$110 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2014 Check-out: Aug 14, 2014

Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

3 stars
S. Croce-Rio Marin, 817, Venice, 30135
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
27 reviews
Great Find

Perfect hotel would stay there again. Staff was great especially Gianni. Breakfast was delicious... See full review

  • Maro
  • Sep 17, 2011
Great Staff and Location

Loved it here, great location close to canal, I would definitely recommend staying here, close to... See full review

  • Robin and cassie
  • Jul 29, 2012
Get serenaded by gondoliers at affordable Venice hotel near attractions
Serenading gondoliers regularly float by the Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice, an affordable hotel in a 17th century building in the historic heart of Venice, along the beautiful Rio San Marin canal. Centrally located, the hotel is convenient to the transportation hubs of the Venice Santa Lucia railway station and the Piazzale Roma. It is a short walk from the Scalzi Bridge and within walking distance of St. Mark's Square, the Rialto Bridge and many other popular Venice attractions. An on-site restaurant and lounge keep guests satisfied.
Highlights
  • On-site restaurant and lounge
  • Rooms with Internet access
  • Convenient to transportation hubs
  • Near the Scalzi Bridge and within walking distance of St. Mark's Square and popular Venice attractions
Location
The Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice is located along the beautiful Rio San Marin canal in the northwest of Venice's historical center, near the Scalzi Bridge and the transportation hubs of the Venice Santa Lucia railway station and Piazzale Roma. The hotel is south of the Jewish Ghetto, and northwest of the Fenice Theater and St. Mark's Square.
Rooms
Classical refinement meets affordable and modern comfort in the 30 rooms of the Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice. Some rooms overlook the Rio San Marin canal, and rooms with balconies also are available. All rooms are air conditioned and equipped with satellite/cable TV, Internet access and a safe. Small pets are welcome, and ground floor rooms and other accommodations are available for guests with disabilities.
Features
Guests start each morning with the Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice's breakfast buffet in the hotel's dining room. After a day of sightseeing, guests relax in the hotel's lounge. Internet access, fax and photocopying services are available.
Transportation
  • Marco Polo Airport (9.7 mi/15.6 km)
  • Ferrovia vaporetto (waterbus) docks (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Venice Santa Lucia railway station (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Piazzale Roma (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

 

Attractions
  • Scalzi Bridge (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Rialto Bridge (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • St. Mark's Square (1 mi/1.7 km)
Policies and fees

A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice Rooms

Standard Single Room
The property offers 38 comfortable guestrooms and family suites for up to five persons, each featuring private bathroom with hairdryer.
Double Standard Room
The property offers 38 comfortable guestrooms each featuring private bathroom with hairdryer. Just few are located on the Annex building with basic services and shared bathroom and are listed at a cheaper rate.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
Internet
High-speed internet

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

45.4392 12.3255
Area served
Venice, Italy
Nearby airports
Venice Marco Polo - 10 km

Nearby points of interest

  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.2 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.2 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.2 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.3 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.4 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.4 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.5 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.5 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.5 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.5 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.2 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.2 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.2 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.3 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.4 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.4 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.5 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.5 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.5 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.5 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.6 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.7 mi
  • San Moise: 0.7 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.7 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.7 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.7 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.7 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.7 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.8 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.8 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.8 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.8 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.9 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 1.1 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 1.2 mi
  • Arsenale: 1.4 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1.7 mi
  • Burano: 5.4 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.5 mi

Dining

Breakfast
A buffet breakfast is served in the breakfast room each morning between 7.30 a.m. and 10 a.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
colorado
Oct 4, 2010

The good and the bad

We were horrified when we arrived, the room was extremely small and not very clean. The shower looked like it had been around since the hotel was built. I wore two pairs of socks to take a shower. The bed was like sleeping on a board and was way too short for my husband. I felt like I had just checked in to the "bates" motel. We were supposed to stay for three nights and ended up checking out after the first night. There wasn't even an outlet we could use to charge things. One good thing, it is easy to find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Aug 1, 2010

High expectations, bad experiences.

We had two bad experiences. We were in Venice for a day, for my cousin wedding and the room should be ready by 2 PM at check in, when we arrived at 2:20 it wasn't ready, the front desk was aware that we need the room right away. The air conditioner broke down that night and the only think that the staff could find was a crocked fan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Venice train station and the Ferrovia Vaportetto station.

Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ateneo
Princeton, NJ
Aug 9, 2011

no internet access in the rooms!!!

In one word, horrible.The details of the hotel say it clearly: "Rooms with Internet access", but there is no such thing.What can you do? Once you get there you're stuck. You have paid in advance to [...]not to the hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TAD
London
Sep 28, 2010

AWFUL

Do not be fooled by the hotel website photos. These are of the rooms when the hotel was new, The state of the rooms and hotel were awful and disgusting. The hotel is of a condition 100 years on, mouldy toilet curtains, walls, damp stained lamp shades and damp smell in the rooms. The walls in the corridor and rooms, had wet marks and the paper was peeling off. The hotel had not seen a lick of paint in a long time.I have many pictures of the place to back up my review. I paid over £100 for one night, which did not include any breakfast.When I complained to reception of the state of the rooms, they agreed that it needed redecorating and complete refurbishment.WILL NOT STAY HERE AGAIN as we have stayed in Venice before. Long walk from P. Roma with heavy cases.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

This was classed as a 3 star.It should have been one star or a hostel.

Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Normally content travelle
London, UK
May 8, 2012

Do not stay here!

I know hotels in Venice are expensive, but do not stay at this one. In particular, do not book a double room in their 'Annex' and expect a double bed. What you will get is two single beds in a skinny little room with broken furniture and only one working power point. The shared bathroom has a broken shower head, the walls are so thin that you'll be woken up every time the person next door walks, closes the wardrobe or door and while children's school groups are fine, they're not so great when you're trying to sleep and 20 of them are shouting and running about on your floor. What we hoped would be a romantic weekend, was extremely disappointing although did improve once we decided to cut our losses, loose the money we'd paid and leave after one night to stay at another (much much nicer) hotel all together. I just wish I had taken these other bad reviews into consideration when I first booked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Fairbanks Lola
Fairbanks, AK
Oct 15, 2010

Skip this one

Took us a long time to find this hotel. We stopped and asked 3 vendors on the street if they knew this hotel was located and only the latter knew. No elevators to the rooms and we had a very heavy suit case. The room was dismal at best. There were better hotels located closer to the train station. We woke up the first morning covered in little red bumps that itched. We didn't let the hotel stop our fun in Venice though. We had amazing dinners and lunches. We even took a gondola ride. Venice was simply amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Marciana's is a short walk towards the Grand Canal. It has amazing food!

Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ray Cocoa
San Francisco, CA
Jul 2, 2010

Great Space and Location but Dumpy

Very convenient to the train station. Quiet and spacious. The bed was comfortable. Served our purposes. Half the lightbulbs were burned out in the room. The tile floor was not swept and was gritty. The entry carpets are filthy, stained and more fitting of a tenement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ItalyLovers
Virginia
Jul 29, 2010

Great Deal

This hotel room was very large. The air conditioning was good and the staff was very friendly and helpful. It was a great room for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
traveler on teacher's budget
harrisonburg, va
Sep 23, 2010

Nice Enough

Our stay was short, the location was pretty great. There were no amenities, but overall our stay was good-- we were more concerned about the city than our hotel, and we were more than satisfied with our hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wenatchee, Washington
Oct 7, 2010

Right on a canal

Friendly staff. They put us in a top floor room with a very steep set of stairs but it was quiet. No bell hop to carry bags. Gelato right across the small canal and restaurant nearby. Very Venice. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

We were going on a cruise ship so we packed a bag of items we would not need in Venice and left it at the Bagaglia Deposito next to the People Mover at Piazzalia Roma. We then walked with our small bags to the hotel. You are going to do a lot of walking in Venice so the half mile to the hotel is no big deal provided you don't have too much baggage.

Back to menu Return to top