Canal Grande Hotel Venice ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$118
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 22, 2016 Check-out: Feb 25, 2016
4.8 /5
Overall score
95%
Would recommend
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.9
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Room types

Show Prices Prestige Room
  • Size: 215 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Canal Grande
  • Size: 365 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Prestige Room Grand Canal View
  • Size: 247 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Venetian Street View
  • Size: 279 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2

Overview

Stay with Doge, Casanova, Vivaldi and other Venice greats at the Canal Grande Hotel Venice, an elegant 18th century palace on the Grand Canal. Recently restored, the hotel’s rooms are each inspired by some of Venice’s most famous people or places and are richly decorated in Rococo style. A very short walk from the Venice Santa Lucia railway station, the hotel is easy to get to but sits in a quieter area of Venice. Most of Venice’s famous landmarks are within walking distance.

Location

The Canal Grande Hotel Venice is in Santa Croce, a quieter neighborhood of Venice a short walk from the Venice Santa Lucia railway station. The hotel sits on the Grand Canal just east of the dramatic Ponte degli Scalzi, one of only four bridges to span the Grand Canal. It is within walking distance of St. Mark’s Square and most other famous Venice landmarks.

Rooms

The rooms and suites of the Canal Grande Hotel Venice are recently renovated in dramatic Venetian Rococo style. A Venice luminary or landmark inspires each room’s unique design. Some rooms have views of the Grand Canal. Rooms are heated and air conditioned, and have most modern amenities, including satellite TV, safes and Wi-Fi.

Property features

The Canal Grande Hotel Venice blends traditional hospitality with modern comforts, including a breakfast buffet and drinks at the bar or on the hotel’s terrace which sits on the Grand Canal. A 24-hour concierge books tickets for tours, shows and exhibitions. Wi-Fi and basic business services are available. The hotel is wheelchair accessible.

Highlights

  • 18th century palace is recently restored in Rococo style
  • Located on the Grand Canal, providing dramatic views and ready transportation via waterbus, water taxi or gondola
  • In a quieter neighborhood of historic Venice, but walking distance to most landmarks

Nearby attractions

  • Ca'Pesaro Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Academy of Fine Arts (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • St. Mark's Square (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Fenice Theater (1.2 mi/2 km)


Business

The Canal Grande Hotel Venice has a meeting room and offers basic business services including Wi-Fi, photocopies and fax.

Transportation

  • Marco Polo Airport (9.6 mi/15.4 km)
  • Ferrovia vaporetto (waterbus) docks (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Venice Santa Lucia railway station (0.2 mi/0.4 km)

Policies

A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Guest score 4.6 / 5
$94
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$87
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$79
Guest score 3.4 / 5
$40
Guest score 3.6 / 5
$50
Guest score 4.1 / 5
$58

Amenities

Featured

  • WiFi

General

  • Concierge

Dining

  • Room service

Internet

  • WiFi

Accessibility

  • Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Reviews

4.8 /5 Overall score

95% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 4.3/5
  • Cleanliness: 4.9/5
  • Hotel staff: 4.9/5
  • Comfort: 4.6/5
  • Location: 4.7/5
  • Value: 4.3/5

Great Place!

Would recommend Fri, Jan 1, 2016
The hotel staff is amazing! They were very friendly and by far the best hotel experience on our 3 Italy cities. Will definitely make this place as my go to hotel my next trip. Helps to be close to the train station that walking with all your bags is not too taxing.

| San Jose Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Birthday treat

Would recommend Thu, Sep 17, 2015
Just back from 4 nights in Venice with my wife to celebrate my birthday. This is lovely small boutique hotel which lived up to its good reviews. We stayed in one of the junior suites which faced the side of the hotel which was very nicely furnished, clean, and quiet at night. I imagine the rooms overlooking the canal can get a little noisy at times, but we had no problems. The one very small issue we had with the room was the bed was just a little too hard for our liking, but for many I am sure it would be fine. I believe there are rooms in another building somewhere, but as we did not see these I can make no comment on them. Breakfast was a continental buffet with scrabbled egg & sausage as an option if preferred, all very nice. Location is also good as it is 10 mins walk from the station / entrance to Venice, and about 30 mins walk to St Marco square. There are plenty of restaurants and bars close by, so the fact the hotel does not have a restaurant is not a problem. We found all the staff spoke good English and were very friendly and helpful, a complimentary birthday cake waiting in the room on our return from exploring for the day was a nice unexpected touch. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others based on our experience.

| Thatcham Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great hotel in Venice

Would recommend Sat, Aug 15, 2015
We were very happy with the hotel. We stayed in the beautiful, traditionally decorated and spacious room overlooking the Grand Canal. Everyone that worked there was very nice and helpful. Small deck on the water was perfect for breakfast or night drink. It's located on the top off the island so it's a little awag from San Marco but walkig is charming and we preffered less crowded area.

| N/A Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great wedding trip

Would recommend Sun, Jun 14, 2015
The staff was very friendly and he location we perfect.

| N/A Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

BEST !!!!!

Would recommend Fri, May 15, 2015
This is one of the more beautiful, private and elegant I ever see , great! nice staff !!!!! incredible rooms view over Gran Canal ! Privacy, privacy , privacy . Breakfast: GREAT !

| Coral Gables Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

amazing staff and good location

Would recommend Thu, Sep 18, 2014
The staff was extremely friendly at all times. The location is little far from the square, but right next to the rail station. Overall the room was great but the staff made it amazing.

| Fort Worth texas Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great location!

Would recommend Sat, Sep 13, 2014
My husband and I stayed at this hotel only for 1 night as we rented an apartment for the other nights we were in Venice. We took a private water taxi from the airport directly to the hotel where one of the hotel staff members greeted us very promptly and kindly. Even though we arrived a few hours prior to check in time, we were allowed to check in early which was great. Our room was very clean and included a beautiful sitting room as well as a generously sized bathroom. It also included an in room safe, mini bar, and free wifi. I highly recommend taking advantage of the breakfast, especially if you can get one of the tables on the veranda overlooking the grand canal. There was a great variety to choose from and you will not be disappointed. We loved the location because it was close to many restaurants and shops, but at the same time away from all of the touristy parts of the city. The staff were extremely professional and went out of their way to make you feel welcomed and comfortable. Overall, it was a lovely experience and I would definitely stay here again.

| New York Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great location, impeccable service!

Would recommend Sat, Sep 6, 2014
My husband and I stayed at this hotel only for 1 night as we rented an apartment for the other nights we were in Venice. We took a private water taxi from the airport directly to the hotel where one of the hotel staff members greeted us very promptly and kindly. Even though we arrived a few hours prior to check in time, we were allowed to check in early which was great. Our room was very clean and included a beautiful sitting room as well as a generously sized bathroom. It also included an in room safe, mini bar, and free wifi. I highly recommend taking advantage of the breakfast, especially if you can get one of the tables on the veranda overlooking the grand canal. There was a great variety to choose from and you will not be disappointed. We loved the location because it was close to many restaurants and shops, but at the same time away from all of the touristy parts of the city. The staff were extremely professional and went out of their way to make you feel welcomed and comfortable. Overall, it was a lovely experience and I would definitely stay here again.

| New York Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Beautifully appointed on the canal

Would recommend Mon, Jul 21, 2014
Warm, friendly hotel in a prime location on the canal. Staff extremely helpful. Due to local celebration the cost was high, but not overwhelming as it can be in Venice.

Dining

Al Covo for seafood and pasta!

| NY Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Fantastic hotel and staff

Would recommend Fri, Mar 14, 2014
Wonderful helpful staff and great location. Right on Canal front and close to vaporetto stop. Restaurants close by. View from room amazing! ...will be back again,

Attractions

jewish quarter... less crowded and original

| Austria Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Top hotels

Nearby points of interest

Santa Lucia Station 0.1 mi
Ghetto 0.3 mi
Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco 0.3 mi
Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari 0.3 mi
Basilica dei Frari 0.3 mi
Ca'Pesaro 0.4 mi
Madonna dell'Orto 0.4 mi
Murano Glass Museum 0.5 mi
Palazzo Grassi 0.5 mi
Rialto Food Market 0.6 mi
Rialto Bridge 0.6 mi
Chiesa di Santo Stefano 0.6 mi
Art Gallery Bugno 0.7 mi
Gallerie dell'Accademia 0.7 mi
La Fenice Theatre 0.7 mi
Port of Venice 0.7 mi
San Zulian 0.8 mi
Peggy Guggenheim Collection 0.8 mi
San Moise 0.8 mi
Guggenheim Museum 0.8 mi
Colleoni Monument 0.8 mi
Clocktower in Piazza San Marco 0.9 mi
Biennale Gardens 0.9 mi
St Marks Square 0.9 mi
Museo Correr 0.9 mi
Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute 0.9 mi
Campanile di San Marco 0.9 mi
Basilica di San Marco 0.9 mi
National Library of St Mark's 0.9 mi
Archeological museum 0.9 mi
Palazzo Ducale 0.9 mi
Bridge of Sighs 1 mi
San Francesco della Vigna 1.2 mi
San Giorgio Maggiore 1.3 mi
Arsenale 1.5 mi
San Pietro di Castello 1.8 mi
Burano 5.4 mi
Lace Museum 5.5 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

$118
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 22, 2016 Check-out: Feb 25, 2016