$155 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 2, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

4 stars
View map of San Marco, 1107, Venice, 30124

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.3

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rosieQ
Business
New York, NY, USA
Apr 5, 2012

would go here again

The value and location of main hotel was fine but there is a new additon to the hotel that is actually behind the main hotel and across the road. Since it is detached from the main bldg, you must go outside to access the lobby or restaurant. The rooms in new section are nicer than main building and staff is very nice and was very accommodating and helpful. Base of new building is a little musty, kind of like a basement feeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you handle your own luggage in Venice it is very, very difficult to navigate the footbridges with luggage. Check if your hotel offers a water taxi directly to your hotel's door. Well worth the cost of direct taxi to not have to drag your bags up and down the many, many footbridges.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Archipirata
Business
Athens, OH 45701, USA
Mar 15, 2012

Below Expectations

I travel frequently and have stayed in Venice several times, so I understand the differences in expectations for European accommodations but this hotel still fell short. The location was excellent being adjacent to St. Mark's square and a few minutes from the vaporetto. The room and promised amenities were another matter. The hotel brand's website claimed that breakfast was included but after we sat down and began to eat on our first morning, we were presented with a bill for 15 euros each! When we complained and showed the desk a printout of the web page they said it was an error and they would not honor it. So no free breakfast and we had to pay the 30 euro. The website also said free in room wireless internet. This was not the case. You had to take your laptop to the lobby to get a connection. The stated amenities said in room coffee maker, but there was none. There was also no other coffee available other than the 15 euro breakfast. The room was basic and clean, but the shower was by far the smallest I have ever seen. No matter which way I turned, both shoulders were pressed against the walls of the tiny shower stall. You couldn't wash your hair without banging the control knobs and the shower head. As I said, wonderful location and decent price if you receive what was promised, unfortunately that is not what we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get away from St. Mark's square and the prices fall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike Card
Business
Kelowna, BC, Canada
Feb 29, 2012

In the heart of Venice

The hotel is in one of the best areas of Venice, next to the Hard Rock Cafe and St. Marks Square. 5 minute walk to the Rialto bridge. Water taxi nearby. Large room and beds. Friendly desk service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
spyder w
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Jan 17, 2012

great location

Just steps from St Marks Square this old and stately hotel has great bones. Beautiful rooms, restaurant, and bar overlooking a small canal that is heavily used by gondolas. The staff are English speakers and an attractive bunch as well. Wifi worked in common areas but not in my room which was not a problem but an inconvenience since the common areas are so pleasant to be in. Easy to find is not a minor issue as Venice is a labyrinth and is easy to be lost in which is great if you are not exhausted at the end of the day and just need to be laying down in your hotel's bed. All in all this is a fine hotel and a bargain (I was there in the off season) find. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lima
Business
Tucson, Arizona, Stati Uniti
Nov 29, 2011

Nice, very clean and a very good location.

Very close to San Marco Plaza, 4 minute walk. No need to take a taxi to the Terminal station, just take public transportation, a boat-bus. Excellent esperience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not buy the very first thing you see, there are plenty of places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Boleador
Business
Ankara Province/Ankara, Turkey
Nov 14, 2011

HORRIBLE: ZERO PEACE AND QUIET AT THIS HOTEL.

This hotel was a horrible experience, I would not stay here again. The Good: The location is right next to St. Mark's Square The Bad: -Room smelled strongly of cigarettes when we arrived -The nightclub/hotel bar kept us awake until 2 am with LOUD dance music which was very loud in our bedroom. We got absolutely no sleep. When I called the front desk to complain they told me that they could not stop the music and made it sound like I was crazy for not wanting to party all night long. Let me be clear: the walls were paper thin, and the music was deafening in my room. I put in earplugs, but was still not able to block out the music from downstairs. -The hotel is right next door to the Hard Rock Cafe and a very busy Gondola stop which makes the rooms even NOISIER. YOU WILL GET ZERO PEACE AND QUIET AT THIS HOTEL. -After a sleepless night, I woke up to NO HOT WATER in the bathroom. At this point I was livid. If I wanted to be kept awake all night by loud music and not shower in the morning, I might as well sleep in the street. -The rooms are small, old, and dirty. -Even though I had prepaid for two nights, my wife and I checked out after our first night and had a wonderful stay at the Westin. This hotel is not worth the price...for the same amount you can get a MUCH nicer hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 11, 2011

It has location, but.....

We spent a weekend in Venice. The hotel has PRIME location. It is located perfectly at San Marco. We had one of only two with an outside deck overlooking the canal. However, the room was right next to the elevator. We did not get any sleep. Every time someone used the elevator, it woke us up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JMo 31
Business
Wash DC
Jun 29, 2011

Small rooms, clean, prime location

The rooms in this hotel are quite small but I was impressed with how clean they were. The staff was helpful. The breakfast provided substantial options compared to other hotels in the area. I like to do yoga while traveling but the room didn't have any floor space. The hotel has air-conditioning which was a real bonus. There is no room service or hotel restaurant. There's a mini-bar in the room. The hotel is right off Piazza San Marco but can be hard to find. Be prepared to get lost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laguna Niguel, CA
Jun 19, 2011

I love Venice

Perfect location for a first visit to Venice. Charming and clean room with large bathroom and view of the gondoliers! fabulous barman serving us drinks in the Balcony overlooking the canal. I really couldn't ask for a better location. I would definitely recommend. Next visit I would choose a less touristy local though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The farther away from San Marco the cheaper everything is! Buy a vaporetto pass and use it instead if expensive tours or the water taxis!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dutchindogrl
Business
San Jose, Ca
Apr 26, 2011

Not worth the price

We stayed in Venice for 1 night and this Hotel is in a perfect location if you want to be in the hustle and bustle of St. Markus Square. The hotel itself is NOT a 4 star hotel as stated, the staff was rude, the decor is old, the beds hard, pillows smelled and the room did not have any AC. We were told that the AC will not be turned on until summer and they told us we should open the window. We opened the windows and didn't know that the Gondoliers started cleaning and yelling outside of our window at 6am. Needless to say we didn't get any sleep. This hotel during our entire stay in Italy was the most expensive and worst hotel experience by far, and is not worth the $360.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top