Al Ponte dei Sospiri Hotel Venice ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$116
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 11, 2016 Check-out: Feb 12, 2016
4 /5
Overall score
82%
Would recommend
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Room types

Show Prices Junior Suite Water View
  • Size: 322 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Standard Junior Suite
  • Size: 322 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Junior Suite Triple
  • Occupancy: 3
Show Prices Deluxe Room
  • Size: 215 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2

Overview

The Al Ponte dei Sospiri Hotel may be close to the Bridge of Sighs, but guests will only ever sigh with delight during their stay in this charming and indulgent hotel. The junior suites are all wonderfully decorated with period antique furniture and decor. The Al Ponte dei Sospiri Hotel bathrooms are truly magnificent, with a choice of Turkish baths, bubbling Jacuzzis or hydro massage bathtubs that are perfect for relaxing in. The hotel is also perfectly located in the buzzing maze of streets and canals at the heart of Venice.

Rooms

All 12 rooms at the Al Ponte dei Sospiri Hotel are junior suites. Some have stunning canal views looking out over the Bridge of Sighs. The junior suites all feature beautiful luxurious bathrooms and individually designed furnishings, including fantastic examples of Venetian antique furniture and Murano glass chandeliers. Visitors choose from traditional Venetian decor or more modern designs. All rooms at the Al Ponte dei Sospiri Hotel include air conditioning, hair-dryers, satellite or cable television, minibars, telephones and room safes.

Highlights

  • Situated right beside the beautiful and haunting Bridge of Sighs, one of Venice's most popular tourist sights
  • The small number of rooms equates to a personal and friendly level of service
  • Junior suites tempt guests with beautiful furniture such as romantic four poster beds and silk and velvet furnishings

Nearby attractions

  • The Bridge of Sighs (adjacent)
  • Saint Mark's Basilica (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • San Michelle Island (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • The Murano Glass Museum on the island of Murano (1.8 mi/3 km)

Policies

A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Dining

Wine Bar Restaurant HK
A new cosy place with wide selection of high quality wines and food specialities.

Recommendations for you

Guest score 4.6 / 5
$75
Guest score 4.7 / 5
$75
Guest score 4.1 / 5
$76
Guest score 3.8 / 5
$46
Guest score 3.7 / 5
$114
Guest score 4.2 / 5
$76

Amenities

Featured

  • WiFi

General

  • Concierge
  • Elevators

Dining

  • Room service

Services

  • Laundry service

Internet

  • WiFi

Reviews

4 /5 Overall score

82% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 3.7/5
  • Cleanliness: 4.1/5
  • Hotel staff: 4.2/5
  • Comfort: 3.8/5
  • Location: 4.5/5
  • Value: 3.8/5

Great location and staff, breakfast needs improvement

Would recommend Sat, Sep 5, 2015
This hotel is in an excellent location. We stayed in two junior suite rooms that were roomy and we liked the fancy old Venetian decoration. Staff were helpful with questions and restaurant reservations. We found the breakfast to be of poor quality, meats and cheeses were not good, very weak fruit salad (not ripe, poor quality fruit, in a weird liquid). The only acceptable things to eat were yogurt, cereal, toast and croissants. Wifi was very reliable in one room, and almost never worked in the other room.

| N/A Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Terrible experience-rude staff/bed bug/noise

Would not recommend Wed, Jun 3, 2015
I experienced the worst hotel stay as far as remember. First, the staffs was rude and dishonest.They charge 80 euros per night additional for a child. The staff at the front, named Enrico, convinced us that we would have larger room with a roller bed. I checked several times that we would have a roller bed for my child. He said yes. In the room, we found an old and weak couch bed as an additional bed. When I protested, he said he might not understand the roller bed term. Dishonest. BTW, The room was small for 3 people as well as it was not clean, does not even worth 2 stars. Worse thing was we got multiple bed bug bites at that night. We requested the room change but he asked us to provide the proof of bed bugs, he actually wanted the bug itself as a proof. He himself did a very quick check and accused us lying to him. Yes, he explicitly said we were lying to him. After unhappy moments wasting valuable vacation time for arguing, he changed our room by swapping the room with other poor travelers' room checking in that night. No treatment or effort was made for taking care of bed bugs. The neighborhood is full of bars and restaurants so it was very noisy even in the midnight. The windows do not fit so all the street noise and smell come into the room. No dining room on site so we had walk to other hotel for breakfast every morning. Wifi is almost uselessly slow. I chose this hotel by the star rating and the location, but please do not be fooled by them. It is not true. Must avoid unless you want to ruin your stay like mine.

| N/A Family

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 1 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

NICE!!!!

Would recommend Tue, May 19, 2015
Quite a surprize. A lovely elegant boutique hotel in the middle of al the hustle and bustle. I loved my suite that looked over the canal and bridge of sighs. A great in room breakfast. An opulent room/suite. Friendly staff. Very helpful. And it all right behind San Marcos yet quiet.

| ATLANTA Singles

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Poor

Would not recommend Mon, Jan 26, 2015
Not good for the money at least 2stars,dirty room and walls ,but good bathroom and clean

| N/A Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 2 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Honeymoon Getaway

Would recommend Mon, Dec 29, 2014
The Ponte Dei Sospiri Hotel, was in a great location. There was tons of shopping, dining, and attractions within minutes. We stayed in the Junior Suite with a Canal View and views were great. The room was spacious with an amazing Murano Chandelier. Also, the staff was extremely helpful with excellent suggestions for things to do and see.

| N/A Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Awesome

Would recommend Mon, Dec 29, 2014
Their staff was very friendly. Decor was beautiful. I would stay there again if I go to Venice again.

| N/A Singles

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Perfect trip to Venice

Would recommend Sun, Aug 24, 2014
Can't say anything bad about this hotel, the most friendly staff, cleanest rooms, exceptional service and to top it all off, we received a day trip to a glass making factory on Murrano for free which we had planned on doing anyway! The wifi can come and go at times, but the staff at reception were always more than happy to reset it for us. We thought due to the location of the hotel and busy streets around it, the noise would be a problem at night, however, each night was as peaceful as the last. If I ever go back to Venice, I will be staying here and will be recommending it to my friends and family! Very central to everything with lots of choice for lunch and dinner to eat out

Dining

Ask for third level room as you may be entitled to a trip and also the noise level is minimum from the street

| Ireland Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Dirty and no water pressure in shower

Would not recommend Sat, May 4, 2013
The staff was nice enough but to be honest the room was dirty and the show had no water pressure at all. We also made the mistake of staying on the second floor which was not a good idea due to the amount of street noise. If you go here stay on the top floor.

| Bratislava, Slovakia Family

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

City Break

Would recommend Sun, Nov 11, 2012
This hotel is perfectly placed in the centre of whats going "on" in the city of Venice. You could not ask for a very reasonable priced hotel to be better positioned than a five minute walk from St Marks Sq. The staff were very helpful and quickly put right a couple of small issues with the room when we arrived. The only down side to our room was the condition of the bath, it really was showing its age to the point that we choose not to use it. That aside I would use the hotel again because of the friendly staff and its location.

| London Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great location, so-so rooms

Would recommend Thu, Oct 25, 2012
Next to the Bridge of Sighs canal and 10-20 steps from San Marco -- the location doesn't get any better. The included breakfast was excellent. However, the room was small and dark (and quite expensive!). The bathroom was OK except for the tiny coffin of a shower stall. The water temperature would automatically cycle from piping hot to frigid. I didn't get a good shower during my 3 days there and the staff didn't do anything to fix it despite several requests. Other than that the front-desk staff was quite friendly and helpful. Would I recommend this hotel -- Yes but not resoundingly.

Entertainment hint

Go to San Marco's square after dark. There are great free concerts and people dancing. And it is not crowded!

| Laguna Hills, CA Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Nearby points of interest

Clocktower in Piazza San Marco 0 mi
Basilica di San Marco 0 mi
Biennale Gardens 0.1 mi
San Zulian 0.1 mi
St Marks Square 0.1 mi
Campanile di San Marco 0.1 mi
Archeological museum 0.1 mi
Palazzo Ducale 0.1 mi
Museo Correr 0.1 mi
National Library of St Mark's 0.1 mi
Bridge of Sighs 0.2 mi
San Moise 0.2 mi
Rialto Food Market 0.2 mi
Rialto Bridge 0.3 mi
La Fenice Theatre 0.3 mi
Art Gallery Bugno 0.3 mi
Colleoni Monument 0.3 mi
Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute 0.4 mi
Chiesa di Santo Stefano 0.4 mi
San Francesco della Vigna 0.5 mi
Guggenheim Museum 0.5 mi
Peggy Guggenheim Collection 0.5 mi
San Giorgio Maggiore 0.5 mi
Ca'Pesaro 0.5 mi
Palazzo Grassi 0.6 mi
Madonna dell'Orto 0.6 mi
Gallerie dell'Accademia 0.6 mi
Basilica dei Frari 0.6 mi
Murano Glass Museum 0.6 mi
Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari 0.6 mi
Arsenale 0.7 mi
Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco 0.7 mi
Port of Venice 0.8 mi
Ghetto 0.9 mi
Santa Lucia Station 1 mi
San Pietro di Castello 1 mi
Burano 5.1 mi
Lace Museum 5.2 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

$116
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 11, 2016 Check-out: Feb 12, 2016