$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Castello

3 stars
CASTELLO, CALLE FIGHER, 4365, 30122 VENICE ISLAND, Venice, 30122
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
20 reviews
Fantastic

Nearby the most sight seeing's. Just a sort walk from St Mark and Rialto Bridge. See full review

  • Rita Daneel
  • Jul 16, 2013
Great Location

The location is excellent since it is only steps away from St. Mark's Square. The room was nice,... See full review

  • raycal
  • Jun 19, 2013
Excellent location, just a few steps from all the main historical sites such as the Dogi Palace, the Bridge of sighs, and San Marco square with its stunning Basilica. The hotel can assign some lovely rooms located 10 metres away from the main entrance but which benefit from the same style, treatment and facilities of the rooms in the main building. CQ 06/11 This is a traditional building dating back to the 16th century, converted in hotel since the beginning of the 1900s. The hotel offers its guests a welcome in the splendid artistic and historical center of Venice, just a few steps away from San Marco Square, close to Ponte dei Sospiri and the Palazzo Ducale. Easy to reach by Boat or Taxi craft in a few minutes, through the wonderful view of the ancient Palazzi, mirroring on the Venice lagoon on both sides of the Canal Grande.

Hotel Map

45.4345 12.3382

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castello also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
3 stars Lux
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Castello Rooms

Guest Rooms
The Hotel Castello is equipped with comfortable and elegant rooms and offers to the customers a qualified and professional service. All 26 rooms are furnished in real Venetian style and have private facilities (shower or bathtub). From some of the rooms you can also admire the domes of Saint Mark's Basilica.

Amenities

Dining
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Porters

Nearby points of interest

  • Totem Il Canale: 0 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.1 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.1 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.1 mi
  • San Moise: 0.1 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.2 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.3 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.1 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.1 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.1 mi
  • San Moise: 0.1 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.2 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.3 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.3 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.4 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.5 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 0.5 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.5 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.5 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.5 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 0.6 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.6 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.7 mi
  • Arsenale: 0.7 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.8 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.9 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.9 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1.1 mi
  • Burano: 5.1 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.2 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The hotel has a breakfast room, traditionally furnished with polished wooden tables and comfortable velvet armchairs. After breakfast the area becomes only a bar or reading area. There is also a very nice terrace on the top floor where drinks are served in the fine summer nights.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (20)

Ratings and reviews for Castello

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castello

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DYLAN
LONDON
Jun 1, 2013

TIRED AND DATED

REQUESTED LOWER FLOOR ROOM VIA E-MAIL DUE TO MY WIFE HAVING A SLIGHT DISABILITY AND THIS WAS PROVIDED. THE OTHER ROOM WAS FURTHER DOWN A DIRTY ALLEY USED AS A URINAL AND FREQUENTED BY BEGGARS WHO SAT OUTSIDE THE ENTRANCE EATING THEIR PIZZA. BOTH ROOMS NEEDED A MAKEOVER TO REMOVE THE BLOODY REMAINS OF DEAD MOSQUITOS. ALTHOUGH THERE IS A BAR IF YOU WANT TO USE IT IN THE EVENING THE DUTY MANAGER HAS TO CLEAR TABLES DUE TO THEM ALREADY BEING LAID OUT FOR BREAKFAST AND THIS DID NOT ALWAYS GO DOWN VERY WELL. BREAKFAST STAFF WERE VERY HELPFUL AND FRIENDLY BUT WE WOULD NOT RETURN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Not Applicable

STEER CLEAR OF ST MARKS SQUARE AREA FOR FOOD. SOME BARS/RESTAURANTS NOT VERY FRIENDLY IF YOU ARE NOT SPENDING LOTS OF MONEY AND SOME PRICES ARE A PURE RIP OFF.

Review of Castello

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KitD
Toronto
Jul 26, 2014

Don't be fooled by the photos

Hotel Castello is not as nice as the pictures look. The staff were unfriendly. Experienced problems checking in with my voucher. First staff member we encountered was unwilling to help with this, but the second one was able to sort it for me. There is wi-fi available only on the main floor until 11:00pm but the lights were always turned off much earlier than that and the impression we weren't welcome. The breakfast was OK, nothing special. The patio looked nice but the furniture was covered in gross black cat hair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Castello

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tasty Joe
Stockholm, Sweden
Aug 17, 2014

Good Location, bad at other stuff

The staffer that checked us in was strange to deal with. It just felt awkward, then he walked us down a shady alley to the building with our room in it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Castello

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Martin
Not Provided
Nov 23, 2009

My experience at this hotel was

My experience at this hotel was very bad. Staff are incompetent and rude. I had a 3 night stay which was however broken ( 2 nights in the hotel, 1 night away, & 1 night back). For the 1 night away (Croatia) i left my main luggage at their depository. I received no receipt. When I returned at 23.45 on saturday, it was not there. the person in charge of the night desk had no idea, he tried phoning other people with no success. I left at 05.00 the next day without my luggage. I called the hotel from Rome, and spoke to the person with whom I left it. he very rudely said that had not left any luggage, and when i insisted he arrogantly said that I have no paper in hand, and so its his word against mine. Notwithstanding that there were no items of great value in the bag, it was mainly clothing, I was faced with a situation whereby I did not have a change of clothes after a heavy day travelling, and before another day travelling. The " your word against mine" was particularly offensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Castello

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
martin
Not Provided
Dec 8, 2009

With reference to my previous

With reference to my previous rating, subsequent to that, I need to add that the staff DID then try hard and managed to find my luggage, and somehow, after some luck and co operation, I got it back after just over 2 weeks. While this did nothing to make up for the discomfort of the night, at least the effort to trace and return was made.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Castello

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Apr 13, 2010

Room was decent size with good

Room was decent size with good facilities. Location was good and was only about 3 mins walk to St Mark's Square and Ferry Stop. They have 2 buildings and it felt a bit strange staying at another building which looks like a residential building. Breakfast was ok. Still recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Castello

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
raycal
Los Angeles, California
Jun 19, 2013

Great Location

The location is excellent since it is only steps away from St. Mark's Square. The room was nice, but the temperature control didn't seem to work. The bathroom was in decent shape, but the shower door had been removed and replaced with a curtain. This caused water to leak out onto the floor and caused the curtain to "attack" me while I was showering. The staff was very nice and the breakfast was great. I would stay again, but would prefer if they fixed the shower and thermostat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Castello

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
La Mesa
Jul 3, 2008

In the heart of Venice

Hotel Castello is a lovely little hotel off of St. Mark's Square that is centrally located. Most of the staff speak english and the dining and sitting areas are lovely as well as the continental breakfast. The rooms are smallish and the air conditioning is pre-set and was a little warm for me. The bathroom had a great shower so I guess there is a trade off! I would recommend it because of the location and the great caring staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very easy to get to by water taxi from the airport or the train station.

Review of Castello

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico
Jun 15, 2008

godd location site

The hotel is situaded in an ecelent point for those people who want to stay in the most important places to visit. there dosent found special amenities at the hotel but if you gone there for visit and you have no much money is an excellent option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castello

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fn3
Ann Arbor, MI
Aug 21, 2010

Solid Venetian hotel

The location was super-convenient and the staff was attentive and polite. There was a complementary breakfast, which was simple and clean. Internet access charge was reasonable. The major downside was the size of the rooms; they were cramped. We did not experience any smells that others have commented upon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search