$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 2, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

4 stars
View map of San Marco, 1107, Venice, 30124

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.3

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 2, 2011

Great Location

If you want to be close to St Mark's Square, this is the hotel for you - maybe 20 yards from the hotel entrance to the square. We were there for New Years Eve so on that particular night, maybe a little too close - we got back to our room around 1:00 am; the band and celebrating stopped at 2:30. all was quiet after that. But the night before, even though our room overlooked a busy canal bridge, there was no issue with too much noise. The front desk staff were warm and friendly and after the first time requesting our key, they knew us by sight. The rooms were clean and well appointed. The single room our friend had was a bit small but had all the convinces of our much larger double room (with a crystal chandelier). The only issue we experienced was not being able to log into the hotel's WIFI system with my iPad - a minor inconvenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Clueless Traveler
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Nov 1, 2010

NOT A 4 STAR HOTEL

THIS IS NOT A 4 STAR HOTEL. It's a Best Western!! It's got a great location but don't expect anything from this hotel except a place to lay your head at night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not use the gondola station outside the hotel it is over crowded with tourists and the gondoliers are not very good. You are better off taking a walk to a less crowded area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hartford, CT
Sep 22, 2010

Enjoy one or two days in Venice

We were a group of six and only spent one night at this hotel. Staff was helpful in seting up water taxi transportation. Breakfast was extra and only OK at 7.50 Euro. Location was perfect if you only have a day or two to spend in Venice. Gondolas are parked right outside hotel with a little balcony to watch the goings on. nicht staff gave us a great recommendation for a family style restaurant with homade pastas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the public water bus to and from the airport if you are one or two people and don't mind pulling your luggage. For a larger group(we were six) it pays to take a private water taxi(make sure it will take you directly to hotel or you will have to walk from San Marco water station thru St Marks square and then have to negotiate steps over a canal). There is one charge that can be divided by everyone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Joe and Mary
Business
Dade County FL
May 4, 2010

NOT four star

Located at a gondola "taxi stand," whose occupants spend most of their time shouting at the top of their lungs to one another. Air conditioned when the management says so..otherwise, no. Restaurant and bar prices are a joke. Upgraded room, at more than US$320 per night, had creaky wood floors, damaged woodwork and one TV station in English. The door locks and keys are from the 1930's. The shower floods the bathroom. The front desk staff wears frock coats, so I guess that's their claim to four stars. And, like many other hotels in Italy, they have no washcloths, so if you decide you want to get clean, bring your own. My personal opinion would be to stay on some other island entirely, and take the vaporetto to San Marco to see the sights. Lido (in May) was not overrun with hordes of tourists, and actually has trees and grass. We arrived at the hotel from a cruise at ten in the morning but no room was ready until 2 pm, and we were really tired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

If you are a wine drinker, try the house red or white at any ristorante or trattoria....we tried about ten different ones in Rome and Venice and were never disappointed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crazylegs McGee
Business
Honolulu, HI
Feb 18, 2010

Best Location Imaginable

Arrived for Carnavale and were located right next to the Piazza San Marco which was excellent. Vaporetto line that goes along the grand canal was nearby. Gondola ride was available from right in front of the hotel and was amazing. Room we were in was small, but spent very little time there anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Photonadia
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 13, 2010

Inflexible cancellation policy

Our flight from the U.S. to London was delayed by 6 hours due to bad weather. Which would have caused us to miss our connection to Venice. No flights available to re-book us the following 2 days so we cancelled the trip to Venice all together. The hotel was very inflexible and would not refund any part of our money or consider a credit towards future travel. I realize that was their policy but our trip was cancelled because we couldn't get there due to delayed flights and bad weather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
germany
Dec 23, 2009

Venice Trip

The staff was VERY helpful and friendly! The hotel very clean and we loved our stay there. Venice is amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Watsonville CA>
Nov 17, 2009

LIfes Dream

Enjoyed all things

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring alot of money

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nogales, Mex
Nov 8, 2009

Beautiful

Very nice hotel, very clean, the location was great, and also de buffet. The hotel is walking distance from Piazza San Marcos and vaporreto

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you need to go to the airport don´t take taxi is about E 120, take a vaporetto taht is E 13 per person.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nogales, Mex
Nov 8, 2009

Beautiful

Very nice hotel, very clean, the location was great, and also de buffet. The hotel is walking distance from Piazza San Marcos and vaporreto

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you need to go to the airport don´t take taxi is about E 120, take a vaporetto taht is E 13 per person.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top