Zara Hotel Rome

3 stars
View map of Via Quattro Fontane, 37, City Centre: Spanish Steps, Rome, 00184

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
33 reviews
Very good hotel and great location

I loved the hotel. It was very well located. Close to the train station of Termini and with buses... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jun 9, 2009
Excellent place to start our holiday

It was easy to find from the Termini train station. Excellent location, easy to get to all the... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 8, 2009

Expect friendly service at this family-run hotel on Via Nazionale. Because the Zara is conveniently located next to Termini Station and the Republica underground stop, navigating Rome is easy from here. Arrange for a bike or motorcycle rental at the front desk, or walk to nearby attractions such as the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and Piazza Venezia. Rooms are simple, bright and suitable for families. Common areas include a sitting room, TV room with a bar and a bright breakfast room.

Location

Hotel Zara is situated in Rome's center, near Termini Station and the underground Rebublica stop. Walk to many attractions such as the Spanish Steps, Colosseum and Roman Forum. Hotel Zara's street, Via Nazionale, takes you directly to Piazza Venezia, where you will find famous monuments, museums and churches.

Rooms

Rooms are simple and bright at Hotel Zara. Light colors, tile floors and simple furnishings lend a casual, but comfortable feel. A wide range of options, including quadruple rooms are ideal for families.

All rooms have air conditioning, satellite TV, direct-line telephone, private bath and mini-bar.

Property features

Convenience and comfort combine with location to make this family-run hotel a solid, accessible option. Because it's close to Termini Station, the underground Republica stop and an airport bus terminal, arrivals and departures are hassle-free. Friendly front desk staff greet you with a free city map and offer sightseeing suggestions. Arrange for a car, motorcycle or bike rental, or take an open-top sightseeing bus tour that stops near the hotel. Guests enjoy buffet breakfast and nearby paid parking.

Highlights
  •  Walk to Termini Station
  •  Ancient Roman attractions nearby
  • Bike rentals available
Nearby attractions
  • Spanish Steps
  • Trevi Fountain
  • Colosseum
  • Roman Forum
Transportation
  • Leonardo Da Vinci Airport
  • Ciampino Airport
  • Termini Station
  • Closest train stops: Barberini and Rebublica

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Zara Hotel Rome also booked these hotels.

★★
$59
3.5 / 5 2 reviews
★★★
$47
3.4 / 5 25 reviews
★★
$47
3.8 / 5 9 reviews
★★★★
$75
3.5 / 5 59 reviews
★★★★
$96
4.2 / 5 151 reviews
★★★
$39
3.7 / 5 69 reviews
★★★★
$69
3.3 / 5 3 reviews
★★★★
$65
3.5 / 5 17 reviews
★★
$52
4.0 / 5 Not yet reviewed

Zara Hotel Rome Rooms

Double Room for Single Use
Comfortable room with all the facilities.
Double/Twin Room
Comfortable room with all the facilities.
Triple Room
Comfortable room with all the facilities.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe

Nearby points of interest

  • San Carlo alle Quattro Fontane: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo delle Esposizioni: 0.1 mi
  • Rome Opera House: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (Rome Opera House): 0.1 mi
  • Teatro delle Quattro Fontane: 0.2 mi
  • Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Fontana delle Naidi: 0.2 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Antica: 0.2 mi
  • Palazzo Barberini: 0.2 mi
  • Fontana dell'Acqua Felice: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Terme Diocleziano: 0.2 mi
  • Historical Center: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria della Vittoria: 0.3 mi
  • Piazza Barberini: 0.3 mi
  • San Carlo alle Quattro Fontane: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo delle Esposizioni: 0.1 mi
  • Rome Opera House: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (Rome Opera House): 0.1 mi
  • Teatro delle Quattro Fontane: 0.2 mi
  • Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Fontana delle Naidi: 0.2 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Antica: 0.2 mi
  • Palazzo Barberini: 0.2 mi
  • Fontana dell'Acqua Felice: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Terme Diocleziano: 0.2 mi
  • Historical Center: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria della Vittoria: 0.3 mi
  • Piazza Barberini: 0.3 mi
  • Fontana del Tritone: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo del Quirinale: 0.3 mi
  • Palacio del Quirinal: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo Quirinale: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Rome: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria della Concezione dei Cappuccini: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica of Saint Mary Major: 0.4 mi
  • Ecstasy of Saint Teresa: 0.4 mi
  • Teatro Sistina: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria Maggiore: 0.4 mi
  • Lamian Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Pontifical Lateran University: 0.4 mi
  • Pontifical Oriental Institute: 0.4 mi
  • Museo Nazionale Romano: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Prassede: 0.4 mi
  • Termini Station: 0.5 mi
  • Torre delle Milizie: 0.5 mi
  • Servian Wall: 0.5 mi
  • Accademia di San Luca: 0.5 mi
  • Ludovisi: 0.5 mi
  • Roma Termini railway station: 0.5 mi
  • Pontifical Biblical Institute: 0.5 mi
  • Fontana di Trevi: 0.5 mi
  • Le Domus Romane di Palazzo Valentini: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo Colonna: 0.5 mi
  • San Pietro in Vincoli: 0.5 mi
  • Trajan's Market: 0.5 mi
  • Teatro Quirino: 0.5 mi
  • Trajan's Forum: 0.5 mi
  • Forum of Augustus: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
12:00 PM
Check-out:
11:30 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Zara Hotel Rome

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 33
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Zara Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hotel Maven Machine
Couples
Charleston, SC
May 12, 2013

Disappointing

Location was good, and staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean, but linens, although clean, smelled musty and bathroom was clean but in some disrepair--leaky toilet, missing shelf above sink. 4 floors, but elevator only went to 3rd floor. Although advertised as a 3-star, we thought it was closer to a 2-star. Breakfast buffet was weak. Not an awful experience, but somewhat disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Zara Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
a couple in love
Couples
Cheshire, England
Apr 1, 2013

Rome 2013

Great value for money. Bed was very comfortable and room was clean and tidy. Actual hotel did look a bit different from on-line pictures... Great location, polite staff and overall good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Zara Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Doctor BB
Couples
Los Angeles, Ca
Nov 3, 2012

not expexted for price paid

Here is my experience with my wife at Zara Hotel in Rome for 10 nights. The overall experience was not pleasant and not as expected. My previous experiences were in general excellent. That was not the case with Zara Hotel. When we arrived the first night, they gave us a room where everything was not working. The fixtures were broken, the hair dryer not working, the shower not working, no hot water, etc. We complained and they told us that they will transfer us the following day. The first night after a long trip from LA was horrible. The following day they transferred us to another room , better in comparaison. The refrigerator and TV were not working. After a couple of days, they fixed the refrigerator but the TV was only working for a couple of channels and the set was a very old model. The hot water was not working daily and the street in front was in reparation and the hotel said that was responsible. There The breakfast was poor. There was no WI FI and when they installed it, it waqs not functional daily I wanted to leave after the first night, but saw in my reservation that it was ot refunded for the 10 nights. Exploring other hotels in the neighbourhood , three star hotels, were by far more better and more luxurious and cheaper than what we paid for. In fact, four star hotels were charging less than 120-130 euros per night around the corner. Overall, we suffered the 10 nights and canceled another reservation in fear with a similar experience. On our own, we moved to a 4 star hotel in a premium location with a suite and luxury services for 130 euros a night. What a difference!!!!!! I wanted to know if I have a reservation for several nights and dont like it on the first night, can I cancel the reservation or call you to work it out? Thanks for your reply Dr Benjamin Bonavida

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Zara Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Franky32
Couples
Anaheim, Ca
Jul 5, 2012

Vacation

The room was very small. The air conditioner did not work properly and it was very hot. The location was great. The rooms did not seem very clean. If you are looking for a place to stay with a great location this would be it but it needs to imporve in service and amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Zara Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
NY
Jul 26, 2011

Good location

Good Location. Walking distance to Roma Termini and everything else. Breakfast needs improvement but for the price, if you intend to visit the city and not stay in your room all day, then this hotel works for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Zara Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A traveling family!!!
Couples
Germany
Jul 11, 2011

Perfect Location

This hotel is located in one of the most prime loctaions within the city. Its not as close as a couple of blocks but its still pretty close. We used the hop on hop off bus which has the two spots very close by also making our site seeing much easier. The hotel had a quaintness about it but very clean and the staff was friendly. The breakfast was very basic but helped to get the day started. Something to take note of is that the hotel closes from 2am to 5am everynight and they lock the doors. We were dead asleep by then so it did not worry us at all! I would gladly stay here again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a bunch a wonderful restaurants within a 5 min walk in all directions from the hotel within all the price range.

Review of Zara Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Swampy Platoon
Couples
Chicago, IL
Apr 26, 2011

Great Location for the price

This was the first hotel we stayed at during our 10 day trip to Italy. My boyfriend and I chose this hotel for the first few days of our trip. We chose this hotel because of the location. We thought this area was the best place to stay because it was centrally located. It was a 15 minute walk from the Spanish Steps, 30 minutes from the Colosseum (only cause we got lost), and other tourist attractions. It is also located 15 minutes from the Termini Station. We thought we were going to take the Metra everywhere, but we ended up walking instead. We even walked to Vatican City. My first impression of the hotel was that it was small and quaint. The person who checked us in was very nice and spoke pretty good English. The check in process was a breeze. Getting our luggage up to the room was the next task. The elevator was a snug fit being that we squeezed in myself, my boyfriend, and our two large pieces of luggage, but I lived and would definitely do it again instead of carrying my stuff up stairs. Our room was at the end of the hallway and down the hall from the breakfast area. The room was on the smaller side, which is quite common in Europe, but it was enough room for the two of us. We also didn't mind it because most of our time was spent exploring Rome. The room was very clean, and so was the bathroom. However, that was the only positive about the bathroom. We did have a working toilet, shower, and sink, but the thing that didn't really float my boat was that the shower floor was also the floor of the bathroom so using the bathroom after someone had showered felt quite gross to me, but like I said. The bathroom did it's job. Breakfast was nothing out of the norm ... assorted pastries, breads, and other sweet things, rolls, dry cereal, cheeses, sliced meats. They had a coffee machine which was pretty neat and tasted good enough. All in all the staff was super friendly, nice, and very helpful. Would I stay there again? Probably not ... probably because I never stay in the same place twice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Elettra ristorante on Via Principe Amedeo 72a/74. Close to the Termini station. Best service that I had in Rome. They welcomed us with glasses of sparkling white wine. Many dishes to choose from and an English menu as well. I had the Veal Milanese and my boyfriend had the Cacio(sp) e Pepe (goat cheese and black pepper pasta). Both were delicious. Dessert was amazing too!

Review of Zara Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Diego, CA
Oct 27, 2010

OK hotel

Good location, OK small room, no Wi-fi, no coffee maker, did not chang towers daily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Zara Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tuna Fish
Couples
jerusalem, Israel
May 25, 2010

Good Location, Very small bathroom

the hotel location was great. the staff was very halpful. there was no elevator, so we had to carry our loggede to the 3 floor.. the room was small but fairly nice, the bathroom although was extreamly small!! breakfast was nice. good price/value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Zara Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Boca Raton, Florida
May 8, 2009

Excellent place to start our holiday

It was easy to find from the Termini train station. Excellent location, easy to get to all the major interests. Friendly staff and great breakfast. The rooms were big for European standards and so were the bathrooms. Had a great time. Would recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

One block away was a small supermarket where you can buy everyday things at a much lower price, such as: water, sodas, fruits, etc.

Back to menu Return to top