$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 14, 2015 Check-out: Jan 15, 2015

Canal Grande Hotel Venice

4 stars
Santa Croce 932 Campo San Simeone Profeta, Venice, 30135
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.8
out of 5
20 reviews
Great location!

My husband and I stayed at this hotel only for 1 night as we rented an apartment for the other... See full review

  • Whibbitt116
  • Sep 13, 2014
Fantastic hotel and staff

Wonderful helpful staff and great location. Right on Canal front and close to vaporetto stop.... See full review

  • Ciaran and Nora
  • Mar 14, 2014
Restored 18th century palace honors Venice greats on the Grand Canal
Stay with Doge, Casanova, Vivaldi and other Venice greats at the Canal Grande Hotel Venice, an elegant 18th century palace on the Grand Canal. Recently restored, the hotel’s rooms are each inspired by some of Venice’s most famous people or places and are richly decorated in Rococo style. A very short walk from the Venice Santa Lucia railway station, the hotel is easy to get to but sits in a quieter area of Venice. Most of Venice’s famous landmarks are within walking distance.
Highlights
  • 18th century palace is recently restored in Rococo style
  • Located on the Grand Canal, providing dramatic views and ready transportation via waterbus, water taxi or gondola
  • In a quieter neighborhood of historic Venice, but walking distance to most landmarks
Location
The Canal Grande Hotel Venice is in Santa Croce, a quieter neighborhood of Venice a short walk from the Venice Santa Lucia railway station. The hotel sits on the Grand Canal just east of the dramatic Ponte degli Scalzi, one of only four bridges to span the Grand Canal. It is within walking distance of St. Mark’s Square and most other famous Venice landmarks.
Rooms
The rooms and suites of the Canal Grande Hotel Venice are recently renovated in dramatic Venetian Rococo style. A Venice luminary or landmark inspires each room’s unique design. Some rooms have views of the Grand Canal. Rooms are heated and air conditioned, and have most modern amenities, including satellite TV, safes and Wi-Fi.
Features
The Canal Grande Hotel Venice blends traditional hospitality with modern comforts, including a breakfast buffet and drinks at the bar or on the hotel’s terrace which sits on the Grand Canal. A 24-hour concierge books tickets for tours, shows and exhibitions. Wi-Fi and basic business services are available. The hotel is wheelchair accessible.
Transportation
  • Marco Polo Airport (9.6 mi/15.4 km)
  • Ferrovia vaporetto (waterbus) docks (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Venice Santa Lucia railway station (0.2 mi/0.4 km)

Attractions
  • Ca'Pesaro Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Academy of Fine Arts (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • St. Mark's Square (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Fenice Theater (1.2 mi/2 km)


Business
The Canal Grande Hotel Venice has a meeting room and offers basic business services including Wi-Fi, photocopies and fax.
Policies and fees
A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Canal Grande Hotel Venice also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Canal Grande Hotel Venice Rooms

Prestige Double Room
This room provides free Wi-Fi internet connection.Minibar, Shower, Safety Deposit Box, TV, Telephone, Air Conditioning, Radio, Toilet, Heating, Satellite TV, Bath or Shower, Hairdryer, Wake Up Service/Alarm Clock, Work Desk, Ironing Facilities, Slippers
Prestige Double Room - Grand Canal View
his room provides free Wi-Fi internet connection and a view on the Grand Canal or Campo San Simeon.Minibar, Shower, Safety Deposit Box, TV, Telephone, Air Conditioning, Radio, Toilet, Bathroom, Heating, Satellite TV, Bath or Shower, Hairdryer, Wake Up Service/Alarm Clock, Work Desk, Ironing Facilities, Slippers
Canal Grande Elegant Suite
The spacious junior suite provides free Wi-Fi internet connection, separate living and sleeping areas, and a view on the Grand Canal.Minibar, Shower, Bath, Safety Deposit Box, TV, Telephone, Air Conditioning, Radio, Toilet, Bathroom, Heating, Satellite TV, Tea/Coffee Maker, Hairdryer, Wake Up Service/Alarm Clock, Bathrobe, Work Desk, Ironing Facilities, Seating Area, Slippers
Prestige junior suite
The spacious junior suite provides free Wi-Fi internet connection, separate living and sleeping areas, and a view on a typical Venetian canal.Minibar, Shower, Safety Deposit Box, TV, Telephone, Air Conditioning, Radio, Toilet, Bathroom, Heating, Satellite TV, Bath or Shower, Hairdryer, Wake Up Service/Alarm Clock, Work Desk, Ironing Facilities, Seating Area, Slippers

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.1 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.3 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.3 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.4 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.4 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.5 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.6 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.6 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.6 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.7 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.7 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.1 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.3 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.3 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.4 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.4 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.5 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.6 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.6 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.6 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.7 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.7 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.7 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.8 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.8 mi
  • San Moise: 0.8 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.9 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.9 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.9 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.9 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.9 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.9 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.9 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.9 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.9 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.9 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 1 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 1.2 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 1.3 mi
  • Arsenale: 1.5 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1.8 mi
  • Burano: 5.4 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (20)

Ratings and reviews for Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4.9
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Texas born n raised
Business
Fort Worth texas
Sep 18, 2014

amazing staff and good location

The staff was extremely friendly at all times. The location is little far from the square, but right next to the rail station. Overall the room was great but the staff made it amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Whibbitt116
Business
New York
Sep 13, 2014

Great location!

My husband and I stayed at this hotel only for 1 night as we rented an apartment for the other nights we were in Venice. We took a private water taxi from the airport directly to the hotel where one of the hotel staff members greeted us very promptly and kindly. Even though we arrived a few hours prior to check in time, we were allowed to check in early which was great. Our room was very clean and included a beautiful sitting room as well as a generously sized bathroom. It also included an in room safe, mini bar, and free wifi. I highly recommend taking advantage of the breakfast, especially if you can get one of the tables on the veranda overlooking the grand canal. There was a great variety to choose from and you will not be disappointed. We loved the location because it was close to many restaurants and shops, but at the same time away from all of the touristy parts of the city. The staff were extremely professional and went out of their way to make you feel welcomed and comfortable. Overall, it was a lovely experience and I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bugman7
Business
NY
Jul 21, 2014

Beautifully appointed on the canal

Warm, friendly hotel in a prime location on the canal. Staff extremely helpful. Due to local celebration the cost was high, but not overwhelming as it can be in Venice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Al Covo for seafood and pasta!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ciaran and Nora
Business
Austria
Mar 14, 2014

Fantastic hotel and staff

Wonderful helpful staff and great location. Right on Canal front and close to vaporetto stop. Restaurants close by. View from room amazing! ...will be back again,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

jewish quarter... less crowded and original

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kwhitt
Business
London
Jan 21, 2014

If you're staying in Venice stay here...

Was easy to find, I emailed the hotel before our trip and they come back straight away with clear and easy instructions on where to go when arriving from the airport. Staff where extremely helpful and friendly. Hotel was beautifuly decorated and looks just like the pictures. Very clearn and well presented.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Watch out for the cover charge added onto your meal, can end up being very expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heather Foodie
Business
California
Sep 8, 2013

Decent Hotel - Convienant Location - Friendly Staff

Pros: This hotel is quiet, the staff was very nice and made us feel at home throughout our stay. The breakfast was good, typical European breakfast. I really enjoyed the chocolate croissants. The location was perfect, about a five minute easy walk from the train station. There are two bridges you will have to cross with steps so if you didn't travel lightly it might be a bit of a challenge with the bridges. There is a bar and even light snacks of ham & cheese sandwiches they left out for guests, nice touch! Mosquitoes were an issue for me, the desk had complimentary repellant wipes. Cons: The room was average, they give you a key card that has probably been used 50 times or more... which was strange. The bed was surprisingly comfortable, the finishes are traditional okd school Italian. I prefer places with white linen duvets over quilted comforters with dated print. The lightuhg & furniture was dated. The bathroom was updated, which was a pleasant surprise, however the shower was very small in depth. It was difficult to take a shower without touching the glass. I'm a pretty slim person, it would be difficult for someone of larger size & stature to comfortably shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bostonian Mom
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 1, 2013

Great Stay at Canal Grande Hotel

We recently stayed one night and very much enjoyed our stay. We were greeted warmly when we arrived. It was too early for us to check-in so they held our luggage and then brought it up to our room while we were out exploring Venice. The front desk staff was excellent and offered great suggestions for local restaurants for both lunch and dinner. The suite was lovely with plenty of room for a family of four. It was very clean and the air conditioner worked perfectly on such a hot day! They offered good advice on how to return to the airport and scheduled the porter for us. The complimentary breakfast was also very good. My son left his newly purchased gold chain in the bathroom the day we left and they are mailing it to us in the US. We were so grateful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to other travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It was very easy to get to the airport using a porter who took our bags (5 euros for each bag) as we made a short walk (no more than 10 minutes) to the bus that took us directly to the airport (6 euros each). It was far cheaper than the water taxi option!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Getaway Family
Business
London, UK
Feb 24, 2013

Great location, fabulous staff

Couldnt have been better, room both stylish and practical (and sofa beds were great for the children). Staff couldn't be more helpful. Great location on the canal and handy for all forms of Venetian transport

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sherbert2
Business
St Louis Missouri
Oct 18, 2012

Great Hotel and Location!

The Hotel staff were wonderful! We plan on staying at this hotel again on our next stay in Venice. Very clean and great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Magnolia217
Business
Thomasville Georgia
May 29, 2012

Wonderful place to stay in Venice

Spotless, beautiful, quaint with an outstanding staff!!! Location is fantastic as close to the train station and away from the crowded tourist area. Right on the canal. Serves a lovely breakfast with linen tablecloths. We stayed in the Cassanova room decorated in the 18th century period yet modern amenities such as flat screen tv, mini bar, wi-fi, great air conditioning and modern facilities in the bathroom. Would highly recommend!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top