$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Canal Hotel Venice

3 stars
View map of Santa Croce, 553, Venice, 30135

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
29 reviews
I was happy that I stayed here!

The hotel is close to everything you need to see in Venice! The design is not modern however,... See full review

  • artem g.
  • Jun 21, 2015
Nice view

I booked 2 rooms. Both of them face the river with pretty nice view. :) I left around 4AM in the... See full review

  • IreneFeb9to13
  • Jan 7, 2015
Hotel Canal is housed in an old building overlooking Grand Canal and welcomes guests in rooms that have the typical Venetian atmosphere of the 18th-century with style furniture and original flooring with lighting and mirrors made from prestigious Murano glass. Airport transfer, Bar, Laundry service, Lobby, Non-smoking rooms, Parking facilities-at cost, Reception, Room service, Safe deposit box, Tour desk, Small Pets allowed. Elegant and with attention to every detail, Hotel Canal provides top quality services and comforts, the absolute best for a 3-star hotel in Venice: the reception stays open 24h, and the main hall and TV room are available to guests for reading, a moment of relaxation, or for conversation. In summer, the delightful garden opens, a rare privilege for a hotel in Venice.

A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Canal Hotel Venice also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Canal Hotel Venice Rooms

Single Room
Room with 1 single bed includes Air conditioning , Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Telephone.
Double Room
Room with 1 double bed/ 2single bed includes Air conditioning , Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Telephone.
Double Room Canal View
Room with 1 double bed / 2 single beds includes Air conditioning , Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Telephone.
Triple Room
Room with 1 double bed and 1 single bed includes Air conditioning , Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Telephone.
Quadriple Room
Room with 1 double bed and 2 single bed includes Air conditioning , Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Telephone.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.1 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.3 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.4 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.5 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.5 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.6 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.6 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.6 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.7 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.7 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.1 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.3 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.4 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.5 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.5 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.6 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.6 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.6 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.7 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.7 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Moise: 0.8 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.9 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.9 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.9 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.9 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.9 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.9 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.9 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 1 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 1 mi
  • Archeological museum: 1 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 1 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 1 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 1.1 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 1.3 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 1.3 mi
  • Arsenale: 1.6 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1.9 mi
  • Burano: 5.6 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Canal Hotel Venice

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Canal Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
technitium
Business
sydney
Dec 16, 2013

The human touch makes a difference

I reached Venice after 30 hours of air travel followed immediately by an overnight train ride. Needless to say, when I reached Canal hotel at 6 am Venetian time, I was bone weary. However, I had entire day of sightseeing ahead of me. The staff at the Canal hotel were super friendly. Upon explaining my situation, they were very accommodating and allowed me to check in early so that I could freshen up. The gentleman at the desk, Mr. Paolo allowed me to check in early @ 9am, although their check in time is 1pm. Moreover, since the only room that had been emptied so far was a double room, he upgraded me to a double room from my single room. When I offered to pay the difference, he refused to take my money. Lastly, since I had just arrived, and was not entitled to a free breakfast till the next day, he also allowed me to get the breakfast for 5 Euros instead of the usual 10 euros. This kind of customer service goes above and beyond what one normally sees at hotels. I would highly recommend this hotel just for its customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit small trattorias in the interior, and avoid the tourist trap restaurants in the main streets.

Review of Canal Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
IreneFeb9to13
Business
Calabasas
Jan 7, 2015

Nice view

I booked 2 rooms. Both of them face the river with pretty nice view. :) I left around 4AM in the morning, they packed breakfast for us ahead of time. They are pretty thoughtful. The shortcoming is Internet speed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Canal Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
artem g.
Business
New York
Jun 21, 2015

I was happy that I stayed here!

The hotel is close to everything you need to see in Venice! The design is not modern however, sometimes it is very comfortable to stay in old places. Also, breakfasts are tasty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Canal Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rosiegalgirl
Business
Minnesota
Apr 5, 2014

Close to train station

Good experience helpful staff spacious room nice breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Canal Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chez and Jaro
Business
England, UK
Jan 23, 2012

Amazing location on a budget

Friendly staff, tasty breakfast, cosy room and fantastic location. Right off the transfer bus over two bridges and you're there. Days out: leave the hotel and you're in the centre of venice the grande canal. Didn't want to go. Would stay there again .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Leave the hotel and go right. Go over The first bridge over the grande canal, this is the start of the main shopping area, you can wander all the way down to the Rialto bridge. Also stand in local coffee/ bars like the Italian it's cheaper and a better experience.

Review of Canal Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oslo dog
Business
Chattanooga, TN
Jun 7, 2012

after cruise stay in Venice

While the decor would not be described as elegant, this small hotel well makes up for it in location and staff. It is very easily accessible to the Plaza Roma for easy transportation to trains as well as cruise ship (only two bridges to walk over!). We had a family room which was comfortable for us an included a refrigerator. There was a TV with loads of channels, but unless you spoke Italian or watched a music station, not much of a plus. Our room overlooked a smaller canal which was perfect as the Grand Canal was a little noisy. The staff was really helpful and kind and opened our room up early for us to let us drop off all of our luggage. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Canal Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Short Mountain Mama
Business
Arizona, USA
Oct 5, 2012

Lovin' Venezia

We had a great 2 nights in Venice, Italy at the Canal Hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I love the location and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The best part about being in Venice is walking around, exploring the city. Take time to stroll down as many streets as possible. You will find some wonderful shops in out of the way places.

Review of Canal Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DasAiminator
Business
Indiana
Nov 27, 2012

Just OK

I arrived in Venice via Marco Polo and took a bus(land) to the main drop off in Venice. I was silly and printed Googlmaps directions prior to arriving, thinking it would be just that easy...I was dead wrong. My husband and I walked around for at least 30 minutes looking for it. We lugged our suitcases up and down many bridges before somebody finally knew what hotel we were talking about. I suppose that there are so many that the locals have no idea which is which. It is located conveniently at the top of the canal, very close to the bus station and the cruise port as well as a water taxi stop. I think it took us 40 minutes to get to St. Marks by water taxi. When we checked in the first thing the gentleman at the counter asked for was our voucher...what voucher? We had booked our reservation through an internet booking site and only had a print out confirmation (luckily I travel with a folder of all documents like confirmations). He took this confirmation from me and did not return it. I'm not sure what they would have done had we not had at least the confirmation. We also had to pay an extra 4Euros which is some kind of new tourist tax in Europe. I didn't get the specifics on it. We were on the second floor and had a great view of the canal. The room was very small, but perfect for a couple. The bathroom was clean and modern, but the rest of the room definitely had an antique feel. There was a nice breakfast in the morning. Plenty of seating, but not a lot of food options. But, what they did have was good. We stayed at this hotel for only one night before departing on a cruise, and it was good for one night. We did not find that the employees were very friendly. They spoke to us but looked down at the desk the whole time. We would say hello and goodbye every time we passed and got no response. I just felt like a bother and that I wasn't welcomed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Canal Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anita the mami
Business
London, UK
Jan 16, 2013

perfect for a family vacation

The hotel is 100 meters from the bus station, water station and railway station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Canal Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tareken
Business
Los Angeles
Apr 1, 2013

Husband and Wife

The hotel is extremely well located. It's a 3 minute walk from the station, so you don't have to walk all around Venice with your luggage. Another thing I particularly enjoyed was the advice that we got from the Staff. We asked for recommendations for both lunch and dinner and the restaurants that they recommended were superb!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top