$145 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 22, 2014

Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

4 stars
San Marco, 1107, Venice, 30124
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
81 reviews
So cool!

50 feet off St. Mark's Plaza, window view over the canal, antique furnishings in an extra large... See full review

  • Harried Dad
  • Sep 28, 2012
great location

Just steps from St Marks Square this old and stately hotel has great bones. Beautiful rooms,... See full review

  • spyder w
  • Jan 17, 2012
The Venice hotel for VIPs since the 14th century, on St. Mark’s Square
Join a guest list that has included Richard Strauss, Winston Churchill, and the Duke of Aosta at the Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice. About 50 meters from St. Mark's Square -- Venice's center for culture, shopping and dining -- the hotel has its own water landing, allowing guests to arrive right at the building's entrance via gondola or water taxi. One of Venice's oldest and most famous hotels, modern conveniences allow guests to stay in comfort in the cultural center of historic Venice.

Highlights
  • 14th century hotel is one of Venice’s oldest and most famous
  • About 50 meters from St. Mark’s Square and has its own water landing
  • On the Bacino Orselo, the gathering place for many of Venice’s gondoliers
Location
The Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice is just meters off the northwest corner of St. Mark’s Square, right on the Bacino Orselo and a short walk from the docks of the Riva degli Schiavoni. Many of Venice’s most famous attractions are nearby, including St. Mark’s Basilica, the Ducal Palace and the Fenice Theater. The hotel is a short walk from the designer boutiques along the Calle Larga 22 Marzo.
Rooms
The Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice’s 107 rooms are decorated in Venetian style. Rooms are air conditioned and include private bathrooms, satellite TV, Internet access and safes. Non-smoking rooms are available. Many rooms look over the Bacino Orselo.
Features
Start the day at the historic Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice with a buffet breakfast in the hotel’s sunny Venetian restaurant. Room service also is available and in some rooms, guests watch gondolas float by as they dine. The hotel also has a bar, concierge service, Wi-Fi and on-call doctor service.
Transportation
  • Marco Polo Airport (12.6 m/20.3 km)
  • Water taxi (at private water landing)
  • Riva degli Schiavoni vaporetto (waterbus) docks (0.4 m/0.6 km)
  • Venice Santa Lucia railway station (1.3 m/2.1 km)

Attractions
  • St. Mark’s Square (0.1 m/0.1 km)
  • Correr Museum (0.1 m/0.2 km)
  • Ducal Palace (0.2 m/0.3 km)
  • Fenice Theater (0.2 m/0.4 km)
  • Calle Larga 22 Marzo (0.2 m/0.4 km)
  • Palazzo Grassi (0.6 m/0.9 km)
Policies and fees
A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice Rooms

Single Room
The bedding option for the room is one single bed. Room offers Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable /Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, iron/ironing board, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Double Room
The bedding option for the room is one single bed Or two double beds. Room offers Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, iron/ironing board, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Triple Room
The bedding option for the room is one single bed and one double bed. Room offers Air conditioning,Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, iron/ironing board, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

45.4344 12.3371
Area served
Venice.
Nearby airports
Venice International Airport.
Area description
Right in the city centre, alongside St.Mark's Square and all the major attractions of the city, museums, shops, monuments, exhibitions.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Correr: 0.1 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.1 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.1 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • San Moise: 0.1 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.1 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.1 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.2 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.1 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.1 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.1 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • San Moise: 0.1 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.1 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.1 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.2 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.3 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.3 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.4 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.5 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.5 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.5 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.5 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.5 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.6 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 0.6 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.7 mi
  • Arsenale: 0.8 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.9 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.9 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1.1 mi
  • Burano: 5.2 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.3 mi

Dining

Restaurant
La Colomba.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (81)

Ratings and reviews for Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.2

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Archipirata
Athens, OH 45701, USA
Mar 15, 2012

Below Expectations

I travel frequently and have stayed in Venice several times, so I understand the differences in expectations for European accommodations but this hotel still fell short. The location was excellent being adjacent to St. Mark's square and a few minutes from the vaporetto. The room and promised amenities were another matter. The hotel brand's website claimed that breakfast was included but after we sat down and began to eat on our first morning, we were presented with a bill for 15 euros each! When we complained and showed the desk a printout of the web page they said it was an error and they would not honor it. So no free breakfast and we had to pay the 30 euro. The website also said free in room wireless internet. This was not the case. You had to take your laptop to the lobby to get a connection. The stated amenities said in room coffee maker, but there was none. There was also no other coffee available other than the 15 euro breakfast. The room was basic and clean, but the shower was by far the smallest I have ever seen. No matter which way I turned, both shoulders were pressed against the walls of the tiny shower stall. You couldn't wash your hair without banging the control knobs and the shower head. As I said, wonderful location and decent price if you receive what was promised, unfortunately that is not what we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get away from St. Mark's square and the prices fall.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike Card
Kelowna, BC, Canada
Feb 29, 2012

In the heart of Venice

The hotel is in one of the best areas of Venice, next to the Hard Rock Cafe and St. Marks Square. 5 minute walk to the Rialto bridge. Water taxi nearby. Large room and beds. Friendly desk service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
spyder w
San Francisco, CA, USA
Jan 17, 2012

great location

Just steps from St Marks Square this old and stately hotel has great bones. Beautiful rooms, restaurant, and bar overlooking a small canal that is heavily used by gondolas. The staff are English speakers and an attractive bunch as well. Wifi worked in common areas but not in my room which was not a problem but an inconvenience since the common areas are so pleasant to be in. Easy to find is not a minor issue as Venice is a labyrinth and is easy to be lost in which is great if you are not exhausted at the end of the day and just need to be laying down in your hotel's bed. All in all this is a fine hotel and a bargain (I was there in the off season) find. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lima
Tucson, Arizona, Stati Uniti
Nov 29, 2011

Nice, very clean and a very good location.

Very close to San Marco Plaza, 4 minute walk. No need to take a taxi to the Terminal station, just take public transportation, a boat-bus. Excellent esperience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not buy the very first thing you see, there are plenty of places.

Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Boleador
Ankara Province/Ankara, Turkey
Nov 14, 2011

HORRIBLE: ZERO PEACE AND QUIET AT THIS HOTEL.

This hotel was a horrible experience, I would not stay here again. The Good: The location is right next to St. Mark's Square The Bad: -Room smelled strongly of cigarettes when we arrived -The nightclub/hotel bar kept us awake until 2 am with LOUD dance music which was very loud in our bedroom. We got absolutely no sleep. When I called the front desk to complain they told me that they could not stop the music and made it sound like I was crazy for not wanting to party all night long. Let me be clear: the walls were paper thin, and the music was deafening in my room. I put in earplugs, but was still not able to block out the music from downstairs. -The hotel is right next door to the Hard Rock Cafe and a very busy Gondola stop which makes the rooms even NOISIER. YOU WILL GET ZERO PEACE AND QUIET AT THIS HOTEL. -After a sleepless night, I woke up to NO HOT WATER in the bathroom. At this point I was livid. If I wanted to be kept awake all night by loud music and not shower in the morning, I might as well sleep in the street. -The rooms are small, old, and dirty. -Even though I had prepaid for two nights, my wife and I checked out after our first night and had a wonderful stay at the Westin. This hotel is not worth the price...for the same amount you can get a MUCH nicer hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jul 11, 2011

It has location, but.....

We spent a weekend in Venice. The hotel has PRIME location. It is located perfectly at San Marco. We had one of only two with an outside deck overlooking the canal. However, the room was right next to the elevator. We did not get any sleep. Every time someone used the elevator, it woke us up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jul 11, 2011

It has location, but.....

We spent a weekend in Venice. The hotel has PRIME location. It is located perfectly at San Marco. We had one of only two with an outside deck overlooking the canal. However, the room was right next to the elevator. We did not get any sleep. Every time someone used the elevator, it woke us up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JMo 31
Wash DC
Jun 29, 2011

Small rooms, clean, prime location

The rooms in this hotel are quite small but I was impressed with how clean they were. The staff was helpful. The breakfast provided substantial options compared to other hotels in the area. I like to do yoga while traveling but the room didn't have any floor space. The hotel has air-conditioning which was a real bonus. There is no room service or hotel restaurant. There's a mini-bar in the room. The hotel is right off Piazza San Marco but can be hard to find. Be prepared to get lost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JMo 31
Wash DC
Jun 29, 2011

Small rooms, clean, prime location

The rooms in this hotel are quite small but I was impressed with how clean they were. The staff was helpful. The breakfast provided substantial options compared to other hotels in the area. I like to do yoga while traveling but the room didn't have any floor space. The hotel has air-conditioning which was a real bonus. There is no room service or hotel restaurant. There's a mini-bar in the room. The hotel is right off Piazza San Marco but can be hard to find. Be prepared to get lost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Laguna Niguel, CA
Jun 19, 2011

I love Venice

Perfect location for a first visit to Venice. Charming and clean room with large bathroom and view of the gondoliers! fabulous barman serving us drinks in the Balcony overlooking the canal. I really couldn't ask for a better location. I would definitely recommend. Next visit I would choose a less touristy local though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The farther away from San Marco the cheaper everything is! Buy a vaporetto pass and use it instead if expensive tours or the water taxis!

Back to menu Return to top