$66 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 22, 2015 Check-out: Jan 23, 2015

Antica Locanda Al Gambero

3 stars
Calle dei Fabbri 4687, Venice, 30124
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
19 reviews
Great hotel with good breakfast

Hotel has good service and breakfast. The location is also a good point because in the center of... See full review

  • Gerardo Garza
  • Nov 22, 2014
Amazing stay, Amazing location

Had the most incredible experience in Venice and staying at this hotel just made it even better.... See full review

  • brittanylovestotravel
  • Dec 12, 2011
Elegant and spacious room at Venice hotel feature amazing views
The Antica Locanda Al Gambero offers guests spacious and elegant Venetian-style rooms. Located along the picturesque Calle dei Fabbri, the hotel has exceptional views and is a short walk from St. Mark's Square and other popular Venice attractions. It is also a short walk from the Rialto Bridge and the shopping opportunities of the Mercerie. Dine on traditional Venetian and Italian fare at the hotel's Le Bistrot de Venise, which, in warm weather, opens out onto the small square outside the hotel.

 


Highlights
  • Elegant and spacious Venetian-style rooms
  • Centrally located within walking distance of St. Mark's Square, Rialto Bridge, Mercerie and other popular Venice attractions
  • Traditional Venetian and Italian dining at on-site Le Bistrot de Venise
Location
The Antica Locanda Al Gambero is centrally located in the midst of many of Venice's most famous attractions. Short walks away are St. Mark's Square to the south, the Rialto Bridge and the shopping district of the Mercerie to the north, and the Fenice Theater to the southwest. The hotel is located on a canal and is along the Calle dei Fabbri, a picturesque Venice street.

Rooms
The 30 comfortable rooms of the Antica Locanda Al Gambero are decorated in understated traditional Venetian elegance. Most rooms offer a canal view. The rooms are air conditioned and are all non-smoking. Rooms include satellite TV, mini-bar, safe and other standard 3-star amenities.
Features
Guests start each morning at the Antica Locanda Al Gambero with a continental breakfast in the hotel's breakfast room and plan to return in the evening to dine at the hotel's Le Bistrot de Venise, which serves traditional Venetian and Italian dishes. In warm weather, the restaurant opens out onto the campiello (small square) outside. Free Wi-Fi and a computer station are available at the hotel, which also features a comfortable sitting room.

 

Transportation
  • Marco Polo Airport (11.4 mi/18.4 km)
  • Riva degli Schiavoni vaporetto (waterbus) docks (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Venice Santa Lucia railway station (1.2 mi/2.0 km)

  

Attractions
  • Rialto Bridge (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • St. Mark's Square (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Correr Museum (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Ducal Palace (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Policies and fees

A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Antica Locanda Al Gambero also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Antica Locanda Al Gambero Rooms

Single Room
Room with one single bed includes air conditioning, cable / satellite TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service and telephone.
Double Room
Room with one double bed and two single beds includes air conditioning, cable / satellite TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service and telephone.
Triple Room
Room with one double and one single bed includes air conditioning, cable / satellite TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service and telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • San Zulian: 0.1 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.1 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.1 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.2 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.2 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.2 mi
  • San Moise: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.2 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.2 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.2 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.1 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.1 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.1 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.2 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.2 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.2 mi
  • San Moise: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.2 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.2 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.2 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.3 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.3 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.4 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.4 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.5 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.5 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.5 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 0.6 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 0.6 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.7 mi
  • Arsenale: 0.8 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.8 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.8 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1.1 mi
  • Burano: 5.1 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (19)

Ratings and reviews for Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
brittanylovestotravel
Business
Winter Park, FL, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Amazing stay, Amazing location

Had the most incredible experience in Venice and staying at this hotel just made it even better. Friendly and helpful English speaking staff, high speed internet in the room, and fantastic location. Would stay here again no question. When faced with the decision of where to stay in Venice- this is the place to be!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mamo pizzeria. Absolutely delicious! Best pizza I had in Italy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Songhawke
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Oct 29, 2009

A Perfect Hotel in a Perfect Location

Seeing Venice was a 35-year dream for me, and I was able to celebrate my 60th birthday there. I investigated the hotel on-line before choosing it, and found it well-represented when I got there. I wanted somewhere that would give me a real Venetian experience in a location convenient to two major locaations: San Marco Plaza and the Rialto Bridge. Again, I got exactly what I wanted. I took a few organized tours and spent the rest of the time exploring on my own. There were a few sights I just HAD to see: San Marco Plaza and all the wonders there, the Rialto Bridge, Ca D'Oro, La Fenice...etc.! I also ate a lot - and Venice is very vegetarian-friendly - but lost five pounds in three days due to all the walking. It's a safe city, so I started my day out at about 6AM and didn't get back to the hotel until nearly 9PM, exhausted but fulfilled. Just shy of four days was nowhere near enough (recovering from surgery earlier this year had used up most of my vacation time), but I know how to fly over the Pond now and am already planning my next Venice trip. My main disappointment was that La Fenice was closed for a special event the day I went to see it, and that was the only time I had for it. Next time!!! Be warned that Venice can be a physically hard city; you will need to take breaks! There are stairs everywhere, including on all the bridges. My hotel had stairs as well, but that seems to be a standard, and it didn't faze me. I've never been to Europe before, so I can't compare it to "similar" trips. However, I came home absolutely elated by the experience, and with a camera stuffed with 509 photos to go through and share.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take advantage of the passes one can get on-line. It was very handy to be able to just jump on the ferry from the airport to the city without having to take the time to buy one. Same goes for the in-city boats, the public bathrooms, the museums, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Granite Bay, CA
Jun 8, 2009

Home Away from Home

This was an amazing adventure for me. Alone in Venice and a wee bit nervous, until I met the hotel staff. Not only was I greeted as if I was a family member, the quaint, little hotel in the middle of Venice turned out to be my home away from home for eight days. Five minute walk from San Marco's Square and a three minute walk from the Rialto Bridge, I could go anywhere, walk down any little alley, and be a quick vaporetto ride back to my quiet little room to rest up for my next adventure out-and-about. As always, I rely on the locals to give me the best places to see, when, and where, I was not disappointed. I only wish that I had had more time to see all that they had recommended. I'm already planning my next week long stay at this beautiful, little, peaceful hotel next year. Knowing how restful and elegant it was, I plan to stay longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

As soon as you get there, buy a "week" long pass on the vaporetto. Then you can freely walk anywhere and go to any island, from early morning to sunset and have an easy, simple ride back to the hotel. Sometimes after walking for eight hours, I jumped on a vaporetto just to float along the canals when I was too tired to walk any more . Each night, I saw another wonderful sight just by watching the people, the boats, or the buildings that passed by and I didn't have to move a muscle. Worth every penny!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Isabela Silva
Business
Chicago,ILL
May 4, 2009

great location

I like this hotel because is near everything like restaurantes, stores, attractions. The stuffs were ok, the internet acess was good and was free. I didnt have problems to make international calls. The reception people were friendly also they speak English. I just thought the bedroom a little small but it was ok because was very clean also the bathroom was very clean and stairs are a little hard to bring the suitcases up. I can stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel has a great location is near everything,by this hotel you will find restaurants, ice-cream stores, gifts stores selling traditinal carnival masks, the famous glasses made in Murano,wine stores,you can just walk and in 5 minutes you are on San Marco square,walking on the opposite direction in 8 minutes you will find Rialto bridge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jul 17, 2009

Great location

Over all we were happy with the hotel. Hotel is located right in between St. Marco and Realto bridge (water bus stop). 5-7 min walk from the Realto bridge to the hotel. Hotel doesn't have an elevator and a stairwell is quite steep. Do not bring the heavy luggage. We used a porter when checked in, but we were leaving at 3AM and had to handle the luggage ourselves when checked out. The room is small, but clean. The space between a toilet and a tub is small. A tall person will have a problem to sit down on a toilet. I'm 5'8" and it wasn't easy. There was a safe in a room, but it was attached to the wall probably with one nail. It would be easy to pull it off the wall and carry it down because it was very light. A breakfast was OK. A little better that one we had in a three star hotel in Florence. Of course we paid $50 more in Venice than in Florence. Would we stay in this hotel again? Yes!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PhDeviate
Business
MA
Aug 25, 2012

I would recommend!

We enjoyed our stay. The room is small, but comfortable, and nowhere near as small as other places I've stayed! The Venitian decor is mostly trite, but the wallpaper matches that in the Pallazzo de Doge just about perfectly. Breakfast was adequate, the coffee first rate. The location can't be beat. And do eat at the restaurant downstairs--their period 14-16 century food is amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
enjoy italy
Business
las vegas NV
Jun 23, 2010

Great place hard to find

This was a very nice motel, difficult to find, everything in Venice is difficult to locate, The morning staff was very unfriendly almost to the point of being rude, but the gentlemen on the evening shift were more than helpful and really did make up for the others. The airlines lost our baggage for our entire stay there and the gentlemen on the evening shift went out of there way to help us get them before we left for Cinqua Terra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a good, and I do mean a good map of the streets, otherwise you will spend most of your time lost. Venice is such a great place to get lost in when you want to be lost, otherwise it can be frustrating because every alley is a street and a good map will help.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mendon, VT
Oct 25, 2010

Great location.

Location was great as it was 5-10 minutes to the Rialto Bridge or San Marcos square. 5 minutes to the water taxi. Included nightly shows as Gondoliers passed below our window view of a canal. Singing and laughter was great. Would recommend to others. Only downside, was it could get noisy at night with the windows open, but well worth the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Apr 22, 2010

Very nice Hotel

I enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Salvatore's Mom
Business
Cashmere, WA
Jul 24, 2009

Would stay again!!!

great spot, friendliest staff I have ever had. clean easy to get to from water taxi. we walked every where to see as much as possible with 3 days and 3 nites. would visit this hotel again in a minute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

you can get to anything from our hotel, dinning, attractions definitely a great location to stay

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top