Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice ★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$244
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 29, 2016 Check-out: Mar 1, 2016
2.9 /5
Overall score
69%
Would recommend
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Room types

Show Prices Classic Room Room Only
  • Size: 182 sqft
  • Occupancy: 3

Overview

Serenading gondoliers regularly float by the Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice, an affordable hotel in a 17th century building in the historic heart of Venice, along the beautiful Rio San Marin canal. Centrally located, the hotel is convenient to the transportation hubs of the Venice Santa Lucia railway station and the Piazzale Roma. It is a short walk from the Scalzi Bridge and within walking distance of St. Mark's Square, the Rialto Bridge and many other popular Venice attractions. An on-site restaurant and lounge keep guests satisfied.

Location

The Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice is located along the beautiful Rio San Marin canal in the northwest of Venice's historical center, near the Scalzi Bridge and the transportation hubs of the Venice Santa Lucia railway station and Piazzale Roma. The hotel is south of the Jewish Ghetto, and northwest of the Fenice Theater and St. Mark's Square.

Rooms

Classical refinement meets affordable and modern comfort in the 30 rooms of the Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice. Some rooms overlook the Rio San Marin canal, and rooms with balconies also are available. All rooms are air conditioned and equipped with satellite/cable TV, and a safe. Small pets are welcome, and ground floor rooms and other accommodations are available for guests with disabilities.

Property features

Guests start each morning with the Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice's breakfast buffet in the hotel's dining room. After a day of sightseeing, guests relax in the hotel's lounge. Fax and photocopying services are available. Internet access in the hall area is on offer at an added fee.

Highlights

  • On-site restaurant and lounge
  • Convenient to transportation hubs
  • Near the Scalzi Bridge and within walking distance of St. Mark's Square and popular Venice attractions

Nearby attractions

  • Scalzi Bridge (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Rialto Bridge (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • St. Mark's Square (1 mi/1.7 km)

Transportation

  • Marco Polo Airport (9.7 mi/15.6 km)
  • Ferrovia vaporetto (waterbus) docks (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Venice Santa Lucia railway station (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Piazzale Roma (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

 

Policies

A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Dining

Breakfast
A buffet breakfast is served in the breakfast room each morning between 7.30 a.m. and 10 a.m.

Recommendations for you

Guest score 3.6 / 5
$50
Guest score 3.4 / 5
$40
Guest score 4.1 / 5
$58
Guest score 3.8 / 5
$70
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$79
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$87

Amenities

Featured

  • High-speed internet

Internet

  • High-speed internet

Reviews

2.9 /5 Overall score

69% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 2.5/5
  • Cleanliness: 3.2/5
  • Hotel staff: 3.7/5
  • Comfort: 2.7/5
  • Location: 3.9/5
  • Value: 3/5

Great location for walking Venice

Would recommend Wed, Sep 30, 2015
We enjoyed the hotel-llocation was great, so close to train station.

| ALTOONA Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

An OK hotel

Would recommend Wed, Aug 19, 2015
The staff was helpful, but the hotel needs a brush up on its amedities. A/C didn't work (it was so hot in Venice). Lamp did not work in room. Computers in the lobby didn't work. The bed was very hard and all the furniture was very old.

| N/A Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

a wonderful weekend

Would recommend Tue, Jul 28, 2015
A very nice little hotel near the heart of Venice. Clean and tidy with friendly staff and very well situated. Good value for money.

| N/A Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Excellent Venetian Holliday

Would recommend Tue, Jul 28, 2015
The Albergo Basilia is in absolutely perfect location on a canal, yet close to the train station. This is not always an issue, but in the heat of the summer it is great. The staff friendly and helpful and the hotel a good blend of convince and old world charm.

| N/A Couples

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 1 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Not Fancy but totally worth the price

Would recommend Thu, Feb 12, 2015
I booked this hotel because of the location and the price. I arrived in Venice late so I knew that all I needed was a bed and a shower. It was a quite large room with a huge bed plus lots of extra space (of which I needed none.) It was clean and in a great central location close to the train station. It was certainly not the ritz, but who cares? The shower worked, the bed was comfortable, they offered free breakfast in the morning, and the front desk staff was very nice. I would maybe stay here again if I was only in town for a night and needed a place to crash.

| N/A Friends

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Venice in September

Would recommend Tue, Sep 23, 2014
This hotel was located on a small canal close to the Grand Canal. Our windows open up to the canal and the veiw was amazing! Clean room and nice breakfast. Also, located close to a bakery and great pizza place. I would definitly recommend it.

Dining

Good pizza restuarant walking distance from the room. Reasonable cost and free WiFi

| Altadena, CA Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Worst hotel on trip!

Would not recommend Mon, Jul 21, 2014
After shlepping suitcases from the train station to the hotel we then had to walk up a flight and a half to our room since there is no elevator. Once we got into the room we encountered another 12 steps up to the room. No wifi and our wakeup call never came.

| S. Louis, Mo. Family

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 1 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Great Staff and Location

Would recommend Sun, Jul 29, 2012
Loved it here, great location close to canal, I would definitely recommend staying here, close to everything you need, rooms clean and air con too yay, staff brilliant and breakfast enough to start the day Loved it all x

Money saver

Local Italian Kebab and greats staff

| Gloucester Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Do not stay here!

Would not recommend Tue, May 8, 2012
I know hotels in Venice are expensive, but do not stay at this one. In particular, do not book a double room in their 'Annex' and expect a double bed. What you will get is two single beds in a skinny little room with broken furniture and only one working power point. The shared bathroom has a broken shower head, the walls are so thin that you'll be woken up every time the person next door walks, closes the wardrobe or door and while children's school groups are fine, they're not so great when you're trying to sleep and 20 of them are shouting and running about on your floor. What we hoped would be a romantic weekend, was extremely disappointing although did improve once we decided to cut our losses, loose the money we'd paid and leave after one night to stay at another (much much nicer) hotel all together. I just wish I had taken these other bad reviews into consideration when I first booked.

| London, UK Couples

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 1 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Great Find

Would recommend Sat, Sep 17, 2011
Perfect hotel would stay there again. Staff was great especially Gianni. Breakfast was delicious and included in the price.

| Chicago, IL, USA Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Top hotels

Nearby points of interest

Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari 0.2 mi
Basilica dei Frari 0.2 mi
Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco 0.2 mi
Madonna dell'Orto 0.2 mi
Santa Lucia Station 0.2 mi
Ca'Pesaro 0.3 mi
Murano Glass Museum 0.3 mi
Palazzo Grassi 0.4 mi
Ghetto 0.4 mi
Chiesa di Santo Stefano 0.5 mi
Rialto Food Market 0.5 mi
Rialto Bridge 0.5 mi
Art Gallery Bugno 0.5 mi
Gallerie dell'Accademia 0.5 mi
La Fenice Theatre 0.6 mi
Port of Venice 0.6 mi
Peggy Guggenheim Collection 0.7 mi
San Moise 0.7 mi
Guggenheim Museum 0.7 mi
San Zulian 0.7 mi
Clocktower in Piazza San Marco 0.7 mi
Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute 0.7 mi
St Marks Square 0.7 mi
Museo Correr 0.7 mi
Biennale Gardens 0.7 mi
Campanile di San Marco 0.7 mi
Basilica di San Marco 0.8 mi
Colleoni Monument 0.8 mi
National Library of St Mark's 0.8 mi
Archeological museum 0.8 mi
Palazzo Ducale 0.8 mi
Bridge of Sighs 0.9 mi
San Francesco della Vigna 1.1 mi
San Giorgio Maggiore 1.2 mi
Arsenale 1.4 mi
San Pietro di Castello 1.7 mi
Burano 5.4 mi
Lace Museum 5.5 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

$244
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 29, 2016 Check-out: Mar 1, 2016