$91 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Canal Hotel Venice

3 stars
Santa Croce, 553, Venice, 30135
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
34 reviews
The human touch makes a difference

I reached Venice after 30 hours of air travel followed immediately by an overnight train ride.... See full review

  • technitium
  • Dec 16, 2013
Close to train station

Good experience helpful staff spacious room nice breakfast See full review

  • Rosiegalgirl
  • Apr 5, 2014
Hotel Canal is housed in an old building overlooking Grand Canal and welcomes guests in rooms that have the typical Venetian atmosphere of the 18th-century with style furniture and original flooring with lighting and mirrors made from prestigious Murano glass. Airport transfer, Bar, Laundry service, Lobby, Non-smoking rooms, Parking facilities-at cost, Reception, Room service, Safe deposit box, Tour desk, Small Pets allowed. Elegant and with attention to every detail, Hotel Canal provides top quality services and comforts, the absolute best for a 3-star hotel in Venice: the reception stays open 24h, and the main hall and TV room are available to guests for reading, a moment of relaxation, or for conversation. In summer, the delightful garden opens, a rare privilege for a hotel in Venice.

A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

Canal Hotel Venice Rooms

Single Room
Room with 1 single bed includes Air conditioning , Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Telephone.
Double Room
Room with 1 double bed/ 2single bed includes Air conditioning , Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Telephone.
Double Room Canal View
Room with 1 double bed / 2 single beds includes Air conditioning , Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Telephone.
Triple Room
Room with 1 double bed and 1 single bed includes Air conditioning , Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Telephone.
Quadriple Room
Room with 1 double bed and 2 single bed includes Air conditioning , Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Telephone.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Canal Hotel Venice also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

45.4393 12.3211
Area served
Venice.
Nearby airports
Venice International Airport . Treviso International Airport
Area description
Located in the historic center near the train station and the car terminal (Piazzale Roma), Hotel Canal is only 2 minutes from the "Piazzale Roma" Stop, where the vaporetti that travel the Grand Canal,-the main waterway of Venice with its many splendid palaces-, take off for the Rialto Bridge, and Saint Mark's Square, close to major museums and landmarks.

Nearby points of interest

  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.1 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.3 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.4 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.5 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.5 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.6 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.6 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.6 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.7 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.7 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.1 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.3 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.4 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.5 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.5 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.6 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.6 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.6 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.7 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.7 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Moise: 0.8 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.9 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.9 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.9 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.9 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.9 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.9 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.9 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 1 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 1 mi
  • Archeological museum: 1 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 1 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 1 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 1.1 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 1.3 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 1.3 mi
  • Arsenale: 1.6 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1.9 mi
  • Burano: 5.6 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (34)

Ratings and reviews for Canal Hotel Venice

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 34
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.2

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Canal Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MrsBrit
St. Louis, MO
Oct 29, 2013

Not worth the money

We were very uncomfortable while staying here. Our room smelt like fresh paint, which was interesting since there were scuff marks all over the walls in the hotel and our room walls were covered in fabric. There was a wicker basket in the bathroom holding mini shampoos, lotion, etc. which was caked with dust and dirt. The desk, or vanity, in the bedroom had a crevice on the top of it outlining it which was also filled with dust and dirt. We had two windows. One faced the Canal Grande and the other had the curtains drawn. The window sill behind the drawn curtains was very dusty. The walls had satin fabric covering them which looked dirty and I can only imagine how dirty they actually were. The hotel is located on the Canal Grande, however we were not in the room much so the view really was not worth the cost, dirtiness, or uncomfortableness we felt staying here. Even the outside/front of the hotel looked like it needed major fixing up, and the hallways of the hotel needed fixing up as well (torn carpet, scuffed walls, cleaning supplies sitting in corners, etc.). We will definitely not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Canal Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NOT PICKEY
Cincinnati, Ohio
Apr 28, 2014

Misrepresented

When we arrived late at night we were met by one staff person. With no elevator, the porter we had hired from the taxi was kind enough to carry our heavy bags up the steps. The room was not large enough for us and our bags at the same time. There was only one electrical outlet in the room and it was being used by the TV that sat on top of the tiny refrigerator. The only other outlet was next to the door in the bathroom which we ran an extention cord across the room for my cpap machine. There was no outlet in the bathroom! The bed was a 6 inch mattress on old springs just like the old roll away beds. My husband and I are not young and it was miserable. The "garden" was a small patch of grass and weeds with two small plastic tables and 4 plastic chairs. We stayed two nights and then cancelled our next seven nights even without another alternative. Thankfully we found another hotel down the canal which was much more appropriate, did not misrepresent what they were and was much less expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Canal Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
london, england
Apr 3, 2011

Wouldn't recommend

The hotel was very old and the facility was too worse than the 3-star average. During my trip to Italy, I stayed 3-star hotels in Rome, Florence, Venice (i had to move to another hotel), and Milan. This hotel wan't cheaper than others at all, but the facility was horrible. The regridgerator was out of order, the closet was not opening, and the room was very dark. Wouldn't recommend it. If you want to find a great location nearby station, try out hotels on the street left from the station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Canal Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
london, england
Apr 3, 2011

Wouldn't recommend

The hotel was very old and the facility was too worse than the 3-star average. During my trip to Italy, I stayed 3-star hotels in Rome, Florence, Venice (i had to move to another hotel), and Milan. This hotel wan't cheaper than others at all, but the facility was horrible. The regridgerator was out of order, the closet was not opening, and the room was very dark. Wouldn't recommend it. If you want to find a great location nearby station, try out hotels on the street left from the station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Canal Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pembroke, NH
Sep 23, 2009

Good location, I wouldn't do it again

The picture looks better than the hotel, so much so that we walked by it twice before we found it. We then had to lug our luggage up two flights of narrow stairs to our room. Breakfast was fairly good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good location for seeing Venice

Review of Canal Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Caperman1
Alberta, Canada
Sep 3, 2012

Convenient

My family of 4 stayed one night post cruise. The hotel is situated near the train station and "people mover" so finding it and getting to it was easy. Only 2 bridges to manage out luggage over. The room was a good size as was the washroom. We arrived early in the morning from the cruise and the staff provided a secure room for us to store our luggage so we could explore Venice. Breakfast was provided but since we had an early flight , breakfast in a bag was provided which consisted of a bottle of juice, a croissant and some cookies. Enough to get us going at the early hour. Note we had to carry our luggage up 2 flights of stairs as there is no elevator. A nice hotel in a convenient location and we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Canal Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
conference girl
Business
Ireland
Feb 25, 2014

Not great value

The price was similar as 4 star hotel. No wifi free. I did survey other hotel and their wifi was free. Breakfast time starts at 8 am . 2 days i missed breakfast because i had to go to conference earlier. They dont have excellent breakfast choice either. I dont recommend booking via internet for hotel next time as i am not happy for what i got with price that i paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Canal Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
St Louis, MO
May 13, 2011

Quaint but..

Hotel staff is pleasant and accomidating. No problems with check-in or with any services required at hotel. Decor and age of furnishing are only deterrent. Gold wallpaper and furniture probably from 1970's maybe 60's. Bathroom clean with some slight updates of faucets/ showhead but otherwise old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Second trip to Venice, be prepared to get lost in the city and enjoy it too!

Review of Canal Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pembroke, NH
Sep 23, 2009

Good location, I wouldn't do it again

The picture looks better than the hotel, so much so that we walked by it twice before we found it. We then had to lug our luggage up two flights of narrow stairs to our room. Breakfast was fairly good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good location for seeing Venice

Review of Canal Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jun 1, 2009

How does this qualify for 3 stars?

Tiny rooms with too much furniture. Mold in shower stalls - floor and corners. Shower stalls were too small for me to take a shower in and I'm 5'10 and 160lbs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top