$205 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

Canal Grande Hotel Venice

4 stars
View map of Santa Croce 932 Campo San Simeone Profeta, Venice, 30135

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4.9
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sherbert2
Business
St Louis Missouri
Oct 18, 2012

Great Hotel and Location!

The Hotel staff were wonderful! We plan on staying at this hotel again on our next stay in Venice. Very clean and great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KMPMD
Business
Michigan, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Long Weekend in Venice

The entire experience was perfect. The staff was very friendly, the rooms spacious and elegantly decorated with comfortable beds and a great location right on the Grande Canal

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at La Zucca, but make reservations. Great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bob and Jane
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Nov 11, 2011

Must stay at this hotel!!!

In all our experiences in international travel, this was clearly the best of our lives. The location is perfect for a stay in Venice, a short five-minute walk from the train station (over two bridges) and right on the Grand Canal. One can see the boats going by from the breakfast room. The room given us was clearly the best in the hotel, right behind the main desk but with a privacy door to the vestibule where our room entrance was located. There was an outdoor patio, equipped with a privacy row of trees AND a wall, making it impossible for one to be disturbed or observed. The breakfast was substantial with food of great assortment and unusually high quality, even espresso coffee if requested. Of greatest importance, however, was the quality of the staff, which was absolutely superb. Every single person there, from the manager on down, made us think that we were the nicest and most important people who had ever visited. We had tears in our eyes as we said goodbye to the staff, feeling we had made acquaintances with people we will remember fondly for the rest of our lives.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 17, 2011

Most romantic hotel

We were so impressed and surprised by the quality of the hotel as it was such a great deal. The staff was beyond wonderful and the location was perfect. Close to the train station for luggage transport, a bit away from the hustle and bustle but close enough for a short walk to major attractions. Beautiful boutique hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure and ask the concierge for their favorite pizza place, it's right around the corner, small unassuming place but the best pizza I've ever had in my life. Order one each!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
seattle, wa
Jan 31, 2011

Highly recommended hotel

Excellent rooms and accommodating staff. Unpleasant odor in bathroom was the only negative.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hamburg Germany.. Bolzano ,Italy
Nov 25, 2010

Venice in November

Close to piazza Roma , great ferry connections ... near the Ferrovia, friendly staff.. most comfortable bedding and good value .. will certainly return. It is important in Venice to not have to carry your suitcase over too many bridges.. I think from the central pizza there are only two bridges to cross (if you go the right way).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennsylvania
Oct 27, 2010

Just what you would expect

The hotel is situated as convient as you could get and still be away from the crowds that are attracted to the old city. It is better than you might expect from the brand name, nicely appointed, exceptionally clean, helpful and efficient staff. Substantial buffet breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DoubleIncomeNoKids
Business
London
Jul 27, 2010

A wonderful, welcoming stay

My wife & I stayed with the hotel twice, recently, for a total of 5 nights. We had the most wonderful stay. Service: fantastic - staff were always useful and friendly with excellent recommendations Rooms: good size, great views, excellent fittings etc Cleanliness: wonderful Food: breakfast was fine - nothing over the top, a standard 'continental'

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Ask at the hotel desk - they were a wealth of support

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Jun 26, 2010

Hotel Canal Grande Review

The hotel was beautiful. We had a room that looked out onto the canal and it was stunning. The room was typical Venetian style and I felt like a princess. The bathroom had a tub and rain shower combo which was great. The breakfast was okay and filling and we were able to sit at a table on their dock to the canal and watch the boat pass (amazing!). The hotel was located in Santa Croce and we loved it there. It was right across the Scalzi Bridge from the Santa Lucia train station (if you looked left while crossing the bridge you could see the hotel). The bridge was a downside though - it is very large and getting luggage over it was anything but fun. The location was very quiet, away from the crowds of San Marco. We never used a water bus - we really liked walking through the streets and enjoying Venice that way. It took us about 20-30 minutes to walk leisurely to San Marco. There were signs guiding us, so we did not get lost at all. I had a great time and would definitely return to this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tacoma, WA
May 30, 2010

Great Hotel

Great hotel for the price. The staff were very professional - let us choose which room we wanted, took our bags to the room, excellent breakfast and wait staff. The room was gorgeous, used a lot of marble, wood, gold accents plus was a decent size for Europe. Overall one of the better hotels we stayed at during our visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to the train station, just cross over the bridge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The girls from the west
Business
Salt Lake City Utah
Mar 26, 2010

AAAWSOME

First visit to Venice and we had the perfect hotel. Close to the train station. The desk clerk said she would even send her bellman to pack our luggage. The hotel was spotless and beautifully decorated. The breakfast was ample and different each day. Service was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk , but get a good map.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top