$174 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Antica Locanda Al Gambero

3 stars
View map of Calle dei Fabbri 4687, Venice, 30124

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
20 reviews
Short 2 day visit after hiking in Alps

Venice is very confusing because of the canals and narrow walkways which are oriented in all... See full review

  • Susan L.
  • Apr 6, 2015
Great hotel with good breakfast

Hotel has good service and breakfast. The location is also a good point because in the center of... See full review

  • Gerardo Garza
  • Nov 22, 2014
The Hotel Locanda al Gambero welcomes guests with the cordial and typically Venetian atmosphere created by professional and courteous staff, and together with well-lit and spacious rooms, hotel offer their guests the best hotel stay available in Venice. The reception desk is open 24 hours a day, available to provide you with all the information you need to explore the city. In the lobby, guests can pick up fliers and brochures about shows and events in Venice, and make reservations for tours and guided excursions. All spaces in the hotel are immaculately kept, and hotel offer the best services available among the 3 star hotels of Venice. Guests of the hotel Antica Locanda al Gambero can take advantage of the internet corner (free internet access),sitting room and Television for those moments of relaxation and socializing, and the lovely breakfast room, with its classic lead glass windows. The continental buffet, with its pastries and salads, includes Venetian sweets and traditional Italian coffee drinks (espresso, cappuccino, etc.) served at your table. Amenities providing by the hotel are lobby, non-smoking rooms, reception, room service, safe deposit box and tour desk.

A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Antica Locanda Al Gambero also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Antica Locanda Al Gambero Rooms

Single Room
Room with one single bed includes air conditioning, cable / satellite TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service and telephone.
Double Room
Room with one double bed and two single beds includes air conditioning, cable / satellite TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service and telephone.
Triple Room
Room with one double and one single bed includes air conditioning, cable / satellite TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service and telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • San Zulian: 0.1 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.1 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.1 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.2 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.2 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.2 mi
  • San Moise: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.2 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.2 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.2 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.1 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.1 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.1 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.2 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.2 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.2 mi
  • San Moise: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.2 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.2 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.2 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.3 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.3 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.4 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.4 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.5 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.5 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.5 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 0.6 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 0.6 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.7 mi
  • Arsenale: 0.8 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.8 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.8 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1.1 mi
  • Burano: 5.1 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
brittanylovestotravel
Winter Park, FL, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Amazing stay, Amazing location

Had the most incredible experience in Venice and staying at this hotel just made it even better. Friendly and helpful English speaking staff, high speed internet in the room, and fantastic location. Would stay here again no question. When faced with the decision of where to stay in Venice- this is the place to be!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mamo pizzeria. Absolutely delicious! Best pizza I had in Italy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Susan L.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Short 2 day visit after hiking in Alps

Venice is very confusing because of the canals and narrow walkways which are oriented in all different directions. I got lost and very frustrated trying to find hotel but once I arrived, it turned out to be a good location to see pretty much the whole city. As in many European cities, there were no elevators so it was up and down 3 flights every time I came or went. No problem for me but could be tough on older people. Room was lovely with glass chandelier and window looking down on canal. Breakfast was great-hot and cold choices, interesting conversations in multiple languages. Personable and very helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gerardo Garza
Business
Wuxi, China
Nov 22, 2014

Great hotel with good breakfast

Hotel has good service and breakfast. The location is also a good point because in the center of Venice. The only difficulty is to find the hotel because is not a easy advertising to indicate the location. But in general for single traveler is one of the best options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PhDeviate
Business
MA
Aug 25, 2012

I would recommend!

We enjoyed our stay. The room is small, but comfortable, and nowhere near as small as other places I've stayed! The Venitian decor is mostly trite, but the wallpaper matches that in the Pallazzo de Doge just about perfectly. Breakfast was adequate, the coffee first rate. The location can't be beat. And do eat at the restaurant downstairs--their period 14-16 century food is amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dexterpup
Business
ft. lauderdale
Jul 2, 2012

vacation

very clean! good location, but little small room. The staff is helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
brittanylovestotravel
Business
Winter Park, FL, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Amazing stay, Amazing location

Had the most incredible experience in Venice and staying at this hotel just made it even better. Friendly and helpful English speaking staff, high speed internet in the room, and fantastic location. Would stay here again no question. When faced with the decision of where to stay in Venice- this is the place to be!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mamo pizzeria. Absolutely delicious! Best pizza I had in Italy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Georgia, USA
Aug 8, 2011

Fantastic location!

This was our first trip to Italy. My sister, daughter and I stayed in a room together on the top floor. It was a little difficult to handle the luggage up three flights of stairs but we managed. We had 3 twin beds. We could look out our window straight down into one of the numerous canals. We watched the tourists in the gondolas. We could see a cute little rooftop garden. The breakfasts were wonderful! It was a very short walk to St. Mark's Square. We had a wonderful time and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mendon, VT
Oct 25, 2010

Great location.

Location was great as it was 5-10 minutes to the Rialto Bridge or San Marcos square. 5 minutes to the water taxi. Included nightly shows as Gondoliers passed below our window view of a canal. Singing and laughter was great. Would recommend to others. Only downside, was it could get noisy at night with the windows open, but well worth the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joshster
Business
modesto, ca
Jul 6, 2010

great time in venice

great!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
enjoy italy
Business
las vegas NV
Jun 23, 2010

Great place hard to find

This was a very nice motel, difficult to find, everything in Venice is difficult to locate, The morning staff was very unfriendly almost to the point of being rude, but the gentlemen on the evening shift were more than helpful and really did make up for the others. The airlines lost our baggage for our entire stay there and the gentlemen on the evening shift went out of there way to help us get them before we left for Cinqua Terra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a good, and I do mean a good map of the streets, otherwise you will spend most of your time lost. Venice is such a great place to get lost in when you want to be lost, otherwise it can be frustrating because every alley is a street and a good map will help.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Antica Locanda Al Gambero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HungryinVenice
Business
New York, NY
May 24, 2010

Great location

I thought the hotel was lovely despite the lack of an elevator. My only issue is that one night we asked the front desk to assist us in finding the restaurant where we had made a reservation. Instead of indicating that they didn't know where the restaurant was located, they sent us on a scavenger hunt to the other side of Venice - a 45 minute walk into a completely residential neighborhood. Needless to say, we lost our reservation and by the time we walked back towards the more populated area of Venice, all the restaurants were closed. When we confronted the front desk clerk with his mistake he seemed aghast at the prospect that he had sent us to the wrong location - a neighborhood without ANY restaurants. He should have just said, "I DON'T KNOW" it would have saved us from sore feet, empty bellies and a sour memory of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Il Ridotto - best meal in Venice. They love the art of food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top