$268 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Canal Grande Hotel Venice

4 stars
Santa Croce 932 Campo San Simeone Profeta, Venice, 30135
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.8
out of 5
25 reviews
Fantastic hotel and staff

Wonderful helpful staff and great location. Right on Canal front and close to vaporetto stop.... See full review

  • Ciaran and Nora
  • Mar 14, 2014
If you're staying in Venice stay here...

Was easy to find, I emailed the hotel before our trip and they come back straight away with clear... See full review

  • Kwhitt
  • Jan 21, 2014
Restored 18th century palace honors Venice greats on the Grand Canal
Stay with Doge, Casanova, Vivaldi and other Venice greats at the Canal Grande Hotel Venice, an elegant 18th century palace on the Grand Canal. Recently restored, the hotel’s rooms are each inspired by some of Venice’s most famous people or places and are richly decorated in Rococo style. A very short walk from the Venice Santa Lucia railway station, the hotel is easy to get to but sits in a quieter area of Venice. Most of Venice’s famous landmarks are within walking distance.
Highlights
  • 18th century palace is recently restored in Rococo style
  • Located on the Grand Canal, providing dramatic views and ready transportation via waterbus, water taxi or gondola
  • In a quieter neighborhood of historic Venice, but walking distance to most landmarks
Location
The Canal Grande Hotel Venice is in Santa Croce, a quieter neighborhood of Venice a short walk from the Venice Santa Lucia railway station. The hotel sits on the Grand Canal just east of the dramatic Ponte degli Scalzi, one of only four bridges to span the Grand Canal. It is within walking distance of St. Mark’s Square and most other famous Venice landmarks.
Rooms
The rooms and suites of the Canal Grande Hotel Venice are recently renovated in dramatic Venetian Rococo style. A Venice luminary or landmark inspires each room’s unique design. Some rooms have views of the Grand Canal. Rooms are heated and air conditioned, and have most modern amenities, including satellite TV, safes and Wi-Fi.
Features
The Canal Grande Hotel Venice blends traditional hospitality with modern comforts, including a breakfast buffet and drinks at the bar or on the hotel’s terrace which sits on the Grand Canal. A 24-hour concierge books tickets for tours, shows and exhibitions. Wi-Fi and basic business services are available. The hotel is wheelchair accessible.
Transportation
  • Marco Polo Airport (9.6 mi/15.4 km)
  • Ferrovia vaporetto (waterbus) docks (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Venice Santa Lucia railway station (0.2 mi/0.4 km)

Attractions
  • Ca'Pesaro Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Academy of Fine Arts (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • St. Mark's Square (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Fenice Theater (1.2 mi/2 km)


Business
The Canal Grande Hotel Venice has a meeting room and offers basic business services including Wi-Fi, photocopies and fax.
Policies and fees
A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Canal Grande Hotel Venice Rooms

Prestige Double Room
This room provides free Wi-Fi internet connection.Minibar, Shower, Safety Deposit Box, TV, Telephone, Air Conditioning, Radio, Toilet, Heating, Satellite TV, Bath or Shower, Hairdryer, Wake Up Service/Alarm Clock, Work Desk, Ironing Facilities, Slippers
Prestige Double Room - Grand Canal View
his room provides free Wi-Fi internet connection and a view on the Grand Canal or Campo San Simeon.Minibar, Shower, Safety Deposit Box, TV, Telephone, Air Conditioning, Radio, Toilet, Bathroom, Heating, Satellite TV, Bath or Shower, Hairdryer, Wake Up Service/Alarm Clock, Work Desk, Ironing Facilities, Slippers
Canal Grande Elegant Suite
The spacious junior suite provides free Wi-Fi internet connection, separate living and sleeping areas, and a view on the Grand Canal.Minibar, Shower, Bath, Safety Deposit Box, TV, Telephone, Air Conditioning, Radio, Toilet, Bathroom, Heating, Satellite TV, Tea/Coffee Maker, Hairdryer, Wake Up Service/Alarm Clock, Bathrobe, Work Desk, Ironing Facilities, Seating Area, Slippers
Prestige junior suite
The spacious junior suite provides free Wi-Fi internet connection, separate living and sleeping areas, and a view on a typical Venetian canal.Minibar, Shower, Safety Deposit Box, TV, Telephone, Air Conditioning, Radio, Toilet, Bathroom, Heating, Satellite TV, Bath or Shower, Hairdryer, Wake Up Service/Alarm Clock, Work Desk, Ironing Facilities, Seating Area, Slippers

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Canal Grande Hotel Venice also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

45.4413 12.3239
Area served
Venice.
Nearby airports
Marco Polo International Airport .

Nearby points of interest

  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.1 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.3 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.3 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.4 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.4 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.5 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.6 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.6 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.6 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.7 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.7 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.1 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.3 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.3 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.4 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.4 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.5 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.6 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.6 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.6 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.7 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.7 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.7 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.8 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.8 mi
  • San Moise: 0.8 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.9 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.9 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.9 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.9 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.9 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.9 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.9 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.9 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.9 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.9 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 1 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 1.2 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 1.3 mi
  • Arsenale: 1.5 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1.8 mi
  • Burano: 5.4 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (25)

Ratings and reviews for Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 25
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bostonian Mom
Boston, MA
Aug 1, 2013

Great Stay at Canal Grande Hotel

We recently stayed one night and very much enjoyed our stay. We were greeted warmly when we arrived. It was too early for us to check-in so they held our luggage and then brought it up to our room while we were out exploring Venice. The front desk staff was excellent and offered great suggestions for local restaurants for both lunch and dinner. The suite was lovely with plenty of room for a family of four. It was very clean and the air conditioner worked perfectly on such a hot day! They offered good advice on how to return to the airport and scheduled the porter for us. The complimentary breakfast was also very good. My son left his newly purchased gold chain in the bathroom the day we left and they are mailing it to us in the US. We were so grateful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to other travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It was very easy to get to the airport using a porter who took our bags (5 euros for each bag) as we made a short walk (no more than 10 minutes) to the bus that took us directly to the airport (6 euros each). It was far cheaper than the water taxi option!

Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hamburg Germany.. Bolzano ,Italy
Nov 25, 2010

Venice in November

Close to piazza Roma , great ferry connections ... near the Ferrovia, friendly staff.. most comfortable bedding and good value .. will certainly return. It is important in Venice to not have to carry your suitcase over too many bridges.. I think from the central pizza there are only two bridges to cross (if you go the right way).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
seattle, wa
Jan 31, 2011

Highly recommended hotel

Excellent rooms and accommodating staff. Unpleasant odor in bathroom was the only negative.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tacoma, WA
May 30, 2010

Great Hotel

Great hotel for the price. The staff were very professional - let us choose which room we wanted, took our bags to the room, excellent breakfast and wait staff. The room was gorgeous, used a lot of marble, wood, gold accents plus was a decent size for Europe. Overall one of the better hotels we stayed at during our visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to the train station, just cross over the bridge.

Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The girls from the west
Salt Lake City Utah
Mar 26, 2010

AAAWSOME

First visit to Venice and we had the perfect hotel. Close to the train station. The desk clerk said she would even send her bellman to pack our luggage. The hotel was spotless and beautifully decorated. The breakfast was ample and different each day. Service was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk , but get a good map.

Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Magnolia217
Thomasville Georgia
May 29, 2012

Wonderful place to stay in Venice

Spotless, beautiful, quaint with an outstanding staff!!! Location is fantastic as close to the train station and away from the crowded tourist area. Right on the canal. Serves a lovely breakfast with linen tablecloths. We stayed in the Cassanova room decorated in the 18th century period yet modern amenities such as flat screen tv, mini bar, wi-fi, great air conditioning and modern facilities in the bathroom. Would highly recommend!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Getaway Family
London, UK
Feb 24, 2013

Great location, fabulous staff

Couldnt have been better, room both stylish and practical (and sofa beds were great for the children). Staff couldn't be more helpful. Great location on the canal and handy for all forms of Venetian transport

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bob and Jane
Wisconsin, USA
Nov 11, 2011

Must stay at this hotel!!!

In all our experiences in international travel, this was clearly the best of our lives. The location is perfect for a stay in Venice, a short five-minute walk from the train station (over two bridges) and right on the Grand Canal. One can see the boats going by from the breakfast room. The room given us was clearly the best in the hotel, right behind the main desk but with a privacy door to the vestibule where our room entrance was located. There was an outdoor patio, equipped with a privacy row of trees AND a wall, making it impossible for one to be disturbed or observed. The breakfast was substantial with food of great assortment and unusually high quality, even espresso coffee if requested. Of greatest importance, however, was the quality of the staff, which was absolutely superb. Every single person there, from the manager on down, made us think that we were the nicest and most important people who had ever visited. We had tears in our eyes as we said goodbye to the staff, feeling we had made acquaintances with people we will remember fondly for the rest of our lives.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KMPMD
Michigan, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Long Weekend in Venice

The entire experience was perfect. The staff was very friendly, the rooms spacious and elegantly decorated with comfortable beds and a great location right on the Grande Canal

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at La Zucca, but make reservations. Great food.

Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 17, 2011

Most romantic hotel

We were so impressed and surprised by the quality of the hotel as it was such a great deal. The staff was beyond wonderful and the location was perfect. Close to the train station for luggage transport, a bit away from the hustle and bustle but close enough for a short walk to major attractions. Beautiful boutique hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure and ask the concierge for their favorite pizza place, it's right around the corner, small unassuming place but the best pizza I've ever had in my life. Order one each!

Back to menu Return to top