$131 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2015 Check-out: Aug 5, 2015

Carlton Capri Hotel Venice

3 stars
View map of Santa Croce 595 A, Venice, 30135

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Carlton Capri Hotel Venice

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 24
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carlton Capri Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mount Dora, Florida
Jul 2, 2011

Easy access to the city most serene

Close by (across the canal from) the train station, Santa-Lucia, the hotel offers all the amenities one could ask for. Included is a fine and full breakfast. The front desk were very helpful in making a variety of recommendations. I'd gladly stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carlton Capri Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ephrata, Pennsylvania
Jun 14, 2011

Good location. Terrific place to stay

Hotel was conveniently located close to train station. An easy 10 minute walk. San Marco Square was 30 minute walk from hotel. Hotel was hard to find but people were very helpful. Room was nice size compared to other hotel rooms in Italy. Staff very friendly and helpful. The included breakfast was one of the best during our 3 week stay in Italy. We very highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get an accurate map. The streets have little or no pattern. Some streets have different names at either end and streets in different locations have the same name. Some streets aren't on the maps. But Venice is so small that navigation can be fun.

Review of Carlton Capri Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 13, 2011

Not as expected...

Hotel was well located, but did not have the amenities that were supposed to be included. I booked this hotel specifically because I wanted a hotel near the main canal with airport transport and internet. No internet , no airport transportation plus the air conditioning was not working. We had to open a outside door to get air into the room, which made for a sleepless night because of thunderstorms! The[...] description needs to be more accurate. I departed before 7 am and the was unable to get even a glass of water at that hour. Huge variability in helpfulness of front desk clerks.One was super - one surly!Difficult to locate - get a detailed map before you arrive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Canal buses are very close to hotel - as are bus and train stations. -

Review of Carlton Capri Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
European Travel
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Feb 19, 2011

Cozy Little Hotel!!

First - GoogleMap or Mapquest how to find this hotel as it's impossible to find anything in Venice!! However, you're basically getting what you pay for in this hotel. The staff are friendly and the rooms are cozy. Our TV didn't work and there wasn't a lot of lighting but it didn't matter because there is so much to do in the surrounding area that we barely even spent any time in the room!! All the attractions are a short walk away. Enjoy great food and a gondola ride almost right outside the door!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carlton Capri Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
euro traverl
Business
Detroit, MI
Oct 25, 2010

Moved to Grand Canal Carlton.

Can't really review other than to say if you book it you might be at the Carlton Grand Canal. Neither hotel have big rooms and are typical euro size.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Stop at the Grand Canal Carlton, they have maps and it is on the way to the Capri

Review of Carlton Capri Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
va612
Business
Richmond, VA
Aug 5, 2010

Charming Venice boutique hotel

The hotel can be a bit hard to find. It is a 5 minute walk from the train station so it is perfect for a short stay. The downside is that it is across the canal so you'll have to carry all your luggage across a bridge and finding the place for the first time can be tough since the street the hotel is located was not on our map. I've read some reviews about complaints regarding the bathroom. There is no separate stall for the shower so water can get everwhere. They have bathrooms like that in China so I was not surprised and quite frankly, it's not a big deal. I do recommend shower shoes though! The hotel location is decent, it's about a 30 minute walk to the Rialto Bridge and San Marco Square...but that is really dependent on how often you get lost in the streets of Venice. At trip in Venice wouldn't be complete without getting lost at least once.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a GOOD map! I actually do not recommend shopping in Venice especially if you are going to be venturing down south. Prices in Venice are inflated and it is not worth it.

Review of Carlton Capri Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andretti
Business
Baltimore
Jul 27, 2010

Best Hotel in Venice

Could not have been better. Front desk clerk [...] spoke enough English to be extremely accommodating. He was nice, funny and he bent over backwards to make sure we enjoyed our evening. We even ran into an Italian couple who make a point to stay there every year. Great location. Away from the hustle and bustle (and crazy amount of tourists) of St Mark's Square, but still close to the Grand Canal, Train Station and Piazzale Roma, but just enough off the beaten path to be quiet and peaceful while still enjoying close by Vaporetto stops, great restaurants and lots of shopping. Easy to get to for checking in after riding Vaporetto from Tronchetto parking area. Perfect hotel in Venice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carlton Capri Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta < GA
Jul 6, 2010

great location and excellent hotel

We only stayed one short night but our first impression was great. Would definitely recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carlton Capri Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minnesota
Jun 3, 2010

very good, a little tricky to find.

The location is worth the walk about to find, it is close to every thing, follow the canal go in by the church and just keep asking questions, we used the directions from the hotel map and found it. Just remember you will get turned around alot in Venice, but it is really part of the fun exploring. The staff was very good but not overly friendly. The front desk staff were the most helpful. We stayed here after our cruise, and it worked out great. Remember don't pack what you can't carry. Bring lots of capri pants and cap sleeve T-shirts to wear for sight seeing, chruches have dress code no knees or sholders showing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Wine shops offer wine by the glass very cheap. Stick with cafe's or food on the go to save money. They will put a fee on your bill but don't like to call it a tip, they say it is a plate and glass fee, it is the tip so don't tip on top of that. The nicer places, this wasn't an issue but you paid alot more there. Get the multi day water and bus pass, plan so it covers your bus ride back to airport. Bus no. 5 not 5A brings you to the airport in 20-25 min. to Marco Polo Airport.

Review of Carlton Capri Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kpowell
Business
Jupiter, FL
Mar 29, 2010

Great Hotel with Great Location in Venic

The hotel was easy walking distance from the Venice train station (once you figure out where you are going!). The hotel was in good shape and in a good location for Venice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top