$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 27, 2014 Check-out: Oct 30, 2014

Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

3 stars
S. Croce-Rio Marin, 817, Venice, 30135
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
25 reviews
Venice in September

This hotel was located on a small canal close to the Grand Canal. Our windows open up to the canal... See full review

  • One Sweet Sue
  • Sep 23, 2014
Great Find

Perfect hotel would stay there again. Staff was great especially Gianni. Breakfast was delicious... See full review

  • Maro
  • Sep 17, 2011
Get serenaded by gondoliers at affordable Venice hotel near attractions
Serenading gondoliers regularly float by the Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice, an affordable hotel in a 17th century building in the historic heart of Venice, along the beautiful Rio San Marin canal. Centrally located, the hotel is convenient to the transportation hubs of the Venice Santa Lucia railway station and the Piazzale Roma. It is a short walk from the Scalzi Bridge and within walking distance of St. Mark's Square, the Rialto Bridge and many other popular Venice attractions. An on-site restaurant and lounge keep guests satisfied.
Highlights
  • On-site restaurant and lounge
  • Convenient to transportation hubs
  • Near the Scalzi Bridge and within walking distance of St. Mark's Square and popular Venice attractions
Location
The Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice is located along the beautiful Rio San Marin canal in the northwest of Venice's historical center, near the Scalzi Bridge and the transportation hubs of the Venice Santa Lucia railway station and Piazzale Roma. The hotel is south of the Jewish Ghetto, and northwest of the Fenice Theater and St. Mark's Square.
Rooms
Classical refinement meets affordable and modern comfort in the 30 rooms of the Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice. Some rooms overlook the Rio San Marin canal, and rooms with balconies also are available. All rooms are air conditioned and equipped with satellite/cable TV, and a safe. Small pets are welcome, and ground floor rooms and other accommodations are available for guests with disabilities.
Features
Guests start each morning with the Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice's breakfast buffet in the hotel's dining room. After a day of sightseeing, guests relax in the hotel's lounge. Fax and photocopying services are available. Internet access in the hall area is on offer at an added fee.
Transportation
  • Marco Polo Airport (9.7 mi/15.6 km)
  • Ferrovia vaporetto (waterbus) docks (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Venice Santa Lucia railway station (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Piazzale Roma (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

 

Attractions
  • Scalzi Bridge (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Rialto Bridge (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • St. Mark's Square (1 mi/1.7 km)
Policies and fees

A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

45.4392 12.3255
Area served
Venice, Italy
Nearby airports
Venice Marco Polo - 10 km

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice Rooms

Standard Single Room
The property offers 38 comfortable guestrooms and family suites for up to five persons, each featuring private bathroom with hairdryer.
Double Standard Room
The property offers 38 comfortable guestrooms each featuring private bathroom with hairdryer. Just few are located on the Annex building with basic services and shared bathroom and are listed at a cheaper rate.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
Internet
High-speed internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.2 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.2 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.2 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.3 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.4 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.4 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.5 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.5 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.5 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.5 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.2 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.2 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.2 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.3 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.4 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.4 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.5 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.5 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.5 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.5 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.6 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.7 mi
  • San Moise: 0.7 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.7 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.7 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.7 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.7 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.7 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.8 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.8 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.8 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.8 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.9 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 1.1 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 1.2 mi
  • Arsenale: 1.4 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1.7 mi
  • Burano: 5.4 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.5 mi

Dining

Breakfast
A buffet breakfast is served in the breakfast room each morning between 7.30 a.m. and 10 a.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (25)

Ratings and reviews for Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 25
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
colorado
Oct 4, 2010

The good and the bad

We were horrified when we arrived, the room was extremely small and not very clean. The shower looked like it had been around since the hotel was built. I wore two pairs of socks to take a shower. The bed was like sleeping on a board and was way too short for my husband. I felt like I had just checked in to the "bates" motel. We were supposed to stay for three nights and ended up checking out after the first night. There wasn't even an outlet we could use to charge things. One good thing, it is easy to find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TAD
Business
London
Sep 28, 2010

AWFUL

Do not be fooled by the hotel website photos. These are of the rooms when the hotel was new, The state of the rooms and hotel were awful and disgusting. The hotel is of a condition 100 years on, mouldy toilet curtains, walls, damp stained lamp shades and damp smell in the rooms. The walls in the corridor and rooms, had wet marks and the paper was peeling off. The hotel had not seen a lick of paint in a long time.I have many pictures of the place to back up my review. I paid over £100 for one night, which did not include any breakfast.When I complained to reception of the state of the rooms, they agreed that it needed redecorating and complete refurbishment.WILL NOT STAY HERE AGAIN as we have stayed in Venice before. Long walk from P. Roma with heavy cases.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

This was classed as a 3 star.It should have been one star or a hostel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
traveler on teacher's budget
Business
harrisonburg, va
Sep 23, 2010

Nice Enough

Our stay was short, the location was pretty great. There were no amenities, but overall our stay was good-- we were more concerned about the city than our hotel, and we were more than satisfied with our hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the babusos in Europe
Business
CA
Aug 2, 2010

Great location, great staff!

Very nice! the staff although not super friendly they where very helpful and they keep your bags after check out so that you don't have to carry them in town before your flight, also the location was great! in a quiet place really near great restaurants with cheap gourmet local food and near shops and artesanal places, lots to see around to, beautiful channel right outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

all the good food is near and very cheap. also super near to the boat station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Aug 1, 2010

High expectations, bad experiences.

We had two bad experiences. We were in Venice for a day, for my cousin wedding and the room should be ready by 2 PM at check in, when we arrived at 2:20 it wasn't ready, the front desk was aware that we need the room right away. The air conditioner broke down that night and the only think that the staff could find was a crocked fan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Venice train station and the Ferrovia Vaportetto station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ItalyLovers
Business
Virginia
Jul 29, 2010

Great Deal

This hotel room was very large. The air conditioning was good and the staff was very friendly and helpful. It was a great room for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 26, 2010

Basilea-Venice

The hotel had a great location in relation to the train station. As a matter of fact, when you are leaving the train station and heading towards the bridge, if you look down, you will see on the floor, a tiled sign with the hotel's name and an arrow directing you to turn towards the bridge. We wanted a hotel close to the train station so we didnt have to lug our luggage all over. The front office person was very nice and offered us a city map without us having to ask for one. He also offered us a discounted taxi ride to one of the Murano glass factories for 5 euros each and coffee and tea (since we didn't have time to wait for the full breakfast). The only complaint that I have is that the towels were not that white and my towel on the first day was almost torn in half.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the train station and the main station for the water buses.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ray Cocoa
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jul 2, 2010

Great Space and Location but Dumpy

Very convenient to the train station. Quiet and spacious. The bed was comfortable. Served our purposes. Half the lightbulbs were burned out in the room. The tile floor was not swept and was gritty. The entry carpets are filthy, stained and more fitting of a tenement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
carlos the traveling Dad
Business
San Juan, Pueto Rico
Jun 29, 2010

quaint venice visit

We stayed at the Basilea for a couple of days prior to a cruise. The hotel is close to a quiet canal a short 3 block walking distance from the grand canal. It is an old palazzo converted to hotel. The staff is friendly and has good advice. Breakfast is warm and plentiful. There is no lift (elevator) if you get an upper floor. The room was comfortable to rest in. The bathroom required some repair in tiles and bathtub. The room included a small 13 inch TV. Just across the hotel's canal is a small but delicious place with locally made pizza and gelato. It is about 20 minutes walk to Piazzale Roma (where buses and taxis arrive) and 15 min to the train station (Venice Santa Lucia ferrovia) carrying regular rolling luggage (faster with carry ons). If you arrive from Marco Polo Airport the Alilaguna water bus orange line can leave you at Guglie station and it takes about 15 min to walk to the hotel. Just ask directions to cross the Gli Scalzi bridge. There is Internet access at the lobby at reasonable prices (about 4.5 euro for 30 minutes). The hotel doesn't offer lunch or dining service but there is plenty to choose from nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ft lauderdale, fl
Jun 22, 2010

Hotel

Great location and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top