$217 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2015 Check-out: Jul 15, 2015

Canal Grande Hotel Venice

4 stars
View map of Santa Croce 932 Campo San Simeone Profeta, Venice, 30135

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 24
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4.9
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Magnolia217
Business
Thomasville Georgia
May 29, 2012

Wonderful place to stay in Venice

Spotless, beautiful, quaint with an outstanding staff!!! Location is fantastic as close to the train station and away from the crowded tourist area. Right on the canal. Serves a lovely breakfast with linen tablecloths. We stayed in the Cassanova room decorated in the 18th century period yet modern amenities such as flat screen tv, mini bar, wi-fi, great air conditioning and modern facilities in the bathroom. Would highly recommend!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sherbert2
Business
St Louis Missouri
Oct 18, 2012

Great Hotel and Location!

The Hotel staff were wonderful! We plan on staying at this hotel again on our next stay in Venice. Very clean and great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Getaway Family
Business
London, UK
Feb 24, 2013

Great location, fabulous staff

Couldnt have been better, room both stylish and practical (and sofa beds were great for the children). Staff couldn't be more helpful. Great location on the canal and handy for all forms of Venetian transport

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bostonian Mom
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 1, 2013

Great Stay at Canal Grande Hotel

We recently stayed one night and very much enjoyed our stay. We were greeted warmly when we arrived. It was too early for us to check-in so they held our luggage and then brought it up to our room while we were out exploring Venice. The front desk staff was excellent and offered great suggestions for local restaurants for both lunch and dinner. The suite was lovely with plenty of room for a family of four. It was very clean and the air conditioner worked perfectly on such a hot day! They offered good advice on how to return to the airport and scheduled the porter for us. The complimentary breakfast was also very good. My son left his newly purchased gold chain in the bathroom the day we left and they are mailing it to us in the US. We were so grateful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to other travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It was very easy to get to the airport using a porter who took our bags (5 euros for each bag) as we made a short walk (no more than 10 minutes) to the bus that took us directly to the airport (6 euros each). It was far cheaper than the water taxi option!

Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tacoma, WA
May 30, 2010

Great Hotel

Great hotel for the price. The staff were very professional - let us choose which room we wanted, took our bags to the room, excellent breakfast and wait staff. The room was gorgeous, used a lot of marble, wood, gold accents plus was a decent size for Europe. Overall one of the better hotels we stayed at during our visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to the train station, just cross over the bridge.

Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hamburg Germany.. Bolzano ,Italy
Nov 25, 2010

Venice in November

Close to piazza Roma , great ferry connections ... near the Ferrovia, friendly staff.. most comfortable bedding and good value .. will certainly return. It is important in Venice to not have to carry your suitcase over too many bridges.. I think from the central pizza there are only two bridges to cross (if you go the right way).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The girls from the west
Business
Salt Lake City Utah
Mar 26, 2010

AAAWSOME

First visit to Venice and we had the perfect hotel. Close to the train station. The desk clerk said she would even send her bellman to pack our luggage. The hotel was spotless and beautifully decorated. The breakfast was ample and different each day. Service was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk , but get a good map.

Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 17, 2011

Most romantic hotel

We were so impressed and surprised by the quality of the hotel as it was such a great deal. The staff was beyond wonderful and the location was perfect. Close to the train station for luggage transport, a bit away from the hustle and bustle but close enough for a short walk to major attractions. Beautiful boutique hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure and ask the concierge for their favorite pizza place, it's right around the corner, small unassuming place but the best pizza I've ever had in my life. Order one each!

Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Jun 26, 2010

Hotel Canal Grande Review

The hotel was beautiful. We had a room that looked out onto the canal and it was stunning. The room was typical Venetian style and I felt like a princess. The bathroom had a tub and rain shower combo which was great. The breakfast was okay and filling and we were able to sit at a table on their dock to the canal and watch the boat pass (amazing!). The hotel was located in Santa Croce and we loved it there. It was right across the Scalzi Bridge from the Santa Lucia train station (if you looked left while crossing the bridge you could see the hotel). The bridge was a downside though - it is very large and getting luggage over it was anything but fun. The location was very quiet, away from the crowds of San Marco. We never used a water bus - we really liked walking through the streets and enjoying Venice that way. It took us about 20-30 minutes to walk leisurely to San Marco. There were signs guiding us, so we did not get lost at all. I had a great time and would definitely return to this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
seattle, wa
Jan 31, 2011

Highly recommended hotel

Excellent rooms and accommodating staff. Unpleasant odor in bathroom was the only negative.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top