$91 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Ateneo Hotel Venice

3 stars
San Marco 1876, Venice, 30124
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
3 reviews
cute boutique hotel

Nice location close to St. Marks square. Out of the way of noise. Very small rooms. No free WI-FI... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jun 27, 2009
Ateneo Hotel ....unexpected surprize??

Hotel was very hard to find...and a water taxi cost 70 Euros. Hotel did not have elevator and that... See full review

  • Mom and daughter traveling team
  • May 25, 2009
Surrounded by the delightful setting of a small Venetian courtyard, when suddenly come upon the Ateneo Hotel hidden in a quiet street in the heart of our magical city.The Ateneo Hotel is built alongside the Ateneo Veneto di Scienze, Lettere e Arti established after a merger between the Societ veneta di medicina, the Accademia dei Filareti, and the Accademia Veneta letteraria.The architectural features are typical of Venetian buildings, and the materials and damasks found in the rooms, the historic Seventeenth Century furnishings together with the most up to date facilities allow the guests to experience the magical atmosphere of Venice, even in the privacy of their hotel rooms. A particularly attractive feature of the common areas available for the guests is the large Nineteenth Century drawing room with a terrace facing the important Theater Rossini canal, a not-to-be-missed opportunity for a gondola trip, where Guests can spend time relaxing, accompanied by the enchanting melodies of the serenades. A lovely internal courtyard, embellished with luxurious plants, lets guests relax while surrounded by the calm of our wonderful city.

A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

Hotel Map

45.434 12.333
Area served
Venice.
Nearby airports
Marco Polo Airport, VENICE.
Area description
It is located at a stone's throw from the Gran Teatro La Fenice, which rose from the ashes recently in December 2003. It is also very close to Piazza San Marco "the only piazza in the world where lions fly and doves walk" and the extraordinary museum district, from the Mercerie, the main route linking to the Rialto Bridge and the Gallerie dell'Accademia.Its very central location means guests can reach the Rialto and Accademia bridges in just a few minutes and begin the discovery of the mysteries of Venice while staying in its historic heart.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ateneo Hotel Venice also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Ateneo Hotel Venice Rooms

Double/Twin
Room with 1 double bed or 1 twin bed including Air conditioning, cable/ satellite TV, color TV, ensuitr/ private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, mini bar, modem/ data port connection, room service and telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Room service
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.1 mi
  • San Moise: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.2 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.3 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.3 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.3 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.3 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.3 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.3 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.3 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.3 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.1 mi
  • San Moise: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.2 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.3 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.3 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.3 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.3 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.3 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.3 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.3 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.3 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.3 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.3 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.4 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.4 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.4 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.5 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.5 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 0.7 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.8 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 0.8 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.8 mi
  • Arsenale: 1 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1.3 mi
  • Burano: 5.3 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (3)

Ratings and reviews for Ateneo Hotel Venice

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
3 out of 3
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4.7
Value:
2
Sort by:
Review of Ateneo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom and daughter traveling team
Greenville, SC
May 25, 2009

Ateneo Hotel ....unexpected surprize??

Hotel was very hard to find...and a water taxi cost 70 Euros. Hotel did not have elevator and that was NOT mentioned anywhere. I have a problem climbing many flights of stairs at the end of the day. We had a room 3/4 flights up. Staff at breakfast was sullen. Desk staff helpful. Upon check in we were informed that due to a manditory inspection, by the Fire Marshall, of all hotel rooms in Venice, prior to the high season, we would be moved to a different hotel, the Duomo Palace Hotel. It was very nearby. The porter did move us but it meant that our day plan was somewhat upset. Our room at the 4 star Duomo Place was little more than the size of a "broom closet." The staff did not listen well when we asked questions and had a "know it all" attitude the evening we arrived after the move. The morning staff was much nicer and more helpful. But at breakfast they served instant coffee !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are tired - it is a very good idea to take the 70 Euro ride to the hotel from the train station the hotel is very hard to find.

Review of Ateneo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
May 28, 2009

Substandard for first world

The hotel is in a central location. The hotel staff was friendly, with minor exceptions. However, the standard room is substandard, especially when size is concerned. One has to walk sideways to get around the room. The bathroom is also extremely small. During our 4 nights there, soaps, shampoos, and drinking glasses were not replenished. The floors were not cleaned when we checked it. Breakfast room staff often reused napkins from a previous round of breakfast diners and on more than one occasion, the silverware was not washed properly. We will not stay in that hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Ateneo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom and daughter traveling team
Greenville, SC
May 25, 2009

Ateneo Hotel ....unexpected surprize??

Hotel was very hard to find...and a water taxi cost 70 Euros. Hotel did not have elevator and that was NOT mentioned anywhere. I have a problem climbing many flights of stairs at the end of the day. We had a room 3/4 flights up. Staff at breakfast was sullen. Desk staff helpful. Upon check in we were informed that due to a manditory inspection, by the Fire Marshall, of all hotel rooms in Venice, prior to the high season, we would be moved to a different hotel, the Duomo Palace Hotel. It was very nearby. The porter did move us but it meant that our day plan was somewhat upset. Our room at the 4 star Duomo Place was little more than the size of a "broom closet." The staff did not listen well when we asked questions and had a "know it all" attitude the evening we arrived after the move. The morning staff was much nicer and more helpful. But at breakfast they served instant coffee !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are tired - it is a very good idea to take the 70 Euro ride to the hotel from the train station the hotel is very hard to find.

Review of Ateneo Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indiana
Jun 27, 2009

cute boutique hotel

Nice location close to St. Marks square. Out of the way of noise. Very small rooms. No free WI-FI but was available for 5 euros per hour. Friendly staff. No restaurant or bar. Nice breakfast buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many little restaurants close by the hotel with outside dining. Expensive food but great experience.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search