$296 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

AD Place Hotel Venice

4 stars
San Marco Fondamenta della Fenice 2557/A, Venice, 30124
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
13 reviews
Outstanding

This hotel was a great choice . The staff was extremely helpful and provided me with outstanding... See full review

  • Traveling heart
  • Mar 26, 2014
Perfect couples escape

This boutique hotel is an absolute Venetian gem. Great location! Super close to St Mark's.... See full review

  • DJ Luscious
  • Jul 21, 2014
Venice’s Fenice Theater near luxurious hotel with Baroque furnishings
Venice’s famed Baroque and Rococo periods were characterized not by artistic restraint, but by wild inventiveness and a playful artistic spirit. That spirit lives on at the AD Place Hotel Venice, a funky bohemian luxury hotel where audacious design and bold colors abound. Comfortable and modern in its conveniences, it is a playground for the senses. Just steps from Fenice Theater, the hotel is within easy walking distance of St. Mark’s and most of Venice’s famous attractions.
Highlights
  • Funky bohemian luxury hotel with Baroque furnishings provides a dramatic setting for a Venice vacation
  • Steps from Fenice Theater and walking distance to many of Venice’s more popular landmarks
  • Staff is professional and helpful, with a playful spirit appropriate to the hotel’s design
Location
The AD Place Hotel Venice is located steps from Fenice Theater, several blocks west of St. Mark’s Square with Calle Larga 22 Marzo -- the street that is home to many of Venice’s high fashion boutiques -- providing a convenient and enticing route between the two. The Academy of Fine Arts is a short walk west. Most major Venice landmarks are within walking distance and water transportation is readily accessible.
Rooms
As with the common areas of the AD Place Hotel Venice, rooms are decorated with a playful bohemian flair in the Venetian Baroque style. Expect bold colors and whimsical details. Rooms are air conditioned and heated and have standard modern amenities, including satellite TV, Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations, safes and mini-bars. Non-smoking rooms and hypoallergenic bedding are available.
Features
Arrive at the AD Place Hotel Venice via water at the hotel’s gondola landing or from nearby waterbus stops. Common rooms are dramatically designed and decorated. Service is professional and friendly. The 24-hour hotel staff is happy to book tours and excursions. Wi-Fi and fax service are available.
Transportation
  • Marco Polo Airport (11.3 mi/18.2 km)
  • Giglio vaporetto (waterbus) dock (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Venice Santa Lucia railway station (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
Attractions
  • Fenice Theater (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • St. Mark’s Square (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Correr Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Palazzo Grassi (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Academy of Fine Arts (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Ducal Palace (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
Policies and fees
A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

45.4331 12.3329
Area served
Venice.
Nearby airports
Venice International Airport.
Area description
For a stay in Venice steeped in art and culture, AD Place is one of the most inviting locations from which to calmly visit St. Mark's Square, its Basilica, the Doge's Palace, the Clock Tower, the municipal museums like the Correr and the Archaeological Museum, the Marciana Library, the Bridge of Sighs and the Academy Gallery.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed AD Place Hotel Venice also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

AD Place Hotel Venice Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Double/Twin room provides a double bed or two twin beds with air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, mini bar, non smoking rooms, radio, room service, safe in room and telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Dining
Room service
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.1 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.1 mi
  • San Moise: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.2 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.2 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.2 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.3 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.3 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.3 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.3 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.3 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.1 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.1 mi
  • San Moise: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.2 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.2 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.2 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.3 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.3 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.3 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.3 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.3 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.3 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.3 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.4 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.4 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.4 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.4 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.5 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.5 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.5 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.6 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.8 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 0.8 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.9 mi
  • Arsenale: 1 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1.3 mi
  • Burano: 5.4 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (13)

Ratings and reviews for AD Place Hotel Venice

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
3 out of 13
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
2.7
Sort by:
Review of AD Place Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Colorado Springs, CO
Aug 1, 2011

One critical detail

[...]the hotel neglected one critical fact: which stop to disembark from the water bus. The hotel says it's on their web site. The address is San Marco but you do not get off at either of the San Marco stops; you get off at Guglio. We spent 2 hours trying to find the hotel. With 5 bags and 2 canals to cross, this was a disaster! After asking 5 people, we finally found a hotel that knew where AD Place Venice was. The AD staff however was wonderful. The room was claustrophobic but we only slept there so not a problem. No place for toiletries in the bathroom (also true at Rome hotel).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We were advised to say outside of Venice and commute in. We chose not to but hindsight tells me that would have been the better way to go. You still wind up buying the 2 day pass for the water bus whether you stay in Venice or not and that's all you need to get around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of AD Place Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Arlington, VA
Jul 12, 2010

Fun and Funky

I picked the hotel because of its location, funky decor. great breakfast. The AD Place is right near the San Marcos Piazza and on the route taken by the gondoliers. While some may not like it, we enjoyed getting serenaded every evening as the boats turned the corner on the narrow canal flowing past the hotel. The decor was what I expected from having visited their website, but harder to live with than I expected. I did enjoy the complimentary chocolates and red rose with the turndown service. Also appreciated the upgraded to a junior suite. The TV was a bit of a drawback because it was placed on the ceiling. I am ok with weird, but the placement was just plain uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

The hotel provides a free taxi to the island of Murano. The ride was a lot of fun (kinda reminiscent of the Italian Job) but be prepared for what you get at the other end. My impression is the ride is paid for by the glass factory where you are dropped off and where you are encouraged to buy pricey glass works of art. The shop was great; I just was not expecting the pressure tactics.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of AD Place Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
kansas city
Mar 21, 2010

ad place hotel

We loved this small hotel. The hotel manager, Alexander, was wonderful. We were met and welcomed. The location was great, easy to walk to the square and shopping areas. Breakfast is availabe in the morning and coffee and espresso all day long! We asked for places to eat that locals frequent and we had great food! We were given champaign our last night along with a beautiful tray of food! The service was some of the best we have had. We were traveling with our 2 duaghters who also loved this hotel and the decor!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search