$184 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 16, 2015 Check-out: Sep 17, 2015

Carlton Capri Hotel Venice

3 stars
View map of Santa Croce 595 A, Venice, 30135

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Carlton Capri Hotel Venice

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 24
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carlton Capri Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Little Bear
Couples
Jacksonville, FL, USA
Oct 27, 2011

Excellent getaway for two!

We had a GREAT experience at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and they spoke perfect english. The staff was very informative in giving directions. The breakfast was perfect and the location was excellent. We recommend this hotel, and we look forward to revisiting at the Carlton Capi Hotel Venice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The train station was very close to the hotel.

Review of Carlton Capri Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gerry in HCMC
Couples
Fort Myers, FL, USA
Sep 18, 2011

Dragging (5) suitcases from the bus was at least possible.

This Hotel is within easy walking distance from the bus terminal. There were only (2) bridges to cross. One steep and one easy. Not having to drag the cases into and out of Vaporettas was a blessing. Rooms nearly as good as the Carlton Grand Canal at half the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining at ANY restaurant on any canal doubles the price of the food and does nothing to improve the quality, all of which was great anywhere in Venice.

Review of Carlton Capri Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Mount Dora, Florida
Jul 2, 2011

Easy access to the city most serene

Close by (across the canal from) the train station, Santa-Lucia, the hotel offers all the amenities one could ask for. Included is a fine and full breakfast. The front desk were very helpful in making a variety of recommendations. I'd gladly stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Carlton Capri Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Ephrata, Pennsylvania
Jun 14, 2011

Good location. Terrific place to stay

Hotel was conveniently located close to train station. An easy 10 minute walk. San Marco Square was 30 minute walk from hotel. Hotel was hard to find but people were very helpful. Room was nice size compared to other hotel rooms in Italy. Staff very friendly and helpful. The included breakfast was one of the best during our 3 week stay in Italy. We very highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get an accurate map. The streets have little or no pattern. Some streets have different names at either end and streets in different locations have the same name. Some streets aren't on the maps. But Venice is so small that navigation can be fun.

Review of Carlton Capri Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 13, 2011

Not as expected...

Hotel was well located, but did not have the amenities that were supposed to be included. I booked this hotel specifically because I wanted a hotel near the main canal with airport transport and internet. No internet , no airport transportation plus the air conditioning was not working. We had to open a outside door to get air into the room, which made for a sleepless night because of thunderstorms! The[...] description needs to be more accurate. I departed before 7 am and the was unable to get even a glass of water at that hour. Huge variability in helpfulness of front desk clerks.One was super - one surly!Difficult to locate - get a detailed map before you arrive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Canal buses are very close to hotel - as are bus and train stations. -

Review of Carlton Capri Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
European Travel
Single
Milwaukee, WI
Feb 19, 2011

Cozy Little Hotel!!

First - GoogleMap or Mapquest how to find this hotel as it's impossible to find anything in Venice!! However, you're basically getting what you pay for in this hotel. The staff are friendly and the rooms are cozy. Our TV didn't work and there wasn't a lot of lighting but it didn't matter because there is so much to do in the surrounding area that we barely even spent any time in the room!! All the attractions are a short walk away. Enjoy great food and a gondola ride almost right outside the door!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Carlton Capri Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
euro traverl
Couples
Detroit, MI
Oct 25, 2010

Moved to Grand Canal Carlton.

Can't really review other than to say if you book it you might be at the Carlton Grand Canal. Neither hotel have big rooms and are typical euro size.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Stop at the Grand Canal Carlton, they have maps and it is on the way to the Capri

Review of Carlton Capri Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
va612
Friends
Richmond, VA
Aug 5, 2010

Charming Venice boutique hotel

The hotel can be a bit hard to find. It is a 5 minute walk from the train station so it is perfect for a short stay. The downside is that it is across the canal so you'll have to carry all your luggage across a bridge and finding the place for the first time can be tough since the street the hotel is located was not on our map. I've read some reviews about complaints regarding the bathroom. There is no separate stall for the shower so water can get everwhere. They have bathrooms like that in China so I was not surprised and quite frankly, it's not a big deal. I do recommend shower shoes though! The hotel location is decent, it's about a 30 minute walk to the Rialto Bridge and San Marco Square...but that is really dependent on how often you get lost in the streets of Venice. At trip in Venice wouldn't be complete without getting lost at least once.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a GOOD map! I actually do not recommend shopping in Venice especially if you are going to be venturing down south. Prices in Venice are inflated and it is not worth it.

Review of Carlton Capri Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andretti
Couples
Baltimore
Jul 27, 2010

Best Hotel in Venice

Could not have been better. Front desk clerk [...] spoke enough English to be extremely accommodating. He was nice, funny and he bent over backwards to make sure we enjoyed our evening. We even ran into an Italian couple who make a point to stay there every year. Great location. Away from the hustle and bustle (and crazy amount of tourists) of St Mark's Square, but still close to the Grand Canal, Train Station and Piazzale Roma, but just enough off the beaten path to be quiet and peaceful while still enjoying close by Vaporetto stops, great restaurants and lots of shopping. Easy to get to for checking in after riding Vaporetto from Tronchetto parking area. Perfect hotel in Venice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Carlton Capri Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Atlanta < GA
Jul 6, 2010

great location and excellent hotel

We only stayed one short night but our first impression was great. Would definitely recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top