$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Antica Locanda Al Gambero

3 stars
Calle dei Fabbri 4687, Venice, 30124
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
38 reviews
Great Location!!

Hotel is clean and nice, great location with friendly staffs. Only thing is no lift and I need to... See full review

  • JTTC
  • Jul 10, 2013
Amazing stay, Amazing location

Had the most incredible experience in Venice and staying at this hotel just made it even better.... See full review

  • brittanylovestotravel
  • Dec 12, 2011
Elegant and spacious room at Venice hotel feature amazing views
The Antica Locanda Al Gambero offers guests spacious and elegant Venetian-style rooms. Located along the picturesque Calle dei Fabbri, the hotel has exceptional views and is a short walk from St. Mark's Square and other popular Venice attractions. It is also a short walk from the Rialto Bridge and the shopping opportunities of the Mercerie. Dine on traditional Venetian and Italian fare at the hotel's Le Bistrot de Venise, which, in warm weather, opens out onto the small square outside the hotel.

 


Highlights
  • Elegant and spacious Venetian-style rooms
  • Centrally located within walking distance of St. Mark's Square, Rialto Bridge, Mercerie and other popular Venice attractions
  • Traditional Venetian and Italian dining at on-site Le Bistrot de Venise
Location
The Antica Locanda Al Gambero is centrally located in the midst of many of Venice's most famous attractions. Short walks away are St. Mark's Square to the south, the Rialto Bridge and the shopping district of the Mercerie to the north, and the Fenice Theater to the southwest. The hotel is located on a canal and is along the Calle dei Fabbri, a picturesque Venice street.

Rooms
The 30 comfortable rooms of the Antica Locanda Al Gambero are decorated in understated traditional Venetian elegance. Most rooms offer a canal view. The rooms are air conditioned and are all non-smoking. Rooms include satellite TV, mini-bar, safe and other standard 3-star amenities.
Features
Guests start each morning at the Antica Locanda Al Gambero with a continental breakfast in the hotel's breakfast room and plan to return in the evening to dine at the hotel's Le Bistrot de Venise, which serves traditional Venetian and Italian dishes. In warm weather, the restaurant opens out onto the campiello (small square) outside. Free Wi-Fi and a computer station are available at the hotel, which also features a comfortable sitting room.

 

Transportation
  • Marco Polo Airport (11.4 mi/18.4 km)
  • Riva degli Schiavoni vaporetto (waterbus) docks (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Venice Santa Lucia railway station (1.2 mi/2.0 km)

  

Attractions
  • Rialto Bridge (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • St. Mark's Square (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Correr Museum (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Ducal Palace (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Policies and fees

A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

45.4356 12.3363
Area served
Venice.
Area description
Centrally located, 3 minutes by foot from Piazza San Marco and 5 minutes from the Ponte di Rialto, the Hotel Antica Locanda al Gambero is well-positioned among the 3 star hotels of Venice.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Antica Locanda Al Gambero also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Antica Locanda Al Gambero Rooms

Single Room
Room with one single bed includes air conditioning, cable / satellite TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service and telephone.
Double Room
Room with one double bed and two single beds includes air conditioning, cable / satellite TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service and telephone.
Triple Room
Room with one double and one single bed includes air conditioning, cable / satellite TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service and telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • San Zulian: 0.1 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.1 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.1 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.2 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.2 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.2 mi
  • San Moise: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.2 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.2 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.2 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.1 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.1 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.1 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.2 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.2 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.2 mi
  • San Moise: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.2 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.2 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.2 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.3 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.3 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.4 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.4 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.5 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.5 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.5 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 0.6 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 0.6 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.7 mi
  • Arsenale: 0.8 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.8 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.8 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1.1 mi
  • Burano: 5.1 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (38)

Ratings and reviews for Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TDeeeeee
Michigan
Jun 14, 2009

The Unfortunate Truth

This was probably the worst hotel stay I could have imagined. The attendant was absolutely incompetent and terribly discourteous. I wish more than anything that we would have chosen another hotel on the island. It was a horrible 2 nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
cleveland ohio
May 12, 2010

Not the hotel expected

For the price I expected more. The room was a shoe box and the canal view was a small window next to anoisy bridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Small shops and restaurants everywhere.

Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nortenyo
Oslo
Jul 6, 2012

Overpriced

Overpriced because of the central location. No elevator, but plenty of steep stairs. Had to go up stairs and then down stairs to get to our room. Breakfast is not much to write home about. Beds are terrible, - i.e. like sleeping on the floor. Water does not go down the drain in the shower. Building needs renovation. Wireless internet does not work. Try another hotel instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dexterpup
ft. lauderdale
Jul 2, 2012

vacation

very clean! good location, but little small room. The staff is helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GT Prof
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 29, 2009

A pleasant hotel

The hotel is conveniently located, once you have gotten lost a couple of times, but that is just part of the charm of Venice. I was on the top floor and did not really pay attention to the comment that there are no elevators. so that means you might be climbing several flights of stairs, so pack lightly. The staff was not so much unfriendly as *indifferent* and certainly did not go out of their way to be helpful or to make suggestions. But it was very affordable for Venice, clean, and had free WiFi, very nice. I had one of the best meals of my life in the the attached restaurant. I would consider staying again, but it would not be automatic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HungryinVenice
New York, NY
May 24, 2010

Great location

I thought the hotel was lovely despite the lack of an elevator. My only issue is that one night we asked the front desk to assist us in finding the restaurant where we had made a reservation. Instead of indicating that they didn't know where the restaurant was located, they sent us on a scavenger hunt to the other side of Venice - a 45 minute walk into a completely residential neighborhood. Needless to say, we lost our reservation and by the time we walked back towards the more populated area of Venice, all the restaurants were closed. When we confronted the front desk clerk with his mistake he seemed aghast at the prospect that he had sent us to the wrong location - a neighborhood without ANY restaurants. He should have just said, "I DON'T KNOW" it would have saved us from sore feet, empty bellies and a sour memory of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Il Ridotto - best meal in Venice. They love the art of food!

Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Isabela Silva
Chicago,ILL
May 4, 2009

great location

I like this hotel because is near everything like restaurantes, stores, attractions. The stuffs were ok, the internet acess was good and was free. I didnt have problems to make international calls. The reception people were friendly also they speak English. I just thought the bedroom a little small but it was ok because was very clean also the bathroom was very clean and stairs are a little hard to bring the suitcases up. I can stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel has a great location is near everything,by this hotel you will find restaurants, ice-cream stores, gifts stores selling traditinal carnival masks, the famous glasses made in Murano,wine stores,you can just walk and in 5 minutes you are on San Marco square,walking on the opposite direction in 8 minutes you will find Rialto bridge.

Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Jul 17, 2009

Great location

Over all we were happy with the hotel. Hotel is located right in between St. Marco and Realto bridge (water bus stop). 5-7 min walk from the Realto bridge to the hotel. Hotel doesn't have an elevator and a stairwell is quite steep. Do not bring the heavy luggage. We used a porter when checked in, but we were leaving at 3AM and had to handle the luggage ourselves when checked out. The room is small, but clean. The space between a toilet and a tub is small. A tall person will have a problem to sit down on a toilet. I'm 5'8" and it wasn't easy. There was a safe in a room, but it was attached to the wall probably with one nail. It would be easy to pull it off the wall and carry it down because it was very light. A breakfast was OK. A little better that one we had in a three star hotel in Florence. Of course we paid $50 more in Venice than in Florence. Would we stay in this hotel again? Yes!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PhDeviate
MA
Aug 25, 2012

I would recommend!

We enjoyed our stay. The room is small, but comfortable, and nowhere near as small as other places I've stayed! The Venitian decor is mostly trite, but the wallpaper matches that in the Pallazzo de Doge just about perfectly. Breakfast was adequate, the coffee first rate. The location can't be beat. And do eat at the restaurant downstairs--their period 14-16 century food is amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Georgia, USA
Aug 8, 2011

Fantastic location!

This was our first trip to Italy. My sister, daughter and I stayed in a room together on the top floor. It was a little difficult to handle the luggage up three flights of stairs but we managed. We had 3 twin beds. We could look out our window straight down into one of the numerous canals. We watched the tourists in the gondolas. We could see a cute little rooftop garden. The breakfasts were wonderful! It was a very short walk to St. Mark's Square. We had a wonderful time and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search