Canaletto Hotel Venice ★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$57
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 18, 2016 Check-out: Feb 19, 2016
4.1 /5
Overall score
97%
Would recommend
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Room types

Show Prices Superior Double - Water View
  • Size: 182 sqft
  • Occupancy: 4
Show Prices Family Room - City View
  • Size: 182 sqft
  • Occupancy: 3
Show Prices Classic Double - City View
  • Size: 161 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Deluxe Double - View
  • Size: 182 sqft
  • Occupancy: 3
Show Prices Family Deluxe Room
  • Occupancy: 4
Show Prices Superior Double Canal View
  • Size: 269 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Classic Single - City View
  • Size: 107 sqft
  • Occupancy: 1

Overview

The Hotel is situated in the heart of the romantic city of Venice, in a very quiet position despite the fact it is just 200 m from the beautiful St. Mark's Square and the famous Rialto Bridge. It is the ideal starting point to set off through the alleys to discover the wonderful monuments and typical shops which hide all the ancient, fascinating mysteries of Venice. The hotel takes its name from the famous Venetian artist, Antonio Canal, who was known as Canaletto. Those rooms where the artist used to live (1697-1768) have now become our elegant hotel rooms. A friendly, elegant, romantic and quiet atmosphere furnished in typical 18th century Venetian style, with stuccowork, damask, hand lacquered and gilded furniture, Murano glass mirrors and lamps. All rooms are soundproofed and have private bathroom with shower or bath, air conditioning, telephone, minibar, sat TV, hair dryer and safe. There are also our superior rooms with views of the canal or the typical square with the well-curb. The elegant public rooms (breakfast room, bar, TV room, internet point) are all decorated with stuccowork and the antique smoothed lime finish, and have some lovely reproduction of Canaletto's works on the walls.

A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

Recommendations for you

Guest score 4.2 / 5
$76
Guest score 3.6 / 5
$47
Guest score 3.6 / 5
$71
Guest score 4.6 / 5
$51
Guest score 4.4 / 5
$78
Guest score 3.8 / 5
$46

Amenities

Featured

  • WiFi

General

  • Concierge

Dining

  • Room service

Services

  • In-Room Safe

Internet

  • WiFi

Reviews

4.1 /5 Overall score

97% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 3.8/5
  • Cleanliness: 4.4/5
  • Hotel staff: 4.5/5
  • Comfort: 4.1/5
  • Location: 4.7/5
  • Value: 4.2/5

Great location.

Would recommend Tue, Nov 10, 2015
Great little hotel within a short walk to the Rialto Bridge & St Marks Square. Rooms clean & warm. Towels changed daily. Breakfast good with a wide choice of continental and some cooked options. The staff were all very friendly. Very good value, we would stay here again and would recommend to friends.

| Buckingham Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

City Break

Would recommend Fri, Oct 30, 2015
Hotel was in an ideal location, situated between San Marco and Rialto Bridge with shops and restaurants located nearby. Room was small but functional with a mini bar fridge, bathroom was very small. Bed was very uncomfortable with no extra pillows provided. Staff on reception were at times very rude especially on our last morning where upon going for breakfast we were instructed by the employee on reception to sit around the corner out of sight of other guests a we were checking out. Also having to leave your key at reception before you left the hotel was very awkward as this meant you had to collect and drop off keys before coming and going from the hotel.

| N/A Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Two days before cruise

Would recommend Wed, Jul 8, 2015
The hotel was really classic! Furnishing were very nice, the place was clean, breakfast was adequately furnished with food to suit everyone. Centrally located, walking distance to St. Marks, Rialto Bridge, and shopping. Restaurant nearby were all very good. When we arrived it was late evening because our flight was delayed, it was also raining and the streets, St. Mark Square were all flooded. It was hard to find the hotel in the dark and the staff assigned in the evening was not English speaking. I will recommend the hotel to everyone. But, because cars can not drive inside, be prepared to carry your luggage. I was lucky because the airline lost my luggage I did not have to carry, but, unlucky because I did not have my clothes , shoes etc.. until after 11 days of my cruise!

| N/A Friends

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Perfect location for trip with teenagers

Would recommend Sun, Apr 12, 2015
Perfect location for our 3 day trip to Venice - 2/3 minutes from the Rialto Bridge and Piazza San Marco but hidden in a quiet street. All the hotel staff were really friendly and helpful. Typical Venice decor, very clean, especially the marble bathroom. Breakfast buffet was good.

| N/A Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great choice of hotel

Would recommend Wed, Nov 26, 2014
We chose this hotel after reading various review websites. The staff from check in to check out we're unbelievably helpful and no request was too much trouble. Their restaurant recommendations were superb so be sure to ask for suggestions. We will certainly recommend the Camaletto to others.

Time saver

Be sure to find a porter to take your bags to and from your hotel.

| Sydney Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great location

Would recommend Tue, Nov 18, 2014
Great location, friendly staff, nice & comfortable room

| Seattle, WA Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Authentic venetian decor and ambiance

Would recommend Mon, Jul 14, 2014
Lovely Venetian decor, ample breakfast buffet and perfect central location near Rialto Bridge make this hotel a great value. Fluffier pillows and elevator to second floor would have made it perfect.

Attractions

Rialto vaporetto close by for visit to Murano/Burano/Lido islands once Piazza San Marco has been taken in.

| NY Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Friendly and good location

Would recommend Sun, Jun 22, 2014
The location was hard to find at first but once found it is in the center between Rialto and St Mark square. Front desk very friendly and accomodating. Had electrical problems and we were sent to a nearby hotel and were upgraded to a junior suite the next day. Our suite was nice and clean.

| Los angeles, Ca Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

A great hotel

Would recommend Sun, Feb 23, 2014
The hotel was very comfortable, with friendly polite staff. The room was nice and was cleaned daily, with fresh towels and pillow slips. The breakfast was buffet style with a good variety on offer. I would highly recommend this hotel for the service, affordability and great central location.

| Bucks Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Needs Some TLC

Would not recommend Sun, Feb 9, 2014
This hotel, needs some TLC fast. The staff are friendly but rather rough. The hotel is a bit shabby, and could use a good spruce up. They offer a complimentary breakfast, but the dining room staff do NOT refill the empty serving places. If you come late and they have run out, you are out of luck. We had to change rooms after our first night, our shower did not drain the red wall paper was very harsh on my eyes. The directions they give to locate the hotel are very confusing. They need to be rewritten more clearly. I would not recomend the canaletto as a first choice option to stay in Venice. More like a 3or 4th choice.

| Queens NY Family

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 2 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Top hotels

Nearby points of interest

San Zulian 0.1 mi
Clocktower in Piazza San Marco 0.2 mi
Basilica di San Marco 0.2 mi
Rialto Bridge 0.2 mi
Rialto Food Market 0.2 mi
Biennale Gardens 0.2 mi
St Marks Square 0.2 mi
Campanile di San Marco 0.2 mi
Colleoni Monument 0.2 mi
Palazzo Ducale 0.2 mi
Archeological museum 0.2 mi
Museo Correr 0.2 mi
National Library of St Mark's 0.2 mi
Bridge of Sighs 0.3 mi
San Moise 0.3 mi
Art Gallery Bugno 0.3 mi
La Fenice Theatre 0.3 mi
Chiesa di Santo Stefano 0.4 mi
Ca'Pesaro 0.4 mi
Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute 0.5 mi
San Francesco della Vigna 0.5 mi
Madonna dell'Orto 0.6 mi
Palazzo Grassi 0.6 mi
Peggy Guggenheim Collection 0.6 mi
Guggenheim Museum 0.6 mi
Basilica dei Frari 0.6 mi
Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari 0.6 mi
Murano Glass Museum 0.6 mi
Gallerie dell'Accademia 0.6 mi
San Giorgio Maggiore 0.7 mi
Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco 0.7 mi
Arsenale 0.7 mi
Ghetto 0.8 mi
Port of Venice 0.9 mi
Santa Lucia Station 0.9 mi
San Pietro di Castello 1 mi
Burano 5 mi
Lace Museum 5.1 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 1:00 PM
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

$57
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 18, 2016 Check-out: Feb 19, 2016