$120 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

Antica Locanda Al Gambero

3 stars
Calle dei Fabbri 4687, Venice, 30124
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
31 reviews
Amazing stay, Amazing location

Had the most incredible experience in Venice and staying at this hotel just made it even better.... See full review

  • brittanylovestotravel
  • Dec 12, 2011
A Perfect Hotel in a Perfect Location

Seeing Venice was a 35-year dream for me, and I was able to celebrate my 60th birthday there. I... See full review

  • Songhawke
  • Oct 29, 2009
Elegant and spacious room at Venice hotel feature amazing views
The Antica Locanda Al Gambero offers guests spacious and elegant Venetian-style rooms. Located along the picturesque Calle dei Fabbri, the hotel has exceptional views and is a short walk from St. Mark's Square and other popular Venice attractions. It is also a short walk from the Rialto Bridge and the shopping opportunities of the Mercerie. Dine on traditional Venetian and Italian fare at the hotel's Le Bistrot de Venise, which, in warm weather, opens out onto the small square outside the hotel.

 


Highlights
  • Elegant and spacious Venetian-style rooms
  • Centrally located within walking distance of St. Mark's Square, Rialto Bridge, Mercerie and other popular Venice attractions
  • Traditional Venetian and Italian dining at on-site Le Bistrot de Venise
Location
The Antica Locanda Al Gambero is centrally located in the midst of many of Venice's most famous attractions. Short walks away are St. Mark's Square to the south, the Rialto Bridge and the shopping district of the Mercerie to the north, and the Fenice Theater to the southwest. The hotel is located on a canal and is along the Calle dei Fabbri, a picturesque Venice street.

Rooms
The 30 comfortable rooms of the Antica Locanda Al Gambero are decorated in understated traditional Venetian elegance. Most rooms offer a canal view. The rooms are air conditioned and are all non-smoking. Rooms include satellite TV, mini-bar, safe and other standard 3-star amenities.
Features
Guests start each morning at the Antica Locanda Al Gambero with a continental breakfast in the hotel's breakfast room and plan to return in the evening to dine at the hotel's Le Bistrot de Venise, which serves traditional Venetian and Italian dishes. In warm weather, the restaurant opens out onto the campiello (small square) outside. Free Wi-Fi and a computer station are available at the hotel, which also features a comfortable sitting room.

 

Transportation
  • Marco Polo Airport (11.4 mi/18.4 km)
  • Riva degli Schiavoni vaporetto (waterbus) docks (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Venice Santa Lucia railway station (1.2 mi/2.0 km)

  

Attractions
  • Rialto Bridge (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • St. Mark's Square (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Correr Museum (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Ducal Palace (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Policies and fees

A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

45.4356 12.3363
Area served
Venice.
Area description
Centrally located, 3 minutes by foot from Piazza San Marco and 5 minutes from the Ponte di Rialto, the Hotel Antica Locanda al Gambero is well-positioned among the 3 star hotels of Venice.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Antica Locanda Al Gambero also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Antica Locanda Al Gambero Rooms

Single Room
Room with one single bed includes air conditioning, cable / satellite TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service and telephone.
Double Room
Room with one double bed and two single beds includes air conditioning, cable / satellite TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service and telephone.
Triple Room
Room with one double and one single bed includes air conditioning, cable / satellite TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service and telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • San Zulian: 0.1 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.1 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.1 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.2 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.2 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.2 mi
  • San Moise: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.2 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.2 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.2 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.1 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.1 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.1 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.2 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.2 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.2 mi
  • San Moise: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.2 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.2 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.2 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.3 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.3 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.4 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.4 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.5 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.5 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.5 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 0.6 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 0.6 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.7 mi
  • Arsenale: 0.8 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.8 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.8 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1.1 mi
  • Burano: 5.1 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (31)

Ratings and reviews for Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
enjoy italy
las vegas NV
Jun 23, 2010

Great place hard to find

This was a very nice motel, difficult to find, everything in Venice is difficult to locate, The morning staff was very unfriendly almost to the point of being rude, but the gentlemen on the evening shift were more than helpful and really did make up for the others. The airlines lost our baggage for our entire stay there and the gentlemen on the evening shift went out of there way to help us get them before we left for Cinqua Terra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a good, and I do mean a good map of the streets, otherwise you will spend most of your time lost. Venice is such a great place to get lost in when you want to be lost, otherwise it can be frustrating because every alley is a street and a good map will help.

Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HungryinVenice
New York, NY
May 24, 2010

Great location

I thought the hotel was lovely despite the lack of an elevator. My only issue is that one night we asked the front desk to assist us in finding the restaurant where we had made a reservation. Instead of indicating that they didn't know where the restaurant was located, they sent us on a scavenger hunt to the other side of Venice - a 45 minute walk into a completely residential neighborhood. Needless to say, we lost our reservation and by the time we walked back towards the more populated area of Venice, all the restaurants were closed. When we confronted the front desk clerk with his mistake he seemed aghast at the prospect that he had sent us to the wrong location - a neighborhood without ANY restaurants. He should have just said, "I DON'T KNOW" it would have saved us from sore feet, empty bellies and a sour memory of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Il Ridotto - best meal in Venice. They love the art of food!

Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HungryinVenice
New York, NY
May 24, 2010

Great location

I thought the hotel was lovely despite the lack of an elevator. My only issue is that one night we asked the front desk to assist us in finding the restaurant where we had made a reservation. Instead of indicating that they didn't know where the restaurant was located, they sent us on a scavenger hunt to the other side of Venice - a 45 minute walk into a completely residential neighborhood. Needless to say, we lost our reservation and by the time we walked back towards the more populated area of Venice, all the restaurants were closed. When we confronted the front desk clerk with his mistake he seemed aghast at the prospect that he had sent us to the wrong location - a neighborhood without ANY restaurants. He should have just said, "I DON'T KNOW" it would have saved us from sore feet, empty bellies and a sour memory of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Il Ridotto - best meal in Venice. They love the art of food!

Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
cleveland ohio
May 12, 2010

Not the hotel expected

For the price I expected more. The room was a shoe box and the canal view was a small window next to anoisy bridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Small shops and restaurants everywhere.

Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
cleveland ohio
May 12, 2010

Not the hotel expected

For the price I expected more. The room was a shoe box and the canal view was a small window next to anoisy bridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Small shops and restaurants everywhere.

Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Apr 22, 2010

Very nice Hotel

I enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Apr 22, 2010

Very nice Hotel

I enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Songhawke
Las Vegas, NV
Oct 29, 2009

A Perfect Hotel in a Perfect Location

Seeing Venice was a 35-year dream for me, and I was able to celebrate my 60th birthday there. I investigated the hotel on-line before choosing it, and found it well-represented when I got there. I wanted somewhere that would give me a real Venetian experience in a location convenient to two major locaations: San Marco Plaza and the Rialto Bridge. Again, I got exactly what I wanted. I took a few organized tours and spent the rest of the time exploring on my own. There were a few sights I just HAD to see: San Marco Plaza and all the wonders there, the Rialto Bridge, Ca D'Oro, La Fenice...etc.! I also ate a lot - and Venice is very vegetarian-friendly - but lost five pounds in three days due to all the walking. It's a safe city, so I started my day out at about 6AM and didn't get back to the hotel until nearly 9PM, exhausted but fulfilled. Just shy of four days was nowhere near enough (recovering from surgery earlier this year had used up most of my vacation time), but I know how to fly over the Pond now and am already planning my next Venice trip. My main disappointment was that La Fenice was closed for a special event the day I went to see it, and that was the only time I had for it. Next time!!! Be warned that Venice can be a physically hard city; you will need to take breaks! There are stairs everywhere, including on all the bridges. My hotel had stairs as well, but that seems to be a standard, and it didn't faze me. I've never been to Europe before, so I can't compare it to "similar" trips. However, I came home absolutely elated by the experience, and with a camera stuffed with 509 photos to go through and share.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take advantage of the passes one can get on-line. It was very handy to be able to just jump on the ferry from the airport to the city without having to take the time to buy one. Same goes for the in-city boats, the public bathrooms, the museums, etc.

Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Songhawke
Las Vegas, NV
Oct 29, 2009

A Perfect Hotel in a Perfect Location

Seeing Venice was a 35-year dream for me, and I was able to celebrate my 60th birthday there. I investigated the hotel on-line before choosing it, and found it well-represented when I got there. I wanted somewhere that would give me a real Venetian experience in a location convenient to two major locaations: San Marco Plaza and the Rialto Bridge. Again, I got exactly what I wanted. I took a few organized tours and spent the rest of the time exploring on my own. There were a few sights I just HAD to see: San Marco Plaza and all the wonders there, the Rialto Bridge, Ca D'Oro, La Fenice...etc.! I also ate a lot - and Venice is very vegetarian-friendly - but lost five pounds in three days due to all the walking. It's a safe city, so I started my day out at about 6AM and didn't get back to the hotel until nearly 9PM, exhausted but fulfilled. Just shy of four days was nowhere near enough (recovering from surgery earlier this year had used up most of my vacation time), but I know how to fly over the Pond now and am already planning my next Venice trip. My main disappointment was that La Fenice was closed for a special event the day I went to see it, and that was the only time I had for it. Next time!!! Be warned that Venice can be a physically hard city; you will need to take breaks! There are stairs everywhere, including on all the bridges. My hotel had stairs as well, but that seems to be a standard, and it didn't faze me. I've never been to Europe before, so I can't compare it to "similar" trips. However, I came home absolutely elated by the experience, and with a camera stuffed with 509 photos to go through and share.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take advantage of the passes one can get on-line. It was very handy to be able to just jump on the ferry from the airport to the city without having to take the time to buy one. Same goes for the in-city boats, the public bathrooms, the museums, etc.

Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GT Prof
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 29, 2009

A pleasant hotel

The hotel is conveniently located, once you have gotten lost a couple of times, but that is just part of the charm of Venice. I was on the top floor and did not really pay attention to the comment that there are no elevators. so that means you might be climbing several flights of stairs, so pack lightly. The staff was not so much unfriendly as *indifferent* and certainly did not go out of their way to be helpful or to make suggestions. But it was very affordable for Venice, clean, and had free WiFi, very nice. I had one of the best meals of my life in the the attached restaurant. I would consider staying again, but it would not be automatic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top