$121 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2015 Check-out: Sep 30, 2015

Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

3 stars
View map of S. Croce-Rio Marin, 817, Venice, 30135

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.3

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Melody H.
Couples
N/A
Aug 19, 2015

An OK hotel

The staff was helpful, but the hotel needs a brush up on its amedities. A/C didn't work (it was so hot in Venice). Lamp did not work in room. Computers in the lobby didn't work. The bed was very hard and all the furniture was very old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
carlos the traveling Dad
Family
San Juan, Pueto Rico
Jun 29, 2010

quaint venice visit

We stayed at the Basilea for a couple of days prior to a cruise. The hotel is close to a quiet canal a short 3 block walking distance from the grand canal. It is an old palazzo converted to hotel. The staff is friendly and has good advice. Breakfast is warm and plentiful. There is no lift (elevator) if you get an upper floor. The room was comfortable to rest in. The bathroom required some repair in tiles and bathtub. The room included a small 13 inch TV. Just across the hotel's canal is a small but delicious place with locally made pizza and gelato. It is about 20 minutes walk to Piazzale Roma (where buses and taxis arrive) and 15 min to the train station (Venice Santa Lucia ferrovia) carrying regular rolling luggage (faster with carry ons). If you arrive from Marco Polo Airport the Alilaguna water bus orange line can leave you at Guglie station and it takes about 15 min to walk to the hotel. Just ask directions to cross the Gli Scalzi bridge. There is Internet access at the lobby at reasonable prices (about 4.5 euro for 30 minutes). The hotel doesn't offer lunch or dining service but there is plenty to choose from nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Houston, TX
Jul 26, 2010

Basilea-Venice

The hotel had a great location in relation to the train station. As a matter of fact, when you are leaving the train station and heading towards the bridge, if you look down, you will see on the floor, a tiled sign with the hotel's name and an arrow directing you to turn towards the bridge. We wanted a hotel close to the train station so we didnt have to lug our luggage all over. The front office person was very nice and offered us a city map without us having to ask for one. He also offered us a discounted taxi ride to one of the Murano glass factories for 5 euros each and coffee and tea (since we didn't have time to wait for the full breakfast). The only complaint that I have is that the towels were not that white and my towel on the first day was almost torn in half.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the train station and the main station for the water buses.

Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ItalyLovers
Couples
Virginia
Jul 29, 2010

Great Deal

This hotel room was very large. The air conditioning was good and the staff was very friendly and helpful. It was a great room for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
traveler on teacher's budget
Couples
harrisonburg, va
Sep 23, 2010

Nice Enough

Our stay was short, the location was pretty great. There were no amenities, but overall our stay was good-- we were more concerned about the city than our hotel, and we were more than satisfied with our hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Wenatchee, Washington
Oct 7, 2010

Right on a canal

Friendly staff. They put us in a top floor room with a very steep set of stairs but it was quiet. No bell hop to carry bags. Gelato right across the small canal and restaurant nearby. Very Venice. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

We were going on a cruise ship so we packed a bag of items we would not need in Venice and left it at the Bagaglia Deposito next to the People Mover at Piazzalia Roma. We then walked with our small bags to the hotel. You are going to do a lot of walking in Venice so the half mile to the hotel is no big deal provided you don't have too much baggage.

Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 21, 2011

Great location in center of Venice...

Staff very friendly, breakfast was included and was adequate, however good value for cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Plenty of historical sites in either walking distance or by boat convenient distance away.

Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ray Cocoa
Couples
San Francisco, CA
Jul 2, 2010

Great Space and Location but Dumpy

Very convenient to the train station. Quiet and spacious. The bed was comfortable. Served our purposes. Half the lightbulbs were burned out in the room. The tile floor was not swept and was gritty. The entry carpets are filthy, stained and more fitting of a tenement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New York
Aug 1, 2010

High expectations, bad experiences.

We had two bad experiences. We were in Venice for a day, for my cousin wedding and the room should be ready by 2 PM at check in, when we arrived at 2:20 it wasn't ready, the front desk was aware that we need the room right away. The air conditioner broke down that night and the only think that the staff could find was a crocked fan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Venice train station and the Ferrovia Vaportetto station.

Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Fairbanks Lola
Couples
Fairbanks, AK
Oct 15, 2010

Skip this one

Took us a long time to find this hotel. We stopped and asked 3 vendors on the street if they knew this hotel was located and only the latter knew. No elevators to the rooms and we had a very heavy suit case. The room was dismal at best. There were better hotels located closer to the train station. We woke up the first morning covered in little red bumps that itched. We didn't let the hotel stop our fun in Venice though. We had amazing dinners and lunches. We even took a gondola ride. Venice was simply amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Marciana's is a short walk towards the Grand Canal. It has amazing food!

Back to menu Return to top