there anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Photonadia
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 13, 2010

Inflexible cancellation policy

Our flight from the U.S. to London was delayed by 6 hours due to bad weather. Which would have caused us to miss our connection to Venice. No flights available to re-book us the following 2 days so we cancelled the trip to Venice all together. The hotel was very inflexible and would not refund any part of our money or consider a credit towards future travel. I realize that was their policy but our trip was cancelled because we couldn't get there due to delayed flights and bad weather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
germany
Dec 23, 2009

Venice Trip

The staff was VERY helpful and friendly! The hotel very clean and we loved our stay there. Venice is amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Watsonville CA>
Nov 17, 2009

LIfes Dream

Enjoyed all things

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring alot of money

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 26, 2009

Dishonest Front Desk Clerks

The hotel does not have its complete name on the building making it a little difficult to find. I am unsure how the mistake was made (either by me or them) but I had 2 rooms reserved for 4 people for 2 nights at this hotel. The rooms reserved were Single rooms, which can only be used for 1 person. When I arrived to the front desk I asked to pay for an upgrade to larger rooms. The front desk clerks informed me it would be impossible, because they were 100% full for the night. During the check in process The clerks realized that our group of four would not fit in the rooms we reserved and the only way to correct the situation was to sell us another room. The hotel provided a double room for a PREMIUM price. I asked how this room became available now, when just five minutes ago they were 100% full. The clerk said they had a last minute cancellation. I have a hard time believing this story. The night was not terrific. The windows and walls are very very thin. We did not get much rest at all. The guests in other rooms, people walking down the hall and street noise was enough to wake us up on a frequent basis. The morning was not much better. When I say the walls are thin I mean they are paper thin. When the person next door was in the shower it sounded like they were in my shower. Everyone in our group had similiar complaints about the noise. Again we asked the front desk to pay for a larger second room and drop the 2 single rooms, they declined telling us they could only provide the same 3 rooms for our second night. I ended up going to a internet cafe to check for available rooms at other hotels so, we could drop our PREMIUM price double room and found this hotel online with available double rooms. When I presented this information to the front desk they told me they are unsure why they were showing availability. We ended up cancelling the third room that night and found a better deal somewhere else. I feel like the front desk clerks were not helpful or respectful of our situation. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. On a positive note the rooms were neat and mostly clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If traveling by train, stay close to the train station. Taxi rides are very expensive and the waterbus is the best choice but slow.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thomas the thinker
Business
Danbury, CT
Oct 22, 2009

Nice small room in the new annex.

We were put into the new annex which is very quiet indeed, but you have to ask the desk clerk to buzz you through the main door which was an annoyance, your magnetic key will work for the back door. It was a pink tiled room,nicely appointed but small by American standards, they give you one little piece of soap that you must transport into the shower with you and two pillows for 2 people period, no room clock and in room wi fi is outrageously priced,the staff were professional but not really friendly. Free Wi Fi in the loby,the location of this hotel can not be beat,I walked out and to the left and there was the cathedral and square and orchestra music playing at two of the square resteraunts, It blew me away, their breakfast buffet is absolutely fabulous served in a beautiful room probably the best part of staying at this hotel. We had no view what so ever which I didn't care about anyway, why pay a hundred or 2 hundred extra. You will have your fill of Gondolas which are priced at 80 Euros or about 120 dollars for a 40 minute ride. I said no thanks, and around San Marco it is like a train of gondolas, try up by the Rialto bridge if that is what floats your boat, no pun intended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The best resteraunts require reservations but if you show up at 7 pm when they open they will take you usually, Italians eat late at 8 or 9 PM, we had a great meal up by the Rialto Bridge outside on the Grand Canal, the rest. was Tratoria Tre Spiedi the food at most Resteraunts will nock your socks off. It is good.

Back to menu Return to top