$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

3 stars
S. Croce-Rio Marin, 817, Venice, 30135
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
48 reviews
Great Find

Perfect hotel would stay there again. Staff was great especially Gianni. Breakfast was delicious... See full review

  • Maro
  • Sep 17, 2011
Great location. Exceptionally

Great location. Exceptionally attentive staff - especially Marco the evening manager! I would go... See full review

  • Theresa
  • Jul 16, 2011
Get serenaded by gondoliers at affordable Venice hotel near attractions
Serenading gondoliers regularly float by the Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice, an affordable hotel in a 17th century building in the historic heart of Venice, along the beautiful Rio San Marin canal. Centrally located, the hotel is convenient to the transportation hubs of the Venice Santa Lucia railway station and the Piazzale Roma. It is a short walk from the Scalzi Bridge and within walking distance of St. Mark's Square, the Rialto Bridge and many other popular Venice attractions. An on-site restaurant and lounge keep guests satisfied.
Highlights
  • On-site restaurant and lounge
  • Convenient to transportation hubs
  • Near the Scalzi Bridge and within walking distance of St. Mark's Square and popular Venice attractions
Location
The Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice is located along the beautiful Rio San Marin canal in the northwest of Venice's historical center, near the Scalzi Bridge and the transportation hubs of the Venice Santa Lucia railway station and Piazzale Roma. The hotel is south of the Jewish Ghetto, and northwest of the Fenice Theater and St. Mark's Square.
Rooms
Classical refinement meets affordable and modern comfort in the 30 rooms of the Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice. Some rooms overlook the Rio San Marin canal, and rooms with balconies also are available. All rooms are air conditioned and equipped with satellite/cable TV, and a safe. Small pets are welcome, and ground floor rooms and other accommodations are available for guests with disabilities.
Features
Guests start each morning with the Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice's breakfast buffet in the hotel's dining room. After a day of sightseeing, guests relax in the hotel's lounge. Fax and photocopying services are available. Internet access in the hall area is on offer at an added fee.
Transportation
  • Marco Polo Airport (9.7 mi/15.6 km)
  • Ferrovia vaporetto (waterbus) docks (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Venice Santa Lucia railway station (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Piazzale Roma (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

 

Attractions
  • Scalzi Bridge (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Rialto Bridge (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • St. Mark's Square (1 mi/1.7 km)
Policies and fees

A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

45.4392 12.3255
Area served
Venice, Italy
Nearby airports
Venice Marco Polo - 10 km

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice Rooms

Standard Single Room
The property offers 38 comfortable guestrooms and family suites for up to five persons, each featuring private bathroom with hairdryer.
Double Standard Room
The property offers 38 comfortable guestrooms each featuring private bathroom with hairdryer. Just few are located on the Annex building with basic services and shared bathroom and are listed at a cheaper rate.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
Internet
High-speed internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.2 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.2 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.2 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.3 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.4 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.4 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.5 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.5 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.5 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.5 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.2 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.2 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.2 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.3 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.4 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.4 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.5 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.5 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.5 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.5 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.6 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.7 mi
  • San Moise: 0.7 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.7 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.7 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.7 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.7 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.7 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.8 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.8 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.8 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.8 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.9 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 1.1 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 1.2 mi
  • Arsenale: 1.4 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1.7 mi
  • Burano: 5.4 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.5 mi

Dining

Breakfast
A buffet breakfast is served in the breakfast room each morning between 7.30 a.m. and 10 a.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.2

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shekhar
Not Provided
Oct 1, 2010

Very friendly and informative

Very friendly and informative staff..Good location near train station (10 min walk with bags)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anthony
Not Provided
Oct 10, 2010

Location was great (on the island

Location was great (on the island and close enough to bus and train stations). Helpful directional signs indicating hotel location. Newly refurbished bathroom very clean. Very small rooms but this is apparently standard for accommodation in Venice. Also like most other hotels-no elevator-so pack lightly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maro
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 17, 2011

Great Find

Perfect hotel would stay there again. Staff was great especially Gianni. Breakfast was delicious and included in the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
May 13, 2011

Albergo Basilea Hotel is a great

Albergo Basilea Hotel is a great place to stay in Venice.Staff is very helpful and location of the hotel is excellent.In comparison with other area hotel i think is the best choice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Theresa
Not Provided
Jul 16, 2011

Great location. Exceptionally

Great location. Exceptionally attentive staff - especially Marco the evening manager! I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the babusos in Europe
CA
Aug 2, 2010

Great location, great staff!

Very nice! the staff although not super friendly they where very helpful and they keep your bags after check out so that you don't have to carry them in town before your flight, also the location was great! in a quiet place really near great restaurants with cheap gourmet local food and near shops and artesanal places, lots to see around to, beautiful channel right outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

all the good food is near and very cheap. also super near to the boat station.

Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christine
Not Provided
Jun 13, 2011

We got a room in the annex where

We got a room in the annex where the stairs were slightly broken and the room had "facilities" but very run down. The bathroom had a very strong bleach smell as well. For us, it was a room and somewhere to sleep on a busy night in Venice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robin and cassie
Gloucester
Jul 29, 2012

Great Staff and Location

Loved it here, great location close to canal, I would definitely recommend staying here, close to everything you need, rooms clean and air con too yay, staff brilliant and breakfast enough to start the day Loved it all x

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Local Italian Kebab and greats staff

Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Cruz, CA
Jun 6, 2010

Hotel Basilea - April 2010

Quaint hotel with friendly staff and nice rooms in a very convenient location. Close to the Piazalle Roma for ground transportation, the train station, and the vaporetto (water bus) stop. Breakfast was not that great except for the coffee and criossants, but it was included and the breakfast room was very nice. The yellow sign outside the hotel made it very easy to find the hotel, which is a big plus in Venice. Definitely a great deal for Venice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Fun wine bar just around the corner on Rio San Martin.

Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jun 9, 2010

Worth the price

Old building (well.. it's Venice!) but in decent condition and it has air conditioner which is a nice surprise. Good location--quiet neighborhood, yet still close to train station (about 5 minutes walk) and easy to find. You don't want to get lost trying to find the hotel while still carrying your luggage (you will have plenty of opportunities to get lost.. believe me!). You can even walk to St Mark square (about 30 minutes walk) or take waterbus in front of train station through Grand Canal which is pretty convenient. Our rate didn't include breakfast so we can't comment on it. There are a number of restaurants and cafe around so not having breakfast included is no big deal. Overall, it's a nice stay in Venice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling on Grad School Budget
New Brunswick, NJ
Mar 22, 2010

More than adequate housing in Venice

The location was great for a trip to Venice: close enough to the train station for an easy walk with luggage, but far enough from the main tourist areas that it was nice and quiet. The hotel was affordable, gave adequate housing, had nice staff. I'd say that this is the perfect no-frills value place to stay in Venice - Spend your money on food, wine, and transportation instead of opulent housing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ft lauderdale, fl
Jun 22, 2010

Hotel

Great location and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston Tx
Jun 2, 2010

Good deal

If you do the Rome, Florence, Venice vacation, by the time you get to Venice, you are tired of being surrounded by tourists. This hotel is on a quiet street away from the main tourist spots. It was easy to find and close to the train station and bus terminal. Not fancy, but clean and the staff was friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
México, D. F.
May 15, 2010

Niced and friendy hotel

I traveled (as tourists) with my sister and we enjoyed very much our visit to Venice, including your hotel. We liked a lot the breakfast and the service. The hotel has a wonderful location and is very easy going to many nice places. I have just one sugestion: give to your gests help with the baggage when they enter or leave the hotel beside because there is a lot of stairs, and we got very, very tired (two ladies). Congratulations! We enjoyed a lot our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Near the hotel, in a short walking, you can find all kind of souvenirs and many restaurants for any budget, the hotel is one of the most good location We ever stay.

Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
carlos the traveling Dad
San Juan, Pueto Rico
Jun 29, 2010

quaint venice visit

We stayed at the Basilea for a couple of days prior to a cruise. The hotel is close to a quiet canal a short 3 block walking distance from the grand canal. It is an old palazzo converted to hotel. The staff is friendly and has good advice. Breakfast is warm and plentiful. There is no lift (elevator) if you get an upper floor. The room was comfortable to rest in. The bathroom required some repair in tiles and bathtub. The room included a small 13 inch TV. Just across the hotel's canal is a small but delicious place with locally made pizza and gelato. It is about 20 minutes walk to Piazzale Roma (where buses and taxis arrive) and 15 min to the train station (Venice Santa Lucia ferrovia) carrying regular rolling luggage (faster with carry ons). If you arrive from Marco Polo Airport the Alilaguna water bus orange line can leave you at Guglie station and it takes about 15 min to walk to the hotel. Just ask directions to cross the Gli Scalzi bridge. There is Internet access at the lobby at reasonable prices (about 4.5 euro for 30 minutes). The hotel doesn't offer lunch or dining service but there is plenty to choose from nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Jul 26, 2010

Basilea-Venice

The hotel had a great location in relation to the train station. As a matter of fact, when you are leaving the train station and heading towards the bridge, if you look down, you will see on the floor, a tiled sign with the hotel's name and an arrow directing you to turn towards the bridge. We wanted a hotel close to the train station so we didnt have to lug our luggage all over. The front office person was very nice and offered us a city map without us having to ask for one. He also offered us a discounted taxi ride to one of the Murano glass factories for 5 euros each and coffee and tea (since we didn't have time to wait for the full breakfast). The only complaint that I have is that the towels were not that white and my towel on the first day was almost torn in half.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the train station and the main station for the water buses.

Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ItalyLovers
Virginia
Jul 29, 2010

Great Deal

This hotel room was very large. The air conditioning was good and the staff was very friendly and helpful. It was a great room for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
traveler on teacher's budget
harrisonburg, va
Sep 23, 2010

Nice Enough

Our stay was short, the location was pretty great. There were no amenities, but overall our stay was good-- we were more concerned about the city than our hotel, and we were more than satisfied with our hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wenatchee, Washington
Oct 7, 2010

Right on a canal

Friendly staff. They put us in a top floor room with a very steep set of stairs but it was quiet. No bell hop to carry bags. Gelato right across the small canal and restaurant nearby. Very Venice. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

We were going on a cruise ship so we packed a bag of items we would not need in Venice and left it at the Bagaglia Deposito next to the People Mover at Piazzalia Roma. We then walked with our small bags to the hotel. You are going to do a lot of walking in Venice so the half mile to the hotel is no big deal provided you don't have too much baggage.

Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 21, 2011

Great location in center of Venice...

Staff very friendly, breakfast was included and was adequate, however good value for cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Plenty of historical sites in either walking distance or by boat convenient distance away.

Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ray Cocoa
San Francisco, CA
Jul 2, 2010

Great Space and Location but Dumpy

Very convenient to the train station. Quiet and spacious. The bed was comfortable. Served our purposes. Half the lightbulbs were burned out in the room. The tile floor was not swept and was gritty. The entry carpets are filthy, stained and more fitting of a tenement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Oct 7, 2009

Dreadful, this hotel is very

Dreadful, this hotel is very very overpriced and when we complained the receptionist said not all rooms were like the website! Our ground floor room had cracked plaster, dirty scuffed walls, broken loo seat, a side window that let in very little day light, broken TV button, broken remote, stained lampshade and on the wall an old torn headboard and no bed. There was no iron we could use any where in the hotel so could not wear a lot of our clothes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Aug 1, 2010

High expectations, bad experiences.

We had two bad experiences. We were in Venice for a day, for my cousin wedding and the room should be ready by 2 PM at check in, when we arrived at 2:20 it wasn't ready, the front desk was aware that we need the room right away. The air conditioner broke down that night and the only think that the staff could find was a crocked fan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Venice train station and the Ferrovia Vaportetto station.

Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
colorado
Oct 4, 2010

The good and the bad

We were horrified when we arrived, the room was extremely small and not very clean. The shower looked like it had been around since the hotel was built. I wore two pairs of socks to take a shower. The bed was like sleeping on a board and was way too short for my husband. I felt like I had just checked in to the "bates" motel. We were supposed to stay for three nights and ended up checking out after the first night. There wasn't even an outlet we could use to charge things. One good thing, it is easy to find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Fairbanks Lola
Fairbanks, AK
Oct 15, 2010

Skip this one

Took us a long time to find this hotel. We stopped and asked 3 vendors on the street if they knew this hotel was located and only the latter knew. No elevators to the rooms and we had a very heavy suit case. The room was dismal at best. There were better hotels located closer to the train station. We woke up the first morning covered in little red bumps that itched. We didn't let the hotel stop our fun in Venice though. We had amazing dinners and lunches. We even took a gondola ride. Venice was simply amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Marciana's is a short walk towards the Grand Canal. It has amazing food!

Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TAD
London
Sep 28, 2010

AWFUL

Do not be fooled by the hotel website photos. These are of the rooms when the hotel was new, The state of the rooms and hotel were awful and disgusting. The hotel is of a condition 100 years on, mouldy toilet curtains, walls, damp stained lamp shades and damp smell in the rooms. The walls in the corridor and rooms, had wet marks and the paper was peeling off. The hotel had not seen a lick of paint in a long time.I have many pictures of the place to back up my review. I paid over £100 for one night, which did not include any breakfast.When I complained to reception of the state of the rooms, they agreed that it needed redecorating and complete refurbishment.WILL NOT STAY HERE AGAIN as we have stayed in Venice before. Long walk from P. Roma with heavy cases.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

This was classed as a 3 star.It should have been one star or a hostel.

Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ateneo
Princeton, NJ
Aug 9, 2011

no internet access in the rooms!!!

In one word, horrible.The details of the hotel say it clearly: "Rooms with Internet access", but there is no such thing.What can you do? Once you get there you're stuck. You have paid in advance to [...]not to the hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Normally content travelle
London, UK
May 8, 2012

Do not stay here!

I know hotels in Venice are expensive, but do not stay at this one. In particular, do not book a double room in their 'Annex' and expect a double bed. What you will get is two single beds in a skinny little room with broken furniture and only one working power point. The shared bathroom has a broken shower head, the walls are so thin that you'll be woken up every time the person next door walks, closes the wardrobe or door and while children's school groups are fine, they're not so great when you're trying to sleep and 20 of them are shouting and running about on your floor. What we hoped would be a romantic weekend, was extremely disappointing although did improve once we decided to cut our losses, loose the money we'd paid and leave after one night to stay at another (much much nicer) hotel all together. I just wish I had taken these other bad reviews into consideration when I first booked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DebbyFrom Mo.
S. Louis, Mo.
Jul 21, 2014

Worst hotel on trip!

After shlepping suitcases from the train station to the hotel we then had to walk up a flight and a half to our room since there is no elevator. Once we got into the room we encountered another 12 steps up to the room. No wifi and our wakeup call never came.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
danielrugeles
bogota, colombia
Aug 14, 2014

my trip

it was no good for me, the wi fi its no for free, and when they sold my minutes of wifi, in the room its not posible to conect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Jun 14, 2009

Perfecto !! On est vraiment content

Perfecto !! On est vraiment content d'avoir choisi cet hotel. L'hotel est tres central, le service etait impeccable, tres bon qualité/prix. It was a great hotel with its very central location, room, service and quality/price. Staff was very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nicola
Not Provided
Jun 14, 2010

allora, il prezzo non è regalato,

allora, il prezzo non è regalato, ma la posizione dell'hotel, che è di alto livello (non conosco la depandance), lo rende assolutamente strategico per girare venezia, perchè sei vicino alla stazione, ma già abbastanza dentro per raggiungere facilmente a piedi rialto, insomma sei al centro di venezia. la camera era bella con buon bagno. ottimo l'aria condizionata. difetto: ci vorrebbe il frigo bar in camera e una televisione più grande, ovvero quei confort basilari di cui chi viaggia non può fare a meno.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Oct 5, 2010

Nous connaissons cet hôtel depuis

Nous connaissons cet hôtel depuis plusieurs années et apprécions sa situation. Malheureusement, cette fois-ci nous l'avons trouvé assez négligé pour un 3 étoiles : plus de tablette en verre sur le lavabo et lumièree cassée à la salle de bain, interrupteur de la lampe au-dessus du lit défectueux (donc pas possible d'allumer la lampe). Sinon lit confortable et entretien très propre. La troisième étoile est un peu trop généreuse et le prix exagéré.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yun
Not Provided
Apr 22, 2011

挺不错的旅店,不过有哥们要定的话最好还是带卫生间的,具体消息可以加我qq咨询

挺不错的旅店,不过有哥们要定的话最好还是带卫生间的,具体消息可以加我qq咨询 645271

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bakou85
Rennes, France
Mar 21, 2012

Très bien

Le personnel est très accueillant. La chambre est propre, confort : rien de trop mais suffisant pour le prix, on ne passe pas son temps dans la chambre d'hôtel quand on est à venise. Le petit dej est très moyen par contre. C'est très bien situé, au calme, à la fois proche de la piazzale roma (par où on arrive) et du ponte rialto.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vm-nito
region parisienne
Jun 30, 2012

simpas

séjour simpas. un personnel adorable. Quand a l'équipement de la chambre première nuits difficile nous n'avions pas la telecommande de la clim et vue la chaleur. la téle me marchais pas mais pour nous n'en voulions pas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

pencer a demander pour les désert car on ne vous la donne pas systématiquement.

Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lemeridional
lille
Jun 10, 2012

hotel

petit hotel tres bien situé a 5 mn de la gare a pied notre chambre etait assez grande avec un lit tres comfortable au 1etage avec vue sur une grande cour tres calme petit dejeuner correct manquait un peut de charcuterie et de fromage mais il faut pas trop etre exigeant lorsque on a un hotel comme celui ci a 170 euros pour deux nuits en plein venise .. je le recommande vivement . et nous sommes sur venise environ tous les deux mois dans des hotels differents...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
May 5, 2010

地圖上看似在花園裡,其實不是;我們訂了3間雙房,給1間朝河邊

地圖上看似在花園裡,其實不是;我們訂了3間雙房,給1間朝河邊,較大但塞了1大床2小床,另2間很擠。房子和設備比較舊,從火車站要拎包翻橋,不過服務比較熱情。

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HH1887
HH
Jul 28, 2012

Zum Schlafen ok

Die Sauberkeit ist so, dass man es gut aushalten kann. Im Zimmer wohnen möchte man nicht.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ano anonym
stockholm
Apr 3, 2014

anonym

Mycket lyhört............. Bra frukost.............

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Juju33
Bordeaux
Jun 14, 2011

Des étoiles volées...

L'hôtel est très bien situé mais le rapport qualité/prix n'est pas bon! Seuls avantages, l'accueil et un personnel courtois, sinon la chambre n'était pas à la hauteur: esthétique négligé (1 étoile en france maxi), la SdB pas très pratique et vieillissante (la robinetterie a été réparée le 2ème jour suite à notre demande). La propreté était correcte. Le petit déjeuner également. La déception repose sur le prix/qualité, 275€ la nuit(annexe 2 étoiles et non pas 3!), on pourrait s'attendre à bien mieux, c'est peu être le prix à payer pour rester à Venise et ne pas perdre de temps dans les transports...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

500m gare/vaporetto

Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Störtebecker
Rheinland
May 27, 2012

Eine Nacht geht

Als Übergang zur gebuchten Kreuzfahrt ok, aber sehr dürftig in Ausstattung und Komfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fenja003
Bremen, Deutschland
May 30, 2012

Anders gebucht, als gedacht.

Das Hotel zu finden war eigentlich kein Problem, da die Lage des Hotels nicht weit vom Busbahnhof entfernt war und daher gut erreichbar. Als wir jedoch das Zimmer gesehen haben, waren wir gelinde gesagt enttäuscht, denn wir dachten ein drei Sterne Zimmer gebucht zu haben, haben jedoch ein zwei Sterne Zimmer bekommen, was auf der englischen Internetseite stand, aber nicht auf der Deutschen. Was auch nicht dabei stand, war die gemeinsame Nutzung eines Badezimmers mit dem Nebenzimmer. Das Zimmer selbst war klein und in einem Nebengebäude untergebracht und hatte neben nur einer Beleuchtung auch nur geringe Möglichkeiten seine Sachen unterzubringen. Man lebte quasi aus dem Koffer. Allerdings muss man auch erwähnen, dass die Zimmer jeden Tag sauber gemacht wurden und auch die Handtücher gewechselt wurden. Das Essen und das Personal im Hotel waren dafür sehr gut. Immer freundlich und es gab eine gute Auswahl an Gebäck und Trinken beim Frühstück. Wenn man also dort buchen sollte, sollte man darauf achten auch wirklich drei Sterne zu buchen und im Haupthaus ein Zimmer zu nehmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Den Markusplatz bei Nacht zu sehen war mit das Beste an Venedig. Die Musik, die live von kleinen Orchestern gespielt wurde und die Beleuchtung des Platzes, sowie des Dogenpalastes waren sehenswert. Auch die ganze Atmosphäre auf dem Platz war sehr schön gewesen. Am besten man benutz die dortigen Wasserbusse, die sogenannten Vaporettos.

Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
calou91
paris
Jul 2, 2012

hotel

Hotel tres moyen du a sa vetustee heureusement le personnel est tres sympathique. EQuipement de la chambre tres mal entretenu (cabine de douche cassee, papier peint qui se decolle....)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ludo31
Toulouse
Aug 13, 2012

hotel 1 étoile en France

Bonjour, L'hôtel annonce un complément pour le petit déjeuner continental. Il ne faut pas le prendre car tout le monde est logé à la même enseigne. L'hôtel annonce un complément pour la vue sur la ville et le rio. Vous obtenez une cour. L'hôtel annonce 3 étoiles. Vous avez sur la porte de la chambre 2 étoiles. L'hôtel annonce un complément pour une salle de bain de 12 m². Vous obtenez un couloir de 6 m². Attention, il ne faut pas prendre les suppléments. Bon séjour à tous dans la ville de Venise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
yoyo1313
marseille
Jul 19, 2011

réclamation

Bonjour, Par votre site, nous avons réservé le 5 juin 2011 à 20h33 ( réservation : PBEBFR5875784454 ) une chambre au Basilia Hotel à Venise du jeudi 14 juillet au dimanche 17 juillet 2011. Les photos présentées sur internet ne correspondent absolument pas à ce que nous avons eu. Notre chambre, la 156, se trouvait face à l'hotel principal : façade décrépie, barreaux aux fenêtres. Cela ressemblait à une ancienne prison et la chambre, à une ancienne cellule. La chambre était minuscule et étroite; les deux lits simples ,face à face, ne pouvaient être rapprochés. La climatisation n'a fonctionné qu'une nuit sur trois. Il n'y avait qu'une salle de bain avec wc, dans le couloir por toutes les chambres de l'étage... Le couloir sentait le renfermé, la poussière; la moquette au sol était déchiquetée. Il faut savoir que pour ces conditions d'hébergement, nous avons payé 62,50 euros pour la nuit du jeudi, nous avons payé 101,14 euros pour la nuit du vendredi et 112,50 euros pour la nuit du samedi. Ajoutez à cela 27,61 euros de taxe et de frais et 22 euros d'assurance annulation soit 325,75 euros !!! pour très mal dormir. L'hotel étant paraît-il complet, nous n'avons pu changer de chambre et la réservation étant non remboursable, nous n'avions pas les moyens de changer d'hotel. En conclusion, ayant été victimes d'une escroquerie, nous témoignons pour prévenir autrui de ne pas aller dans cet hotel et nous envisageons d'écrire à une association de consommateurs. En attente d'une réponse de votre part, recevez nos sincères salutations. Mr et Mme Duc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
poussin43
st didier en velay, france
Aug 17, 2012

hotel nul

l hotel est bien situé, le gerant ne nous a pas donne la chambre qu on aurait du avoir. le petit dejeuner est pas trop mal par contre le pain, les pains chocolat et les croissants sont frais que le jour ou ils vont les chercher sinon ils les laissent donc au 3eme jour ils etaient durs. la salle de bain est salle, moisissure sur le rideau de douche et le carrelage, les draps ne sont pas changes et cela est pour toutes les chambres nous en avons discute avec d autres personnes de l hotle

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
hasecäsar
Deutschland
Aug 1, 2014

Nie mehr!

Absolutes runter gekommenes Haus, nicht zu empfehlen, Frühstück grottenschlecht, Sauberkeit 0 Punkte und Service ließ ganz schrecklich zu wünschen übrig.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search