$164 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

4 stars
San Marco, 1107, Venice, 30124
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
49 reviews
So cool!

50 feet off St. Mark's Plaza, window view over the canal, antique furnishings in an extra large... See full review

  • Harried Dad
  • Sep 28, 2012
great location

Just steps from St Marks Square this old and stately hotel has great bones. Beautiful rooms,... See full review

  • spyder w
  • Jan 17, 2012
The Venice hotel for VIPs since the 14th century, on St. Mark’s Square
Join a guest list that has included Richard Strauss, Winston Churchill, and the Duke of Aosta at the Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice. About 50 meters from St. Mark's Square -- Venice's center for culture, shopping and dining -- the hotel has its own water landing, allowing guests to arrive right at the building's entrance via gondola or water taxi. One of Venice's oldest and most famous hotels, modern conveniences allow guests to stay in comfort in the cultural center of historic Venice.

Highlights
  • 14th century hotel is one of Venice’s oldest and most famous
  • About 50 meters from St. Mark’s Square and has its own water landing
  • On the Bacino Orselo, the gathering place for many of Venice’s gondoliers
Location
The Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice is just meters off the northwest corner of St. Mark’s Square, right on the Bacino Orselo and a short walk from the docks of the Riva degli Schiavoni. Many of Venice’s most famous attractions are nearby, including St. Mark’s Basilica, the Ducal Palace and the Fenice Theater. The hotel is a short walk from the designer boutiques along the Calle Larga 22 Marzo.
Rooms
The Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice’s 107 rooms are decorated in Venetian style. Rooms are air conditioned and include private bathrooms, satellite TV, Internet access and safes. Non-smoking rooms are available. Many rooms look over the Bacino Orselo.
Features
Start the day at the historic Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice with a buffet breakfast in the hotel’s sunny Venetian restaurant. Room service also is available and in some rooms, guests watch gondolas float by as they dine. The hotel also has a bar, concierge service, Wi-Fi and on-call doctor service.
Transportation
  • Marco Polo Airport (12.6 m/20.3 km)
  • Water taxi (at private water landing)
  • Riva degli Schiavoni vaporetto (waterbus) docks (0.4 m/0.6 km)
  • Venice Santa Lucia railway station (1.3 m/2.1 km)

Attractions
  • St. Mark’s Square (0.1 m/0.1 km)
  • Correr Museum (0.1 m/0.2 km)
  • Ducal Palace (0.2 m/0.3 km)
  • Fenice Theater (0.2 m/0.4 km)
  • Calle Larga 22 Marzo (0.2 m/0.4 km)
  • Palazzo Grassi (0.6 m/0.9 km)
Policies and fees
A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

45.4344 12.3371
Area served
Venice.
Nearby airports
Venice International Airport.
Area description
Right in the city centre, alongside St.Mark's Square and all the major attractions of the city, museums, shops, monuments, exhibitions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice Rooms

Single Room
The bedding option for the room is one single bed. Room offers Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable /Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, iron/ironing board, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Double Room
The bedding option for the room is one single bed Or two double beds. Room offers Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, iron/ironing board, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Triple Room
The bedding option for the room is one single bed and one double bed. Room offers Air conditioning,Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, iron/ironing board, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Correr: 0.1 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.1 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.1 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • San Moise: 0.1 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.1 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.1 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.2 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.1 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.1 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.1 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • San Moise: 0.1 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.1 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.1 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.2 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.3 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.3 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.4 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.5 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.5 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.5 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.5 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.5 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.6 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 0.6 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.7 mi
  • Arsenale: 0.8 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.9 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.9 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1.1 mi
  • Burano: 5.2 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.3 mi

Dining

Restaurant
La Colomba.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.2

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Clueless Traveler
Toronto, Ontario
Nov 1, 2010

NOT A 4 STAR HOTEL

THIS IS NOT A 4 STAR HOTEL. It's a Best Western!! It's got a great location but don't expect anything from this hotel except a place to lay your head at night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not use the gondola station outside the hotel it is over crowded with tourists and the gondoliers are not very good. You are better off taking a walk to a less crowded area.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hartford, CT
Sep 22, 2010

Enjoy one or two days in Venice

We were a group of six and only spent one night at this hotel. Staff was helpful in seting up water taxi transportation. Breakfast was extra and only OK at 7.50 Euro. Location was perfect if you only have a day or two to spend in Venice. Gondolas are parked right outside hotel with a little balcony to watch the goings on. nicht staff gave us a great recommendation for a family style restaurant with homade pastas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the public water bus to and from the airport if you are one or two people and don't mind pulling your luggage. For a larger group(we were six) it pays to take a private water taxi(make sure it will take you directly to hotel or you will have to walk from San Marco water station thru St Marks square and then have to negotiate steps over a canal). There is one charge that can be divided by everyone.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Joe and Mary
Dade County FL
May 4, 2010

NOT four star

Located at a gondola "taxi stand," whose occupants spend most of their time shouting at the top of their lungs to one another. Air conditioned when the management says so..otherwise, no. Restaurant and bar prices are a joke. Upgraded room, at more than US$320 per night, had creaky wood floors, damaged woodwork and one TV station in English. The door locks and keys are from the 1930's. The shower floods the bathroom. The front desk staff wears frock coats, so I guess that's their claim to four stars. And, like many other hotels in Italy, they have no washcloths, so if you decide you want to get clean, bring your own. My personal opinion would be to stay on some other island entirely, and take the vaporetto to San Marco to see the sights. Lido (in May) was not overrun with hordes of tourists, and actually has trees and grass. We arrived at the hotel from a cruise at ten in the morning but no room was ready until 2 pm, and we were really tired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Not Applicable

If you are a wine drinker, try the house red or white at any ristorante or trattoria....we tried about ten different ones in Rome and Venice and were never disappointed.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crazylegs McGee
Honolulu, HI
Feb 18, 2010

Best Location Imaginable

Arrived for Carnavale and were located right next to the Piazza San Marco which was excellent. Vaporetto line that goes along the grand canal was nearby. Gondola ride was available from right in front of the hotel and was amazing. Room we were in was small, but spent very little time there anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Photonadia
San Diego, CA
Jan 13, 2010

Inflexible cancellation policy

Our flight from the U.S. to London was delayed by 6 hours due to bad weather. Which would have caused us to miss our connection to Venice. No flights available to re-book us the following 2 days so we cancelled the trip to Venice all together. The hotel was very inflexible and would not refund any part of our money or consider a credit towards future travel. I realize that was their policy but our trip was cancelled because we couldn't get there due to delayed flights and bad weather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
germany
Dec 23, 2009

Venice Trip

The staff was VERY helpful and friendly! The hotel very clean and we loved our stay there. Venice is amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Watsonville CA>
Nov 17, 2009

LIfes Dream

Enjoyed all things

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring alot of money

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nogales, Mex
Nov 8, 2009

Beautiful

Very nice hotel, very clean, the location was great, and also de buffet. The hotel is walking distance from Piazza San Marcos and vaporreto

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you need to go to the airport don´t take taxi is about E 120, take a vaporetto taht is E 13 per person.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 26, 2009

Dishonest Front Desk Clerks

The hotel does not have its complete name on the building making it a little difficult to find. I am unsure how the mistake was made (either by me or them) but I had 2 rooms reserved for 4 people for 2 nights at this hotel. The rooms reserved were Single rooms, which can only be used for 1 person. When I arrived to the front desk I asked to pay for an upgrade to larger rooms. The front desk clerks informed me it would be impossible, because they were 100% full for the night. During the check in process The clerks realized that our group of four would not fit in the rooms we reserved and the only way to correct the situation was to sell us another room. The hotel provided a double room for a PREMIUM price. I asked how this room became available now, when just five minutes ago they were 100% full. The clerk said they had a last minute cancellation. I have a hard time believing this story. The night was not terrific. The windows and walls are very very thin. We did not get much rest at all. The guests in other rooms, people walking down the hall and street noise was enough to wake us up on a frequent basis. The morning was not much better. When I say the walls are thin I mean they are paper thin. When the person next door was in the shower it sounded like they were in my shower. Everyone in our group had similiar complaints about the noise. Again we asked the front desk to pay for a larger second room and drop the 2 single rooms, they declined telling us they could only provide the same 3 rooms for our second night. I ended up going to a internet cafe to check for available rooms at other hotels so, we could drop our PREMIUM price double room and found this hotel online with available double rooms. When I presented this information to the front desk they told me they are unsure why they were showing availability. We ended up cancelling the third room that night and found a better deal somewhere else. I feel like the front desk clerks were not helpful or respectful of our situation. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. On a positive note the rooms were neat and mostly clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If traveling by train, stay close to the train station. Taxi rides are very expensive and the waterbus is the best choice but slow.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thomas the thinker
Danbury, CT
Oct 22, 2009

Nice small room in the new annex.

We were put into the new annex which is very quiet indeed, but you have to ask the desk clerk to buzz you through the main door which was an annoyance, your magnetic key will work for the back door. It was a pink tiled room,nicely appointed but small by American standards, they give you one little piece of soap that you must transport into the shower with you and two pillows for 2 people period, no room clock and in room wi fi is outrageously priced,the staff were professional but not really friendly. Free Wi Fi in the loby,the location of this hotel can not be beat,I walked out and to the left and there was the cathedral and square and orchestra music playing at two of the square resteraunts, It blew me away, their breakfast buffet is absolutely fabulous served in a beautiful room probably the best part of staying at this hotel. We had no view what so ever which I didn't care about anyway, why pay a hundred or 2 hundred extra. You will have your fill of Gondolas which are priced at 80 Euros or about 120 dollars for a 40 minute ride. I said no thanks, and around San Marco it is like a train of gondolas, try up by the Rialto bridge if that is what floats your boat, no pun intended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The best resteraunts require reservations but if you show up at 7 pm when they open they will take you usually, Italians eat late at 8 or 9 PM, we had a great meal up by the Rialto Bridge outside on the Grand Canal, the rest. was Tratoria Tre Spiedi the food at most Resteraunts will nock your socks off. It is good.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search