$165 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 18, 2014 Check-out: May 19, 2014

Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

3 stars
S. Croce-Rio Marin, 817, Venice, 30135
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
38 reviews
Weekend getaway

My stay was really pleasant. The hotel was conveniently located, close to major city attractions. See full review

  • Weekend tourist2013
  • Oct 29, 2013
Would stay here again

After reading some very bad reviews about this hotel,our holiday was almost spoiled before we had... See full review

  • Dalgarno
  • Jun 2, 2013
Get serenaded by gondoliers at affordable Venice hotel near attractions
Serenading gondoliers regularly float by the Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice, an affordable hotel in a 17th century building in the historic heart of Venice, along the beautiful Rio San Marin canal. Centrally located, the hotel is convenient to the transportation hubs of the Venice Santa Lucia railway station and the Piazzale Roma. It is a short walk from the Scalzi Bridge and within walking distance of St. Mark's Square, the Rialto Bridge and many other popular Venice attractions. An on-site restaurant and lounge keep guests satisfied.
Highlights
  • On-site restaurant and lounge
  • Rooms with Internet access
  • Convenient to transportation hubs
  • Near the Scalzi Bridge and within walking distance of St. Mark's Square and popular Venice attractions
Location
The Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice is located along the beautiful Rio San Marin canal in the northwest of Venice's historical center, near the Scalzi Bridge and the transportation hubs of the Venice Santa Lucia railway station and Piazzale Roma. The hotel is south of the Jewish Ghetto, and northwest of the Fenice Theater and St. Mark's Square.
Rooms
Classical refinement meets affordable and modern comfort in the 30 rooms of the Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice. Some rooms overlook the Rio San Marin canal, and rooms with balconies also are available. All rooms are air conditioned and equipped with satellite/cable TV, Internet access and a safe. Small pets are welcome, and ground floor rooms and other accommodations are available for guests with disabilities.
Features
Guests start each morning with the Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice's breakfast buffet in the hotel's dining room. After a day of sightseeing, guests relax in the hotel's lounge. Internet access, fax and photocopying services are available.
Transportation
  • Marco Polo Airport (9.7 mi/15.6 km)
  • Ferrovia vaporetto (waterbus) docks (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Venice Santa Lucia railway station (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Piazzale Roma (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

 

Attractions
  • Scalzi Bridge (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Rialto Bridge (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • St. Mark's Square (1 mi/1.7 km)
Policies and fees

A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice Rooms

Standard Single Room
The property offers 38 comfortable guestrooms and family suites for up to five persons, each featuring private bathroom with hairdryer.
Double Standard Room
The property offers 38 comfortable guestrooms each featuring private bathroom with hairdryer. Just few are located on the Annex building with basic services and shared bathroom and are listed at a cheaper rate.
Economy 2-Star - Annex with Shared Bathroom
These rooms are very cheap and offer a basic accommodation with shared bathroom

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
Internet
High-speed internet

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

45.4392 12.3255
Area served
Venice, Italy
Nearby airports
Venice Marco Polo - 10 km

Nearby points of interest

  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.2 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.2 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.2 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.3 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.4 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.4 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.5 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.5 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.5 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.5 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.2 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.2 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.2 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.3 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.4 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.4 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.5 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.5 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.5 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.5 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.6 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.7 mi
  • San Moise: 0.7 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.7 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.7 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.7 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.7 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.7 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.8 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.8 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.8 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.8 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.9 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 1.1 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 1.2 mi
  • Arsenale: 1.4 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1.7 mi
  • Burano: 5.4 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.5 mi

Dining

Breakfast
A buffet breakfast is served in the breakfast room each morning between 7.30 a.m. and 10 a.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (38)

Ratings and reviews for Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Overall score

2.8 / 5
29 out of 38
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.2

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
Weekend tourist2013
Moscow, Russia
Oct 29, 2013

Weekend getaway

My stay was really pleasant. The hotel was conveniently located, close to major city attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
Mr Diego
London
Sep 18, 2013

DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL ..... IS A WATES OF MONEY AND SERVICE IS VERY BUT VERY BAD.......

Where to star ... we arrive at the hotel at 11am and we have to wait for three hours for the check in the staff were very rude and not helpful they charge the city tax, and from all the hotel in Italy i been it was the only one that never give and official receipt so I'm sure is not going to the tax office, the WI FI wasn't working and when it star working they charge you €5 for 60 min considering the horrible hotel this is and the price as we pay €130 they shouldn't charge for the internet also be aware the breakfast as pastries and bread is coming from a box that im very sure is from what they left from and other restaurant at night as it was very old, the guy that serve the breakfast was taking in with is hand dirty and putting it in a plate, i have a coffee shop i can warranty the breakfast was not fresh my wife did not have it as she is pregnant. I HAVE ALSO PICTURES OF THE CONDITION OF THE ROOM. DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL.... SAFE YOU MONEY just to mention the hotel leave a group of 20 american people on the street for 2 hours because they did not want to get a credit card payment

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
Billv
Manassas, va
Aug 4, 2013

Sm 2star no ac

Nice small 2 star hotel. Rooms clean, but tiny, 2 beds wardrobe & suitcase rack. Common shared bath room. No ac lots of bug bites. Breakfast was pastries yogurt coffee

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
Cbaddi
Edison, NJ
Jun 27, 2013

Downtown Hotel in Venice.

Check in was OK. The room was not provided with even a fan. It was very humid and hot outside. The staff were good and let us keep our luggage in the lobby even after our check out. We were told not to open the windows during our stay probably because of mosquitos and you can imagine the heat inside the room. There were only shared bathrooms which was a big minus and you cannot even upgrade to one with a full private bathroom inside your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
Dalgarno
London
Jun 2, 2013

Would stay here again

After reading some very bad reviews about this hotel,our holiday was almost spoiled before we had even left. We set off for Venice expecing the worst(offensive staff,mouldy beds,bed bugs,dirty communal showers,etc). We were very surprised to see that on our arrival things were not bad at all. Was this the wrong hotel? We had booked a room for 5 nights in the annex. The room was perfect..we even had an ensuite which wasn't expected. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was very tasty. Cakes,croissants,cereals,hams,cheese and all the bread you can eat. This hotels is good value for money and we would gladly stay again..although we would not book through e bookers as they,on the otherhand,are extremely unhelpful and useless. So much so I feel I should make a complaint,but know it would fall on deaf ears. Maybe they would even hang up on me like they did before..Poor show.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
disappointedtraveler2
washington, dc
Oct 8, 2012

4 star price, 2 star quality

I booked this hotel but was put in the annex across the alley. the room was right by the stairs and it seemed this annex was an apartment or hostel to a large group of college kids. the walls were paper thin, the toilet barely flushed and was running, the air conditioning did not work and the room was very rundown. the door to the annex was left open all night and there was no attendant, anyone could have gotten in. the staff was unfriendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
Europtrip2012
Thousand Oaks, CA
Aug 1, 2012

Eurotrip2012

Room was great, ideal location. On checkout day, we had to leave very early (6am), but they allowed us to have our breakfast, which was really nice of them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
Robin and cassie
Gloucester
Jul 29, 2012

Great Staff and Location

Loved it here, great location close to canal, I would definitely recommend staying here, close to everything you need, rooms clean and air con too yay, staff brilliant and breakfast enough to start the day Loved it all x

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Local Italian Kebab and greats staff

Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
Normally content travelle
London, UK
May 8, 2012

Do not stay here!

I know hotels in Venice are expensive, but do not stay at this one. In particular, do not book a double room in their 'Annex' and expect a double bed. What you will get is two single beds in a skinny little room with broken furniture and only one working power point. The shared bathroom has a broken shower head, the walls are so thin that you'll be woken up every time the person next door walks, closes the wardrobe or door and while children's school groups are fine, they're not so great when you're trying to sleep and 20 of them are shouting and running about on your floor. What we hoped would be a romantic weekend, was extremely disappointing although did improve once we decided to cut our losses, loose the money we'd paid and leave after one night to stay at another (much much nicer) hotel all together. I just wish I had taken these other bad reviews into consideration when I first booked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
Howardm151
Mid Atlantic
Apr 19, 2012

Great location and staff

This is an average hotel with few amenities.. However, it's relatively comfortable, very good location, very friendly staff, and best of all, a great price; five minute walk to Ferrovia water bus stop and train station, 15 minute walk to Piazza de Roma (bus station). Several laptops with internet connection... No English TV stations, no CNN or BBC. Average breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining is expensive in Venice... most restaurants advertising a daily menu deal are a ripoff.... portions are small and beer and wine are usually ridiculously high. Pizzeria near Ferrovia water bus stop, on Lista di Spagna called Ae Oche is a great place.. Very good pizza, pasta, and salads at great prices... Good prices on beer and carafes of house wine as well

Back to menu Return to top