$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 13, 2015

Best Western Montecarlo Hotel Venice

3 stars
Calle Specchiere 463-San Marco, Venice, 30124
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
15 reviews
Good hotel

Love this place and staff at desk was great. Let me check in noon instead of 3 pm and helped me... See full review

  • gracedone
  • May 19, 2014
Very nice hotel for a short stay

Super location, and very good breakfast. Staff speaks English, and is very helpful. The only knock... See full review

  • Larry Lowe
  • Jan 21, 2014
This modernized 17th-century building, formerly a convent and a palazzo, is 50 metres from Piazza San Marco, in the shopping area between the Piazza San Marco and the Rialto Bridge. A complimentary hot and cold breakfast buffet is available each morning in a dining room decorated in typically grand Venetian style, including Murano glass lighting and mirrors. The property offers baby sitting service, bar, concierge, currency exchange, doctor on call, dry cleaning, Internet access-high-speed, Internet access-wireless, laundry service, lift/ elevator, lobby, non-smoking rooms, restaurant, reception, room service, safe deposit box, and tour desk. Pets are allowed. It's a smoke-free hotel.

A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Montecarlo Hotel Venice also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Best Western Montecarlo Hotel Venice Rooms

Standard Triple Room
Room with one twin bed and one double bed offers air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/ satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/ private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, iron/ ironing board, laundry service, mini bar, modem/ data port connection, non-smoking rooms, radio, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.
Standard Single Room
Room with one twin bed offers air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/ satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/ private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, iron/ ironing board, laundry service, mini bar, modem/ data port connection, non-smoking rooms, radio, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.
Standard Double or Twin Room
Room with one twin bed or one queen bed offers air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/ satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/ private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, iron/ ironing board, laundry service, mini bar, modem/ data port connection, non-smoking rooms, radio, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • San Zulian: 0 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.1 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.1 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.1 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.1 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.1 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.1 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.2 mi
  • San Moise: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • San Zulian: 0 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.1 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.1 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.1 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.1 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.1 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.1 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.2 mi
  • San Moise: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.4 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.4 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 0.5 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.5 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.6 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 0.6 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.6 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.6 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.6 mi
  • Arsenale: 0.7 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.7 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.8 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.9 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 1 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1 mi
  • Burano: 5 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.1 mi

Dining

Antico Pignolo
Hotel's restaurant "Antico Pignolo" is the ideal meeting place for business or pleasure lunches and dinners, where it is possible to taste the traditional dishes of Venetian cuisine.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (15)

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Montecarlo Hotel Venice

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 15
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.9

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Montecarlo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UCLA Retired Traveler
Moorpark, California
Jun 5, 2012

A good choice for a Venice Hotel

We spent 3 nights at this hotel. The hotel location is very conveniient and extremely clean. The buffet breakfast is among the best, and the staff is very friendly and knowledgable. We did not get the non smoking room the first night but staff moved us to the nonsmoking room the following night. The room is nice and very clean but also very small, typical for a standard hotel room in Europe. We would stay at this hotel again unless they raise the price beyond our reach (we paid about $360 a night).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Montecarlo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gracedone
Business
Flordia
May 19, 2014

Good hotel

Love this place and staff at desk was great. Let me check in noon instead of 3 pm and helped me move my stuff up to room. Has elevator and only two blocks form square. Beds hard but no depressions from previous use. Air fine, little noise from street but not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Montecarlo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Larry Lowe
Business
Palo Alto, California
Jan 21, 2014

Very nice hotel for a short stay

Super location, and very good breakfast. Staff speaks English, and is very helpful. The only knock is the small room size.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Montecarlo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shoe Crazy Nana
Business
Oklahoma
Sep 12, 2013

European Charm

The staff was excellent! Very accomodating, friendly, and helpful. The free breakfast had many choices. The food was great and dining area was very nice. Again the staff was very accomodating. I think the rooms could use some updating. Furniture was outdated but comfortable. Free wi fi was made available by giving us a code to get on. Overall it the hotel had a quaint charm and homey feel to it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Montecarlo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UCLA Retired Traveler
Business
Moorpark, California
Jun 5, 2012

A good choice for a Venice Hotel

We spent 3 nights at this hotel. The hotel location is very conveniient and extremely clean. The buffet breakfast is among the best, and the staff is very friendly and knowledgable. We did not get the non smoking room the first night but staff moved us to the nonsmoking room the following night. The room is nice and very clean but also very small, typical for a standard hotel room in Europe. We would stay at this hotel again unless they raise the price beyond our reach (we paid about $360 a night).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Montecarlo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rodrigohgo
Business
Vancouver, BC
Dec 5, 2011

Excelent Location, Great Price!

I believe the most important thing in a hotel is where is located, so based on this, i believe this is a great option. It is not expensive and the breakfast was included an it was very very good, the people at the front desk very friendly and helpful and as I said, perfect location, just a few meters away from piazza san marco, close to restaurants, shops, gelatto, we were very happy with this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

We arrived to Venice at night and we didnt know how to get to the hotel. Someone at the airport told us to take a water taxi which cost us 110 EUR !!!!! .... we payed it because we didn't know what to do in the middle of the night and it was our honeymoon but there is acuatic public transportation from the airport to Venice fro just 5 or 6 EUR, be careful with this!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Montecarlo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Boca Raton, Florida
Jun 9, 2011

Great location

The location is a bit tricky if you don't carry with you a googled map before the trip. At the airpot catch a taxi to take you to Plaza de Roma. You catch the vaporetto (6 euros one way)at Plaza de Roma. The vaporetto stops at San Marco Square and there you will drag your luggage to the hotel (it's about 5-10 min wal). You only have to cross one small venetian bridge with your luggage (it has ramps). Try to arrive in Venice during the day. In the evening is a bit difficult to find the hotel. All the small souvenirs shops are close by and San Marco Square is only a short walk. It is in a quiet street so you can sleep late. The rooms are very clean. The bed was very comfortable. The staff was very, very helpful. Their morning breakfast buffet is great at their restaurant is nice and has the old charm of old Europe. They arranged for us our transportation from the hotel to the cruise ship.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of small restaurants in the narrow streets. Their food is great and the prices are not bad. The more expensive restaurants are facing the San Marco Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Montecarlo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent Traveller - First Time Reviewer
Business
NJ
Apr 26, 2011

GREAT LOCATION,NICE ROOM, FRIENDLY STAFF

I travel A LOT for both business and pleasure, and yet I have never taken the time to write a review before. We were so happy with our stay here, that I felt compelled to take the time to provide feedback. We selected the MonteCarlo after much research based on 1) Location; 2)Price; 3)Customer Feedback. We could not have been happier with our choice. The location was FANASTIC! Only a few (<5)minutes walk from St Marks Sq. The rooms were nicely decorated. We needed a Triple room. The room they gave us was a corner room that actually had two bedrooms and a very large bath. The included breakfast was fine. [...]seemed to always be at the front desk (day and night), and was always very helpful. Great hotel and a GREAT VALUE. I will definately stay here again when we come back to Venice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Getting to the hotel from the Waterbus (Vaporetta)is a long walk (@ 1000meters) with heavy bags. If you have a lot of baggage, or are not keen on walking; spent the money and get a water taxi to the hotel. The water taxi will drop you off right around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Montecarlo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mann family
Business
Florence, Ky
Dec 22, 2010

Christmas in Venice

The Montecarlo was a great hotel in a great city! The staff was friendly and helpful, especially attentive to our 3 year old granddaughter. The location of the hotel is great- near St. Mark's Square, shopping, and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Watch out for the seating charges! The first night we were tired and hungry so we went to a restaurant close by the hotel. We were surprised to find a 1.50 Euro fee for each person. Not all places charge the fee so be sure to check before you sit. Many restaurants have a tourist menu with fairly reasonable prices and plenty of food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Montecarlo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Denise the Leader
Business
San Jose, CA
Oct 11, 2010

Wonderful location

We have no complaints except for the unfriendly night staff. Since it was still dark at 4:15 am when we had to leave for the airport I asked the night front desk man to make sure of the water taxi pick up location. Instead of giving the directions, he reply was "if you made the reservations, you should already know how to get there" or something to the effect. Perhaps he worked the night shift and didn't get enough sleep but that was no excuse. Unfriendly attitude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Montecarlo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange City, FL
Jul 12, 2010

WE LOVED IT !!!

I booked this from home before we left, so I knew it was expensive, but I wanted to do Venice in style, so I broke the bank & booked. We were so happy with our room (and breakfast). Three twin beds & the room was a good size. TV (with only BBC & CNN in English, but that's all of Europe), A/C was great, full bathroom. Staff was polite and extremely knowledgable & helpful. Also, we were here for a Sat. nite which is usually more expensive. So close to St. Mark's

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top