$100 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2014 Check-out: Apr 30, 2014

Canal Hotel Venice

3 stars
Santa Croce, 553, Venice, 30135
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
23 reviews
The human touch makes a difference

I reached Venice after 30 hours of air travel followed immediately by an overnight train ride.... See full review

  • technitium
  • Dec 16, 2013
Close to train station

Good experience helpful staff spacious room nice breakfast See full review

  • Rosiegalgirl
  • Apr 5, 2014
Hotel Canal is housed in an old building overlooking Grand Canal and welcomes guests in rooms that have the typical Venetian atmosphere of the 18th-century with style furniture and original flooring with lighting and mirrors made from prestigious Murano glass. Airport transfer, Bar, Laundry service, Lobby, Non-smoking rooms, Parking facilities-at cost, Reception, Room service, Safe deposit box, Tour desk, Small Pets allowed. Elegant and with attention to every detail, Hotel Canal provides top quality services and comforts, the absolute best for a 3-star hotel in Venice: the reception stays open 24h, and the main hall and TV room are available to guests for reading, a moment of relaxation, or for conversation. In summer, the delightful garden opens, a rare privilege for a hotel in Venice.

A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

Canal Hotel Venice Rooms

Single Room
Room with 1 single bed includes Air conditioning , Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Telephone.
Double Room
Room with 1 double bed/ 2single bed includes Air conditioning , Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Telephone.
Double Room Canal View
Room with 1 double bed / 2 single beds includes Air conditioning , Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Telephone.
Triple Room
Room with 1 double bed and 1 single bed includes Air conditioning , Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Telephone.
Quadriple Room
Room with 1 double bed and 2 single bed includes Air conditioning , Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Telephone.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Canal Hotel Venice also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

45.4393 12.3211
Area served
Venice.
Nearby airports
Venice International Airport . Treviso International Airport
Area description
Located in the historic center near the train station and the car terminal (Piazzale Roma), Hotel Canal is only 2 minutes from the "Piazzale Roma" Stop, where the vaporetti that travel the Grand Canal,-the main waterway of Venice with its many splendid palaces-, take off for the Rialto Bridge, and Saint Mark's Square, close to major museums and landmarks.

Nearby points of interest

  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.1 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.3 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.4 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.5 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.5 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.6 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.6 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.6 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.7 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.7 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.1 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.3 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.4 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.5 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.5 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.6 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.6 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.6 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.7 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.7 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Moise: 0.8 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.9 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.9 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.9 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.9 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.9 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.9 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.9 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 1 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 1 mi
  • Archeological museum: 1 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 1 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 1 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 1.1 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 1.3 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 1.3 mi
  • Arsenale: 1.6 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1.9 mi
  • Burano: 5.6 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (23)

Ratings and reviews for Canal Hotel Venice

Overall score

3.1 / 5
23 out of 23
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.3

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Canal Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
Oslo dog
Chattanooga, TN
Jun 7, 2012

after cruise stay in Venice

While the decor would not be described as elegant, this small hotel well makes up for it in location and staff. It is very easily accessible to the Plaza Roma for easy transportation to trains as well as cruise ship (only two bridges to walk over!). We had a family room which was comfortable for us an included a refrigerator. There was a TV with loads of channels, but unless you spoke Italian or watched a music station, not much of a plus. Our room overlooked a smaller canal which was perfect as the Grand Canal was a little noisy. The staff was really helpful and kind and opened our room up early for us to let us drop off all of our luggage. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Canal Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
Chez and Jaro
England, UK
Jan 23, 2012

Amazing location on a budget

Friendly staff, tasty breakfast, cosy room and fantastic location. Right off the transfer bus over two bridges and you're there. Days out: leave the hotel and you're in the centre of venice the grande canal. Didn't want to go. Would stay there again .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Leave the hotel and go right. Go over The first bridge over the grande canal, this is the start of the main shopping area, you can wander all the way down to the Rialto bridge. Also stand in local coffee/ bars like the Italian it's cheaper and a better experience.

Review of Canal Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
Jkim530
New York, NY, USA
Oct 26, 2011

Good value for the convenience

My husband and I were visiting Venice for only a day and we would be lugging around our suitcases, too, so the close proximity to the Santa Lucia train station worked out in our favor. We would have preferred to be more central to where the shops were, but it would have been a complete pain to drag our luggage over several mini-bridges (Venice is full of them) and those mini-bridges are all stairs. We just left our luggage at the hotel, which was literally across the canal, and we walked to the tourist sites, which took maybe 15 minutes (if you didn't get lost in all the mini alleys). The hotel was clean, definitely not new, but served it purpose. It had no elevator so you had to bring your luggage up the stairs, but not a big deal for anyone not minding the climb. Our room was huge, with three beds, and the bathroom was stocked with a ton of fresh towels. It looked out over the water with two big windows that also brought in lots of sunlight. I'd def stay here again because it was a great value for Venice, which is really expensive!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Canal Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
St Louis, MO
May 13, 2011

Quaint but..

Hotel staff is pleasant and accomidating. No problems with check-in or with any services required at hotel. Decor and age of furnishing are only deterrent. Gold wallpaper and furniture probably from 1970's maybe 60's. Bathroom clean with some slight updates of faucets/ showhead but otherwise old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Second trip to Venice, be prepared to get lost in the city and enjoy it too!

Review of Canal Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
london, england
Apr 3, 2011

Wouldn't recommend

The hotel was very old and the facility was too worse than the 3-star average. During my trip to Italy, I stayed 3-star hotels in Rome, Florence, Venice (i had to move to another hotel), and Milan. This hotel wan't cheaper than others at all, but the facility was horrible. The regridgerator was out of order, the closet was not opening, and the room was very dark. Wouldn't recommend it. If you want to find a great location nearby station, try out hotels on the street left from the station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Canal Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
raeofsunshine78
Saskatoon, Canada
Nov 14, 2010

Gem in hiding

This is a quaint little hotel... once you find it! If you arrive by plane, take the bus not the vaperetto, then tale two small bridges... and wa la.. Google map it! We were lost adn wanderign for 2hrs, even the police were useless in giving directions. Internet is only avaible in the lobby. Breakfast was a buffet stil, with Americano coffee(btw McD serves americano coffee)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the BUS from the airport!! not the vaperetto.. you are litterally a hop skip and jump from the hotel that way. I bought a 3day pass on the vapretto[*]

Review of Canal Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Pembroke, NH
Sep 23, 2009

Good location, I wouldn't do it again

The picture looks better than the hotel, so much so that we walked by it twice before we found it. We then had to lug our luggage up two flights of narrow stairs to our room. Breakfast was fairly good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good location for seeing Venice

Review of Canal Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
New York
Aug 24, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

Pro Friendly stuff with good english Unbeatable location for the price Flavor of the old Venetian style Overlooking the Grand Canal Quiet and clean Con No elevator

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to everyting (Grand Canal, Vaporetto, Train, Bus, Cruise Terminal) 10 - 15 minutes walk to the most attractions. 35 munutes walk or easy vaporetto ride to the San Marco

Review of Canal Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
Travel Agent Mom
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 20, 2009

excellent location

This was our first visit to Venice and the location and proximity to the train station, Grand Canal and walking destinations was perfect. We happened to arrive to a heatwave and the room was icy cool with great air conditioning already turned on waiting for us - a great relief! The room was quiet and peaceful for a great night's rest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We just left the hotel and walked through the city around us towards St. Mark's Square for a rewarding look at the real Venice. We walked for three hours and took the vaparetto (water bus) right back to in front of the hotel - great location! Great help and great rest.

Review of Canal Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 9, 2009

would recommend

Small room, but clean and comfortable. Great location because directly across from train station, so you don't have to hull your luggage around on the very crowded water buses. The service was great and breakfast was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top