$133 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Antico Panada Hotel Venice

3 stars
Calle Degli specchieri , 646, San Marco 646, Venice, 30122
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
36 reviews
Weekend Getaway

This was a very nice hotel, very friendly helpful staff. See full review

  • Flamingo
  • Jun 4, 2014
Most staff made this a great trip

Daytime front desk were more than accommodating and one female desk clerk arranged water taxi and... See full review

  • Chief185
  • Aug 10, 2013
Cozy hospitality in an historic building just off St. Mark’s Square
The Antico Panada Hotel Venice is housed in a historic 17th century building, just 20 meters from St. Mark’s Square, Venice’s center for culture, dining and shopping. The hotel provides a cozy, family-friendly atmosphere with modern comforts provided amidst classic and 17th century furnishings. Cultural landmarks, high fashion boutiques and some of Venice’s finest restaurants surround the hotel.
Highlights
  • Located just 20 meters from St. Mark’s Square, Venice’s center for culture, shopping and dining
  • Easy walking distance to many of Venice’s museums and cultural landmarks
  • Intimate, family-friendly hospitality with modern conveniences in an historic example of Venetian architecture
Location
The Antico Panada Hotel Venice is just 20 meters from St. Mark’s Square and right in the heart of the St. Mark’s district, home to many of Venice’s most famous cultural landmarks, high fashion boutiques and finest restaurants. Nearby docks offer easy access to the rest of Venice via ferries, gondolas and water taxis.
Rooms
The intimate rooms at the Antico Panada Hotel Venice are recently renovated to provide modern comforts while preserving the rooms' 17th century Venetian style. Most rooms include elegant Murano chandeliers. Rooms are air conditioned and include Internet access, satellite TV and safety deposit boxes. Rooms with Jacuzzi baths and non-smoking rooms are available.

Features
Replete with red and white marble, the Antico Panada Hotel Venice is a stunning example of 17th century Venetian style. Dine in the hotel’s restaurant, and then enjoy the Ai Speci bar. The comfortable parlor is a good place to relax, read a book or make use of the common area computers to check e-mail. The hotel offers concierge, laundry and fax services.
Transportation
  • Marco Polo Airport (12.4 mi/20 km)
  • Riva degli Schiavoni vaporetto (waterbus) docks (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Venice Santa Lucia railway station (1.4 mi/2.2 km)

Attractions
  • St. Mark’s Square (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • St. Mark’s Basilica (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Ducal Palace (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Correr Museum (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Fenice Theater (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Palazzo Grassi (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Academy of Fine Arts (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Ca'Pesaro Museum (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Ca’Rezzonico Gallery (1 mi/1.7 km)
Policies and fees
A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

45.4357 12.3391
Area served
Venice.
Nearby airports
Venice Marco Polo Airport.
Area description
The Hotel Panada overlooks the Calle degli Specchieri, which leads directly, without crossing any bridges, to the Basilica of San Marco and one of the most beautiful piazzas in the world, Piazza San Marco, with its majestic bell tower, the Ducal Palace and the Clock Tower.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Antico Panada Hotel Venice also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Antico Panada Hotel Venice Rooms

Single Room
Room offers one single bed exquisitely furnished in attractive Venetian style, with shower and bath, air conditioning, private safe, direct dial telephone, TV SAT, alarm clock, cable / satellite TV, hairdryer, heating, non-smoking rooms, room service and valet service.
Double/Twin Room
Room offers one double bed or two single beds exquisitely furnished in attractive Venetian style, with shower and bath, air conditioning, private safe, direct dial telephone, TV SAT, alarm clock, cable / satellite TV, hairdryer, heating, non-smoking rooms, room service and valet service.
Triple Room
Room offers one double bed and one single bed exquisitely furnished in attractive Venetian style, with shower and bath, air conditioning, private safe, direct dial telephone, TV SAT, alarm clock, cable / satellite TV, hairdryer, heating, non-smoking rooms, room service and valet service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Room service
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • San Zulian: 0 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.1 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.1 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.1 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.1 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.1 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.2 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • San Moise: 0.2 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.3 mi
  • San Zulian: 0 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.1 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.1 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.1 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.1 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.1 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.2 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • San Moise: 0.2 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.3 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.4 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.4 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 0.5 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.5 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.6 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.6 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.6 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.6 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.6 mi
  • Arsenale: 0.7 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.7 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.8 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.9 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.9 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1 mi
  • Burano: 5 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for Antico Panada Hotel Venice

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Antico Panada Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mamoo
Miamisburg, OH, USA
Sep 2, 2011

Great antiquity everywhere

It was a great location and you could walk to so many interesting places or just walk around the streets and take in the wonderful old buildings. The elevator and air conditioning were a big plus although you could walk the steps easily. The staff spoke English well and were helpful. Breakfast was good. it was really nice to have a place near everything so that if you got tired you had a place to relax and cool off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It was so much better to stay on the island as it was convenient and was not anymore costly as costs kept adding up if you made the trip from the mainland. The water taxi pass is definitely worth the price and taking the people mover was 1 euro to get to the area to purchase it.

Review of Antico Panada Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
Aug 25, 2009

Venice hotel stay

We travel to Venice. We would not recommend Antico Panada Hotel to anyone. The hotel was not what we expected. The wallpaper was peeling off of the walls and the room was very small actually very tiny. The TV was very small. The free continental breakfast was terrible. The hotel was at a great location and that was about the only positive experience we had at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Check you dining receipts. Get an itemized receipt. The restaurants had a tendency to charge you for an extra plate or more than what the menu stated.

Review of Antico Panada Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LakersFan
Orange County, California
Apr 8, 2010

Hotel SUCKS

The location of hotel is great. The staff is not friendly at all. They are not helpful either. One of the guys used a racial slur when he was speaking to me. I would say some of the staff members were ok, but I feel like they don't really want to help you. Its like you are forcing them. I booked my hotel room and was suppose to get a double bed and a twin bed instead I got a double bed and a couch that a five foot five person could not even sleep on. I would recommend staying at another hotel in the same vicinity. Breakfast was not great at all, just bread, cheese, orange juice, coffee and cereal. I would expect more when I am on vacation in Venice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is close to the hotel. This hotel is located on the main island San Marcos. It doesnt really matter that much though because the water bus runs on every island and very easy to use. You don't have to exactly stay on this island, but makes it semi convenient.

Review of Antico Panada Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jimjim
kent
Dec 31, 2012

great location,

hotel is just round corner from main square so is great location, hotel has pretty good decor as well and is clean, but beds have hard mattress, the fridge did not work properly complained 3 times and they said was ok? and bubble bit on bath was not clean, was blowing out black stuff. breakfast was not great pretty standard, nothing hot except toast and coffee. i got great deal on hotel and flights so was happy with holiday, but would of been disapointed if it cost loads. so all in all ,hotel is great location and good decor but has its downsides guess thats why its a 3 star, get a good deal you be happy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Antico Panada Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Laredo, TX
Jul 5, 2009

Not a Good property

They never mention that there was no A/C and that the studio really is a double room apartment with a share living room with other people

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Antico Panada Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Antico Panada Poo Poo
Steamboat Springs, CO
Sep 26, 2012

BE READY FOR MANY PROBLEMS

We arrived at the hotel and the safe didn't work. They were supposed to send someone right up but after an hour I went down and had to retrieve a repair person. He couldn't fix it so they did haul up another one that was attached to nothing. We then realized that the toilet runs all the time. At one point it was flushing very hard and wouldn't stop. Someone did fix it while we were out to lunch but when we returned it just started doing it again. The guy at the front desk called the repairman and we were told to bang on it really hard! When my husband went to take a shower he discovered that the water would turn from freezing cold to scalding without touching the knobs. It was after that when we realized we couldn't turn the TV on so the front desk person came up and asked us if we had a pen? He took it apart and poked it into this little hole on the front that turned it on but said that probably the batteries were dead. They were. The WiFi was barely useable the signal was so weak. It wasn't such a big deal that our bed was two twins pushed together until you woke up in the crack. The biggest irritation of all, however, was that the front desk person told us that the orange line for the water bus to the airport runs starting at 6:00 in the morning and arrives every 20 minutes so we arrange to catch the 7:20 which I look at their chart on the post and can see that is what their chart does indicate even though that was not what the sign by the docks said. We arrange for their overpriced porter to pick us up at 7:00 and he drops us off at the orange line, which doesn't actually start running until 11. It's the blue line at the next stop over that is the 7:20 to the airport. We ran as fast as we could when we realized we had been dropped off at the wrong stop only to have me slip and fall down the stairs almost breaking my arm! It's fairly clean and the location is great but there is not much more I have to say that is good about old Antico Panada!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Antico Panada Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JASS
Business
Dublin, Ireland
Sep 7, 2011

Not worthy!

They put 2 single beds underneath the bed sheet to act as one double bed...the desks and some spots in the room are covered with dust...only one power socket can be found...no chairs placed...the room is not bright enough...the TV is still CRT type...the night shift staff is very helpful and 2 mins walk to San Marco Plaza which are the only 2 good parts in my experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

very close to San Marco Plaza

Review of Antico Panada Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Modeep
Nottingham england
Jun 22, 2013

Great location, rubbish hotel

Location is perfect less than 2 minutes walk from San Marco, hotel is less than average breakfast is poor ham, bread cheese with warm yogurt and warm milk. Internet connection is poor, lobby is small and packed with guests trying to use wifi. We stayed 4 nights and never did they have any bar staff, reception staff is rude no lockers for suit cases if you arrive early or need to leave late. In the room wall paper pealing off, electric cuts out every time you try to adjust the aircon, burn marks on carpet, towels have a dirty smell to them, poor tv channel choice and safe can be lifted out of place so not every safe at all. The hotel is over priced for the experience it offers the only good thing is the location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Antico Panada Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
Jul 3, 2009

good stay

They provide great breakfast (make sure your hotel rate includes free breakfast option). Otherwise, they charge 20 euro per person. Hotel is so close to St Mark's square you can do much sightseeing by walking. The only thing I wish is they provide free internet access. They charge 5 euros per hour for wifi access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are tons of restaurants/cafes nearby for different budgets.

Review of Antico Panada Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
anibalbarca
España
Nov 2, 2011

Family with elderly

The hotel is not a conventional hotel but a laberintic compendium of rooms and corridorsnot good for elderly persons or with mobility problems. rooms are ok, with many stairs that could be normal in this magnificient old city. I don´t like the way the desk man suggested a close restaurant for eating, because there, we where almost robbered. The cost was excesive, and it was our first meal in Venice so appears like if there, all restaurants where so suspectly expensive. Even in the desserts, the waiter cut and gave me half a piece of tiramisú.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Dux palace with tickets bougth trough Internet

Review of Antico Panada Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Apr 24, 2011

A place to sleep w/ no frills or extras

The location is good for the area as the Panada is it just around the corner from the Piazza San Marco, less than a minute walk. Clean enough but definitely showing age. Small rooms typical of that part of Italy. Staff was courteous. If you are looking for a simple place to stay with no extra luxury then this hotel could work for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of shopping and the Piazza San Marco nearby

Back to menu Return to top