Zara Hotel Rome

3 stars
View map of Via Quattro Fontane, 37, City Centre: Spanish Steps, Rome, 00184

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
33 reviews
Very good hotel and great location

I loved the hotel. It was very well located. Close to the train station of Termini and with buses... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jun 9, 2009
Excellent place to start our holiday

It was easy to find from the Termini train station. Excellent location, easy to get to all the... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 8, 2009

Expect friendly service at this family-run hotel on Via Nazionale. Because the Zara is conveniently located next to Termini Station and the Republica underground stop, navigating Rome is easy from here. Arrange for a bike or motorcycle rental at the front desk, or walk to nearby attractions such as the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and Piazza Venezia. Rooms are simple, bright and suitable for families. Common areas include a sitting room, TV room with a bar and a bright breakfast room.

Location

Hotel Zara is situated in Rome's center, near Termini Station and the underground Rebublica stop. Walk to many attractions such as the Spanish Steps, Colosseum and Roman Forum. Hotel Zara's street, Via Nazionale, takes you directly to Piazza Venezia, where you will find famous monuments, museums and churches.

Rooms

Rooms are simple and bright at Hotel Zara. Light colors, tile floors and simple furnishings lend a casual, but comfortable feel. A wide range of options, including quadruple rooms are ideal for families.

All rooms have air conditioning, satellite TV, direct-line telephone, private bath and mini-bar.

Property features

Convenience and comfort combine with location to make this family-run hotel a solid, accessible option. Because it's close to Termini Station, the underground Republica stop and an airport bus terminal, arrivals and departures are hassle-free. Friendly front desk staff greet you with a free city map and offer sightseeing suggestions. Arrange for a car, motorcycle or bike rental, or take an open-top sightseeing bus tour that stops near the hotel. Guests enjoy buffet breakfast and nearby paid parking.

Highlights
  •  Walk to Termini Station
  •  Ancient Roman attractions nearby
  • Bike rentals available
Nearby attractions
  • Spanish Steps
  • Trevi Fountain
  • Colosseum
  • Roman Forum
Transportation
  • Leonardo Da Vinci Airport
  • Ciampino Airport
  • Termini Station
  • Closest train stops: Barberini and Rebublica

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Zara Hotel Rome also booked these hotels.

★★
$59
3.5 / 5 2 reviews
★★★
$47
3.4 / 5 25 reviews
★★
$47
3.8 / 5 9 reviews
★★★★
$75
3.5 / 5 59 reviews
★★★★
$96
4.2 / 5 151 reviews
★★★
$39
3.7 / 5 69 reviews
★★★★
$69
3.3 / 5 3 reviews
★★★★
$65
3.5 / 5 17 reviews
★★
$52
4.0 / 5 Not yet reviewed

Zara Hotel Rome Rooms

Double Room for Single Use
Comfortable room with all the facilities.
Double/Twin Room
Comfortable room with all the facilities.
Triple Room
Comfortable room with all the facilities.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe

Nearby points of interest

  • San Carlo alle Quattro Fontane: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo delle Esposizioni: 0.1 mi
  • Rome Opera House: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (Rome Opera House): 0.1 mi
  • Teatro delle Quattro Fontane: 0.2 mi
  • Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Fontana delle Naidi: 0.2 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Antica: 0.2 mi
  • Palazzo Barberini: 0.2 mi
  • Fontana dell'Acqua Felice: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Terme Diocleziano: 0.2 mi
  • Historical Center: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria della Vittoria: 0.3 mi
  • Piazza Barberini: 0.3 mi
  • San Carlo alle Quattro Fontane: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo delle Esposizioni: 0.1 mi
  • Rome Opera House: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (Rome Opera House): 0.1 mi
  • Teatro delle Quattro Fontane: 0.2 mi
  • Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Fontana delle Naidi: 0.2 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Antica: 0.2 mi
  • Palazzo Barberini: 0.2 mi
  • Fontana dell'Acqua Felice: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Terme Diocleziano: 0.2 mi
  • Historical Center: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria della Vittoria: 0.3 mi
  • Piazza Barberini: 0.3 mi
  • Fontana del Tritone: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo del Quirinale: 0.3 mi
  • Palacio del Quirinal: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo Quirinale: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Rome: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria della Concezione dei Cappuccini: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica of Saint Mary Major: 0.4 mi
  • Ecstasy of Saint Teresa: 0.4 mi
  • Teatro Sistina: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria Maggiore: 0.4 mi
  • Lamian Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Pontifical Lateran University: 0.4 mi
  • Pontifical Oriental Institute: 0.4 mi
  • Museo Nazionale Romano: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Prassede: 0.4 mi
  • Termini Station: 0.5 mi
  • Torre delle Milizie: 0.5 mi
  • Servian Wall: 0.5 mi
  • Accademia di San Luca: 0.5 mi
  • Ludovisi: 0.5 mi
  • Roma Termini railway station: 0.5 mi
  • Pontifical Biblical Institute: 0.5 mi
  • Fontana di Trevi: 0.5 mi
  • Le Domus Romane di Palazzo Valentini: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo Colonna: 0.5 mi
  • San Pietro in Vincoli: 0.5 mi
  • Trajan's Market: 0.5 mi
  • Teatro Quirino: 0.5 mi
  • Trajan's Forum: 0.5 mi
  • Forum of Augustus: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
12:00 PM
Check-out:
11:30 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Zara Hotel Rome

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 33
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Zara Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
a couple in love
Couples
Cheshire, England
Apr 1, 2013

Rome 2013

Great value for money. Bed was very comfortable and room was clean and tidy. Actual hotel did look a bit different from on-line pictures... Great location, polite staff and overall good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Zara Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hotel Maven Machine
Couples
Charleston, SC
May 12, 2013

Disappointing

Location was good, and staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean, but linens, although clean, smelled musty and bathroom was clean but in some disrepair--leaky toilet, missing shelf above sink. 4 floors, but elevator only went to 3rd floor. Although advertised as a 3-star, we thought it was closer to a 2-star. Breakfast buffet was weak. Not an awful experience, but somewhat disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Zara Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vrabcek
Single
London
Dec 4, 2012

good value for money

Good value for money, good location, average breakfast with mainly sweet options, hot chocolate was not hot but warm, machine coffee tasteless

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Zara Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Doctor BB
Couples
Los Angeles, Ca
Nov 3, 2012

not expexted for price paid

Here is my experience with my wife at Zara Hotel in Rome for 10 nights. The overall experience was not pleasant and not as expected. My previous experiences were in general excellent. That was not the case with Zara Hotel. When we arrived the first night, they gave us a room where everything was not working. The fixtures were broken, the hair dryer not working, the shower not working, no hot water, etc. We complained and they told us that they will transfer us the following day. The first night after a long trip from LA was horrible. The following day they transferred us to another room , better in comparaison. The refrigerator and TV were not working. After a couple of days, they fixed the refrigerator but the TV was only working for a couple of channels and the set was a very old model. The hot water was not working daily and the street in front was in reparation and the hotel said that was responsible. There The breakfast was poor. There was no WI FI and when they installed it, it waqs not functional daily I wanted to leave after the first night, but saw in my reservation that it was ot refunded for the 10 nights. Exploring other hotels in the neighbourhood , three star hotels, were by far more better and more luxurious and cheaper than what we paid for. In fact, four star hotels were charging less than 120-130 euros per night around the corner. Overall, we suffered the 10 nights and canceled another reservation in fear with a similar experience. On our own, we moved to a 4 star hotel in a premium location with a suite and luxury services for 130 euros a night. What a difference!!!!!! I wanted to know if I have a reservation for several nights and dont like it on the first night, can I cancel the reservation or call you to work it out? Thanks for your reply Dr Benjamin Bonavida

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Zara Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bronxite
Single
Bronx NY
Oct 7, 2012

Rundown Roma

Good location/ price makes it an acceptable option if you plant to be out of the room all day. Shower curtains are moldy and dingy. Very cramped room. AC in and out. Staff seemed aloof and disinterested. And no visitors in my room - felt like a half-way house!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Zara Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Euromom
Single
New Hampshire
Jul 14, 2012

Pleasant, quiet, Great Staff

Even though it wasn't perfect (one light didn't work, the second night a wake-up call didn't go through), I would definitely stay here again. The staff were helpful but not overly present. The breakfast was decent. The room was clean and the location was great. For the price, I thought it was a good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Zara Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Franky32
Couples
Anaheim, Ca
Jul 5, 2012

Vacation

The room was very small. The air conditioner did not work properly and it was very hot. The location was great. The rooms did not seem very clean. If you are looking for a place to stay with a great location this would be it but it needs to imporve in service and amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Zara Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Teacher Stephanie
Friends
Encino, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Aug 16, 2011

How was this 3 stars?

We stayed only one night at this hotel. The only good thing was the bed was fairly comfortable. The room was tacky; things didn't work or were falling apart. The shower floods the bathroom floor, the hairdryer looked scary, there were holes in the floor, wall, ceiling. The ceiling was leaking in the hallway right outside our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Zara Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
NY
Jul 26, 2011

Good location

Good Location. Walking distance to Roma Termini and everything else. Breakfast needs improvement but for the price, if you intend to visit the city and not stay in your room all day, then this hotel works for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Zara Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Denicee
Friends
Fort Mill, SC
Jul 25, 2011

Teensy Elevator

Overall we were all pleased with the hotel and our visit to Rome. The lobby and elevator were probably the smallest I have ever seen. The elevator had notices posted that no more than three people were allowed in the elevator or it would break. In our case it was me and my wheelchair only and only if the wheelchair were collapsed. The hotel personnel were very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel was a little farther away from the main train station than expected but it was not a bad walk. We were also able to walk to the majority of the hostorical sites without problem. The breakfast was decent but I would recommend going to a cafe for more variety. Public transportation in Rome is very challenging for people with mobility issues. In the subway we found only one station with any type of elevator/lift which was ridiculously slow. It was rather comical to watch the security personnel turn the people away from the side of the stairs where the lift was being operated. Additionally if you are traveling with a wheelchair take extra spacers, screws and a screw driver since cobble stone streets create a lot of vibration.

Back to menu Return to top