$178 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

Best Western Ala Hotel Venice

3 stars
San Marco 2494 - Campo Santa Maria Del Giglio, Venice, I-30124
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
70 reviews
A Wonderful Place to Stay in Venice

There are so many hotels in Venice, but this is the hotel I would always return to. From the moment... See full review

  • Socrates
  • Feb 25, 2013
Perfect location

Lovely, well run little hotel representing good value for money. Very central and well placed for... See full review

  • Varni
  • Mar 9, 2014
Renowned Venetian hospitality and modern comfort in the heart of Venice
The Salmaso family, founder of the renowned Ristorante da Raffaele, manages the Best Western Ala Hotel Venice with their trademark commitment to good food, good drink and warm hospitality. A professional and accommodating staff provides all the modern comforts for a pleasant Venice adventure. The hotel is recently renovated in dramatic Venetian style. Located in Campo Santa Maria del Giglio, the hotel is a short walk from the city’s shopping, dining and cultural center in St. Mark’s Square.
Highlights
  • Managed by the Salmaso family, founder of Venice’s renowned Ristorante da Raffaele
  • Located in the Campo Santa Maria del Giglio, a short walk from St. Mark’s Square and other cultural highlights
  • Traditional Venetian hospitality with modern comforts provided by a professional staff
Location
The Best Western Ala Hotel Venice is in the Campo Santa Maria del Giglio (commonly known as the Santa Maria Zobenigo), a short walk from St. Mark's Square, the city's shopping, dining and cultural center. The hotel also is near the Academy of Fine Arts, the Fenice Theater, the Palazzo Grassi and the Ca' Rezzonico. Nearby shopping opportunities include Gucci, Prada, Louis Vuitton and Ferragamo.

Rooms
The Best Western Ala Hotel Venice’s 85 rooms are recently renovated. Some include views of the Rio di Santa Maria Zobenigo Canal. Rooms include flat-screen TVs, safes and Wi-Fi Internet access. Rooms are air conditioned in the summer. Non-smoking rooms are available.
Features
The Best Western Ala Hotel Venice provides a free breakfast in its dining room. In the hotel’s Tarnowska’s American Bar, guests enjoy spirits, wine and cocktails, as well as whole leaf teas and biscuits. The hotel offers babysitting service, concierge service and excursion planning, an on-call doctor and high-speed Internet access.
Transportation
  • Marco Polo Airport (12.4 mi/19.9 km)
  • Santa Maria del Giglio Vaporetto water bus pier (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Venice Santa Lucia railway station (1.4 mi/2.3 km)

Attractions
  • Fenice Theater (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Palazzo Grassi (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Academy of Fine Arts (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • St. Mark’s Square (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Ca’Rezzonico (0.6 mi/1 km)
Business
The Best Western Ala Hotel Venice’s Kamarowsky meeting room seats 25 and is well equipped. Secretarial service is available.
Policies and fees
A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Best Western Ala Hotel Venice Rooms

Classic Double/ Twin room.
Room with 1 double or 1 twin bed which includes Air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/ satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/ private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access- high speed, internet access-wireless, laundry service, mini bar, non smoking rooms, radio, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and valet service.
Classic Triple Room
Room with 1 double bed and 1 twin bed which includes Air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/ satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/ private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access- high speed, internet access-wireless, laundry service, mini bar, non smoking rooms, radio, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and valet service.
Single Room
Room with 1 twin bed which includes Air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/ satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/ private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access- high speed, internet access-wireless, laundry service, mini bar, non smoking rooms, radio, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and valet service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Room service
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Ala Hotel Venice also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

45.4343 12.3336
Area served
Venezia.
Nearby airports
Venice Marco Polo International Airport- 8 kilometers.
Area description
It is situated in the heart of Venice, a short walk from St. Mark's Square, the Academy of Fine Arts, the Fenice theatre, Palazzo Grassi and Ca' Rezzonico. Easily joinable by public services (Vaporetto - line 1-stop "Santa Maria del Giglio" 50 meters far from the hotel). Hotel is very close to shoppiing area ( Gucci, Prada, Louis Vouitton, Ferragamo etc.) and banks.

Nearby points of interest

  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.1 mi
  • San Moise: 0.1 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.2 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.2 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.3 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.3 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.3 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.3 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.1 mi
  • San Moise: 0.1 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.2 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.2 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.3 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.3 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.3 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.3 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.3 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.3 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.3 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.3 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.4 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.4 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.4 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.4 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.6 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 0.7 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.8 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 0.8 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.8 mi
  • Arsenale: 0.9 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1.3 mi
  • Burano: 5.3 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.4 mi

Dining

Tarnowska's American Bar
In Tarnowska's American-Bar there is the opportunity to relax tasting the first choice international selection regarding spirits, international cocktails, best wines and cheese tasting. It has a Piano bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (70)

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Ala Hotel Venice

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 70
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
5
Value:
4.3

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Ala Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TessO
Vallejo, Ca
Jul 24, 2012

great value for your money

Staff very helpful. Close walk to everything. Good breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Main attractions easy to find with the use of a map.

Review of Best Western Ala Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Daribia David
Sterling Heights, MI USA
Feb 27, 2012

Room overlooking the canal and a gondolier.

Typically Venice. Room window opened up to a canal below with a gondolier making his way through the canals of Venice with a young couple. How Venetian was that? The ambience was superb! The hotel staff was very professional. The hotel was located very close to the Grand Canal and St Mark's Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Best Western Ala Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 19, 2009

Amazing, great location, quiet

Perfect hotel for a decent price a short walk from San Marco. The small square in front of the hotel is beautiful and quiet. Water taxi stops steps from the hotel. Common areas of hotel are very nice. Even our inexpensive room had a jacuzzi tub and 5-star bathroom. Visit the deck on the roof of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Best Western Ala Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 19, 2009

Amazing, great location, quiet

Perfect hotel for a decent price a short walk from San Marco. The small square in front of the hotel is beautiful and quiet. Water taxi stops steps from the hotel. Common areas of hotel are very nice. Even our inexpensive room had a jacuzzi tub and 5-star bathroom. Visit the deck on the roof of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Best Western Ala Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brownsight
Knoxville, TN
Jun 26, 2009

Wonderful location and very good price

We enjoy the stay at this hotel for the location, Wi-Fi (2 euros for voluntary charity). Breakfast was OK plus. Hotel offer a free tour to Murano, but we couldn't accept because of all tours already planned. If we go back to Venice I will chose this Hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Anonimo Veneziano Restaurant, good food, excellent service and a fantastic price! A must TRY!!!

Review of Best Western Ala Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brownsight
Knoxville, TN
Jun 26, 2009

Wonderful location and very good price

We enjoy the stay at this hotel for the location, Wi-Fi (2 euros for voluntary charity). Breakfast was OK plus. Hotel offer a free tour to Murano, but we couldn't accept because of all tours already planned. If we go back to Venice I will chose this Hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Anonimo Veneziano Restaurant, good food, excellent service and a fantastic price! A must TRY!!!

Review of Best Western Ala Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
amplic
Fall River, MA
Jun 21, 2009

Great location

We arrived shortly after 11:30 a.m., and even though the check-in time was 1:00 p.m., our room was ready. That was much appreciated after an overnight flight. The location was great...just a minute walk from the #1 vaporetto, and about a five minute walk from St. Mark's Square. Our room was small, and we over-looked an alley, but it was clean and quiet. There was no elevator to our floor. We had help with our luggage when we checked in, and I'm sure we could have asked for some when we checked out, but we did it ourselves. The breakfast was excellent. They had a very big selection for a Continental Breakfast. The people at the front desk were nice. Even though there's no restaurant there, there's no shortage of restaurants within a short distance. lots of shopping too. Overall, we were pleased with our choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Best Western Ala Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
amplic
Fall River, MA
Jun 21, 2009

Great location

We arrived shortly after 11:30 a.m., and even though the check-in time was 1:00 p.m., our room was ready. That was much appreciated after an overnight flight. The location was great...just a minute walk from the #1 vaporetto, and about a five minute walk from St. Mark's Square. Our room was small, and we over-looked an alley, but it was clean and quiet. There was no elevator to our floor. We had help with our luggage when we checked in, and I'm sure we could have asked for some when we checked out, but we did it ourselves. The breakfast was excellent. They had a very big selection for a Continental Breakfast. The people at the front desk were nice. Even though there's no restaurant there, there's no shortage of restaurants within a short distance. lots of shopping too. Overall, we were pleased with our choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top