$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Ai Mori D'Oriente Hotel Venice

4 stars
Fondamenta Della Sensa, Venice, 0
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
15 reviews
Wonderful rest in an unspoilt area of Venice

We enjoyed our stay here and would happily return. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom... See full review

  • Gingerbrex
  • Nov 29, 2012
This Hotel Never Disappoints

The Ai Mori D'Oriente is a charming boutique hotel located on a quiet canal in a residential... See full review

  • Peter Baldaia
  • Oct 15, 2010
Turkish delight in Venice hotel that was once a Silk Road stop
Turkish traders working the ancient Silk Route once made their home in Venice in the palace that is now the luxurious Ai Mori D'Oriente Hotel Venice. (The name translates to "Moors of the East.") Architectural details and décor still recall that time when the fine goods of the Eastern world made their way to the West through Venice. Located near the Jewish Ghetto, today the Ai Mori D'Oriente Hotel Venice is in one of Venice's quieter neighborhoods but is still within walking distance of most of Venice's more popular attractions.

Highlights
  • Turkish décor creates a dramatic, romantic atmosphere
  • Located near the Jewish Ghetto and walking distance from popular Venice attractions
  • On-site hotel bar

Location
The Ai Mori D'Oriente Hotel Venice is located near the north end of Venice near the Jewish Ghetto, in Cannaregio, one of Venice's quieter neighborhoods, away from the busier tourist areas though within walking distance of most popular Venice attractions. Nearby are the Jewish Ghetto's synagogues, kosher restaurants and Judaica shops. Also nearby are the home of Renaissance painter Tintoretto and the Venice Casino's Ca' Vendramin Calergi venue.
Rooms
The rooms of the Ai Mori D'Oriente Hotel Venice are decorated with dramatic, romantic Turkish touches. Rooms are all air conditioned and have mini-bar, satellite TV, safe and Internet access.

Features
Guests start their day at the Ai Mori D'Oriente Hotel Venice with breakfast in the hotel's breakfast room. After a day touring Venice, relax at the hotel bar or in the reading room. Hotel staff is happy to arrange gondola rides, tours and theater and concert tickets.

Transportation
  • Marco Polo Airport (9.1 mi/14.7 km)
  • Orto vaporetto (waterbus) docks (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Venice Santa Lucia railway station (0.6 mi/1 km)

Attractions
  • Venice Casino Ca' Vendramin Calergi venue (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Rialto Bridge (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Church of Saints John and Paul (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Church of Santa Maria Formosa (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • St. Mark's Square (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Fenice Theater (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Ca'Pesaro Museum (1.2 mi/1.9 km)

Business
  • Meeting room
Policies and fees
A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ai Mori D'Oriente Hotel Venice also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Ai Mori D'Oriente Hotel Venice Rooms

Single Room
The room includes one single bed with A/C , Cable/Satellite TV , Color TV , Ensuite/Private bathroom , Hairdryer , Heating , Internet Access , Minibar , Non-smoking rooms , Room service and Telephone.
Double Room
The room includes one double or two single bed with A/C , Cable/Satellite TV , Color TV , Ensuite/Private bathroom , Hairdryer , Heating , Internet Access , Minibar , Non-smoking rooms , Room service and Telephone.
Triple Room
The room includes one double or one single bed with A/C , Cable/Satellite TV , Color TV , Ensuite/Private bathroom , Hairdryer , Heating , Internet Access , Minibar , Non-smoking rooms , Room service and Telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ghetto: 0.2 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.6 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.6 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.6 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.7 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.7 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.7 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.8 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.8 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.8 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.8 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.2 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.6 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.6 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.6 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.7 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.7 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.7 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.8 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.8 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.8 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.8 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.9 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.9 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.9 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.9 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.9 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.9 mi
  • San Moise: 0.9 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.9 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 1 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 1 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 1 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 1 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 1 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 1.1 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of Venice: 1.1 mi
  • Arsenale: 1.3 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 1.4 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1.6 mi
  • Burano: 4.9 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (15)

Ratings and reviews for Ai Mori D'Oriente Hotel Venice

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 15
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ai Mori D'Oriente Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Raymon
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 18, 2007

Nice Hotel, Good Quiet Location

Nice clean room with good air conditioning. Small bathroom, but well equipped and clean. Nice location in quiet area with less touristy shops and market (Save $$$). Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Nearby market was a money saver for buying drinks and snack that could be stored in the mini-bar refrigerator.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ai Mori D'Oriente Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gingerbrex
Business
London
Nov 29, 2012

Wonderful rest in an unspoilt area of Venice

We enjoyed our stay here and would happily return. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom fine, with the usual extras (plus hairdryer). Staff very attentive and friendly. This is our favourite area of Venice, it is very quiet and off the beaten track, with some great restaurants very close to hotel, (Da Rioba, Osteria dei Mori, Anice Stellato, da Marisa) but also an easy walk to the more touristy attractions - Madonna dell'Orto church, Rialto, Jewish Ghetto, Strada Nova etc.. The only thing we missed was coffee and/or tea-making facilities in the room. There was a bar near reception but it was not cheap (9 euros for two teabags!) and after a long day out walking we would have appreciated a cuppa in our room. However, overall great value at the price we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best meal was at Anice Stellato, literally a few minutes walk away along the same road. Great, friendly staff and a wonderful menu.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ai Mori D'Oriente Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lbix
Business
Charlotte, North Carolina
Oct 24, 2009

Beautiful hotel in a tranquil area

Beautifully decorated hotel in a unusually peaceful part of Venice, a welcome break from the crowds. This also means it is a bit challenging to get to with a lot of luggage, but we thought it was worth the effort. Without luggage, it was a pleasant walk to the main attractions and vaparetto stop. Our room was nicely decorated and spacious compared to our other rooms in Italy, even room for a sofa. The bathroom was also more spacious than others we've had in Italy, was very clean and had nice extras such as the heated towel rack. The hotel itself was sumptuously decorated, and we enjoyed the bar and the beautiful breakfast room. The front desk staff was quite gracious. This was our favorite hotel during our stay in Italy, and we will definitely return there should our travels take us back to Venice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a porter for your luggage--totally worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ai Mori D'Oriente Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peter Baldaia
Business
Huntsville, AL
Oct 15, 2010

This Hotel Never Disappoints

The Ai Mori D'Oriente is a charming boutique hotel located on a quiet canal in a residential neighborhood in Venice. If you want to stay in a more authentic area away from the tourist crowds of San Marco and Rialto areas, but want to be able to get to the center of it all easily, this is the place for you. There are two vaporetto stops nearby that put Venice at your feet. The staff is very friendly and attentive, speak perfect English, and are extremely accommodating. The rooms are charming and comfortable. The breakfast buffet is also excellent. This is my third booking at this hotel, and every time I've stayed there it has been a very positive experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We visited the island of Burano for the first time, and it was a pleasant afternoon excursion. You can reach it easily from the nearby Orto vaporetto stop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ai Mori D'Oriente Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Aug 23, 2009

A great hidden hotel

I had great difficulty finding the hotel. I was given the wrong directions on two different occasions. However, the last person I talked to on a bridge pointed me in the direction that I had previously visited. I decided to go in across that bridge and I did find the hotel. About 30 minutes earlier I was less than 100 meters from it and given other directions. The hotel was clean and the people very kind. I enjoyed my overnight stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ai Mori D'Oriente Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London
Dec 31, 2009

Excellent, Nice quiet location

Would recommend this hotel. Efficient, friendly, nice atmospheric location, quiet, good breakfast. walking distance to centre and very convenient for Vaporetta. Preferable to the crowded centre

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ai Mori D'Oriente Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doug S
Business
Des Moines, IA, USA
Dec 2, 2011

Nice Hotel

The hotel is located in a very quiet area just 2 canals away from some of the action. The room was nice and spacious and the staff friendly. The only downside was you only get 30 minutes of free internet access and then must pay for more time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ai Mori D'Oriente Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LA dancer
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 22, 2012

Good value if you get the discounted rate

My wife and I enjoyed the Ai Mori D'Oriente Hotel; however, had we not been able to take advantage of the O special rate, we would not have chosen to stay here. The full rate did not seem to warrant the distance to Piazza San Marco and lack of spa services. With that said, we actually enjoyed staying a bit further away from the main tourist area as it was quiet and much less crowded, and the breakfast was really wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ai Mori D'Oriente Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 25, 2010

Nice place to stay

We really enjoy our two night stay with those nice people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It is not far from water bus stop and from there you can go anywhere you want. also 25 mins walk to San Marco Squar(Piazza San Marco).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ai Mori D'Oriente Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa City
Nov 3, 2010

Peaceful location

Our room was on a quiet courtyard away from the street. It was on the street level and there was evidence of past flood damage on the wood work. I would ask for a room on an upper floor - but we were out site seeing and shopping so much that we did not spend much time in the room. The room was smaller than expected but it was really well decorated and fairly comfortable. I am a light sleeper and found this to be one of the quieter rooms that I have stayed in. The location is a bit distant from the main tourist spots - Saint Marks. But it is an easy walk from the train and bus stations and we found good restaurants near by. Overall I would say the location was a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top