$121 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2015 Check-out: Jul 30, 2015

Antica Locanda Al Gambero

3 stars
View map of Calle dei Fabbri 4687, Venice, 30124

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Apr 22, 2010

Very nice Hotel

I enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Salvatore's Mom
Business
Cashmere, WA
Jul 24, 2009

Would stay again!!!

great spot, friendliest staff I have ever had. clean easy to get to from water taxi. we walked every where to see as much as possible with 3 days and 3 nites. would visit this hotel again in a minute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

you can get to anything from our hotel, dinning, attractions definitely a great location to stay

Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joshster
Business
modesto, ca
Jul 6, 2010

great time in venice

great!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gerardo Garza
Business
Wuxi, China
Nov 22, 2014

Great hotel with good breakfast

Hotel has good service and breakfast. The location is also a good point because in the center of Venice. The only difficulty is to find the hotel because is not a easy advertising to indicate the location. But in general for single traveler is one of the best options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dexterpup
Business
ft. lauderdale
Jul 2, 2012

vacation

very clean! good location, but little small room. The staff is helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GT Prof
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 29, 2009

A pleasant hotel

The hotel is conveniently located, once you have gotten lost a couple of times, but that is just part of the charm of Venice. I was on the top floor and did not really pay attention to the comment that there are no elevators. so that means you might be climbing several flights of stairs, so pack lightly. The staff was not so much unfriendly as *indifferent* and certainly did not go out of their way to be helpful or to make suggestions. But it was very affordable for Venice, clean, and had free WiFi, very nice. I had one of the best meals of my life in the the attached restaurant. I would consider staying again, but it would not be automatic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HungryinVenice
Business
New York, NY
May 24, 2010

Great location

I thought the hotel was lovely despite the lack of an elevator. My only issue is that one night we asked the front desk to assist us in finding the restaurant where we had made a reservation. Instead of indicating that they didn't know where the restaurant was located, they sent us on a scavenger hunt to the other side of Venice - a 45 minute walk into a completely residential neighborhood. Needless to say, we lost our reservation and by the time we walked back towards the more populated area of Venice, all the restaurants were closed. When we confronted the front desk clerk with his mistake he seemed aghast at the prospect that he had sent us to the wrong location - a neighborhood without ANY restaurants. He should have just said, "I DON'T KNOW" it would have saved us from sore feet, empty bellies and a sour memory of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Il Ridotto - best meal in Venice. They love the art of food!

Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
cleveland ohio
May 12, 2010

Not the hotel expected

For the price I expected more. The room was a shoe box and the canal view was a small window next to anoisy bridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Small shops and restaurants everywhere.

Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TDeeeeee
Business
Michigan
Jun 14, 2009

The Unfortunate Truth

This was probably the worst hotel stay I could have imagined. The attendant was absolutely incompetent and terribly discourteous. I wish more than anything that we would have chosen another hotel on the island. It was a horrible 2 nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top