$42 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 15, 2015 Check-out: Jan 16, 2015

Canal Hotel Venice

3 stars
Santa Croce, 553, Venice, 30135
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
26 reviews
The human touch makes a difference

I reached Venice after 30 hours of air travel followed immediately by an overnight train ride.... See full review

  • technitium
  • Dec 16, 2013
Phil from Georgia

The hotel is in a great location, within 5 minute walk from the bus station. Our room was a little... See full review

  • Phil from Georgia.
  • Nov 19, 2014
Hotel Canal is housed in an old building overlooking Grand Canal and welcomes guests in rooms that have the typical Venetian atmosphere of the 18th-century with style furniture and original flooring with lighting and mirrors made from prestigious Murano glass. Airport transfer, Bar, Laundry service, Lobby, Non-smoking rooms, Parking facilities-at cost, Reception, Room service, Safe deposit box, Tour desk, Small Pets allowed. Elegant and with attention to every detail, Hotel Canal provides top quality services and comforts, the absolute best for a 3-star hotel in Venice: the reception stays open 24h, and the main hall and TV room are available to guests for reading, a moment of relaxation, or for conversation. In summer, the delightful garden opens, a rare privilege for a hotel in Venice.

A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Canal Hotel Venice also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Canal Hotel Venice Rooms

Single Room
Room with 1 single bed includes Air conditioning , Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Telephone.
Double Room
Room with 1 double bed/ 2single bed includes Air conditioning , Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Telephone.
Double Room Canal View
Room with 1 double bed / 2 single beds includes Air conditioning , Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Telephone.
Triple Room
Room with 1 double bed and 1 single bed includes Air conditioning , Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Telephone.
Quadriple Room
Room with 1 double bed and 2 single bed includes Air conditioning , Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Telephone.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.1 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.3 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.4 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.5 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.5 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.6 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.6 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.6 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.7 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.7 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.1 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.3 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.4 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.5 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.5 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.6 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.6 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.6 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.7 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.7 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Moise: 0.8 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.9 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.9 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.9 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.9 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.9 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.9 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.9 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 1 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 1 mi
  • Archeological museum: 1 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 1 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 1 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 1.1 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 1.3 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 1.3 mi
  • Arsenale: 1.6 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1.9 mi
  • Burano: 5.6 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (26)

Ratings and reviews for Canal Hotel Venice

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 26
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Canal Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phil from Georgia.
Business
Chattanooga
Nov 19, 2014

Phil from Georgia

The hotel is in a great location, within 5 minute walk from the bus station. Our room was a little smaller than expected but we were in Venice. Shops and restaurants and the Grand Canal just outside the hotel. Staff are great, and the breakfast was a good variety of European standards. The Cappuccino machine was pretty cool. We enjoyed our stay and will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great little Italian restaurant just past Burger King.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canal Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NOT PICKEY
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Apr 28, 2014

Misrepresented

When we arrived late at night we were met by one staff person. With no elevator, the porter we had hired from the taxi was kind enough to carry our heavy bags up the steps. The room was not large enough for us and our bags at the same time. There was only one electrical outlet in the room and it was being used by the TV that sat on top of the tiny refrigerator. The only other outlet was next to the door in the bathroom which we ran an extention cord across the room for my cpap machine. There was no outlet in the bathroom! The bed was a 6 inch mattress on old springs just like the old roll away beds. My husband and I are not young and it was miserable. The "garden" was a small patch of grass and weeds with two small plastic tables and 4 plastic chairs. We stayed two nights and then cancelled our next seven nights even without another alternative. Thankfully we found another hotel down the canal which was much more appropriate, did not misrepresent what they were and was much less expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canal Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MrsBrit
Business
St. Louis, MO
Oct 29, 2013

Not worth the money

We were very uncomfortable while staying here. Our room smelt like fresh paint, which was interesting since there were scuff marks all over the walls in the hotel and our room walls were covered in fabric. There was a wicker basket in the bathroom holding mini shampoos, lotion, etc. which was caked with dust and dirt. The desk, or vanity, in the bedroom had a crevice on the top of it outlining it which was also filled with dust and dirt. We had two windows. One faced the Canal Grande and the other had the curtains drawn. The window sill behind the drawn curtains was very dusty. The walls had satin fabric covering them which looked dirty and I can only imagine how dirty they actually were. The hotel is located on the Canal Grande, however we were not in the room much so the view really was not worth the cost, dirtiness, or uncomfortableness we felt staying here. Even the outside/front of the hotel looked like it needed major fixing up, and the hallways of the hotel needed fixing up as well (torn carpet, scuffed walls, cleaning supplies sitting in corners, etc.). We will definitely not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canal Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DasAiminator
Business
Indiana
Nov 27, 2012

Just OK

I arrived in Venice via Marco Polo and took a bus(land) to the main drop off in Venice. I was silly and printed Googlmaps directions prior to arriving, thinking it would be just that easy...I was dead wrong. My husband and I walked around for at least 30 minutes looking for it. We lugged our suitcases up and down many bridges before somebody finally knew what hotel we were talking about. I suppose that there are so many that the locals have no idea which is which. It is located conveniently at the top of the canal, very close to the bus station and the cruise port as well as a water taxi stop. I think it took us 40 minutes to get to St. Marks by water taxi. When we checked in the first thing the gentleman at the counter asked for was our voucher...what voucher? We had booked our reservation through an internet booking site and only had a print out confirmation (luckily I travel with a folder of all documents like confirmations). He took this confirmation from me and did not return it. I'm not sure what they would have done had we not had at least the confirmation. We also had to pay an extra 4Euros which is some kind of new tourist tax in Europe. I didn't get the specifics on it. We were on the second floor and had a great view of the canal. The room was very small, but perfect for a couple. The bathroom was clean and modern, but the rest of the room definitely had an antique feel. There was a nice breakfast in the morning. Plenty of seating, but not a lot of food options. But, what they did have was good. We stayed at this hotel for only one night before departing on a cruise, and it was good for one night. We did not find that the employees were very friendly. They spoke to us but looked down at the desk the whole time. We would say hello and goodbye every time we passed and got no response. I just felt like a bother and that I wasn't welcomed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canal Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chez and Jaro
Business
England, UK
Jan 23, 2012

Amazing location on a budget

Friendly staff, tasty breakfast, cosy room and fantastic location. Right off the transfer bus over two bridges and you're there. Days out: leave the hotel and you're in the centre of venice the grande canal. Didn't want to go. Would stay there again .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Leave the hotel and go right. Go over The first bridge over the grande canal, this is the start of the main shopping area, you can wander all the way down to the Rialto bridge. Also stand in local coffee/ bars like the Italian it's cheaper and a better experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canal Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jkim530
Business
New York, NY, USA
Oct 26, 2011

Good value for the convenience

My husband and I were visiting Venice for only a day and we would be lugging around our suitcases, too, so the close proximity to the Santa Lucia train station worked out in our favor. We would have preferred to be more central to where the shops were, but it would have been a complete pain to drag our luggage over several mini-bridges (Venice is full of them) and those mini-bridges are all stairs. We just left our luggage at the hotel, which was literally across the canal, and we walked to the tourist sites, which took maybe 15 minutes (if you didn't get lost in all the mini alleys). The hotel was clean, definitely not new, but served it purpose. It had no elevator so you had to bring your luggage up the stairs, but not a big deal for anyone not minding the climb. Our room was huge, with three beds, and the bathroom was stocked with a ton of fresh towels. It looked out over the water with two big windows that also brought in lots of sunlight. I'd def stay here again because it was a great value for Venice, which is really expensive!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canal Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pembroke, NH
Sep 23, 2009

Good location, I wouldn't do it again

The picture looks better than the hotel, so much so that we walked by it twice before we found it. We then had to lug our luggage up two flights of narrow stairs to our room. Breakfast was fairly good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good location for seeing Venice

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canal Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Aug 24, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

Pro Friendly stuff with good english Unbeatable location for the price Flavor of the old Venetian style Overlooking the Grand Canal Quiet and clean Con No elevator

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to everyting (Grand Canal, Vaporetto, Train, Bus, Cruise Terminal) 10 - 15 minutes walk to the most attractions. 35 munutes walk or easy vaporetto ride to the San Marco

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top