$283 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 15, 2015 Check-out: Sep 16, 2015

Canal Grande Hotel Venice

4 stars
View map of Santa Croce 932 Campo San Simeone Profeta, Venice, 30135

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 25
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4.9
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bostonian Mom
Family
Boston, MA
Aug 1, 2013

Great Stay at Canal Grande Hotel

We recently stayed one night and very much enjoyed our stay. We were greeted warmly when we arrived. It was too early for us to check-in so they held our luggage and then brought it up to our room while we were out exploring Venice. The front desk staff was excellent and offered great suggestions for local restaurants for both lunch and dinner. The suite was lovely with plenty of room for a family of four. It was very clean and the air conditioner worked perfectly on such a hot day! They offered good advice on how to return to the airport and scheduled the porter for us. The complimentary breakfast was also very good. My son left his newly purchased gold chain in the bathroom the day we left and they are mailing it to us in the US. We were so grateful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to other travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It was very easy to get to the airport using a porter who took our bags (5 euros for each bag) as we made a short walk (no more than 10 minutes) to the bus that took us directly to the airport (6 euros each). It was far cheaper than the water taxi option!

Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Getaway Family
Family
London, UK
Feb 24, 2013

Great location, fabulous staff

Couldnt have been better, room both stylish and practical (and sofa beds were great for the children). Staff couldn't be more helpful. Great location on the canal and handy for all forms of Venetian transport

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sherbert2
Business
St Louis Missouri
Oct 18, 2012

Great Hotel and Location!

The Hotel staff were wonderful! We plan on staying at this hotel again on our next stay in Venice. Very clean and great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Magnolia217
Family
Thomasville Georgia
May 29, 2012

Wonderful place to stay in Venice

Spotless, beautiful, quaint with an outstanding staff!!! Location is fantastic as close to the train station and away from the crowded tourist area. Right on the canal. Serves a lovely breakfast with linen tablecloths. We stayed in the Cassanova room decorated in the 18th century period yet modern amenities such as flat screen tv, mini bar, wi-fi, great air conditioning and modern facilities in the bathroom. Would highly recommend!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KMPMD
Family
Michigan, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Long Weekend in Venice

The entire experience was perfect. The staff was very friendly, the rooms spacious and elegantly decorated with comfortable beds and a great location right on the Grande Canal

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at La Zucca, but make reservations. Great food.

Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bob and Jane
Couples
Wisconsin, USA
Nov 11, 2011

Must stay at this hotel!!!

In all our experiences in international travel, this was clearly the best of our lives. The location is perfect for a stay in Venice, a short five-minute walk from the train station (over two bridges) and right on the Grand Canal. One can see the boats going by from the breakfast room. The room given us was clearly the best in the hotel, right behind the main desk but with a privacy door to the vestibule where our room entrance was located. There was an outdoor patio, equipped with a privacy row of trees AND a wall, making it impossible for one to be disturbed or observed. The breakfast was substantial with food of great assortment and unusually high quality, even espresso coffee if requested. Of greatest importance, however, was the quality of the staff, which was absolutely superb. Every single person there, from the manager on down, made us think that we were the nicest and most important people who had ever visited. We had tears in our eyes as we said goodbye to the staff, feeling we had made acquaintances with people we will remember fondly for the rest of our lives.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 17, 2011

Most romantic hotel

We were so impressed and surprised by the quality of the hotel as it was such a great deal. The staff was beyond wonderful and the location was perfect. Close to the train station for luggage transport, a bit away from the hustle and bustle but close enough for a short walk to major attractions. Beautiful boutique hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure and ask the concierge for their favorite pizza place, it's right around the corner, small unassuming place but the best pizza I've ever had in my life. Order one each!

Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
seattle, wa
Jan 31, 2011

Highly recommended hotel

Excellent rooms and accommodating staff. Unpleasant odor in bathroom was the only negative.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Hamburg Germany.. Bolzano ,Italy
Nov 25, 2010

Venice in November

Close to piazza Roma , great ferry connections ... near the Ferrovia, friendly staff.. most comfortable bedding and good value .. will certainly return. It is important in Venice to not have to carry your suitcase over too many bridges.. I think from the central pizza there are only two bridges to cross (if you go the right way).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Pennsylvania
Oct 27, 2010

Just what you would expect

The hotel is situated as convient as you could get and still be away from the crowds that are attracted to the old city. It is better than you might expect from the brand name, nicely appointed, exceptionally clean, helpful and efficient staff. Substantial buffet breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top