$142 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

Bella Venezia Hotel Venice

4 stars
View map of Calle dei fabbri 4701/11, Venice, 30124

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
54 reviews
Great Trip, Great Hotel

Beautiful hotel, 5 minute walk to San Marco Square. Easy to get to and staff was wonderful! Would... See full review

  • Domenico A.
  • Jul 16, 2015
great hotel,great concierge.

Stayed here for a long weekend in the annex. Don't listen to any reviews moaning about staying in... See full review

  • Lee H
  • Jun 7, 2015
The sixteenth century palace in which Hotel Bella Venezia is sited in, has been completely respected and restored in accord with the Italian Belle Arti. The works, ended by the middle of year 2006, have gifted back the ancient splendour to each Venetian bedrooms, rooms that offer precious views over canals, streets, and suggestive roofs with the Saint Mark bell tower as picture on the ground. All the wide rooms and suites contain elegant Venetian furniture and glasses, but in the same time they offer all the contemporary technology comforts. The highly formed hotel staff and professional manners will enrich your stay much more comfortable and unforgettable as well.

A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in. The Hotel has Depandance called Palazzo La Scala and Residenza Ca` San Marco , located only 100 meters from main building with 10 rooms called ANNEX : rooms are smaller than those located in main Hotel, but with all comforts : Minibar, LCD TV, heating control, safebox ,internet wi-fi. Check-in Check-out and breakfast are within the main Hotel.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bella Venezia Hotel Venice also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Bella Venezia Hotel Venice Rooms

Annex Room
This is an economy room located in another building 100 meters far from main Hotel, called Palazzo La Scala or Residenza Casa San Marco a Luxury Guesthouse :rooms are smaller than those located in main Hotel, but with all comforts : Minibar, LCD TV, heating control, safebox ,internet wi-fi. Check-in Check-out and breakfast are within the main Hotel.
Double Standard Room
Room offers 1 double bed or 2 single bed equipped with air conditioning, cable/satellite Tv, Color TV, Ensuite/ Private Bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, room service, telephone.
Double Superior Room
Room offers 1 double bed or 1 twin bed equipped with air conditioning, cable/satellite Tv, color TV, ensuite/ private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, room service, telephone.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Rialto Food Market: 0.1 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.1 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.2 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.2 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.2 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.2 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.2 mi
  • San Moise: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.2 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.2 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.1 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.1 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.2 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.2 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.2 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.2 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.2 mi
  • San Moise: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.2 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.2 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.2 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.3 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.3 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.4 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.4 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.4 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.5 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.5 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.5 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.5 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 0.6 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 0.6 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.7 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.8 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.8 mi
  • Arsenale: 0.8 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1.2 mi
  • Burano: 5.1 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Bella Venezia Hotel Venice

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bella Venezia Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sacred spring
Cotswolds, UK
Feb 25, 2012

Perfect Venice hideaway

Perfectly placed between the Rialto Bridge and St Marks, this delightful hotel had helpful staff, was attractively decorated, and a very generous breakfast till 10.30am. You could watch the gondolas go by while eating croissants. Really good value even at Carnival time. Two minor drawbacks - the subdued ambient lighting in the room, though attractive, made it hard to see what was in your suitcase, and we stayed in the annexe (charming) but there was a terrible smell of sewerage in the hall (though not in the room). We would go there again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Santo Stefano square claims to be the sunniest square in Venice and Le Cafe was the best food we had.

Review of Bella Venezia Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
M120
Business
CA
Oct 15, 2012

Beware

Their annex building is actually a lower grade hotel. Felt like it was a bait and switch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bella Venezia Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Granddad.
Business
Palm Beach
Aug 9, 2013

Don't Fall For IT!!!!!!

It is a scam to call this the Bella Venezia when your room is one of the two "annexes" that the Bella Venezia acquired. Rooms in the annexes are not even one star because of the miniscule size (10' x 8") and lack of elevators to the third floor (newer annex). The air conditioner in the room that we had in the first annex did not work and we could not put our suitcases down and still walk around in the room that we were assigned in the second annex. The desk staff is indifferent and the manager is never around. We checked out early on a three day booking and found a real hotel. We also were charged for a 2 euro per person per night local tax at check-in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast room size is insufficient for the three hotels it serves and the one attendant cannot keep up.

Review of Bella Venezia Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cowang
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jul 27, 2009

Horrible experience - a total scam!

I purchased 3 nights at this hotel for my honeymoon. As soon as I got here, they said they would put me up in the 'Annex' which was 3 blocks away. It was extremely hot since it was summer, and I blasted the air conditioning for 3 hrs and it was still blowing out hot air. I then complained to the front desk and they said since I had already paid for it for 3 days on Orbitz, there was nothing they could do to help. I asked about another room in the main hotel which they said they had none (which I found out later to be a lie!). We basically sweated it out for 3 nights, and other guests in the Annex were outside in the hall at 4 AM also complaining about the heat. One guest called the front desk at 4 AM and was told not to call in the middle of the night... The front desk attributed it to a 'blackout' but interestingly, the hallways of the Annex were brisk and cool. The staff was extremely rude throughout this process. We later found out from a waitress at the restaurant that the owner of Hotel Bella Venezia owns a hostel called Palazzo La Scala (the Annex) and will put up guests there even if they book it at Hotel Bella Venezia at their own discretion. She said the air conditioning never works there. Overall, poor customer service - very unfriendly and unhelpful esp to those of have prepaid. Only good thing about this place was the location - close to the Rialto and Saint Marks Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bella Venezia Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Konrad d.
Business
Shepherd's Bush
Jan 12, 2015

Really bad!

Make sure you do not book Annex. Annex is not a hotel is a bed and breakfast. I find it disrespectful to sell B&B rooms under the 4 star hotel advertisement!!!! On top of all the issues such as dirt and little room, I have to point out few things that I think are unacceptable for wither hotel or B&B. - Mould everywhere - Human hair struck in the corners - Dust - not good for allergic people! - Breakfast supposed to be served at 7:30 in fact it was served at 8:15!!! - Bidet was leaking and funny brown mark was right under it! I would not recommend this place to stay! Be aware if you are booking thinking you will stay in 4 star hotel you will not!! Although The main building is 4 star hotel they so called annex rooms are B&B!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Annex rooms are not a 4 star hotel they are B&B Book elsewhere :D

Review of Bella Venezia Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
John Photographer
Business
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Jul 13, 2014

Oh no! Not the Annex!

I used the Bella Venezia website to help me make my decision to book at the hotel. The hotel website was misleading. I certainly did not understand that I'd be assigned a room in the "annex," not the hotel. I was taken to the annex which is in a separate building from the hotel and shown a tiny room next to an elevator. If I had suffered from severe claustrophobia I would have passed out upon entering the room. It seemed poorly lit and perhaps that might have served to hide any lack of cleanliness. When I said that the room was inadequate I was shown the only other room available in the annex. It also was tiny and located next to the elevator. I was then offered another room in another building apart from the hotel. Since hotels in the central Venice area seemed to be fully booked I agreed to pay an additional 120 Euros for each of the three nights I stayed. The room was a matrimonial suite with garish wall decor. It had a tub with a shower. The tub was covered with a glass door that covered less than half its length. When I took a shower water went everywhere. I called for a maid to bring towels to mop up the floor. She was very apologetic and actually seemed shocked. Another maintenance staff member came in and put a piece of plastic on the bottom of the glass door. When he turned on the shower water still leaked through, but it was better. He seemed perplexed by the fact that there was a such a small glass door and agreed to install a shower curtain the next day. The only thing worse than the bathroom being inundated with water from the shower was the four inches of canal water that was covering the sidewalk on the last night I stayed there. Passage was impossible on the short route to the building in which the room I was staying in was located. I found out that there was a "back" route. I provided another guest who was staying in the same building the map I was given and after a long walk we found our way. He said that the Bella Venezia was not his idea of a four star hotel either. He said that he hadn't been aware of booking in the annex either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Venice seems to overcrowded with tourists in July. If you want to escape the hordes try an art museum. The tourists that flock to Venice seem to not appreciate art.

Review of Bella Venezia Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
loving retirement
Business
Vandalia, Illinois
Oct 7, 2013

Six busy days in Venice

We stayed in the annex. Didn't realize it was NOT attached to the main hotel. The inconvenience of getting coffee in the AM could have been resolved by having coffee in our lobby. And why a coffee machine? A four star hotel should have more than a coffee machine - they are terrible!!! Everyone was waiting in line. The room was clean and nice size, the bed comfortable, the shower worked well, the location was convenient for sight seeing. The staff at the front desk were not very helpful and not very cheerful or accommodating. We wanted to exchange dollars for euros at the front desk and they said no... We've stayed at many hotels (mostly three star) in Europe including Italy and never had a problem. We'll be back but we will find another hotel on that street. The location of the hotel was fabulous! This four star hotel either needs to be improved or down graded. It's not worth the money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bella Venezia Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carlsbad, CA
Jul 28, 2009

should have booked earlier

Very hard to find - it would be impossible in the dark! Not air conditioned and no screens on the windows so it was very hot and buggy. Tiny and run down. Also, it was not at the hotel - it was at their Annex building around the corner. It was close to Piazza San Marco. Breakfast was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bella Venezia Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Yannis
Business
Wellesley, MA
Oct 6, 2014

A disappointment

I booked it as a 4-star hotel room and I was offered a 3-star B&B. My booking appeared as in the "Annex" which was a building a couple of blocks away. I was given a key for the building and a key for the room, and I had to walk to the hotel for my breakfast. I complained to the Reception person and his attitude was equivalent to "tough luck" suggesting that I should talk to my booking web site people. The breakfast was just OK; it was the only hotel out of six I had used where the capuccino was made by a machine and it was not drinkable. The room was small with a double bed and a foot of space on each side. No stand for the suitcase and no room actually. The Wi-Fi was very weak. I would not recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bella Venezia Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FloridaTravlinMan
Business
Central Florida
May 28, 2012

Puzzling Inconsistencies

I was there 2 days. Great breakfast first day and the hotel made me a to-go bag for the second day as I had an early departure. That was very thoughtful and much appreciated. Room was clean at check-in but no maid service provided the next day in their annex location. It also seems to me that the hotel would provide some sort of warning when you check in that you plan to depart during a local celebration during which water transportation completely shuts down but nothing was mentioned. Good thing I did research on my own. My wake-up call was delivered 15 minutes late but the alarm on my cell phone functioned perfectly so I was ready for the tardy call.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bella Venezia Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bijum
Business
Istanbul
Jun 17, 2012

Needs Bathroom Maintenance

Shower door did not shut properly. Shower head did not stay in place. Reception staff were indifferent but breakfast staff were friendly. Overall, clean hotel at a nice location but needs an extra touch to be Good Stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top