$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 21, 2014 Check-out: Oct 24, 2014

Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

3 stars
S. Croce-Rio Marin, 817, Venice, 30135
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
25 reviews
Venice in September

This hotel was located on a small canal close to the Grand Canal. Our windows open up to the canal... See full review

  • One Sweet Sue
  • Sep 23, 2014
Great Find

Perfect hotel would stay there again. Staff was great especially Gianni. Breakfast was delicious... See full review

  • Maro
  • Sep 17, 2011
Get serenaded by gondoliers at affordable Venice hotel near attractions
Serenading gondoliers regularly float by the Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice, an affordable hotel in a 17th century building in the historic heart of Venice, along the beautiful Rio San Marin canal. Centrally located, the hotel is convenient to the transportation hubs of the Venice Santa Lucia railway station and the Piazzale Roma. It is a short walk from the Scalzi Bridge and within walking distance of St. Mark's Square, the Rialto Bridge and many other popular Venice attractions. An on-site restaurant and lounge keep guests satisfied.
Highlights
  • On-site restaurant and lounge
  • Convenient to transportation hubs
  • Near the Scalzi Bridge and within walking distance of St. Mark's Square and popular Venice attractions
Location
The Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice is located along the beautiful Rio San Marin canal in the northwest of Venice's historical center, near the Scalzi Bridge and the transportation hubs of the Venice Santa Lucia railway station and Piazzale Roma. The hotel is south of the Jewish Ghetto, and northwest of the Fenice Theater and St. Mark's Square.
Rooms
Classical refinement meets affordable and modern comfort in the 30 rooms of the Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice. Some rooms overlook the Rio San Marin canal, and rooms with balconies also are available. All rooms are air conditioned and equipped with satellite/cable TV, and a safe. Small pets are welcome, and ground floor rooms and other accommodations are available for guests with disabilities.
Features
Guests start each morning with the Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice's breakfast buffet in the hotel's dining room. After a day of sightseeing, guests relax in the hotel's lounge. Fax and photocopying services are available. Internet access in the hall area is on offer at an added fee.
Transportation
  • Marco Polo Airport (9.7 mi/15.6 km)
  • Ferrovia vaporetto (waterbus) docks (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Venice Santa Lucia railway station (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Piazzale Roma (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

 

Attractions
  • Scalzi Bridge (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Rialto Bridge (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • St. Mark's Square (1 mi/1.7 km)
Policies and fees

A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

45.4392 12.3255
Area served
Venice, Italy
Nearby airports
Venice Marco Polo - 10 km

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice Rooms

Standard Single Room
The property offers 38 comfortable guestrooms and family suites for up to five persons, each featuring private bathroom with hairdryer.
Double Standard Room
The property offers 38 comfortable guestrooms each featuring private bathroom with hairdryer. Just few are located on the Annex building with basic services and shared bathroom and are listed at a cheaper rate.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
Internet
High-speed internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.2 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.2 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.2 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.3 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.4 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.4 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.5 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.5 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.5 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.5 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.2 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.2 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.2 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.3 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.4 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.4 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.5 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.5 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.5 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.5 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.6 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.7 mi
  • San Moise: 0.7 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.7 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.7 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.7 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.7 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.7 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.8 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.8 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.8 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.8 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.9 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 1.1 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 1.2 mi
  • Arsenale: 1.4 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1.7 mi
  • Burano: 5.4 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.5 mi

Dining

Breakfast
A buffet breakfast is served in the breakfast room each morning between 7.30 a.m. and 10 a.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (25)

Ratings and reviews for Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 25
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
One Sweet Sue
Altadena, CA
Sep 23, 2014

Venice in September

This hotel was located on a small canal close to the Grand Canal. Our windows open up to the canal and the veiw was amazing! Clean room and nice breakfast. Also, located close to a bakery and great pizza place. I would definitly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good pizza restuarant walking distance from the room. Reasonable cost and free WiFi

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
danielrugeles
bogota, colombia
Aug 14, 2014

my trip

it was no good for me, the wi fi its no for free, and when they sold my minutes of wifi, in the room its not posible to conect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DebbyFrom Mo.
S. Louis, Mo.
Jul 21, 2014

Worst hotel on trip!

After shlepping suitcases from the train station to the hotel we then had to walk up a flight and a half to our room since there is no elevator. Once we got into the room we encountered another 12 steps up to the room. No wifi and our wakeup call never came.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robin and cassie
Gloucester
Jul 29, 2012

Great Staff and Location

Loved it here, great location close to canal, I would definitely recommend staying here, close to everything you need, rooms clean and air con too yay, staff brilliant and breakfast enough to start the day Loved it all x

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Local Italian Kebab and greats staff

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Normally content travelle
London, UK
May 8, 2012

Do not stay here!

I know hotels in Venice are expensive, but do not stay at this one. In particular, do not book a double room in their 'Annex' and expect a double bed. What you will get is two single beds in a skinny little room with broken furniture and only one working power point. The shared bathroom has a broken shower head, the walls are so thin that you'll be woken up every time the person next door walks, closes the wardrobe or door and while children's school groups are fine, they're not so great when you're trying to sleep and 20 of them are shouting and running about on your floor. What we hoped would be a romantic weekend, was extremely disappointing although did improve once we decided to cut our losses, loose the money we'd paid and leave after one night to stay at another (much much nicer) hotel all together. I just wish I had taken these other bad reviews into consideration when I first booked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maro
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 17, 2011

Great Find

Perfect hotel would stay there again. Staff was great especially Gianni. Breakfast was delicious and included in the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ateneo
Princeton, NJ
Aug 9, 2011

no internet access in the rooms!!!

In one word, horrible.The details of the hotel say it clearly: "Rooms with Internet access", but there is no such thing.What can you do? Once you get there you're stuck. You have paid in advance to [...]not to the hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 21, 2011

Great location in center of Venice...

Staff very friendly, breakfast was included and was adequate, however good value for cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Plenty of historical sites in either walking distance or by boat convenient distance away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Fairbanks Lola
Fairbanks, AK
Oct 15, 2010

Skip this one

Took us a long time to find this hotel. We stopped and asked 3 vendors on the street if they knew this hotel was located and only the latter knew. No elevators to the rooms and we had a very heavy suit case. The room was dismal at best. There were better hotels located closer to the train station. We woke up the first morning covered in little red bumps that itched. We didn't let the hotel stop our fun in Venice though. We had amazing dinners and lunches. We even took a gondola ride. Venice was simply amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Marciana's is a short walk towards the Grand Canal. It has amazing food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Albergo Basilea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wenatchee, Washington
Oct 7, 2010

Right on a canal

Friendly staff. They put us in a top floor room with a very steep set of stairs but it was quiet. No bell hop to carry bags. Gelato right across the small canal and restaurant nearby. Very Venice. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

We were going on a cruise ship so we packed a bag of items we would not need in Venice and left it at the Bagaglia Deposito next to the People Mover at Piazzalia Roma. We then walked with our small bags to the hotel. You are going to do a lot of walking in Venice so the half mile to the hotel is no big deal provided you don't have too much baggage.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top